Skip to content
inetGeek

WarpStream vs Redpanda

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of WarpStream and Redpanda built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 13 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose WarpStream if…

Write-heavy workloads where inter-zone replication is the bill. Data is acknowledged straight into your own object storage, so partitions, reads and storage are not metered at all and only gigabytes written are — $0.01 falling to $0.003 at volume.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Redpanda if…

Knowing the ceilings before you talk to anyone. It publishes throughput, partitions and SLA for both tiers — 100 MB/s and 5,000 partitions on Serverless, 2 GB/s and 112,500 on Bring Your Own Cloud — which is more capability detail than the others put on a pricing page at all.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • WarpStream: You need an availability commitment at the entry price. The $100 Dev tier carries no uptime SLA whatsoever; the first one is Fundamentals at $500, five times the floor. Lower latency is a Pro-tier feature, which is the honest cost of the object-storage design.
  • Redpanda: You need to know what it costs. The pricing page carries no currency figure anywhere: not a rate, not a plan fee, not a starting-from. Every comparison here is on capability alone. RBAC, OIDC and audit logging are also BYOC-only, and BYOC is annual commitment.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: WarpStream alternatives · Redpanda alternatives

4 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionWarpStreamRedpanda
Pricing
Credit card to startNoNo
Pricing modelTwo lines, not one. A cluster-tier fee — $100 a month for Dev, $500 for Fundamentals, $1,500 for Pro — plus write throughput metered per gibibyte: $0.01/GiB to 50 TiB, falling to $0.003 beyond 6,250 TiB. Reads, partitions and storage are not billed; data sits in your own object storage.Not published. The pricing page names two tiers, Serverless and Bring Your Own Cloud, and states throughput, partition and SLA ceilings for each — but no rate, no unit and no monthly figure appears anywhere on it. Serverless is described as pay-as-you-go or annual commit; BYOC as annual commitment only.
Infrastructure
Uptime SLANone at all on the $100 Dev tier. 99.9% on Fundamentals, 99.99% on Pro, and 99.999% on Enterprise only with multi-region clusters — 99.99% without.99.9% on Serverless, 99.99% on Bring Your Own Cloud.
Streaming
Throughput ceilingThe calculator runs from 1 MiB/s to 5 GiB/s of uncompressed write throughput, and the rate falls as the tier rises rather than the ceiling being fixed.100 MB/s write and 300 MB/s read on Serverless; 2 GB/s write and 4 GB/s read on Bring Your Own Cloud — a twentyfold step between the two tiers.
Partition limit
4,096 on Dev, 16,384 on Fundamentals, 50,000 on Pro and 200,000+ on Enterprise. Partitions are capped by tier and not billed.
5,000 partitions on Serverless, 112,500 on Bring Your Own Cloud.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Pricing model

WarpStream
Two lines, not one. A cluster-tier fee — $100 a month for Dev, $500 for Fundamentals, $1,500 for Pro — plus write throughput metered per gibibyte: $0.01/GiB to 50 TiB, falling to $0.003 beyond 6,250 TiB. Reads, partitions and storage are not billed; data sits in your own object storage.
Redpanda
Not published. The pricing page names two tiers, Serverless and Bring Your Own Cloud, and states throughput, partition and SLA ceilings for each — but no rate, no unit and no monthly figure appears anywhere on it. Serverless is described as pay-as-you-go or annual commit; BYOC as annual commitment only.
Sources (2) →
  • WarpStream Pricing ↗

    “uptime sla none 99.9% 99.99% 99.999%* cluster pricing $100/m $500/m $1500/m contact [...] write throughput tiers 50 TiB $0.01/GiB 250 TiB $0.0075/GiB 1250 TiB $0.0055/GiB 6250 TiB $0.004/GiB remainder $0.003/GiB”

    Read 2026-09-16 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Redpanda Pricing ↗

    “Pay as you go, or Annual Commit plan”

    Read 2026-09-16 · official pricing · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

WarpStream
None at all on the $100 Dev tier. 99.9% on Fundamentals, 99.99% on Pro, and 99.999% on Enterprise only with multi-region clusters — 99.99% without.
Redpanda
99.9% on Serverless, 99.99% on Bring Your Own Cloud.
Sources (2) →
  • WarpStream Pricing ↗

    “uptime sla none 99.9% 99.99% 99.999%* cluster pricing $100/m $500/m $1500/m contact [...] * 99.999% uptime sla for enterprise requires multi-region clusters (99.99% without).”

    Read 2026-09-16 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Redpanda Pricing ↗

    “99.9% SLA Public networking or private networking (AWS) [...] 99.99% SLA Public or private networking Intelligent tiered storage”

    Read 2026-09-16 · official pricing · Report a correction

Throughput ceiling

WarpStream
The calculator runs from 1 MiB/s to 5 GiB/s of uncompressed write throughput, and the rate falls as the tier rises rather than the ceiling being fixed.
Redpanda
100 MB/s write and 300 MB/s read on Serverless; 2 GB/s write and 4 GB/s read on Bring Your Own Cloud — a twentyfold step between the two tiers.
Sources (2) →

Partition limit

WarpStream

4,096 on Dev, 16,384 on Fundamentals, 50,000 on Pro and 200,000+ on Enterprise. Partitions are capped by tier and not billed.

Redpanda

5,000 partitions on Serverless, 112,500 on Bring Your Own Cloud.

Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Free tierRedpanda: Yes
Kind of free offerWarpStream: Free credit
Entry paid planWarpStream: $100 a month for the Dev tier, which carries NO uptime SLA, before any per-gibibyte write charge. The first tier with an SLA is Fundamentals at $500.
Storage priceWarpStream: Not charged separately. Data is persisted directly to your own object storage, so durability is the object store's bill rather than WarpStream's.
SAML single sign-onRedpanda: Limited
Audit logsRedpanda: Audit logging arrives on Bring Your Own Cloud. Serverless lists Kafka ACLs and SSO with Google or GitHub and no audit trail.WarpStream: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about WarpStream.
Message retentionWarpStream: 7 days on the configuration the pricing calculator shows.
Role-based access controlRedpanda: Serverless offers Kafka ACLs and SSO with Google or GitHub only. Role-based access control, audit logging and OIDC arrive on Bring Your Own Cloud.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Should I choose WarpStream or Redpanda?

Pick WarpStream if Write-heavy workloads where inter-zone replication is the bill. Data is acknowledged straight into your own object storage, so partitions, reads and storage are not metered at all and only gigabytes written are — $0.01 falling to $0.003 at volume.

Pick Redpanda if Knowing the ceilings before you talk to anyone. It publishes throughput, partitions and SLA for both tiers — 100 MB/s and 5,000 partitions on Serverless, 2 GB/s and 112,500 on Bring Your Own Cloud — which is more capability detail than the others put on a pricing page at all.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.