Skip to content
inetGeek

Hasura vs AWS AppSync

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Hasura and AWS AppSync built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 12 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Hasura if…

Putting one GraphQL API over several data sources at once when the free tier's terms matter more than the paid one's: unlimited models at any scale, no cap on API requests or concurrent users, and self-hosting with the v3 engine, all at $0.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose AWS AppSync if…

GraphQL over AWS data sources when you want no floor on the bill: no minimum fees, no mandatory usage, $4.00 per million query and data-modification operations, and WebSocket subscriptions priced separately at $2.00 per million updates.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Hasura: The bill has to be predictable before you design the schema. Hasura charges $5 per active model per month, so cost scales with how wide your supergraph is rather than how much traffic it serves, and connector hosting is billed separately by vCPU-hour on top.
  • AWS AppSync: You need a free tier that stays. AppSync's 250,000 operations, 250,000 real-time updates and 600,000 connection-minutes expire after 12 months, where Hasura's and Directus's free plans do not — and nothing on the pricing page addresses running it yourself.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Hasura alternatives · AWS AppSync alternatives

5 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionHasuraAWS AppSync
Pricing
Free tier
Yes
No
What the free plan includesUnlimited models at any scale, one supergraph developer, and 15 minutes of observability retention. API requests per month and concurrent API users are both listed as no limit.250,000 query or data-modification operations, 250,000 real-time updates and 600,000 connection-minutes — and it expires after 12 months rather than renewing.
Entry paid planDDN Base starts at $5 per active model per month — a per-model rate rather than a plan fee, so no magnitude is recorded. Hosting third-party and code connectors is separate, at $0.075/vCPU-hour and $0.0075/GiB-hour.None. AWS states there are no minimum fees and no mandatory service usage: the bill is $4.00 per million query and data-modification operations, $2.00 per million real-time updates and $0.08 per million connection-minutes, plus EC2-rate data transfer.
Pricing modelPer active model, per month, with connector hosting billed separately by vCPU-hour and GiB-hour. API requests and concurrent users are not metered.Purely per request, with no plan tier: query and data-modification operations, real-time updates and connection-minutes are each metered and priced separately.
Data
Real-time subscriptionsGraphQL subscriptions push updates from the connected data sources to clients instead of polling — but they are in beta, and Hasura says they are free to use for as long as that lasts.WebSocket subscriptions, billed separately from queries: $2.00 per million real-time updates plus $0.08 per million connection-minutes. Every outbound broadcast and every client connection counts as a real-time update.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Hasura
Yes
AWS AppSync
No
Sources (2) →

What the free plan includes

Hasura
Unlimited models at any scale, one supergraph developer, and 15 minutes of observability retention. API requests per month and concurrent API users are both listed as no limit.
AWS AppSync
250,000 query or data-modification operations, 250,000 real-time updates and 600,000 connection-minutes — and it expires after 12 months rather than renewing.
Sources (2) →
  • Hasura DDN Pricing ↗

    “Includes: Unlimited models, at any scale 1 supergraph developer Observability: 15-minute retention [...] Infrastructure API requests/month - No limit Concurrent API users - No limit”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • AWS AppSync Pricing ↗

    “The AppSync GraphQL Free Tier offers 250,000 query or data modification operations 250,000 real-time updates 600,000 connection-minutes Use beyond these levels is billed at the published rates. The AWS AppSync Free Tier automatically expires after 12 months.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

Entry paid plan

Hasura
DDN Base starts at $5 per active model per month — a per-model rate rather than a plan fee, so no magnitude is recorded. Hosting third-party and code connectors is separate, at $0.075/vCPU-hour and $0.0075/GiB-hour.
AWS AppSync
None. AWS states there are no minimum fees and no mandatory service usage: the bill is $4.00 per million query and data-modification operations, $2.00 per million real-time updates and $0.08 per million connection-minutes, plus EC2-rate data transfer.
Sources (2) →
  • Hasura DDN Pricing ↗

    “Optional hosting for third-party & code connectors - $0.075/vCPU-hour, $0.0075/GiB-hour [...] DDN Base Starting at $5/active model/month* For a single team building a business-critical supergraph.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • AWS AppSync Pricing ↗

    “With AWS AppSync, you pay only for what you use with no minimum fees or mandatory service usage. [...] Query and Data Modification Operations $4.00 per million Query and Data Modification Operations Data transfer is charged at the EC2 data transfer rate”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

Pricing model

Hasura
Per active model, per month, with connector hosting billed separately by vCPU-hour and GiB-hour. API requests and concurrent users are not metered.
AWS AppSync
Purely per request, with no plan tier: query and data-modification operations, real-time updates and connection-minutes are each metered and priced separately.
Sources (2) →
  • Hasura DDN Pricing ↗

    “Hasura Data Delivery Network (DDN) offers innovative model-based pricing that scales with your needs - from startup to enterprise - in a predictable way.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • AWS AppSync Pricing ↗

    “you pay only for what you use with no minimum fees or mandatory service usage. This provides you with transparency and a low price regardless of your workload type, because you only pay for the specific AppSync GraphQL and AppSync Events features you use.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

Real-time subscriptions

Hasura
GraphQL subscriptions push updates from the connected data sources to clients instead of polling — but they are in beta, and Hasura says they are free to use for as long as that lasts.
AWS AppSync
WebSocket subscriptions, billed separately from queries: $2.00 per million real-time updates plus $0.08 per million connection-minutes. Every outbound broadcast and every client connection counts as a real-time update.
Sources (2) →
  • Basics of Subscriptions — Hasura DDN Docs ↗

    “Subscriptions allow you to push real-time updates from your data sources to clients, making them ideal for building reactive applications without constant polling. Currently in beta Subscriptions are in beta and are free to use during this period.”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official docs · Report a correction

  • AWS AppSync Pricing ↗

    “Real-time Updates $2.00 per million Real-time Updates. All outbound messages broadcast, and WebSockets operations, like client connections, are considered Real-time Updates. $0.08 per million minutes of connection to the AWS AppSync GraphQL service”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Kind of free offerAWS AppSync: Introductory free tier
AutoscalingHasura: Supported
Self-hostableHasura: Supported
Support on entry paid planHasura: Every Hasura DDN user has access to free Community support.
SOC 2Hasura: SupportedAWS AppSync: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS AppSync.
HIPAAHasura: Hasura Cloud is HIPAA CompliantAWS AppSync: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS AppSync.
GDPR / data residencyHasura: Our offerings are fully GDPR compliant.AWS AppSync: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS AppSync.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Hasura or AWS AppSync?

Hasura: DDN Base starts at $5 per active model per month — a per-model rate rather than a plan fee, so no magnitude is recorded. Hosting third-party and code connectors is separate, at $0.075/vCPU-hour and $0.0075/GiB-hour.

AWS AppSync: None. AWS states there are no minimum fees and no mandatory service usage: the bill is $4.00 per million query and data-modification operations, $2.00 per million real-time updates and $0.08 per million connection-minutes, plus EC2-rate data transfer.

Free tier: Hasura or AWS AppSync?

Hasura: Yes

AWS AppSync: No

Should I choose Hasura or AWS AppSync?

Pick Hasura if Putting one GraphQL API over several data sources at once when the free tier's terms matter more than the paid one's: unlimited models at any scale, no cap on API requests or concurrent users, and self-hosting with the v3 engine, all at $0.

Pick AWS AppSync if GraphQL over AWS data sources when you want no floor on the bill: no minimum fees, no mandatory usage, $4.00 per million query and data-modification operations, and WebSocket subscriptions priced separately at $2.00 per million updates.

Provider pages

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.