Skip to content
inetGeek

Aiven vs TigerData

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Aiven and TigerData built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 30 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Aiven if…

Teams who want more than one open-source data service from one vendor and one bill — Postgres beside Kafka, ClickHouse or OpenSearch — with the availability tier chosen per service rather than fixed.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose TigerData if…

Time-series and analytics workloads that want to stay in Postgres — TimescaleDB's compression is the reason the storage line is affordable at volume.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Aiven: You want long recovery history on a cheap plan. Backup history is what the plan tiers buy here: two days on the entry paid plan against thirty at the top.
  • TigerData: The advertised storage price assumes 5x compression, so a workload that does not compress that well pays materially more than the figure suggests.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Aiven alternatives · TigerData alternatives

15 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionAivenTigerData
Pricing
Free tierYes — indefinite, but idle services are powered offYes — Free services are in beta, us-east-1 only, and go read-only at the storage limit.
Kind of free offerAlways freeFree tier
Credit card to startNoNo
Entry paid plan
$5 a month for Developer — one VM, 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, 8 GB storage, with no choice of cloud or region and no connection pooling. The first plan that behaves like a production service is Startup at $75 a month or $0.10 an hour, which is where the uptime SLA and multi-CPU sizing begin; Hobbyist sits between them at $12.
Compute starts at $30/month on Performance, billed hourly, with storage charged separately. Scale starts at $36/month.
Pricing modelFixed plans quoted both monthly and hourly, with the plan setting CPU, RAM and storage together rather than metering them separately. Aiven describes the pricing as all-inclusive: backups, monitoring and support come with the plan instead of appearing as line items. Higher tiers buy node count and backup history — Business adds a standby node, Premium a second.Compute and storage are billed separately and hourly rather than as one plan price — compute from $30 a month, storage at $0.177 per GB-month, with the headline storage figure resting on an assumed 5x compression ratio.
Execution
Managed connection poolingSupported — not on the Free or Developer tiersSupported — pgBouncer pooler added per service in Console, in session or transaction mode.
Infrastructure
Regions153 regions across six clouds — AWS 25, Google 42, Azure 39, OVH 22, UpCloud 16, DigitalOcean 9 — counted from Aiven's own reference list, which publishes the regions and no total. No magnitude is recorded, because Aiven states on that same page that the list differs per project and that not all service types are available in every cloud and region: the number is the platform's reach, not PostgreSQL's, and a bar drawn from it would be compared against providers whose counts are engine-specific.13 AWS regions (US, Canada, Sao Paulo, Ireland, London, Frankfurt, Zurich, Mumbai, Singapore, Sydney, Tokyo) and 4 Azure regions for Tiger Cloud services
Uptime SLA
99.99% from Startup ($75/month), the entry paid plan, upward.
Enterprise SLAs, with no percentage published on the pricing page.
Data
EnginePostgreSQL, alongside MySQL, ClickHouse, OpenSearch, Valkey, Kafka, Flink and Grafana. Aiven runs the upstream projects rather than a compatible reimplementation, which is why its own docs point at postgresql.org for per-release detail.PostgreSQL with TimescaleDB, aimed at time-series, real-time analytics and events. A self-managed edition exists for on-prem and private cloud.
Connection limitSet per plan, not by a formula: 100 on the entry paid plan (Startup-4), rising to 200, 400, 800 and 1000 as the plan grows, with 25 on Hobbyist, 20 on Free and 15 on Developer. Aiven states plainly that it does not apply a per-GiB formula, and that some of the allowance is used by Aiven itself to manage the service.max_connections settable 25-500 on services from 0.5 CPU / 2 GiB to 4 CPU / 16 GiB, and 25-2000 from 8 CPU / 32 GiB up; fixed at 25 on shared CPU
Database branching
Limited — a full copy from the latest backup, not copy-on-write
Supported — Service forks, created at current state, last snapshot, or a timestamp in the plan recovery window.
Point-in-time recoveryBounded by the plan's backup history, so 2 days on the entry paid plan and 30 at the top. Granularity is fine within that: full backups daily with write-ahead logs copied every 5 minutes or per new file, whichever comes first.3 days on Performance, with cross-region backups available for disaster recovery on higher tiers.
Read replicasSupportedSupported
Backup retentionBy plan: none on Hobbyist, 2 days on Startup, 14 on Business, 30 on Premium. The magnitude is Startup's 2 days, the entry paid plan. Aiven's high-availability page states 2 days for Hobbyist where the backups page states none — the backups page is the more specific of the two and is what is recorded here.One full backup weekly plus daily incrementals, kept for the plan recovery period; Enterprise can set 14-180 days; cross-region copies always kept 14 days
Support
Support on entry paid planDocumentation on the free tier; email with best-effort same or next business day responses on paid plans. Faster responses and phone support are three further tiers, charged separately.Basic support, 9-5 ET, on the entry plan. Enterprise adds production support at 24x7.
Compliance
SOC 2We also provide ISAE 3000/SOC2 Type II reports.SOC 2 Type 2 compliant; the annual report is available to customers on the Scale or Enterprise pricing plans by support ticket.
HIPAAOur services are ISO 27000-series, GDPR, CCPA, HIPAA and PCI-DSS compliant.The Tiger Cloud Enterprise plan is Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) compliant. Enterprise plan only.
Encryption at restAll data is fully encrypted end-to-end at rest and in transit.Both active databases and backups are encrypted at rest (and in transit) with the industry-standard AES-256 algorithm.
Private networking / VPCDeploy services directly into your own cloud account for data residency and VPC peering.VPC peering leaves no public internet access to the service; AWS PrivateLink private endpoints route traffic over the AWS network.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Kind of free offer

