Skip to content
inetGeek

Hostinger vs SiteGround

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Hostinger and SiteGround built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 28 criteria comparedSources last checked

Adoption share

HTTP Archive counts — how much more of the web runs Hostinger than SiteGround, among the origins HTTP Archive actually detects. Measured . Source: HTTP Archive.

The short answer

Choose Hostinger if…

Small sites where the recurring cost matters most and a control panel is preferred to a command line. Cron jobs are available through hPanel.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose SiteGround if…

Shared hosting with Git available over SSH and a visual interface on top, across eleven data centre locations. Cron jobs are configured in Site Tools.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Hostinger: The advertised price is introductory. Compare the renewal rate, and note the plan is prepaid across a multi-year term.
  • SiteGround: Dynamic page caching on the CDN requires the paid Premium tier, and the advertised price is introductory on a prepaid annual term.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Hostinger alternatives · SiteGround alternatives

19 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionHostingerSiteGround
Pricing
Free tierNo — Explicit statement, not inferred from the plan lineup; the 30-day guarantee is a refund, not a free plan.No — Every listed plan is prepaid; the risk-free offer is a 30-day money-back guarantee, not an ongoing free plan.
Kind of free offerNo free offerNo free offer
Entry paid plan
$10.99/month on renewal (Premium plan)
$17.99/month on renewal ($3.99/mo intro, prepaid 12 months)
Pricing modelPrepaid multi-year terms at a heavily discounted first term, renewing at roughly 3.7x that rate. The Premium plan is $2.99/month if you buy 48 months up front ($143.52, against a $575.52 list price) and $10.99/month on renewal.Prepaid fixed-term subscription; advertised rate is introductory and renews higher
When you exceed a capThrottled or errored rather than billed: exceeding CPU slows the site, exceeding RAM or process limits returns 503 errors, and exceeding the inode limit blocks new file creationAccess to the website may be limited after early warnings, rather than billed as an overage
Limits
Storage (entry plan)
20 GB SSD storage on the Premium plan (cheapest paid shared web hosting plan)
10 GB Premium Google storage on the StartUp plan (cheapest paid shared hosting plan)
Memory (entry plan)
2 GB memory (RAM) on the Premium web hosting plan; 1 GB on Web Single, 3 GB on Unlimited.
Up to 768MB RAM per process on SiteGround shared web hosting, which includes the StartUp plan
Sites or apps included
3 websites on the Premium plan (cheapest paid shared web hosting plan)
1 website on the StartUp plan (cheapest paid shared hosting plan)
Monthly visits capUp to 100,000 monthly visits stated for the Business WordPress hosting plan — Knowledge-base capacity figure; the plan parameters-and-limits tables publish no visits row for any plan.Shared plans, SiteGround's stated capacity per plan: StartUp around 10,000 monthly visits, GrowBig approximately 100,000, GoGeek 400,000+ monthly.
Included bandwidthUnlimited on Premium and Unlimited plans; 100 GB on Web Single, the cheapest tier.Unlimited traffic on all shared web hosting plans: StartUp hosts 1 website with unlimited traffic; GrowBig and GoGeek offer unlimited websites, unlimited traffic.
File, inode or volume limit
400 000 inodes on the Premium web hosting plan; 200 000 on Web Single, 600 000 on Unlimited.
200000 inodes per account on the StartUp plan
Deployment
Git deploymentLimitedLimited
Scheduled jobsSupportedSupported
Infrastructure
Edge network
Supported
Limited
RegionsEurope: France, Germany, Lithuania, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom; Asia: India, Indonesia, Malaysia; North America: USA (Phoenix, Boston, Asheville); South America: Brazil.11 locations: Ashburn (Virginia, US), Council Bluffs (Iowa, US), Dallas (Texas, US), Los Angeles (California, US), London (UK), Madrid (Spain), Eemshaven (Netherlands), Frankfurt (Germany), Paris (France), Sydney (Australia), Singapore
Support
Support on entry paid plan24/7 support on every plan, alongside a 30-day money-back guarantee.24/7 expert human support on every plan, including the cheapest.
Compliance
ISO 27001
ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified hosting provider; the certificate is listed under Compliance in the Hostinger Trust Center.
Not ISO 27001 certified itself; staff say only the Google Cloud services it builds on are certified (blog reply, Jun 2021). SiteGround Team reply in blog comments, Jun 22, 2021; the only 27001 statement anywhere on the site.
HIPAAHosting plans are not designed to meet HIPAA compliance standards; review before storing protected health information on them.Not HIPAA compliant: staff state its hosting services, including the Email Marketing tool, are not HIPAA compliant (blog reply, Jul 2023). SiteGround Team reply in blog comments, Jul 17, 2023; no HIPAA or BAA wording in Terms, AUP, DPA or KB.
GDPR / data residencyAll personal data processed under GDPR; servers outside the EU/EEA (US, Brazil, Singapore, Indonesia) are covered by EU standard contractual clauses.DPA: customer may specify, subject to availability, the data center location for its hosting account content; SiteGround may move it at its sole discretion.
PCI DSS
Hosting plans are not designed to meet PCI (Payment Card Industry) compliance standards; Hostinger advises against storing payment card data on them.
Credit card data transmitted to SiteGround's payment processors is tokenized and secured by those processors in accordance with the PCI DSS requirements. Privacy Policy security section; the compliance is attributed to the payment processors, not to SiteGround.
Encryption at rest
Encryption of personal and sensitive data at rest (databases, shared directories) is listed among the DPA's technical and organisational measures.
Privacy Policy: when storing information SiteGround protects its security by encrypting critical data, with access restricted, logged and reviewed periodically. Scope is personal data SiteGround collects via its site and client area, not hosted site storage.
Role-based access control
Account Sharing assigns a shared user the Collaborator or Admin role, each with a different permission set; per-website sharing requires an Agency plan.
Roles functionality is available only to users of type "client" associated with websites on Cloud hosting plans; roles cannot be assigned to collaborators.
Dedicated infrastructure
Cloud hosting includes a dedicated IP address (web hosting uses a shared IP); dedicated resources and root access are attributed to VPS hosting. Dedicated IP addressing only; no single-tenant hardware option is published inside the managed hosting range.
Cloud Hosting includes dedicated resources and a dedicated IP on every plan: dedicated resources like VPS hosting with the fully managed convenience of shared hosting.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Entry paid plan

