# Plausible Analytics vs Seline

Canonical: https://inetgeek.com/compare/plausible-vs-seline/

Every value below is read from Plausible Analytics's and Seline's own documentation. See https://inetgeek.com/methodology/ for how.

## At a glance

| Criterion | Plausible Analytics | Seline |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Kind of free offer | Free trial | Free trial |
| When the free offer ends | Sign up for 30-day free trial. | 7 days from the start of the trial. |
| Entry paid plan | $9/month for Starter at up to 10,000 monthly pageviews: one site and three years of data retention. Growth is $14/month for up to three sites. | From $9 a month, billed monthly, at 10,000 events a month on a single Pro plan that carries every feature. |
| Pricing model | Banded by monthly pageviews, with a slider from 10,000 to 10 million and above; site and team-member counts rise with the tier. The page picks its currency in JavaScript, so the figures are origin-dependent and $9 is the default. | One Pro plan with every feature, priced by monthly events: pageviews and custom events share one limit, from 10,000 events at $9 to 20,000,000 at $649 a month, billed monthly or yearly (yearly gives two months free). Above 20,000,000 events the page says to contact them. |
| Sites or apps included | One site on Starter, the $9 entry plan. Growth raises it to three sites and three team members for $14. | The plan lists unlimited websites, and the FAQ says pricing is per website, with other sites linkable to one that has an active Pro subscription so they share its event limit. |
| Revenue attribution from a payment provider | Limited | Supported |
| AI and search crawler tracking | Not supported — Counts AI-assistant referral visits as a channel; crawler requests are excluded | Not supported — Counts visits referred from AI assistants as a channel; bot traffic is filtered out |
| Retention window | Three years of data retention, stated on the entry Starter plan. | Unlimited on the Pro plan, which is the only plan; the feature list says forever data retention. |
| Works without cookies | Supported | Supported — A cookie-based tracking mode exists as an optional setting and is off by default |
| GDPR / data residency | Made and hosted in the EU on what Plausible describes as European-owned infrastructure. | Seline is legally based in Poland, and its application servers and databases run on Hetzner in Germany; sub-processors listed are Hetzner, Stripe and Postmark. |

## Where they differ

### When the free offer ends

- Plausible Analytics: Sign up for 30-day free trial. ([source](https://plausible.io/))
- Seline: 7 days from the start of the trial. ([source](https://seline.com/pricing))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Entry paid plan

- Plausible Analytics: $9/month for Starter at up to 10,000 monthly pageviews: one site and three years of data retention. Growth is $14/month for up to three sites. ([source](https://plausible.io/))
- Seline: From $9 a month, billed monthly, at 10,000 events a month on a single Pro plan that carries every feature. ([source](https://seline.com/pricing))
- Lean: 50% Plausible Analytics / 50% Seline — inversely proportional to the documented price. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Pricing model

- Plausible Analytics: Banded by monthly pageviews, with a slider from 10,000 to 10 million and above; site and team-member counts rise with the tier. The page picks its currency in JavaScript, so the figures are origin-dependent and $9 is the default. ([source](https://plausible.io/))
- Seline: One Pro plan with every feature, priced by monthly events: pageviews and custom events share one limit, from 10,000 events at $9 to 20,000,000 at $649 a month, billed monthly or yearly (yearly gives two months free). Above 20,000,000 events the page says to contact them. ([source](https://seline.com/pricing))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Sites or apps included

- Plausible Analytics: One site on Starter, the $9 entry plan. Growth raises it to three sites and three team members for $14. ([source](https://plausible.io/))
- Seline: The plan lists unlimited websites, and the FAQ says pricing is per website, with other sites linkable to one that has an active Pro subscription so they share its event limit. ([source](https://seline.com/pricing))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Revenue attribution from a payment provider

- Plausible Analytics: Limited ([source](https://plausible.io/docs/ecommerce-revenue-tracking))
- Seline: Supported ([source](https://seline.com/revenue-analytics))
- Lean: 36% Plausible Analytics / 64% Seline — documented support level. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Retention window

- Plausible Analytics: Three years of data retention, stated on the entry Starter plan. ([source](https://plausible.io/))
- Seline: Unlimited on the Pro plan, which is the only plan; the feature list says forever data retention. ([source](https://seline.com/pricing))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### GDPR / data residency

- Plausible Analytics: Made and hosted in the EU on what Plausible describes as European-owned infrastructure. ([source](https://plausible.io/))
- Seline: Seline is legally based in Poland, and its application servers and databases run on Hetzner in Germany; sub-processors listed are Hetzner, Stripe and Postmark. ([source](https://seline.com/dpa))
- Lean: neither leads — both document the same answer.

## Which should you choose?

Pick Plausible Analytics if A site that wants one clear dashboard, no cookie banner and its data in the EU, at $9 a month for the first 10,000 pageviews — the cheapest EU-hosted option here that is a product rather than a favour.

Pick Seline if A founder who wants Stripe or Polar payments credited to the visit behind them, alongside visitor journeys, funnels and profiles, on one plan priced by monthly events, from $9 a month for 10,000 events, with data hosted in Germany.

Consider something else: Plausible Analytics — You run more than one site on the entry plan. Starter is one site; three costs $14. Pirsch includes 50 websites at $6 and Fathom 50 at $15, both without raising the price to add the second.

Consider something else: Seline — You need a free plan or a self-hosted option: Seline offers only a 7-day trial with no card, is hosted only, and states no SOC 2 or similar audit. Its direct revenue connections are Stripe and Polar; any other processor has to send revenue as custom events from your own code.

## Documented by only one

One side documents these and the other does not. An absence is a missing source, not a stated "no" — except where a line says the other page was READ on a date and does not mention it, which is a sourced observation and the only one-sided case this site leans on.

- What the free plan includes: Seline: A 7-day free trial of the Pro plan with every feature; the pages state there is no free plan.
- Credit card to start: Seline: No
- Payment providers connected: Seline: Stripe and Polar connect directly with a read-only key; any other payment provider, Paddle and Lemon Squeezy named, sends revenue as custom events.
- Self-hostable: Seline: Not supported
- Encryption at rest: Seline: The DPA says visitor data is encrypted in transit (HTTPS) and names encryption among its protection measures; it does not say stored data is encrypted at rest.
  - Plausible Analytics: not stated on https://plausible.io/security, read 2026-09-22. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 22% Plausible Analytics / 78% Seline — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-22).

## Questions this comparison answers

**Entry paid plan: Plausible Analytics or Seline?**

Plausible Analytics: $9/month for Starter at up to 10,000 monthly pageviews: one site and three years of data retention. Growth is $14/month for up to three sites.
Seline: From $9 a month, billed monthly, at 10,000 events a month on a single Pro plan that carries every feature.

**Should I choose Plausible Analytics or Seline?**

Pick Plausible Analytics if A site that wants one clear dashboard, no cookie banner and its data in the EU, at $9 a month for the first 10,000 pageviews — the cheapest EU-hosted option here that is a product rather than a favour.
Pick Seline if A founder who wants Stripe or Polar payments credited to the visit behind them, alongside visitor journeys, funnels and profiles, on one plan priced by monthly events, from $9 a month for 10,000 events, with data hosted in Germany.
