# Umami vs Traks

Canonical: https://inetgeek.com/compare/umami-vs-traks/

Every value below is read from Umami's and Traks's own documentation. See https://inetgeek.com/methodology/ for how.

## At a glance

| Criterion | Umami | Traks |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Kind of free offer | Free tier | Always free |
| What the free plan includes | The Hobby plan: up to 100K events a month, one website, six months of data retention and community support. Self-hosting the open-source app is free as well. | The whole product, with no plan tiers or caps from Traks. The only cost is the Cloudflare account it runs in: the page's estimator shows $5/month at 100K events and says 10M Worker requests a month are included before $0.30 per million. |
| Entry paid plan | $20/month for Pro on Umami Cloud: 1 million events a month included, then $0.00003 per additional event, up to 20 websites and 10 team members. A free Hobby plan covers 100K events and one website. | None to Traks, which is free and open source. Running it costs Cloudflare's usage pricing, paid to Cloudflare: its estimator starts at the $5/month Workers Paid plan, which it says covers millions of events. |
| Pricing model | Usage-based on monthly events. Pro is $20 with 1 million events included and $0.00003 per extra event; Business is $200 with 10 million included and $0.00002 per extra event. Each pageview is one event, and each saved event property counts as one more. Going over the limit is billed, not cut off. | No subscription. Traks runs in the buyer's own Cloudflare account, so the bill is Cloudflare's usage pricing: a $5/month Workers Paid plan plus metered Worker, Durable Object, Pipelines and R2 usage past the included amounts. The page counts a pageview as about two events. |
| Sites or apps included | Up to 20 websites and 10 team members on Pro, the entry paid plan. The free Hobby plan covers one website; Business is unlimited. | Not stated as a number. The page describes multi-site support, with sites grouped into workspaces, and shows no site limit. |
| Revenue attribution from a payment provider | Limited — Revenue sent as event data; no payment-provider connection | Limited — Value sent on a custom event; no payment-provider connection |
| Self-hostable | Supported | Supported |
| Works without cookies | Supported | Supported |
| GDPR / data residency | Umami Cloud servers are in the US and the EU, and Umami describes the product as GDPR and CCPA compliant. The page does not say which region a given account is placed in. | Self-hosted: events are stored in the buyer's own Cloudflare account and bucket rather than on Traks's servers. The page describes the platform as GDPR, ePrivacy and PECR compliant by design. |

## Where they differ

### Kind of free offer

- Umami: Free tier ([source](https://umami.is/pricing))
- Traks: Always free ([source](https://traks.dev/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### What the free plan includes

- Umami: The Hobby plan: up to 100K events a month, one website, six months of data retention and community support. Self-hosting the open-source app is free as well. ([source](https://umami.is/pricing))
- Traks: The whole product, with no plan tiers or caps from Traks. The only cost is the Cloudflare account it runs in: the page's estimator shows $5/month at 100K events and says 10M Worker requests a month are included before $0.30 per million. ([source](https://traks.dev/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Entry paid plan

- Umami: $20/month for Pro on Umami Cloud: 1 million events a month included, then $0.00003 per additional event, up to 20 websites and 10 team members. A free Hobby plan covers 100K events and one website. ([source](https://umami.is/pricing))
- Traks: None to Traks, which is free and open source. Running it costs Cloudflare's usage pricing, paid to Cloudflare: its estimator starts at the $5/month Workers Paid plan, which it says covers millions of events. ([source](https://traks.dev/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Pricing model

- Umami: Usage-based on monthly events. Pro is $20 with 1 million events included and $0.00003 per extra event; Business is $200 with 10 million included and $0.00002 per extra event. Each pageview is one event, and each saved event property counts as one more. Going over the limit is billed, not cut off. ([source](https://umami.is/pricing))
- Traks: No subscription. Traks runs in the buyer's own Cloudflare account, so the bill is Cloudflare's usage pricing: a $5/month Workers Paid plan plus metered Worker, Durable Object, Pipelines and R2 usage past the included amounts. The page counts a pageview as about two events. ([source](https://traks.dev/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Sites or apps included

- Umami: Up to 20 websites and 10 team members on Pro, the entry paid plan. The free Hobby plan covers one website; Business is unlimited. ([source](https://umami.is/pricing))
- Traks: Not stated as a number. The page describes multi-site support, with sites grouped into workspaces, and shows no site limit. ([source](https://traks.dev/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### GDPR / data residency

- Umami: Umami Cloud servers are in the US and the EU, and Umami describes the product as GDPR and CCPA compliant. The page does not say which region a given account is placed in. ([source](https://umami.is/pricing))
- Traks: Self-hosted: events are stored in the buyer's own Cloudflare account and bucket rather than on Traks's servers. The page describes the platform as GDPR, ePrivacy and PECR compliant by design. ([source](https://traks.dev/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

## Which should you choose?

Pick Umami if A site that wants open-source analytics it can self-host for free or buy as a managed service. Pro is $20 a month for up to 20 websites and two years of data, and the free Hobby plan covers one website and 100K events a month.

Pick Traks if A Cloudflare user who wants to own the whole stack. The software is free and MIT-licensed, deploys into your own account, keeps events in your own bucket and runs on Cloudflare’s $5-a-month Workers plan, with an MCP server for coding agents.

Consider something else: Umami — You think in pageviews rather than events. Umami counts each pageview as one event and each saved event property as another, so a million events buys fewer than a million pageviews. Umami Cloud servers are in the US and the EU with no region promised; Plausible and Pirsch both state EU or German hosting.

Consider something else: Traks — You want someone else to run it. There is no hosted service: you deploy and update it yourself in your own Cloudflare account, and the page states no data-retention period.

## Documented by only one

One side documents these and the other does not. An absence is a missing source, not a stated "no" — except where a line says the other page was READ on a date and does not mention it, which is a sourced observation and the only one-sided case this site leans on.

- AI and search crawler tracking: Umami: Not supported — Stated for self-hosted Umami; the Cloud pages do not address bots
- Retention window: Umami: Two years of data retention on Pro, the entry paid plan. Hobby keeps six months; Business keeps five years.

## Questions this comparison answers

**Entry paid plan: Umami or Traks?**

Umami: $20/month for Pro on Umami Cloud: 1 million events a month included, then $0.00003 per additional event, up to 20 websites and 10 team members. A free Hobby plan covers 100K events and one website.
Traks: None to Traks, which is free and open source. Running it costs Cloudflare's usage pricing, paid to Cloudflare: its estimator starts at the $5/month Workers Paid plan, which it says covers millions of events.

**Should I choose Umami or Traks?**

Pick Umami if A site that wants open-source analytics it can self-host for free or buy as a managed service. Pro is $20 a month for up to 20 websites and two years of data, and the free Hobby plan covers one website and 100K events a month.
Pick Traks if A Cloudflare user who wants to own the whole stack. The software is free and MIT-licensed, deploys into your own account, keeps events in your own bucket and runs on Cloudflare’s $5-a-month Workers plan, with an MCP server for coding agents.
