Skip to content
inetGeek

Aiven vs Amazon Aurora

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Aiven and Amazon Aurora built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 32 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Aiven if…

Teams who want more than one open-source data service from one vendor and one bill — Postgres beside Kafka, ClickHouse or OpenSearch — with the availability tier chosen per service rather than fixed.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Amazon Aurora if…

Teams on AWS who want a Postgres or MySQL cluster that can throw off a copy-on-write clone of production in minutes, keep up to fifteen readers behind it, and pause to nothing between bursts in serverless mode.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Aiven: You want long recovery history on a cheap plan. Backup history is what the plan tiers buy here: two days on the entry paid plan against thirty at the top.
  • Amazon Aurora: You want the upstream database rather than a compatible one, or a branch workflow rather than a clone. AWS documents cloning as a way to build a test environment, not as something you do per pull request.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Aiven alternatives · Amazon Aurora alternatives

15 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionAivenAmazon Aurora
Pricing
Free tier
Yes — indefinite, but idle services are powered off
No — capped Free plan plus time-limited credits
Kind of free offerAlways freeIntroductory free tier
When the free offer endsNever — free services have no time limitations.6 months after the account is opened, or when the credits run out — whichever comes first.
Entry paid plan$5 a month for Developer — one VM, 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, 8 GB storage, with no choice of cloud or region and no connection pooling. The first plan that behaves like a production service is Startup at $75 a month or $0.10 an hour, which is where the uptime SLA and multi-CPU sizing begin; Hobbyist sits between them at $12.No plan fee and no minimum commitment — Aurora charges for what you use. AWS's own worked example prices serverless compute at $0.12 per ACU-hour on Aurora Standard in US East (N. Virginia), and the smallest capacity you can set is 0.5 ACUs; storage and I/O are billed separately.
Pricing modelFixed plans quoted both monthly and hourly, with the plan setting CPU, RAM and storage together rather than metering them separately. Aiven describes the pricing as all-inclusive: backups, monitoring and support come with the plan instead of appearing as line items. Higher tiers buy node count and backup history — Business adds a standby node, Premium a second.Pay per use with no plan fee: instances plus storage plus I/O, or ACU-hours in serverless mode. AWS's own worked example prices serverless compute at $0.12 per ACU-hour on Aurora Standard and $0.156 on Aurora I/O-Optimized in US East (N. Virginia) — the difference being whether I/O is metered separately or folded into a higher compute and storage rate. Provisioned instances also offer Reserved Instance pricing, and usage may qualify for Database Savings Plans against a committed hourly spend.
Execution
Managed connection poolingSupported — not on the Free or Developer tiersSupported — through Amazon RDS Proxy, a separate feature of the service
Infrastructure
Regions153 regions across six clouds — AWS 25, Google 42, Azure 39, OVH 22, UpCloud 16, DigitalOcean 9 — counted from Aiven's own reference list, which publishes the regions and no total. No magnitude is recorded, because Aiven states on that same page that the list differs per project and that not all service types are available in every cloud and region: the number is the platform's reach, not PostgreSQL's, and a bar drawn from it would be compared against providers whose counts are engine-specific.34 AWS regions, the same list for the MySQL- and PostgreSQL-compatible editions. Counted from the two availability tables in Aurora's own docs, which publish the regions and no total.
Uptime SLA
99.99% from Startup ($75/month), the entry paid plan, upward.
99.99% for a cluster deployed across two or more Availability Zones; 99.9% for a single-AZ cluster. Both are service-credit thresholds.
Data
EnginePostgreSQL, alongside MySQL, ClickHouse, OpenSearch, Valkey, Kafka, Flink and Grafana. Aiven runs the upstream projects rather than a compatible reimplementation, which is why its own docs point at postgresql.org for per-release detail.MySQL- and PostgreSQL-compatible. Aurora is AWS's own engine rather than a hosted build of either, so compatibility is the claim being made — existing code, tools and applications are stated to work, which is not the same as being the upstream database.
Connection limitSet per plan, not by a formula: 100 on the entry paid plan (Startup-4), rising to 200, 400, 800 and 1000 as the plan grows, with 25 on Hobbyist, 20 on Free and 15 on Developer. Aiven states plainly that it does not apply a per-GiB formula, and that some of the allowance is used by Aiven itself to manage the service.Derived from memory, not set per plan. On Aurora serverless the default follows the maximum ACU setting — 90 connections on MySQL and 189 on PostgreSQL at 1 ACU, 135/823 at 4 ACUs, 1,000/1,669 at 8 ACUs — and a minimum capacity of 0 or 0.5 ACUs caps PostgreSQL at 2,000.
Database branchingLimited — a full copy from the latest backup, not copy-on-writeLimited — clones, not a branch workflow
Point-in-time recoveryBounded by the plan's backup history, so 2 days on the entry paid plan and 30 at the top. Granularity is fine within that: full backups daily with write-ahead logs copied every 5 minutes or per new file, whichever comes first.Any point inside the backup retention period, so up to 35 days. Aurora's backups are continuous and incremental against the cluster volume rather than periodic snapshots plus log replay, which is why AWS states no performance impact while they are taken.
Read replicasSupportedSupported — 15 per cluster, a quota AWS will not raise
Backup retentionBy plan: none on Hobbyist, 2 days on Startup, 14 on Business, 30 on Premium. The magnitude is Startup's 2 days, the entry paid plan. Aiven's high-availability page states 2 days for Hobbyist where the backups page states none — the backups page is the more specific of the two and is what is recorded here.1 to 35 days. Unlike an RDS DB instance it cannot be set to 0 — Aurora backs the cluster volume up continuously and there is no way to turn that off.
Compliance
SOC 2
We also provide ISAE 3000/SOC2 Type II reports.
Assessed by third-party auditors under multiple AWS compliance programs, SOC among them; the docs name SOC, not SOC 2. Reports download via AWS Artifact. AWS names the SOC program, not a SOC 2 type.
HIPAAOur services are ISO 27000-series, GDPR, CCPA, HIPAA and PCI-DSS compliant.Listed as a HIPAA-eligible service on AWS's own reference page.
Encryption at restAll data is fully encrypted end-to-end at rest and in transit.On by default: all new database clusters created on or after February 18, 2026 are encrypted at rest with AES-256 under an AWS KMS key.
Private networking / VPCDeploy services directly into your own cloud account for data residency and VPC peering.Clusters sit behind security groups with network access off by default; a non-public instance is reachable over Site-to-Site VPN or Direct Connect. DB clusters launch into a VPC at no additional cost.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Aiven
Yes — indefinite, but idle services are powered off
Amazon Aurora
No — capped Free plan plus time-limited credits
Sources (2) →
  • Free plans — Aiven docs ↗