Hostinger
$10.99/month on renewal (Premium plan)
SiteGround
$17.99/month on renewal ($3.99/mo intro, prepaid 12 months)
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Hostinger
Prepaid multi-year terms at a heavily discounted first term, renewing at roughly 3.7x that rate. The Premium plan is $2.99/month if you buy 48 months up front ($143.52, against a $575.52 list price) and $10.99/month on renewal.
SiteGround
Prepaid fixed-term subscription; advertised rate is introductory and renews higher
Sources (2) →

When you exceed a cap

Hostinger
Throttled or errored rather than billed: exceeding CPU slows the site, exceeding RAM or process limits returns 503 errors, and exceeding the inode limit blocks new file creation
SiteGround
Access to the website may be limited after early warnings, rather than billed as an overage
Sources (2) →

Storage (entry plan)

Hostinger

20 GB SSD storage on the Premium plan (cheapest paid shared web hosting plan)

SiteGround

10 GB Premium Google storage on the StartUp plan (cheapest paid shared hosting plan)

Sources (2) →

Memory (entry plan)

Hostinger

2 GB memory (RAM) on the Premium web hosting plan; 1 GB on Web Single, 3 GB on Unlimited.

SiteGround

Up to 768MB RAM per process on SiteGround shared web hosting, which includes the StartUp plan

Sources (2) →

Sites or apps included

Hostinger

3 websites on the Premium plan (cheapest paid shared web hosting plan)

SiteGround

1 website on the StartUp plan (cheapest paid shared hosting plan)

Sources (2) →

Monthly visits cap

Hostinger
Up to 100,000 monthly visits stated for the Business WordPress hosting plan — Knowledge-base capacity figure; the plan parameters-and-limits tables publish no visits row for any plan.
SiteGround
Shared plans, SiteGround's stated capacity per plan: StartUp around 10,000 monthly visits, GrowBig approximately 100,000, GoGeek 400,000+ monthly.
Sources (2) →

Included bandwidth

Hostinger
Unlimited on Premium and Unlimited plans; 100 GB on Web Single, the cheapest tier.
SiteGround
Unlimited traffic on all shared web hosting plans: StartUp hosts 1 website with unlimited traffic; GrowBig and GoGeek offer unlimited websites, unlimited traffic.
Sources (2) →

File, inode or volume limit

Hostinger

400 000 inodes on the Premium web hosting plan; 200 000 on Web Single, 600 000 on Unlimited.

SiteGround

200000 inodes per account on the StartUp plan

Sources (2) →

Edge network

Hostinger
Supported
SiteGround
Limited
Sources (2) →

Regions

Hostinger
Europe: France, Germany, Lithuania, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom; Asia: India, Indonesia, Malaysia; North America: USA (Phoenix, Boston, Asheville); South America: Brazil.
SiteGround
11 locations: Ashburn (Virginia, US), Council Bluffs (Iowa, US), Dallas (Texas, US), Los Angeles (California, US), London (UK), Madrid (Spain), Eemshaven (Netherlands), Frankfurt (Germany), Paris (France), Sydney (Australia), Singapore
Sources (2) →
  • Hostinger server locations ↗

    “These locations are available for web and cloud hosting plans: Europe: France, Germany, Lithuania, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom. Asia: India, Indonesia and Malaysia. North America: USA (Phoenix, Boston, and Asheville). South America: Brazil.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Where are SiteGround's servers? ↗

    “Currently, SiteGround uses the following data center locations: Ashburn (Virginia, US) Council Bluffs (Iowa, US) Dallas (Texas, US) Los Angeles (California, US) London (UK) Madrid (Spain) Eemshaven (Netherlands) Frankfurt (Germany) Paris (France) Sydney (Australia) Singapore (Singapore)”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

