# Vercel vs AWS Amplify

Canonical: https://inetgeek.com/compare/vercel-vs-aws-amplify/

Every value below is read from Vercel's and AWS Amplify's own documentation. See https://inetgeek.com/methodology/ for how.

## At a glance

| Criterion | Vercel | AWS Amplify |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free tier | Yes | No |
| Kind of free offer | Free tier | Introductory free tier |
| Entry paid plan | $20 per developer seat / month (Pro) | No monthly minimum — Amplify Hosting is billed per unit. A representative month for one small app, priced at Amplify's published rates: 100 build minutes ($1.00), 5 GB stored ($0.11), 100 GB served ($15.00), with SSR requests inside the free 500,000 — about $16.11. Our arithmetic on Amplify's rates, not a price Amplify quotes, and it moves with traffic: egress is 93% of it. Recorded without a magnitude for that reason. |
| Pricing model | Per-seat subscription plus metered resource usage; CDN charges cover requests, data transfer to visitors and Fast Origin Transfer, and vary by the region a request comes from. | Usage-based; pay for what you use, with no monthly minimum |
| Egress over allowance | Fast Data Transfer: first 1 TB included, then $0.15-$0.35 per GB depending on region. | $0.15 per GB served, after the first 15 GB a month. |
| When you exceed a cap | Billed automatically: extra usage beyond the included amount or Pro credit is charged, not throttled or suspended | Billed automatically: pay-as-you-go with no monthly minimums; storage charges keep recurring until the app is deleted |
| Startup credit program | Vercel for Startups: up to $30,000 in Flexible Commitment Amount, Enterprise-tier access, and startup-focused support for eligible teams. | Via AWS Activate (platform-wide, not Amplify-specific): up to $200,000 in AWS credits to offset infrastructure, data services and AI/ML costs. |
| Sites or apps included | 200 projects on Hobby; unlimited on Pro and Enterprise. | 25 apps per Region by default (adjustable via a quota increase request); 50 branches per app |
| Monthly visits cap | No hard visit cap on Pro. Pro includes the first 10,000,000 Edge Requests and the first 1 TB of Fast Data Transfer, with additional consumption billed on demand. | No monthly visit cap, but a per-app rate quota of 20,000 request tokens per second (adjustable). |
| Build allowance | No monthly build-minute allowance. Build CPU minutes are billed from $0.0035 each on Pro, against the plan's usage credit, and any single build is capped at 45 minutes. | 1,000 build minutes per month at no cost with AWS Free Tier; $0.01 per minute for a Standard Instance thereafter |
| Concurrent builds | Pro: up to 500 concurrent deployments with on-demand concurrency, or 3 if on-demand concurrency is off | 5 concurrent jobs per Region by default, adjustable via a quota increase request |
| Max request duration | Hobby: 300s default and maximum. Pro and Enterprise: 300s default, 800s maximum, and 1800s extended maximum | 15 minutes (maximum execution time of an SSR compute execution instance) |
| Streaming response limit | Edge runtime streaming: up to 300 seconds, provided the response starts within 25 seconds. For Node.js/Bun/Python runtimes the docs state that max duration covers streamed responses too (Pro: 300s default, 800s maximum). Not plan-differentiated for the Edge figure. | Next.js streaming is listed as an unsupported feature of the Amplify Hosting compute SSR provider — i.e. streamed responses are not available at all, rather than bounded by a duration or size. Platform-wide (Amplify Hosting has no plan tiers). |
| Git deployment | Supported | Supported |
| Edge network | Supported | Supported |
| Uptime SLA | 99.99% on Enterprise, which is custom-priced. Hobby and Pro publish no uptime SLA. | 99.95% monthly uptime per AWS Region for Amplify Console, as a service-credit threshold. |

## Where they differ

### Free tier

- Vercel: Yes ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/plans/hobby))
- AWS Amplify: No ([source](https://aws.amazon.com/amplify/pricing/))
- Lean: 78% Vercel / 22% AWS Amplify — whether it is offered at all. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Kind of free offer

- Vercel: Free tier ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/plans/hobby))
- AWS Amplify: Introductory free tier ([source](https://aws.amazon.com/amplify/pricing/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Entry paid plan

- Vercel: $20 per developer seat / month (Pro) ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/plans/hobby))
- AWS Amplify: No monthly minimum — Amplify Hosting is billed per unit. A representative month for one small app, priced at Amplify's published rates: 100 build minutes ($1.00), 5 GB stored ($0.11), 100 GB served ($15.00), with SSR requests inside the free 500,000 — about $16.11. Our arithmetic on Amplify's rates, not a price Amplify quotes, and it moves with traffic: egress is 93% of it. Recorded without a magnitude for that reason. ([source](https://aws.amazon.com/amplify/pricing/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Pricing model

- Vercel: Per-seat subscription plus metered resource usage; CDN charges cover requests, data transfer to visitors and Fast Origin Transfer, and vary by the region a request comes from. ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/cdn))
- AWS Amplify: Usage-based; pay for what you use, with no monthly minimum ([source](https://aws.amazon.com/amplify/pricing/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Egress over allowance

- Vercel: Fast Data Transfer: first 1 TB included, then $0.15-$0.35 per GB depending on region. ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/pricing/regional-pricing))
- AWS Amplify: $0.15 per GB served, after the first 15 GB a month. ([source](https://aws.amazon.com/amplify/pricing/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### When you exceed a cap

- Vercel: Billed automatically: extra usage beyond the included amount or Pro credit is charged, not throttled or suspended ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/pricing))
- AWS Amplify: Billed automatically: pay-as-you-go with no monthly minimums; storage charges keep recurring until the app is deleted ([source](https://aws.amazon.com/amplify/pricing/))
- Lean: neither leads — both document the same answer.

