# Neon vs Supabase

Canonical: https://inetgeek.com/compare/neon-vs-supabase/

Every value below is read from Neon's and Supabase's own documentation. See https://inetgeek.com/methodology/ for how.

## At a glance

| Criterion | Neon | Supabase |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Kind of free offer | Free tier | Free tier |
| What the free plan includes | 100 projects with 10 branches each, plus allowances for compute and storage, at no monthly cost. | 500 MB database, 5 GB egress, 1 GB file storage, 50,000 monthly active users and unlimited API requests on shared CPU. Free projects pause after a week without activity. |
| Entry paid plan | No fixed monthly fee. Launch is usage-based — Neon's own worked example puts typical spend at $15/month for intermittent load on 1 GB — so there is no entry price to compare, only a rate card. Recorded without a magnitude because a vendor's spend estimate is not a price. | $25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo. |
| Pricing model | Usage-based with no minimum monthly fee on paid plans: $0.106/CU-hour compute and $0.35/GB-month storage on Launch, $0.222/CU-hour on Scale | Fixed monthly plan per organisation plus per-project compute, billed hourly by instance size |
| Egress over allowance | 5 GB per project included on Free; 500 GB per project included on Launch and Scale, then $0.10/GB | $0.09 per GB for uncached egress and $0.03 per GB for cached, charged only above the plan's quota. Egress restrictions clear at the next billing cycle, or immediately on upgrading or disabling the spend cap. |
| Storage (entry plan) | No included allowance on the Launch plan; storage is metered at $0.35/GB-month. The Free plan includes 0.5 GB per project. | 8 GB disk per project on the Pro plan; 500 MB on Free |
| Managed connection pooling | Supported | Supported — Shared pooler on every plan, IPv4-only; the dedicated pooler is paid plans only. |
| Regions | 8 AWS regions: N. Virginia, Ohio, Oregon, Frankfurt, London, Singapore, Sydney, São Paulo. A project's region is fixed at creation and cannot be changed. | 17 specific AWS regions across the Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific and South America, plus broader 'general region' groupings that place the project on an available AWS region within an area. General regions do not support read replicas or API management. |
| Engine | PostgreSQL | PostgreSQL |
| Connection limit | Scales with compute size: 104 direct connections at 0.25 CU (1 GB RAM), 419 at 1 CU, 2517 at 6 CU; up to 10,000 through the pooler | 60 direct and 200 pooled connections on the Micro instance included with Pro; both scale with instance size |
| When idle | Compute suspends after 5 minutes idle on Free and Launch, and can be disabled on Launch; configurable from 1 minute to always-on on Scale. The database is not deleted or paused — the next query restarts the compute. | Free projects are paused after one week of inactivity and must be restored manually; paid projects are not paused |
| Database branching | Supported | Supported |
| Point-in-time recovery | History window of 6 hours up to 1 GB-month on Free, up to 7 days on Launch, up to 30 days on Scale | Point-in-time recovery is a paid add-on on Pro, Team and Enterprise, and needs at least a Small compute add-on alongside it. Worst-case recovery point is 2 minutes. Without it, restores go back only to a daily backup. |
| Read replicas | Supported | Supported |
| Backup retention | 1 day of history on paid plans by default and 6 hours on Free, configurable up to 7 days on Launch or 30 days on Scale. Neon notes that widening the window raises storage cost, so the ceiling is a paid choice rather than an included allowance. | Daily backups: 7 days on Pro, 14 days on Team, up to 30 days on Enterprise. Free projects get no automatic backups at all — Supabase tells free users to export their own data with the CLI. |
| Support on entry paid plan | Support plans are mapped to pricing plans: community support on Free, billing support on Launch, standard support on Scale. | Community support on Free; email support on Pro, the entry paid plan; priority email support and SLAs from Team; a designated support manager and 24/7/365 premium support on Enterprise. |
| SOC 2 | Annual SOC 2 Type II audits by an accredited independent third party. | SOC 2 Type 2 compliant; report available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard. |
| ISO 27001 | Annual ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019 audits. | ISO 27001 certified; certificate available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard. |
| HIPAA | HIPAA compliance achieved, to support customers handling protected health information (PHI). | HIPAA compliant; customers may store PHI after signing a BAA and meeting shared-responsibility obligations. |
| GDPR / data residency | Follows the GDPR framework; Data Processing Agreements (DPA) offered. | Projects hosted in EU regions keep primary database data in-region; a DPA is available. |
| Encryption at rest | AES-256, with key rotation policies. | AES-256 at rest and TLS in transit; sensitive tokens/keys get application-level encryption before storage. |
| Role-based access control | Access to production systems is role-based, requiring SSO and continuous monitoring. | Organization members can be granted access to specific resources, including read-only and billing-only roles. |