    “You don't need a credit card to create a free service and you can use them indefinitely free of charge. Free services do not have any time limitations. However, Aiven reserves the right to: Power off free services with no initial usage within the first few hours after the service is running. [...] Power off free services with no continuative activity on the service.”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Amazon Aurora pricing — Amazon Web Services ↗

    “New AWS customers can get started with Aurora PostgreSQL serverless at no cost with the AWS Free Tier. You get $100 in AWS credits at sign-up to be used across eligible AWS services, including Aurora, for up to 12 months, in both Free and Paid plans, and you can earn an additional $100 in credits, for a total of $200. Free plan gives you access to Aurora PostgreSQL serverless instances with up to 4 ACUs and 1 GiB of storage per cluster.”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official pricing · Report a correction

Kind of free offer

Aiven
Always free
Amazon Aurora
Introductory free tier
Sources (2) →
  • Free plans — Aiven docs ↗

    “You don't need a credit card to create a free service and you can use them indefinitely free of charge. Free services do not have any time limitations. However, Aiven reserves the right to: Power off free services with no initial usage within the first few hours after the service is running. [...] Power off free services with no continuative activity on the service.”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

  • AWS Free Tier ↗

    “The account closes on its own 6 months after you open it or when your credits run out, whichever comes first. You won't be charged unless you convert to a Paid plan.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

When the free offer ends

Aiven
Never — free services have no time limitations.
Amazon Aurora
6 months after the account is opened, or when the credits run out — whichever comes first.
Sources (2) →
  • Aiven free plan ↗

    “You don't need a credit card to create a free service and you can use them indefinitely free of charge. Free services do not have any time limitations.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • AWS Free Tier ↗

    “The account closes on its own 6 months after you open it or when your credits run out, whichever comes first.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Entry paid plan

Aiven
$5 a month for Developer — one VM, 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, 8 GB storage, with no choice of cloud or region and no connection pooling. The first plan that behaves like a production service is Startup at $75 a month or $0.10 an hour, which is where the uptime SLA and multi-CPU sizing begin; Hobbyist sits between them at $12.
Amazon Aurora
No plan fee and no minimum commitment — Aurora charges for what you use. AWS's own worked example prices serverless compute at $0.12 per ACU-hour on Aurora Standard in US East (N. Virginia), and the smallest capacity you can set is 0.5 ACUs; storage and I/O are billed separately.
Sources (2) →
  • Plans & Pricing — Aiven ↗