### Startup credit program

- Vercel: Vercel for Startups: up to $30,000 in Flexible Commitment Amount, Enterprise-tier access, and startup-focused support for eligible teams. ([source](https://vercel.com/startups))
- AWS Amplify: Via AWS Activate (platform-wide, not Amplify-specific): up to $200,000 in AWS credits to offset infrastructure, data services and AI/ML costs. ([source](https://aws.amazon.com/startups/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Sites or apps included

- Vercel: 200 projects on Hobby; unlimited on Pro and Enterprise. ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/limits))
- AWS Amplify: 25 apps per Region by default (adjustable via a quota increase request); 50 branches per app ([source](https://docs.aws.amazon.com/amplify/latest/userguide/quotas-chapter.html))
- Lean: 89% Vercel / 11% AWS Amplify — proportional to the documented capacity. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Monthly visits cap

- Vercel: No hard visit cap on Pro. Pro includes the first 10,000,000 Edge Requests and the first 1 TB of Fast Data Transfer, with additional consumption billed on demand. ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/limits))
- AWS Amplify: No monthly visit cap, but a per-app rate quota of 20,000 request tokens per second (adjustable). ([source](https://docs.aws.amazon.com/amplify/latest/userguide/quotas-chapter.html))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Build allowance

- Vercel: No monthly build-minute allowance. Build CPU minutes are billed from $0.0035 each on Pro, against the plan's usage credit, and any single build is capped at 45 minutes. ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/limits))
- AWS Amplify: 1,000 build minutes per month at no cost with AWS Free Tier; $0.01 per minute for a Standard Instance thereafter ([source](https://aws.amazon.com/amplify/pricing/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Concurrent builds

- Vercel: Pro: up to 500 concurrent deployments with on-demand concurrency, or 3 if on-demand concurrency is off ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/builds/managing-builds))
- AWS Amplify: 5 concurrent jobs per Region by default, adjustable via a quota increase request ([source](https://docs.aws.amazon.com/amplify/latest/userguide/quotas-chapter.html))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Max request duration

- Vercel: Hobby: 300s default and maximum. Pro and Enterprise: 300s default, 800s maximum, and 1800s extended maximum ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/functions/limitations))
- AWS Amplify: 15 minutes (maximum execution time of an SSR compute execution instance) ([source](https://docs.aws.amazon.com/amplify/latest/userguide/ssr-deployment-specification.html))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Streaming response limit

- Vercel: Edge runtime streaming: up to 300 seconds, provided the response starts within 25 seconds. For Node.js/Bun/Python runtimes the docs state that max duration covers streamed responses too (Pro: 300s default, 800s maximum). Not plan-differentiated for the Edge figure. ([source](https://vercel.com/docs/functions/limitations))
- AWS Amplify: Next.js streaming is listed as an unsupported feature of the Amplify Hosting compute SSR provider — i.e. streamed responses are not available at all, rather than bounded by a duration or size. Platform-wide (Amplify Hosting has no plan tiers). ([source](https://docs.aws.amazon.com/amplify/latest/userguide/ssr-amplify-support.html))
- Lean: 82% Vercel / 18% AWS Amplify — documented support level. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Uptime SLA

- Vercel: 99.99% on Enterprise, which is custom-priced. Hobby and Pro publish no uptime SLA. ([source](https://vercel.com/pricing))
- AWS Amplify: 99.95% monthly uptime per AWS Region for Amplify Console, as a service-credit threshold. ([source](https://aws.amazon.com/amplify/sla/))
- Lean: 36% Vercel / 64% AWS Amplify — whether a commitment is published on the plan you can buy. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

## Which should you choose?

Pick Vercel if Teams building on a framework the CDN understands natively, who want a predictable per-seat cost with metered usage on top. The Git integration covers GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, so it drops into an existing review workflow.

Pick AWS Amplify if Front-end apps deployed from Git onto AWS with usage-based pricing and no monthly minimum, including 1,000 build minutes and 15 GB of transfer under the free tier.

Consider something else: Vercel — The team is large enough that $20 per developer seat dominates the bill rather than the metered usage underneath it.

Consider something else: AWS Amplify — Egress beyond the free allowance is $0.15 per GB, which is the highest of the platforms compared here, and SSR compute is capped at 15 minutes.

