Skip to content
inetGeek

Plausible Analytics vs GoatCounter

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Plausible Analytics and GoatCounter built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Updated 10 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Plausible Analytics if…

A site that wants one clear dashboard, no cookie banner and its data in the EU, at $9 a month for the first 10,000 pageviews — the cheapest EU-hosted option here that is a product rather than a favour.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose GoatCounter if…

A personal site or a small business that wants real analytics and no bill. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage, the script is around 3.5 KB, and there is a JavaScript-free tracking-pixel option.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Plausible Analytics: You run more than one site on the entry plan. Starter is one site; three costs $14. Pirsch includes 50 websites at $6 and Fathom 50 at $15, both without raising the price to add the second.
  • GoatCounter: The traffic is serious or the dependency is. There is no paid tier to escalate to and no commitment behind the hosted service — GoatCounter's own answer to heavy use is to self-host, which is a different job from paying someone.

3 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionPlausible AnalyticsGoatCounter
Pricing
Free tier
No
Yes
Entry paid plan$9/month for Starter at up to 10,000 monthly pageviews: one site and three years of data retention. Growth is $14/month for up to three sites.None. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage and funded by donations; beyond that the answer is to self-host rather than to pay.
Limits
Sites or apps includedOne site on Starter, the $9 entry plan. Growth raises it to three sites and three team members for $14.Not stated as a number. The hosted service is bounded by what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage rather than by a site count, and the self-hosted app has no such limit at all.
Compliance
Works without cookiesSupportedSupported

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Plausible Analytics
No
GoatCounter
Yes
Sources (2) →
  • Plausible Analytics ↗

    “Starter /year /month $9 /month Custom Start free trial One site 3 years of data retention”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing

  • GoatCounter — open source web analytics ↗

    “GoatCounter.com is currently offered for free for reasonable public usage. Running your personal website or small-to-medium business on it is fine, but sending millions of pageviews/day isn't.”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official site

Entry paid plan

Plausible Analytics
$9/month for Starter at up to 10,000 monthly pageviews: one site and three years of data retention. Growth is $14/month for up to three sites.
GoatCounter
None. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage and funded by donations; beyond that the answer is to self-host rather than to pay.
Sources (2) →
  • Plausible Analytics ↗

    “Up to 10k monthly pageviews 10k 10k 10M+ Starter /year /month $9 /month Custom Start free trial One site 3 years of data retention Intuitive, fast and privacy-friendly dashboard”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing

  • GoatCounter — open source web analytics ↗

    “You can self-host GoatCounter easily if you want to use it for more serious purposes. Donations are accepted via Github Sponsors to cover server costs.”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official site

Sites or apps included

Plausible Analytics
One site on Starter, the $9 entry plan. Growth raises it to three sites and three team members for $14.
GoatCounter
Not stated as a number. The hosted service is bounded by what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage rather than by a site count, and the self-hosted app has no such limit at all.
Sources (2) →
  • Plausible Analytics ↗

    “Start free trial One site 3 years of data retention Intuitive, fast and privacy-friendly dashboard Email/Slack reports Google Analytics import Goals and custom events Saved Segments Annotations Growth /year /month $14 /month Custom Start free trial Everything in Starter Up to 3 sites Up to 3 team members”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing

  • GoatCounter — open source web analytics ↗

    “GoatCounter.com is currently offered for free for reasonable public usage. Running your personal website or small-to-medium business on it is fine, but sending millions of pageviews/day isn't. You can self-host GoatCounter easily”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official site

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing.

Kind of free offerPlausible Analytics: Free trial
What the free plan includesGoatCounter: Reasonable public usage, defined by example rather than by number: a personal site or a small-to-medium business is fine, millions of pageviews a day is not.
Pricing modelPlausible Analytics: Banded by monthly pageviews, with a slider from 10,000 to 10 million and above; site and team-member counts rise with the tier. The page picks its currency in JavaScript, so the figures are origin-dependent and $9 is the default.
Retention windowPlausible Analytics: Three years of data retention, stated on the entry Starter plan.
Self-hostableGoatCounter: Supported
GDPR / data residencyPlausible Analytics: Made and hosted in the EU on what Plausible describes as European-owned infrastructure.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Plausible Analytics or GoatCounter?

Plausible Analytics: $9/month for Starter at up to 10,000 monthly pageviews: one site and three years of data retention. Growth is $14/month for up to three sites.

GoatCounter: None. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage and funded by donations; beyond that the answer is to self-host rather than to pay.

Free tier: Plausible Analytics or GoatCounter?

Plausible Analytics: No

GoatCounter: Yes

Should I choose Plausible Analytics or GoatCounter?

Pick Plausible Analytics if A site that wants one clear dashboard, no cookie banner and its data in the EU, at $9 a month for the first 10,000 pageviews — the cheapest EU-hosted option here that is a product rather than a favour.

Pick GoatCounter if A personal site or a small business that wants real analytics and no bill. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage, the script is around 3.5 KB, and there is a JavaScript-free tracking-pixel option.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Every page here is sourced and dated.