# Vultr vs Hostinger VPS

Canonical: https://inetgeek.com/compare/vultr-vs-hostinger-vps/

Every value below is read from Vultr's and Hostinger VPS's own documentation. See https://inetgeek.com/methodology/ for how.

## At a glance

| Criterion | Vultr | Hostinger VPS |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Entry paid plan | $2.50/month for vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6: 1 vCPU, 512 MB memory, 10 GB SSD, 512 GB bandwidth, IPv6 only — and available in two of Vultr's 33 regions, Newark and Atlanta. The first plan offered nearly everywhere is vc2-1c-1gb at $5.00, in 31 of them. | $11.99/month on renewal for KVM 1, on a two-year term. The advertised $6.49 is an introductory rate for the first term only. |
| Pricing model | Hourly billing; Cloud Compute is billed up to 672 hours per month, with a one-hour minimum billing unit | Prepaid multi-year terms at a discounted first term, renewing at roughly 1.85x. KVM 1 is $6.49/month on a two-year prepay and $11.99/month on renewal. Milder than the shared-hosting line, where the same structure renews at 3.7x. |
| Egress over allowance | $0.01 per GB | No per-GB overage price; at the plan monthly bandwidth limit the VPS connection is throttled to 10 Mbps for the rest of the month, resetting at the start of the next month. |
| Storage (entry plan) | 10 GB SSD on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, 1 vCPU, 512 MB, IPv6 only). | 50 GB NVMe on KVM 1, the cheapest plan |
| Memory (entry plan) | 0.5 GB on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, IPv6 only). The plans API reports it as "ram":512 without naming a unit. | 4 GB RAM on KVM 1, the cheapest plan |
| Included bandwidth | 2 TB of free bandwidth per account per month, plus each running instance's own monthly cap allocated hourly | 4 TB on KVM 1, rising to 8 TB on KVM 2, 16 TB on KVM 4 and 32 TB on KVM 8 |
| Containers | Supported | Supported |
| Persistent storage | Supported | Supported |
| Regions | 33 regions across six continents: 11 in North America, 9 in Europe, 8 in Asia, 2 in Australia, 2 in South America and 1 in Africa. | Data centers in North America, Europe, Asia and South America. Hostinger names the continents on the VPS page rather than listing the locations. |
| SOC 2 | To maintain a strong security posture, Vultr conducts quarterly penetration testing by certified ethical hackers (CEH/OSCP), real-time vulnerability scanning aligned with the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and annual SOC 2+ Type II audits. | Not SOC 2 certified; the Trust Center states Hostinger holds ISO/IEC 27001:2022 instead. |
| Encryption at rest | Vultr Block Storage and File Storage provide encryption for data in transit and at rest; OS-level encryption such as LUKS is advised in addition. | DPA security standards include encrypting Personal Data and sensitive data at rest in databases and shared directories. Hostinger-side processing measure; not a statement about customer-managed VPS disks. |
| Customer-managed keys | Object Storage supports SSE-C server-side encryption with a customer-provided key; the customer alone manages and safeguards those keys. Object Storage only; no platform key-management service found on the site. | Not supported: Hostinger states it does not currently support customer-managed KMS or BYOK and manages key management internally. |
| Role-based access control | IAM roles bundle policies for users or groups: assignable roles for permanent access, assumable roles for time-bound elevated sessions. | Account Sharing grants a Collaborator or Admin role, scoped to selected services; each role has a different set of permissions. |
| Dedicated infrastructure | Bare Metal instances offer direct, unvirtualized access to dedicated physical servers; Cloud Compute by contrast runs in a virtualized environment. | Each KVM VPS is a dedicated, isolated environment on a physical server, with CPU and RAM not shared with other users. |