    “Free $0 / month [...] 1 GB total storage Cannot select a specific cloud or region No integrations or connection pooling Developer $5 / month [...] 8 GB total storage Cannot select a specific cloud or region No integrations or connection pooling Hobbyist starting from $12 / month $0.02 / hour [...] Startup starting from $75 / month $0.10 / hour [...] 99.99% uptime SLA Business starting from $180 / month $0.25 / hour”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon Aurora Pricing — Amazon Web Services ↗

    “With Aurora, you only pay for what you use. Aurora charges for database instances and storage, along with any optional features you choose to enable. [...] With Aurora serverless , the minimum database capacity you can set is 0.5 ACUs. [...] 5 ACUs * $0.12 per ACU-hour * 30/60 hour”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Pricing model

Aiven
Fixed plans quoted both monthly and hourly, with the plan setting CPU, RAM and storage together rather than metering them separately. Aiven describes the pricing as all-inclusive: backups, monitoring and support come with the plan instead of appearing as line items. Higher tiers buy node count and backup history — Business adds a standby node, Premium a second.
Amazon Aurora
Pay per use with no plan fee: instances plus storage plus I/O, or ACU-hours in serverless mode. AWS's own worked example prices serverless compute at $0.12 per ACU-hour on Aurora Standard and $0.156 on Aurora I/O-Optimized in US East (N. Virginia) — the difference being whether I/O is metered separately or folded into a higher compute and storage rate. Provisioned instances also offer Reserved Instance pricing, and usage may qualify for Database Savings Plans against a committed hourly spend.
Sources (2) →
  • Plans & Pricing — Aiven ↗

    “Aiven's pricing is all-inclusive and transparent, providing you with the confidence [...] Startup starting from $75 / month $0.10 / hour [...] Business starting from $180 / month $0.25 / hour [...] Everything in Startup, plus high availability Premium starting from $270 / month $0.37 / hour”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon Aurora pricing — Amazon Web Services ↗

    “Aurora charges for database instances and storage, along with any optional features you choose to enable. Aurora PostgreSQL and Aurora MySQL offer On-Demand and Reserved Instance pricing. [...] We want to calculate the compute costs of running this workload on Aurora serverless with the database cluster configured as Aurora Standard and Aurora I/O-Optimized in US East (N. Virginia). [...] 5 ACUs * $0.12 per ACU-hour * 30/60 hour $0.30 [...] 5 ACUs * $0.156 per ACU-hour * 30/60 hour $0.39”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official pricing · Report a correction

Regions

Aiven
153 regions across six clouds — AWS 25, Google 42, Azure 39, OVH 22, UpCloud 16, DigitalOcean 9 — counted from Aiven's own reference list, which publishes the regions and no total. No magnitude is recorded, because Aiven states on that same page that the list differs per project and that not all service types are available in every cloud and region: the number is the platform's reach, not PostgreSQL's, and a bar drawn from it would be compared against providers whose counts are engine-specific.
Amazon Aurora
34 AWS regions, the same list for the MySQL- and PostgreSQL-compatible editions. Counted from the two availability tables in Aurora's own docs, which publish the regions and no total.
Sources (2) →
  • Available cloud regions — Aiven docs ↗

    “This is a reference list of the default cloud regions available per provider on the Aiven Platform. note The list of available clouds can differ per project. Not all Aiven service types are available for all cloud providers and regions.”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Regions and Availability Zones — Amazon Aurora User Guide ↗

    “Aurora MySQL Region availability The following table shows the AWS Regions where Aurora MySQL is currently available and the endpoint for each Region. Region Name Region Endpoint Protocol US East (Ohio) us-east-2 rds.us-east-2.amazonaws.com HTTPS US East (N. Virginia) us-east-1 rds.us-east-1.amazonaws.com HTTPS [...] Aurora PostgreSQL Region availability”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

Aiven

99.99% from Startup ($75/month), the entry paid plan, upward.

Amazon Aurora

99.99% for a cluster deployed across two or more Availability Zones; 99.9% for a single-AZ cluster. Both are service-credit thresholds.

