Skip to content
inetGeek

Mintlify vs Fumadocs

OCT 2026 audit

A comparison of Mintlify and Fumadocs built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 18 criteria compared

Our interest in Fumadocs

inetGeek's documentation at inetgeek.com/docs is built with Fumadocs. This record was written by the people who use it, and nothing below is sourced differently because of that: every figure comes from Fumadocs' own site and documentation like every other record here, and where those pages are silent the cell is empty.

The short answer

Choose Mintlify if…

A team that wants docs and an API reference built from Markdown, MDX and OpenAPI files in a git repository, with an AI assistant, llms.txt and an MCP server, at a flat price per account rather than per seat. Pro is $540 a month billed monthly with unlimited editors; the free Starter plan allows five.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Fumadocs if…

A team that already builds in React or Next.js and wants to own its documentation site: Fumadocs is an open-source framework you deploy yourself, with an OpenAPI reference and playground, llms.txt and MCP integrations, and no paid plan.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Mintlify: You want SDKs generated from the same spec. Mintlify shows SDK code samples and points to Speakeasy for the SDKs themselves, where Fern generates them. The AI assistant is a Pro feature and is not on the free plan.
  • Fumadocs: You want someone to host and run it. Fumadocs sells no hosting, so deploying and keeping the site up is your work, SDK generation is not described, and its AI assistant needs a model you supply.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Mintlify alternatives · Fumadocs alternatives

6 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionMintlifyFumadocs
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierAlways free
What the free plan includesThe Starter plan, free forever: hosting at a mintlify.site address, a custom domain, the web editor, authentication, an MCP server, the API playground and up to 5 editor seats. AI features are not on Starter; new accounts also get a separate 14-day Pro trial.The framework is open source and free to adopt; no hosting is included, you deploy and run your own app on the hosting of your underlying React framework. The AI chat model is likewise not provided.
Entry paid plan$540/month billed monthly for Pro ($450/month when billed annually): unlimited editor seats, the AI assistant and automations, preview deployments and admin APIs. Starter is free and Enterprise is custom.No paid plan is listed: fumadocs.dev shows no plans or prices and presents Fumadocs as an open-source project powered by its community.
Pricing modelFlat monthly price per account rather than per seat: Starter is free with 5 editor seats, Pro and Enterprise have unlimited editor seats. AI features are metered in credits: Pro includes 10,000 credits a month, overage is $0.01 per credit, an assistant answer costs 25 credits and an automation update 250. Enterprise is custom.No pricing model: the framework is open source and the site lists no plans, tiers or prices; the homepage shows a Sponsors section and a contributors list.
Observability
Self-hostable
Limited — Enterprise plan only; each deployment is a scoped engagement with the account team
Supported
Documentation
Docs as code in a git repositorySupportedSupported
API reference from an OpenAPI specSupportedSupported
Interactive API playgroundSupportedSupported
Client SDK generationLimited — Displays SDK code samples; the page points to Speakeasy for generating the SDKs themselvesLimited — Generates example request code in several languages; no SDK generation is described
llms.txt and markdown for AI toolsSupportedSupported
MCP server for the docs or APISupportedSupported
Built-in AI assistant over the docs
Supported — Pro and Enterprise plans only, billed in credits; not on the free Starter plan
Limited — Installable AI chat UI; Fumadocs supplies no model, you bring your own
Multiple documentation versionsSupportedSupported

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Kind of free offer

Mintlify
Free tier
Fumadocs
Always free
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing - Mintlify ↗

    “Is Mintlify free? Yes. The Starter plan is free forever and includes hosting, a custom domain, the web editor, authentication, an MCP server, the API playground, and up to 5 editor seats.”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Comparisons | Fumadocs ↗

    “Mintlify is a documentation service, as compared to Fumadocs, it offers a free tier but isn't completely free and open source.”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official docs · Report a correction

What the free plan includes

Mintlify
The Starter plan, free forever: hosting at a mintlify.site address, a custom domain, the web editor, authentication, an MCP server, the API playground and up to 5 editor seats. AI features are not on Starter; new accounts also get a separate 14-day Pro trial.
Fumadocs
The framework is open source and free to adopt; no hosting is included, you deploy and run your own app on the hosting of your underlying React framework. The AI chat model is likewise not provided.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing - Mintlify ↗

    “The Starter plan is free forever and includes hosting, a custom domain, the web editor, authentication, an MCP server, the API playground, and up to 5 editor seats. [...] Can I use the AI features on the Starter plan? Not on Starter. [...] Every new account gets Mintlify Pro free for 14 days, with no credit card required.”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Deploying | Fumadocs ↗