## Where they differ

### Entry paid plan

- Vultr: $2.50/month for vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6: 1 vCPU, 512 MB memory, 10 GB SSD, 512 GB bandwidth, IPv6 only — and available in two of Vultr's 33 regions, Newark and Atlanta. The first plan offered nearly everywhere is vc2-1c-1gb at $5.00, in 31 of them. ([source](https://api.vultr.com/v2/plans?per_page=500))
- Hostinger VPS: $11.99/month on renewal for KVM 1, on a two-year term. The advertised $6.49 is an introductory rate for the first term only. ([source](https://www.hostinger.com/vps-hosting))
- Lean: 83% Vultr / 17% Hostinger VPS — inversely proportional to the documented price. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Pricing model

- Vultr: Hourly billing; Cloud Compute is billed up to 672 hours per month, with a one-hour minimum billing unit ([source](https://docs.vultr.com/support/platform/billing/how-am-i-billed-for-my-servers))
- Hostinger VPS: Prepaid multi-year terms at a discounted first term, renewing at roughly 1.85x. KVM 1 is $6.49/month on a two-year prepay and $11.99/month on renewal. Milder than the shared-hosting line, where the same structure renews at 3.7x. ([source](https://www.hostinger.com/vps-hosting))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Egress over allowance

- Vultr: $0.01 per GB ([source](https://docs.vultr.com/support/platform/billing/what-is-the-bandwidth-overage-rate))
- Hostinger VPS: No per-GB overage price; at the plan monthly bandwidth limit the VPS connection is throttled to 10 Mbps for the rest of the month, resetting at the start of the next month. ([source](https://www.hostinger.com/support/8789965-what-happens-if-your-vps-bandwidth-resource-limits-are-exceeded/))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Storage (entry plan)

- Vultr: 10 GB SSD on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, 1 vCPU, 512 MB, IPv6 only). ([source](https://api.vultr.com/v2/plans?per_page=500))
- Hostinger VPS: 50 GB NVMe on KVM 1, the cheapest plan ([source](https://www.hostinger.com/vps-hosting))
- Lean: 17% Vultr / 83% Hostinger VPS — proportional to the documented capacity. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Memory (entry plan)

- Vultr: 0.5 GB on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, IPv6 only). The plans API reports it as "ram":512 without naming a unit. ([source](https://api.vultr.com/v2/plans?per_page=500))
- Hostinger VPS: 4 GB RAM on KVM 1, the cheapest plan ([source](https://www.hostinger.com/vps-hosting))
- Lean: 11% Vultr / 89% Hostinger VPS — proportional to the documented capacity. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Included bandwidth

- Vultr: 2 TB of free bandwidth per account per month, plus each running instance's own monthly cap allocated hourly ([source](https://docs.vultr.com/support/platform/billing/how-are-bandwidth-caps-calculated))
- Hostinger VPS: 4 TB on KVM 1, rising to 8 TB on KVM 2, 16 TB on KVM 4 and 32 TB on KVM 8 ([source](https://www.hostinger.com/vps-hosting))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### Regions

- Vultr: 33 regions across six continents: 11 in North America, 9 in Europe, 8 in Asia, 2 in Australia, 2 in South America and 1 in Africa. ([source](https://api.vultr.com/v2/regions?per_page=500))
- Hostinger VPS: Data centers in North America, Europe, Asia and South America. Hostinger names the continents on the VPS page rather than listing the locations. ([source](https://www.hostinger.com/vps-hosting))
- Lean: none. No documented basis to lean either way on this criterion.