Sources (2) →
  • Aiven Pricing ↗

    “startup starting from $75 / month $0.10 / hour get building view 7 plans 1 dedicated VM 2-32 CPU per VM 4-192 GB RAM per VM 80 GB-11 TB total storage 99.99% uptime SLA”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon Aurora Service Level Agreement ↗

    “make each Multi-AZ Cluster available with a Monthly Uptime Percentage as shown in the table below during any monthly billing cycle [...] Less than 99.99% but equal to or greater than 99.0% 10% [...] make each Single-AZ Cluster available with a Single-AZ Uptime Percentage [...] Less than 99.9% but equal to or greater than 99.0% 10%”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

Engine

Aiven
PostgreSQL, alongside MySQL, ClickHouse, OpenSearch, Valkey, Kafka, Flink and Grafana. Aiven runs the upstream projects rather than a compatible reimplementation, which is why its own docs point at postgresql.org for per-release detail.
Amazon Aurora
MySQL- and PostgreSQL-compatible. Aurora is AWS's own engine rather than a hosted build of either, so compatibility is the claim being made — existing code, tools and applications are stated to work, which is not the same as being the upstream database.
Sources (2) →
  • Aiven for PostgreSQL® — Aiven docs ↗

    “Aiven for PostgreSQL is the perfect fit for your relational data. A scalable SQL database solution that can be up and running within a few minutes. [...] Find a comprehensive per-release documentation on the PostgreSQL project website.”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

  • What is Amazon Aurora? — Amazon Aurora User Guide ↗

    “Amazon Aurora (Aurora) is a fully managed relational database engine that's compatible with MySQL and PostgreSQL. [...] The code, tools, and applications you use today with your existing MySQL and PostgreSQL databases can be used with Aurora.”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

Connection limit

Aiven
Set per plan, not by a formula: 100 on the entry paid plan (Startup-4), rising to 200, 400, 800 and 1000 as the plan grows, with 25 on Hobbyist, 20 on Free and 15 on Developer. Aiven states plainly that it does not apply a per-GiB formula, and that some of the allowance is used by Aiven itself to manage the service.
Amazon Aurora
Derived from memory, not set per plan. On Aurora serverless the default follows the maximum ACU setting — 90 connections on MySQL and 189 on PostgreSQL at 1 ACU, 135/823 at 4 ACUs, 1,000/1,669 at 8 ACUs — and a minimum capacity of 0 or 0.5 ACUs caps PostgreSQL at 2,000.
Sources (2) →
  • Connection limits per plan for Aiven for PostgreSQL® — Aiven docs ↗

    “Default values of the max_connections setting vary according to the service plan: Plan Max connections Developer 15 Free 20 Hobbyist 25 Startup/Business/Premium-4 100 Startup/Business/Premium-8 200 Startup/Business/Premium-16 400 Startup/Business/Premium-32 800 Startup/Business/Premium-64 and above 1000 note Aiven can utilize any number of the connections for managing the service. Aiven for PostgreSQL doesn't apply a fixed per-GiB connection formula”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Performance and scaling for Aurora serverless — Amazon Aurora User Guide ↗

    “The default value for this parameter is derived from a formula based on the memory size of the DB instance. [...] Maximum ACUs Default maximum connections on Aurora MySQL Default maximum connections on Aurora PostgreSQL 1 90 189 4 135 823 8 1,000 1,669 [...] However, when you specify a minimum capacity of 0 or 0.5 ACUs on PostgreSQL-compatible DB instances, the maximum value of max_connections is capped at 2,000.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Point-in-time recovery

Aiven
Bounded by the plan's backup history, so 2 days on the entry paid plan and 30 at the top. Granularity is fine within that: full backups daily with write-ahead logs copied every 5 minutes or per new file, whichever comes first.
Amazon Aurora
Any point inside the backup retention period, so up to 35 days. Aurora's backups are continuous and incremental against the cluster volume rather than periodic snapshots plus log replay, which is why AWS states no performance impact while they are taken.
Sources (2) →

Backup retention

Aiven
By plan: none on Hobbyist, 2 days on Startup, 14 on Business, 30 on Premium. The magnitude is Startup's 2 days, the entry paid plan. Aiven's high-availability page states 2 days for Hobbyist where the backups page states none — the backups page is the more specific of the two and is what is recorded here.
Amazon Aurora
1 to 35 days. Unlike an RDS DB instance it cannot be set to 0 — Aurora backs the cluster volume up continuously and there is no way to turn that off.
Sources (2) →

SOC 2

Aiven
We also provide ISAE 3000/SOC2 Type II reports.
Amazon Aurora
Assessed by third-party auditors under multiple AWS compliance programs, SOC among them; the docs name SOC, not SOC 2. Reports download via AWS Artifact. AWS names the SOC program, not a SOC 2 type.
Sources (2) →