## Documented by only one

One side documents these and the other does not. An absence is a missing source, not a stated "no" — except where a line says the other page was READ on a date and does not mention it, which is a sourced observation and the only one-sided case this site leans on.

- What the free plan includes: AWS Amplify: A free plan chosen at sign-up, available for 6 months after the account is created, alongside up to $200 of AWS Free Tier credits for new customers.
- When the free offer ends: AWS Amplify: 6 months after account creation; Free Tier credits expire 12 months after that date.
- Storage (entry plan): AWS Amplify: Pay-as-you-go: no cost up to 5 GB stored on CDN per month, then $0.023 per GB per month. Separately, build artifact size is capped at 5 GB per app.
- Memory (entry plan): Vercel: 2 GB and 1 vCPU by default on every plan; Pro and Enterprise can raise it to 4 GB and 2 vCPU.
- Included bandwidth: AWS Amplify: 15 GB of data transfer out per month at no cost, then $0.15 per GB served.
- File, inode or volume limit: Vercel: 15,000 source files per CLI deployment (platform-wide); no upper limit on output files created during a build
- Edge function timeout: Vercel: Edge runtime: a response must begin within 25 seconds to keep streaming beyond that point, and streaming can then continue for up to 300 seconds.
- Managed connection pooling: Vercel: Limited
- Scheduled jobs: Vercel: Supported
- Persistent processes: AWS Amplify: Not supported
- Persistent storage: AWS Amplify: Not supported
- Scales to zero: Vercel: Supported
- Autoscaling: Vercel: Supported
- Regions: Vercel: 20 compute-capable regions, from Stockholm and Mumbai to Cleveland and Cape Town; functions default to iad1 (Washington, D.C.).
- Points of presence: Vercel: 126 points of presence across 51 countries.
- Support on entry paid plan: AWS Amplify: No support level comes with the service. AWS Support is bought separately as an account-wide plan, and its response times are graded by case severity rather than by product.
- SOC 2: Vercel: SOC 2 Type 2 attestation.
  - AWS Amplify: not stated on https://aws.amazon.com/compliance/, read 2026-09-21. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 78% Vercel / 22% AWS Amplify — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-21).
- ISO 27001: Vercel: ISO 27001:2013 certified.
  - AWS Amplify: not stated on https://aws.amazon.com/compliance/, read 2026-09-21. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 78% Vercel / 22% AWS Amplify — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-21).
- HIPAA: Vercel: HIPAA compliance supported for enterprise customers.
  - AWS Amplify: not stated on https://aws.amazon.com/compliance/, read 2026-09-21. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 78% Vercel / 22% AWS Amplify — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-21).
- GDPR / data residency: Vercel: No data stored permanently inside EU regions; static assets/Serverless Function responses may cache in EU regions but only ephemerally.
  - AWS Amplify: not stated on https://aws.amazon.com/compliance/, read 2026-09-21. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 78% Vercel / 22% AWS Amplify — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-21).
- PCI DSS: Vercel: Attestations for both service providers (SAQ-D) and merchants (SAQ-A) under PCI DSS v4.0, on request.
  - AWS Amplify: not stated on https://aws.amazon.com/compliance/, read 2026-09-21. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 78% Vercel / 22% AWS Amplify — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-21).
- Encryption at rest: Vercel: AES-256 at rest and HTTPS/TLS in transit, including access tokens and secrets.
  - AWS Amplify: not stated on https://aws.amazon.com/compliance/, read 2026-09-21. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 78% Vercel / 22% AWS Amplify — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-21).
- Role-based access control: Vercel: Role-based access control, assigning roles per project.
- Dedicated infrastructure: Vercel: Enterprise teams get their own build infrastructure, isolated from Hobby and Pro accounts.

## Questions this comparison answers

**Entry paid plan: Vercel or AWS Amplify?**

Vercel: $20 per developer seat / month (Pro)
AWS Amplify: No monthly minimum — Amplify Hosting is billed per unit. A representative month for one small app, priced at Amplify's published rates: 100 build minutes ($1.00), 5 GB stored ($0.11), 100 GB served ($15.00), with SSR requests inside the free 500,000 — about $16.11. Our arithmetic on Amplify's rates, not a price Amplify quotes, and it moves with traffic: egress is 93% of it. Recorded without a magnitude for that reason.

**Free tier: Vercel or AWS Amplify?**

Vercel: Yes
AWS Amplify: No

**Egress over allowance: Vercel or AWS Amplify?**

Vercel: Fast Data Transfer: first 1 TB included, then $0.15-$0.35 per GB depending on region.
AWS Amplify: $0.15 per GB served, after the first 15 GB a month.

**Should I choose Vercel or AWS Amplify?**

Pick Vercel if Teams building on a framework the CDN understands natively, who want a predictable per-seat cost with metered usage on top. The Git integration covers GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, so it drops into an existing review workflow.
Pick AWS Amplify if Front-end apps deployed from Git onto AWS with usage-based pricing and no monthly minimum, including 1,000 build minutes and 15 GB of transfer under the free tier.