### SOC 2

- Vultr: To maintain a strong security posture, Vultr conducts quarterly penetration testing by certified ethical hackers (CEH/OSCP), real-time vulnerability scanning aligned with the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and annual SOC 2+ Type II audits. ([source](https://www.vultr.com/trust-center/))
- Hostinger VPS: Not SOC 2 certified; the Trust Center states Hostinger holds ISO/IEC 27001:2022 instead. ([source](https://trust.hostinger.com/api/statuspage/share/9dc9a6f0-bac9-4f51-93b7-d99aaf0aa3b4/public/kb/search?page=1&sortField=lastUpdatedAt&sortDirection=desc&entriesPerPage=500&productIds=default))
- Lean: 82% Vultr / 18% Hostinger VPS — documented support level. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Encryption at rest

- Vultr: Vultr Block Storage and File Storage provide encryption for data in transit and at rest; OS-level encryption such as LUKS is advised in addition. ([source](https://docs.vultr.com/platform/security-best-practices/vbs-vfs))
- Hostinger VPS: DPA security standards include encrypting Personal Data and sensitive data at rest in databases and shared directories. Hostinger-side processing measure; not a statement about customer-managed VPS disks. ([source](https://www.hostinger.com/legal/dpa))
- Lean: 64% Vultr / 36% Hostinger VPS — documented support level. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Customer-managed keys

- Vultr: Object Storage supports SSE-C server-side encryption with a customer-provided key; the customer alone manages and safeguards those keys. Object Storage only; no platform key-management service found on the site. ([source](https://docs.vultr.com/how-to-use-server-side-encryption-sse-c-with-s3-object-storage-on-vultr))
- Hostinger VPS: Not supported: Hostinger states it does not currently support customer-managed KMS or BYOK and manages key management internally. ([source](https://trust.hostinger.com/api/statuspage/share/9dc9a6f0-bac9-4f51-93b7-d99aaf0aa3b4/public/kb/search?page=1&sortField=lastUpdatedAt&sortDirection=desc&entriesPerPage=500&productIds=default))
- Lean: 64% Vultr / 36% Hostinger VPS — documented support level. inetGeek's own reading, computed from the two values above by the rules at https://inetgeek.com/methodology/, not a provider claim.

### Role-based access control

- Vultr: IAM roles bundle policies for users or groups: assignable roles for permanent access, assumable roles for time-bound elevated sessions. ([source](https://docs.vultr.com/platform/iam/roles/how-to-create-a-role))
- Hostinger VPS: Account Sharing grants a Collaborator or Admin role, scoped to selected services; each role has a different set of permissions. ([source](https://www.hostinger.com/support/1583777-how-to-share-access-to-your-account-at-hostinger/))
- Lean: neither leads — both document the same answer.

### Dedicated infrastructure

- Vultr: Bare Metal instances offer direct, unvirtualized access to dedicated physical servers; Cloud Compute by contrast runs in a virtualized environment. ([source](https://docs.vultr.com/products/compute/instances/bare-metal/faq))
- Hostinger VPS: Each KVM VPS is a dedicated, isolated environment on a physical server, with CPU and RAM not shared with other users. ([source](https://www.hostinger.com/support/8852150-what-is-a-self-managed-vps-at-hostinger/))
- Lean: neither leads — both document the same answer.

## Which should you choose?

Pick Vultr if Teams that want cheap virtual machines with generous included transfer — 2 TB a month per account — and overage at a cent per gigabyte. Block storage and managed databases sit alongside.

Pick Hostinger VPS if Running Docker applications on a cheap KVM server with root access, where 4 GB of RAM at the entry plan matters more than a managed control plane. The one-click catalog covers the usual self-hosted stack.

Consider something else: Vultr — The $2.50 entry plan is IPv6-only; the equivalent machine with IPv4 starts at $3.50, and stopped instances are still billed.

Consider something else: Hostinger VPS — The advertised price is introductory. Compare the two-year renewal rate, and note that Hostinger publishes continents rather than data centre locations, so you cannot pick a specific region before buying.

## Documented by only one

One side documents these and the other does not. An absence is a missing source, not a stated "no" — except where a line says the other page was READ on a date and does not mention it, which is a sourced observation and the only one-sided case this site leans on.