    “Your Fumadocs app is powered by the underlying React framework (e.g. Next.js), you will need to check the relevant docs of your React framework for deployment guides.”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official docs · Report a correction

Entry paid plan

Mintlify
$540/month billed monthly for Pro ($450/month when billed annually): unlimited editor seats, the AI assistant and automations, preview deployments and admin APIs. Starter is free and Enterprise is custom.
Fumadocs
No paid plan is listed: fumadocs.dev shows no plans or prices and presents Fumadocs as an open-source project powered by its community.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing - Mintlify ↗

    “Pro is $450/month billed annually or $540/month billed monthly. For startups and growing teams Unlimited editor seats Everything in Starter Agent Assistant Automations Preview deployments Admin APIs”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Fumadocs ↗

    “Open Source Forever. Made Possible by You. Fumadocs is 100% powered by passion and open source community.”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official site · Report a correction

Pricing model

Mintlify
Flat monthly price per account rather than per seat: Starter is free with 5 editor seats, Pro and Enterprise have unlimited editor seats. AI features are metered in credits: Pro includes 10,000 credits a month, overage is $0.01 per credit, an assistant answer costs 25 credits and an automation update 250. Enterprise is custom.
Fumadocs
No pricing model: the framework is open source and the site lists no plans, tiers or prices; the homepage shows a Sponsors section and a contributors list.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing - Mintlify ↗

    “Pro and Enterprise include unlimited editor seats, so you can add everyone who writes or reviews docs without paying per person. [...] AI features are billed in credits, and every action has a flat price. An Assistant answer is 25 credits and an automation run that updates your docs is 250 credits. [...] 10,000 / month $0.01 per credit for overages”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Fumadocs ↗

    “Open Source Forever. Made Possible by You. Fumadocs is 100% powered by passion and open source community. Sponsors Contributors”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official site · Report a correction

Built-in AI assistant over the docs

Mintlify
Supported — Pro and Enterprise plans only, billed in credits; not on the free Starter plan
Fumadocs
Limited — Installable AI chat UI; Fumadocs supplies no model, you bring your own
Sources (2) →
  • Assistant - Mintlify ↗

    “The assistant is available on the Pro plan and above [...] The assistant answers questions about your documentation through natural language queries.”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official docs · Report a correction

  • AI & LLMs | Fumadocs ↗

    “You can install the AI chat dialog using Fumadocs CLI. [...] Fumadocs doesn't provide the AI model, it's up to you.”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official docs · Report a correction

Self-hostable

Mintlify
Limited — Enterprise plan only; each deployment is a scoped engagement with the account team
Fumadocs
Supported
Sources (2) →
  • Self-host - Mintlify ↗

    “Run Mintlify inside your own cloud or on-premises environment, on AWS or any Kubernetes platform including Azure, Google Cloud, Oracle Cloud, and OpenShift. [...] Self-hosting requires an Enterprise plan.”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Deploying | Fumadocs ↗

    “Your Fumadocs app is powered by the underlying React framework (e.g. Next.js), you will need to check the relevant docs of your React framework for deployment guides. [...] If you want to deploy your Fumadocs app using Docker”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official docs · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Sites or apps includedMintlify: Unlimited editor seats on Pro, the entry paid plan (Starter has up to 5). The pricing page does not state a cap on the number of documentation sites.
SAML single sign-onMintlify: Limited — Enterprise plans only; covers sign-in to the Mintlify dashboard
SOC 2Mintlify: SOC 2 Type 2 report listed among the documents in Mintlify's Trust Center; ISO 27001 appears only as a letter of intent.
GDPR / data residencyMintlify: The Trust Center lists Amazon Web Services as the cloud infrastructure subprocessor with data location Northern Virginia, and a GDPR Article 27 Verification document.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Mintlify or Fumadocs?

Mintlify: $540/month billed monthly for Pro ($450/month when billed annually): unlimited editor seats, the AI assistant and automations, preview deployments and admin APIs. Starter is free and Enterprise is custom.

Fumadocs: No paid plan is listed: fumadocs.dev shows no plans or prices and presents Fumadocs as an open-source project powered by its community.

Should I choose Mintlify or Fumadocs?

Pick Mintlify if A team that wants docs and an API reference built from Markdown, MDX and OpenAPI files in a git repository, with an AI assistant, llms.txt and an MCP server, at a flat price per account rather than per seat. Pro is $540 a month billed monthly with unlimited editors; the free Starter plan allows five.

Pick Fumadocs if A team that already builds in React or Next.js and wants to own its documentation site: Fumadocs is an open-source framework you deploy yourself, with an OpenAPI reference and playground, llms.txt and MCP integrations, and no paid plan.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.