Skip to content
inetGeek

Statsig vs Unleash

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Statsig and Unleash built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 17 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Statsig if…

Wanting flags and experimentation on one bill without paying to read a flag. Flag and config checks are unlimited on every tier including free, and the free plan carries 2 million analytics events and 50,000 session replays — the most generous starting allowance here by a wide margin.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Unleash if…

A small team serving a large audience, and wanting the option to run it yourself. Client-side MAU and service connections are unlimited on every plan, so neither traffic nor audience moves the price — only headcount does, at $75 a seat.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Statsig: You want flags and nothing else. The meter is analytics events, so you are buying an experimentation and product-analytics platform whose flags happen to be free; a team that only needs toggles is paying $150 a month at Pro for a surface it will not use.
  • Unleash: The team is bigger than the audience, or you want to try before paying. There is no free plan at all, only a 14-day trial, so three people start at $225 a month before a single flag is read. API traffic is still capped at 53 million requests, then $5 per million.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Statsig alternatives · Unleash alternatives

8 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionStatsigUnleash
Pricing
Free tier
Yes
No
Kind of free offerFree tierFree trial
Credit card to startNoNo
Entry paid plan$150 a month for Pro, which includes 5 million events before the $0.05 per 1,000 overage starts.$75 per seat per month on pay-as-you-go. With no free plan behind it, a three-person team starts at $225 a month.
Pricing modelAnalytics events, with flag and config checks excluded from the meter entirely — the plan table says "unlimited flag & config checks" on every tier. Pro includes 5 million events and charges $0.05 per further thousand.Per seat, $75 a month each — the opposite axis to every other member here. Client-side MAU and service connections are unlimited on every plan, so audience size and traffic cost nothing; the bill is a function of how many people touch the tool.
Observability
Retention window1-year analytics retention on the free plan; unlimited on Pro.90 days of feature flag metrics on both published plans.
Auth
Audit logsComprehensive cloud audit loggingUnleash is SOC 2 Type II and GDPR compliant to meet the requirement of the world's largest enterprises, with SSO support (SAML 2.0, OpenID Connect, Okta, Azure AD), granular role-based access control, change request workflows with four-eyes approvals, and audit logs with up to two years of retention.
Compliance
SOC 2An annual independent SOC 2 Type II audit covers security, availability, and confidentiality.Unleash is SOC 2 Type II and GDPR compliant to meet the requirement of the world's largest enterprises, with SSO support (SAML 2.0, OpenID Connect, Okta, Azure AD), granular role-based access control, change request workflows with four-eyes approvals, and audit logs with up to two years of retention.
Encryption at restCustomer data is encrypted at rest across production databases and object storage in both the US and EU regions.Unleash encrypts data at rest and in transit for all of our customers.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Statsig
Yes
Unleash
No
Sources (2) →

Kind of free offer

Statsig
Free tier
Unleash
Free trial
Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Statsig
$150 a month for Pro, which includes 5 million events before the $0.05 per 1,000 overage starts.
Unleash
$75 per seat per month on pay-as-you-go. With no free plan behind it, a three-person team starts at $225 a month.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Statsig
Analytics events, with flag and config checks excluded from the meter entirely — the plan table says "unlimited flag & config checks" on every tier. Pro includes 5 million events and charges $0.05 per further thousand.
Unleash
Per seat, $75 a month each — the opposite axis to every other member here. Client-side MAU and service connections are unlimited on every plan, so audience size and traffic cost nothing; the bill is a function of how many people touch the tool.
Sources (2) →
  • Statsig Pricing ↗

    “$150 /mo 5m events included, then $0.05 per 1k events unlimited flag & config checks”

    Read 2026-09-16 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Unleash Pricing ↗

    “75$ /seat/month custom enterprise guided onboarding & annual contract cloud, self-hosted or hybrid. contact sales let's talk scale, support & slas client side mau unlimited unlimited service connections unlimited unlimited”

    Read 2026-09-16 · official pricing · Report a correction

Retention window

Statsig
1-year analytics retention on the free plan; unlimited on Pro.
Unleash
90 days of feature flag metrics on both published plans.
Sources (2) →

Audit logs

Statsig
Comprehensive cloud audit logging
Unleash
Unleash is SOC 2 Type II and GDPR compliant to meet the requirement of the world's largest enterprises, with SSO support (SAML 2.0, OpenID Connect, Okta, Azure AD), granular role-based access control, change request workflows with four-eyes approvals, and audit logs with up to two years of retention.
Sources (2) →

SOC 2

Statsig
An annual independent SOC 2 Type II audit covers security, availability, and confidentiality.
Unleash
Unleash is SOC 2 Type II and GDPR compliant to meet the requirement of the world's largest enterprises, with SSO support (SAML 2.0, OpenID Connect, Okta, Azure AD), granular role-based access control, change request workflows with four-eyes approvals, and audit logs with up to two years of retention.
Sources (2) →

Encryption at rest

Statsig
Customer data is encrypted at rest across production databases and object storage in both the US and EU regions.
Unleash
Unleash encrypts data at rest and in transit for all of our customers.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

What the free plan includesStatsig: 2 million events a month, unlimited flag and config checks, 50,000 session replays and unlimited seats — the most generous free plan of the four by a wide margin.
Events includedStatsig: 2 million a month free, 5 million on Pro. Flag and config checks do not count against either — only analytics events do.
Self-hostableUnleash: Supported
Rate limitsUnleash: 53 million API requests a month on the cloud plan, then $5 per million — a ceiling the per-seat price does not remove.
Users includedUnleash: Unlimited client-side monthly active users on every plan, alongside unlimited service connections. The audience is free; the seats are not.
Support on entry paid planUnleash: Pay-As-You-Go is self-service: $75 per seat per month, monthly credit card billing, no contract, standard support with a one business day response target, and a 99.9% uptime commitment.
ISO 27001Unleash: Fedramp, SOC2, ISO27001 complianceStatsig: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Statsig.
GDPR / data residencyUnleash: Unleash is SOC 2 Type II and GDPR compliant to meet the requirement of the world's largest enterprises, with SSO support (SAML 2.0, OpenID Connect, Okta, Azure AD), granular role-based access control, change request workflows with four-eyes approvals, and audit logs with up to two years of retention.Statsig: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Statsig.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Statsig or Unleash?

Statsig: $150 a month for Pro, which includes 5 million events before the $0.05 per 1,000 overage starts.

Unleash: $75 per seat per month on pay-as-you-go. With no free plan behind it, a three-person team starts at $225 a month.

Free tier: Statsig or Unleash?

Statsig: Yes

Unleash: No

Should I choose Statsig or Unleash?

Pick Statsig if Wanting flags and experimentation on one bill without paying to read a flag. Flag and config checks are unlimited on every tier including free, and the free plan carries 2 million analytics events and 50,000 session replays — the most generous starting allowance here by a wide margin.

Pick Unleash if A small team serving a large audience, and wanting the option to run it yourself. Client-side MAU and service connections are unlimited on every plan, so neither traffic nor audience moves the price — only headcount does, at $75 a seat.

Provider pages

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.