- Free tier: Hostinger VPS: No — KVM VPS plans appear only under the 30-day money-back guarantee, not among the free-trial offerings.
- Kind of free offer: Hostinger VPS: No free offer
- When you exceed a cap: Vultr: Billed automatically — bandwidth above the plan quota is charged at an overage rate of $0.01 per GB.
- Sites or apps included: Vultr: An account-wide maximum-instances limit applies; the number is shown only in the Vultr Console under Billing > Limits and is not published (increases can be requested)
- File, inode or volume limit: Vultr: Up to 16 Vultr Block Storage volumes can be attached to the same Cloud Compute instance
- Managed connection pooling: Vultr: Supported
- Docker deployment: Hostinger VPS: Supported
- Persistent processes: Hostinger VPS: Supported
- Managed databases: Vultr: Supported
- Edge network: Vultr: Supported
- Scales to zero: Vultr: Not supported
- Autoscaling: Vultr: Limited
- Backup retention: Hostinger VPS: Automatic weekly backups included, plus manual snapshots. Hostinger does not state how many weekly backups are kept.
- ISO 27001: Hostinger VPS: ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; certificate viewable in the Hostinger Trust Center.
  - Vultr: not stated on https://www.vultr.com/trust-center/, read 2026-09-22. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 22% Vultr / 78% Hostinger VPS — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-22).
- HIPAA: Hostinger VPS: Hostinger states its hosting services are not intended to provide a HIPAA-compliant environment.
  - Vultr: not stated on https://www.vultr.com/, read 2026-09-21. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 22% Vultr / 78% Hostinger VPS — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-21).
- GDPR / data residency: Hostinger VPS: GDPR Data Processing Addendum published; EU Standard Contractual Clauses apply to Customer Data transferred outside the EEA.
  - Vultr: not stated on https://www.vultr.com/trust-center/, read 2026-09-22. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 22% Vultr / 78% Hostinger VPS — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-22).
- PCI DSS: Hostinger VPS: Hostinger hosting plans are not designed to meet PCI (Payment Card Industry) compliance standards.
  - Vultr: not stated on https://www.vultr.com/trust-center/, read 2026-09-22. Corrections: https://inetgeek.com/contact/
  - Lean: 22% Vultr / 78% Hostinger VPS — documented, against a vendor page that does not state it (checked 2026-09-22).
- Private networking / VPC: Vultr: VPC networks give instances a secure, isolated private IPv4 network, with auto-assigned or custom subnet ranges and optional custom static routes.

## Questions this comparison answers

**Entry paid plan: Vultr or Hostinger VPS?**

Vultr: $2.50/month for vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6: 1 vCPU, 512 MB memory, 10 GB SSD, 512 GB bandwidth, IPv6 only — and available in two of Vultr's 33 regions, Newark and Atlanta. The first plan offered nearly everywhere is vc2-1c-1gb at $5.00, in 31 of them.
Hostinger VPS: $11.99/month on renewal for KVM 1, on a two-year term. The advertised $6.49 is an introductory rate for the first term only.

**Egress over allowance: Vultr or Hostinger VPS?**

Vultr: $0.01 per GB
Hostinger VPS: No per-GB overage price; at the plan monthly bandwidth limit the VPS connection is throttled to 10 Mbps for the rest of the month, resetting at the start of the next month.

**Included bandwidth: Vultr or Hostinger VPS?**

Vultr: 2 TB of free bandwidth per account per month, plus each running instance's own monthly cap allocated hourly
Hostinger VPS: 4 TB on KVM 1, rising to 8 TB on KVM 2, 16 TB on KVM 4 and 32 TB on KVM 8

**Should I choose Vultr or Hostinger VPS?**

Pick Vultr if Teams that want cheap virtual machines with generous included transfer — 2 TB a month per account — and overage at a cent per gigabyte. Block storage and managed databases sit alongside.
Pick Hostinger VPS if Running Docker applications on a cheap KVM server with root access, where 4 GB of RAM at the entry plan matters more than a managed control plane. The one-click catalog covers the usual self-hosted stack.