HIPAA

Aiven
Our services are ISO 27000-series, GDPR, CCPA, HIPAA and PCI-DSS compliant.
Amazon Aurora
Listed as a HIPAA-eligible service on AWS's own reference page.
Sources (2) →

Encryption at rest

Aiven
All data is fully encrypted end-to-end at rest and in transit.
Amazon Aurora
On by default: all new database clusters created on or after February 18, 2026 are encrypted at rest with AES-256 under an AWS KMS key.
Sources (2) →

Private networking / VPC

Aiven
Deploy services directly into your own cloud account for data residency and VPC peering.
Amazon Aurora
Clusters sit behind security groups with network access off by default; a non-public instance is reachable over Site-to-Site VPN or Direct Connect. DB clusters launch into a VPC at no additional cost.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Credit card to startAiven: No
Startup credit programAiven: Aiven for Startups: $12,000–$100,000 in Aiven credits over 12 months. Requires founded ≤7 years ago and external funding from pre-seed to Series B.
Storage (entry plan)Amazon Aurora: No included allowance on the pay-as-you-go Paid plan: storage scales automatically up to 256 TiB and is metered per GB-month — $0.10 per GB-month for Aurora Standard in AWS's US East (N. Virginia) example. The AWS Free Tier Free plan caps a cluster at 1 GiB.
Memory (entry plan)Amazon Aurora: No plan tiers: memory comes with the Aurora Capacity Unit, and AWS states 1 ACU has approximately 2 GiB of memory. The smallest capacity you can set is 0.5 ACUs; the AWS Free Tier Free plan caps a cluster at 4 ACUs and the Paid plan at 256.
Scales to zeroAmazon Aurora: Supported — serverless capacity mode only
When idleAmazon Aurora: Pauses only in serverless mode with minimum capacity set to zero ACUs: the instance auto-pauses after an idle interval you choose — 300 seconds (five minutes) by default and at minimum, up to 86,400 seconds (one day) — and resumes automatically when a connection request arrives.
Rewind in placeAmazon Aurora: Limited — Aurora MySQL edition only
Support on entry paid planAiven: Documentation on the free tier; email with best-effort same or next business day responses on paid plans. Faster responses and phone support are three further tiers, charged separately.
ISO 27001Amazon Aurora: Covered under AWS's account-wide ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification — not scoped per-service the way SOC, HIPAA and PCI DSS are on AWS's own site.Aiven: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Aiven.
GDPR / data residencyAmazon Aurora: AWS customers can process personal data on all AWS services in compliance with GDPR, and choose the storage type and geographic region for their data.Aiven: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Aiven.
PCI DSSAmazon Aurora: Assessed by third-party auditors under multiple AWS compliance programs, PCI among them; no level or version named. Reports download via AWS Artifact.Aiven: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Aiven.
Customer-managed keysAmazon Aurora: Three KMS key types: an AWS owned key by default, an AWS managed key, or a customer managed key stored in your account that you own and fully control. AWS KMS charges apply for a customer managed key.Aiven: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Aiven.
Role-based access controlAmazon Aurora: IAM identity-based policies and roles govern who may act on Aurora resources, and IAM database authentication can be used to sign in to the DB cluster.
Dedicated infrastructureAmazon Aurora: With dedicated VPC tenancy an Aurora DB cluster runs on dedicated hardware; all Aurora PostgreSQL instance classes except burstable db.t3/db.t4g support it.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Aiven or Amazon Aurora?

Aiven: $5 a month for Developer — one VM, 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, 8 GB storage, with no choice of cloud or region and no connection pooling. The first plan that behaves like a production service is Startup at $75 a month or $0.10 an hour, which is where the uptime SLA and multi-CPU sizing begin; Hobbyist sits between them at $12.

Amazon Aurora: No plan fee and no minimum commitment — Aurora charges for what you use. AWS's own worked example prices serverless compute at $0.12 per ACU-hour on Aurora Standard in US East (N. Virginia), and the smallest capacity you can set is 0.5 ACUs; storage and I/O are billed separately.

Free tier: Aiven or Amazon Aurora?

Aiven: Yes — indefinite, but idle services are powered off

Amazon Aurora: No — capped Free plan plus time-limited credits

Should I choose Aiven or Amazon Aurora?

Pick Aiven if Teams who want more than one open-source data service from one vendor and one bill — Postgres beside Kafka, ClickHouse or OpenSearch — with the availability tier chosen per service rather than fixed.

Pick Amazon Aurora if Teams on AWS who want a Postgres or MySQL cluster that can throw off a copy-on-write clone of production in minutes, keep up to fifteen readers behind it, and pause to nothing between bursts in serverless mode.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.