## Where they differ

### What the free plan includes

- Neon: 100 projects with 10 branches each, plus allowances for compute and storage, at no monthly cost. ([source](https://neon.com/docs/introduction/plans))
- Supabase: 500 MB database, 5 GB egress, 1 GB file storage, 50,000 monthly active users and unlimited API requests on shared CPU. Free projects pause after a week without activity. ([source](https://supabase.com/pricing))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Entry paid plan

- Neon: No fixed monthly fee. Launch is usage-based — Neon's own worked example puts typical spend at $15/month for intermittent load on 1 GB — so there is no entry price to compare, only a rate card. Recorded without a magnitude because a vendor's spend estimate is not a price. ([source](https://neon.com/pricing))
- Supabase: $25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo. ([source](https://supabase.com/pricing))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Pricing model

- Neon: Usage-based with no minimum monthly fee on paid plans: $0.106/CU-hour compute and $0.35/GB-month storage on Launch, $0.222/CU-hour on Scale ([source](https://neon.com/docs/introduction/plans))
- Supabase: Fixed monthly plan per organisation plus per-project compute, billed hourly by instance size ([source](https://supabase.com/pricing))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Egress over allowance

- Neon: 5 GB per project included on Free; 500 GB per project included on Launch and Scale, then $0.10/GB ([source](https://neon.com/docs/introduction/plans))
- Supabase: $0.09 per GB for uncached egress and $0.03 per GB for cached, charged only above the plan's quota. Egress restrictions clear at the next billing cycle, or immediately on upgrading or disabling the spend cap. ([source](https://supabase.com/docs/guides/platform/manage-your-usage/egress))
- Lean: 47% Neon / 53% Supabase — inversely proportional to the documented price. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Storage (entry plan)

- Neon: No included allowance on the Launch plan; storage is metered at $0.35/GB-month. The Free plan includes 0.5 GB per project. ([source](https://neon.com/docs/introduction/plans))
- Supabase: 8 GB disk per project on the Pro plan; 500 MB on Free ([source](https://supabase.com/pricing))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Regions

- Neon: 8 AWS regions: N. Virginia, Ohio, Oregon, Frankfurt, London, Singapore, Sydney, São Paulo. A project's region is fixed at creation and cannot be changed. ([source](https://neon.com/docs/introduction/regions))
- Supabase: 17 specific AWS regions across the Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific and South America, plus broader 'general region' groupings that place the project on an available AWS region within an area. General regions do not support read replicas or API management. ([source](https://supabase.com/docs/guides/platform/regions))
- Lean: 32% Neon / 68% Supabase — proportional to the documented capacity. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Connection limit

- Neon: Scales with compute size: 104 direct connections at 0.25 CU (1 GB RAM), 419 at 1 CU, 2517 at 6 CU; up to 10,000 through the pooler ([source](https://neon.com/docs/connect/connection-pooling))
- Supabase: 60 direct and 200 pooled connections on the Micro instance included with Pro; both scale with instance size ([source](https://supabase.com/pricing))
- Lean: 63% Neon / 37% Supabase — proportional to the documented capacity. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### When idle

- Neon: Compute suspends after 5 minutes idle on Free and Launch, and can be disabled on Launch; configurable from 1 minute to always-on on Scale. The database is not deleted or paused — the next query restarts the compute. ([source](https://neon.com/docs/introduction/plans))
- Supabase: Free projects are paused after one week of inactivity and must be restored manually; paid projects are not paused ([source](https://supabase.com/pricing))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Point-in-time recovery

- Neon: History window of 6 hours up to 1 GB-month on Free, up to 7 days on Launch, up to 30 days on Scale ([source](https://neon.com/docs/introduction/plans))
- Supabase: Point-in-time recovery is a paid add-on on Pro, Team and Enterprise, and needs at least a Small compute add-on alongside it. Worst-case recovery point is 2 minutes. Without it, restores go back only to a daily backup. ([source](https://supabase.com/docs/guides/platform/backups))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Backup retention

- Neon: 1 day of history on paid plans by default and 6 hours on Free, configurable up to 7 days on Launch or 30 days on Scale. Neon notes that widening the window raises storage cost, so the ceiling is a paid choice rather than an included allowance. ([source](https://neon.com/docs/introduction/point-in-time-restore))
- Supabase: Daily backups: 7 days on Pro, 14 days on Team, up to 30 days on Enterprise. Free projects get no automatic backups at all — Supabase tells free users to export their own data with the CLI. ([source](https://supabase.com/docs/guides/platform/backups))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Support on entry paid plan

- Neon: Support plans are mapped to pricing plans: community support on Free, billing support on Launch, standard support on Scale. ([source](https://neon.com/docs/introduction/support))
- Supabase: Community support on Free; email support on Pro, the entry paid plan; priority email support and SLAs from Team; a designated support manager and 24/7/365 premium support on Enterprise. ([source](https://supabase.com/pricing))
- Lean: 36% Neon / 64% Supabase — documented support level. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### SOC 2

- Neon: Annual SOC 2 Type II audits by an accredited independent third party. ([source](https://neon.com/security))
- Supabase: SOC 2 Type 2 compliant; report available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard. ([source](https://supabase.com/security))
- Lean: neither leads — both document the same answer.