Support on entry paid plan

Hostinger
24/7 support on every plan, alongside a 30-day money-back guarantee.
SiteGround
24/7 expert human support on every plan, including the cheapest.
Sources (2) →

ISO 27001

Hostinger
ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified hosting provider; the certificate is listed under Compliance in the Hostinger Trust Center.
SiteGround
Not ISO 27001 certified itself; staff say only the Google Cloud services it builds on are certified (blog reply, Jun 2021). SiteGround Team reply in blog comments, Jun 22, 2021; the only 27001 statement anywhere on the site.
Sources (2) →

HIPAA

Hostinger
Hosting plans are not designed to meet HIPAA compliance standards; review before storing protected health information on them.
SiteGround
Not HIPAA compliant: staff state its hosting services, including the Email Marketing tool, are not HIPAA compliant (blog reply, Jul 2023). SiteGround Team reply in blog comments, Jul 17, 2023; no HIPAA or BAA wording in Terms, AUP, DPA or KB.
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Hostinger
All personal data processed under GDPR; servers outside the EU/EEA (US, Brazil, Singapore, Indonesia) are covered by EU standard contractual clauses.
SiteGround
DPA: customer may specify, subject to availability, the data center location for its hosting account content; SiteGround may move it at its sole discretion.
Sources (2) →
  • Privacy policy ↗

    “All personal data are processed in accordance with the General Data Protection Regulation (EU) 2016/679 [...] Some of our servers are located outside EU or European Economic Area (EEA), such as US, Brazil, Singapore, Indonesia [...] which comply with the European Commission approved standard contractual clauses for data transfers”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction

  • SiteGround Data Processing Agreement - Terms of Service ↗

    “The customer may specify, subject to availability, the data center location where its hosting account content will be stored [...] SiteGround may change these locations and move customer”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction

PCI DSS

Hostinger
Hosting plans are not designed to meet PCI (Payment Card Industry) compliance standards; Hostinger advises against storing payment card data on them.
SiteGround
Credit card data transmitted to SiteGround's payment processors is tokenized and secured by those processors in accordance with the PCI DSS requirements. Privacy Policy security section; the compliance is attributed to the payment processors, not to SiteGround.
Sources (2) →

Encryption at rest

Hostinger
Encryption of personal and sensitive data at rest (databases, shared directories) is listed among the DPA's technical and organisational measures.
SiteGround
Privacy Policy: when storing information SiteGround protects its security by encrypting critical data, with access restricted, logged and reviewed periodically. Scope is personal data SiteGround collects via its site and client area, not hosted site storage.
Sources (2) →

Role-based access control

Hostinger
Account Sharing assigns a shared user the Collaborator or Admin role, each with a different permission set; per-website sharing requires an Agency plan.
SiteGround
Roles functionality is available only to users of type "client" associated with websites on Cloud hosting plans; roles cannot be assigned to collaborators.
Sources (2) →

Dedicated infrastructure

Hostinger
Cloud hosting includes a dedicated IP address (web hosting uses a shared IP); dedicated resources and root access are attributed to VPS hosting. Dedicated IP addressing only; no single-tenant hardware option is published inside the managed hosting range.
SiteGround
Cloud Hosting includes dedicated resources and a dedicated IP on every plan: dedicated resources like VPS hosting with the fully managed convenience of shared hosting.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Max request durationHostinger: 360 seconds PHP max execution time on every shared plan, with a matching 360-second input time. MySQL statements are separately capped at 300 seconds and queries at 60 on Premium.
Managed databasesHostinger: Supported
Connection limitHostinger: 50 MySQL connections per user on the Premium plan, against a 500-connection global ceiling per server. 25 per user on Single, 75 on Unlimited.
Backup retentionHostinger: Weekly backups on the Premium plan; daily on Unlimited. Hostinger does not state how many are kept.
Private networking / VPCHostinger: No private networking on Web and Cloud hosting plans: VPN is supported only on VPS hosting, and Cloudflare Tunnel and Access require VPS root access.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Hostinger or SiteGround?

Hostinger: $10.99/month on renewal (Premium plan)

SiteGround: $17.99/month on renewal ($3.99/mo intro, prepaid 12 months)

When you exceed a cap: Hostinger or SiteGround?

Hostinger: Throttled or errored rather than billed: exceeding CPU slows the site, exceeding RAM or process limits returns 503 errors, and exceeding the inode limit blocks new file creation

SiteGround: Access to the website may be limited after early warnings, rather than billed as an overage

Included bandwidth: Hostinger or SiteGround?

Hostinger: Unlimited on Premium and Unlimited plans; 100 GB on Web Single, the cheapest tier.

SiteGround: Unlimited traffic on all shared web hosting plans: StartUp hosts 1 website with unlimited traffic; GrowBig and GoGeek offer unlimited websites, unlimited traffic.

Should I choose Hostinger or SiteGround?

Pick Hostinger if Small sites where the recurring cost matters most and a control panel is preferred to a command line. Cron jobs are available through hPanel.

Pick SiteGround if Shared hosting with Git available over SSH and a visual interface on top, across eleven data centre locations. Cron jobs are configured in Site Tools.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.