### ISO 27001

- Neon: Annual ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019 audits. ([source](https://neon.com/security))
- Supabase: ISO 27001 certified; certificate available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard. ([source](https://supabase.com/security))
- Lean: neither leads — both document the same answer.

### HIPAA

- Neon: HIPAA compliance achieved, to support customers handling protected health information (PHI). ([source](https://neon.com/security))
- Supabase: HIPAA compliant; customers may store PHI after signing a BAA and meeting shared-responsibility obligations. ([source](https://supabase.com/security))
- Lean: neither leads — both document the same answer.

### GDPR / data residency

- Neon: Follows the GDPR framework; Data Processing Agreements (DPA) offered. ([source](https://neon.com/security))
- Supabase: Projects hosted in EU regions keep primary database data in-region; a DPA is available. ([source](https://supabase.com/security))
- Lean: 36% Neon / 64% Supabase — documented support level. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Encryption at rest

- Neon: AES-256, with key rotation policies. ([source](https://neon.com/security))
- Supabase: AES-256 at rest and TLS in transit; sensitive tokens/keys get application-level encryption before storage. ([source](https://supabase.com/security))
- Lean: neither leads — both document the same answer.

### Role-based access control

- Neon: Access to production systems is role-based, requiring SSO and continuous monitoring. ([source](https://neon.com/security))
- Supabase: Organization members can be granted access to specific resources, including read-only and billing-only roles. ([source](https://supabase.com/security))
- Lean: 36% Neon / 64% Supabase — documented support level. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

## Which should you choose?

Pick Neon if Workloads that are idle most of the time, and teams who want a real database per pull request. Compute suspends after five minutes and storage is billed separately, so a staging branch costs almost nothing while nobody is using it.

Pick Supabase if Teams who want Postgres plus auth, storage and generated APIs from one vendor on a fixed monthly bill, and who would otherwise assemble those pieces themselves.

Consider something else: Neon — You need predictable monthly billing. Usage pricing with no minimum fee cuts both ways, and a runaway query on an autoscaling compute is billed at the rate it ran.

Consider something else: Supabase — You want only a database. Much of the $25 covers a platform you may not use, and free projects are paused after a week of inactivity, which is not the same as scaling to zero.

## Documented by only one

One side documents these and the other does not. An absence is a missing source, not a stated "no" — except where a line says the other page was READ on a date and does not mention it, which is a sourced observation and the only one-sided case this site leans on.

- Credit card to start: Neon: No
- Startup credit program: Neon: Via the Databricks Startup Program: up to $1,000 in Neon credits for self-funded startups (<$1M raised), or up to $200K in Neon and Databricks credits for VC-backed startups (≥$1M raised) or accelerator participants. Credits valid 12 months from acceptance.
- Included bandwidth: Supabase: 250 GB uncached and 250 GB cached egress a month on Pro and Team, pooled across Database, Auth, Storage and every other service as one Unified Egress Quota
- Scales to zero: Neon: Supported
- Uptime SLA: Supabase: Uptime SLAs are an Enterprise line item. No uptime percentage appears anywhere on the pricing page; Team lists "priority email support & SLAs" without a figure.
- PCI DSS: Neon: The page attributes PCI-DSS to the AWS and Azure infrastructure Neon runs on. Neon's own compliance list on the same page names CCPA, GDPR, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2 and HIPAA, and not PCI DSS.
  - Supabase: not stated on https://supabase.com/security, read 2026-09-21. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 78% Neon / 22% Supabase — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-21).

## Questions this comparison answers

**Entry paid plan: Neon or Supabase?**

Neon: No fixed monthly fee. Launch is usage-based — Neon's own worked example puts typical spend at $15/month for intermittent load on 1 GB — so there is no entry price to compare, only a rate card. Recorded without a magnitude because a vendor's spend estimate is not a price.
Supabase: $25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo.

**Egress over allowance: Neon or Supabase?**

Neon: 5 GB per project included on Free; 500 GB per project included on Launch and Scale, then $0.10/GB
Supabase: $0.09 per GB for uncached egress and $0.03 per GB for cached, charged only above the plan's quota. Egress restrictions clear at the next billing cycle, or immediately on upgrading or disabling the spend cap.

**Storage (entry plan): Neon or Supabase?**

Neon: No included allowance on the Launch plan; storage is metered at $0.35/GB-month. The Free plan includes 0.5 GB per project.
Supabase: 8 GB disk per project on the Pro plan; 500 MB on Free

**Should I choose Neon or Supabase?**

Pick Neon if Workloads that are idle most of the time, and teams who want a real database per pull request. Compute suspends after five minutes and storage is billed separately, so a staging branch costs almost nothing while nobody is using it.
Pick Supabase if Teams who want Postgres plus auth, storage and generated APIs from one vendor on a fixed monthly bill, and who would otherwise assemble those pieces themselves.