Aiven
Always free
TigerData
Free tier
Sources (2) →
  • Free plans — Aiven docs ↗

    “You don't need a credit card to create a free service and you can use them indefinitely free of charge. Free services do not have any time limitations. However, Aiven reserves the right to: Power off free services with no initial usage within the first few hours after the service is running. [...] Power off free services with no continuative activity on the service.”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

  • About Tiger Cloud services | Tiger Data Docs ↗

    “You create free and standard services in Tiger Console. A standard service comes with the full range of features according to your pricing plan. A free service comes at zero cost and gives you limited features and resources. [...] Free services come with pre-configured CPU and memory, are hosted in us-east-1 region, and offer limited resources with a basic feature scope.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Entry paid plan

Aiven
$5 a month for Developer — one VM, 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, 8 GB storage, with no choice of cloud or region and no connection pooling. The first plan that behaves like a production service is Startup at $75 a month or $0.10 an hour, which is where the uptime SLA and multi-CPU sizing begin; Hobbyist sits between them at $12.
TigerData
Compute starts at $30/month on Performance, billed hourly, with storage charged separately. Scale starts at $36/month.
Sources (2) →
  • Plans & Pricing — Aiven ↗

    “Free $0 / month [...] 1 GB total storage Cannot select a specific cloud or region No integrations or connection pooling Developer $5 / month [...] 8 GB total storage Cannot select a specific cloud or region No integrations or connection pooling Hobbyist starting from $12 / month $0.02 / hour [...] Startup starting from $75 / month $0.10 / hour [...] 99.99% uptime SLA Business starting from $180 / month $0.25 / hour”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — TigerData ↗

    “Performance Compute starts at $ 30 / month Storage priced at $0.177 / GB-month [...] Scale Most popular Compute starts at $ 36 / month”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Pricing model

Aiven
Fixed plans quoted both monthly and hourly, with the plan setting CPU, RAM and storage together rather than metering them separately. Aiven describes the pricing as all-inclusive: backups, monitoring and support come with the plan instead of appearing as line items. Higher tiers buy node count and backup history — Business adds a standby node, Premium a second.
TigerData
Compute and storage are billed separately and hourly rather than as one plan price — compute from $30 a month, storage at $0.177 per GB-month, with the headline storage figure resting on an assumed 5x compression ratio.
Sources (2) →
  • Plans & Pricing — Aiven ↗

    “Aiven's pricing is all-inclusive and transparent, providing you with the confidence [...] Startup starting from $75 / month $0.10 / hour [...] Business starting from $180 / month $0.25 / hour [...] Everything in Startup, plus high availability Premium starting from $270 / month $0.37 / hour”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — TigerData ↗

    “Pay as you go hourly Compute starts at $30/month Storage priced at $0.177/GB-month [...] Effective storage price is based on 5x compression (average customer savings).”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Regions

Aiven
153 regions across six clouds — AWS 25, Google 42, Azure 39, OVH 22, UpCloud 16, DigitalOcean 9 — counted from Aiven's own reference list, which publishes the regions and no total. No magnitude is recorded, because Aiven states on that same page that the list differs per project and that not all service types are available in every cloud and region: the number is the platform's reach, not PostgreSQL's, and a bar drawn from it would be compared against providers whose counts are engine-specific.
TigerData
13 AWS regions (US, Canada, Sao Paulo, Ireland, London, Frankfurt, Zurich, Mumbai, Singapore, Sydney, Tokyo) and 4 Azure regions for Tiger Cloud services
Sources (2) →

Uptime SLA

Aiven
99.99% from Startup ($75/month), the entry paid plan, upward.
TigerData
Enterprise SLAs, with no percentage published on the pricing page.
Sources (2) →
  • Aiven Pricing ↗

    “startup starting from $75 / month $0.10 / hour get building view 7 plans 1 dedicated VM 2-32 CPU per VM 4-192 GB RAM per VM 80 GB-11 TB total storage 99.99% uptime SLA”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Tiger Data Pricing ↗

    “mission-critical reliability and monitoring cross-region backups for disaster recovery enterprise SLAs production support (24x7, 1 hour response time for sev 1 issues)”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

Engine

Aiven
PostgreSQL, alongside MySQL, ClickHouse, OpenSearch, Valkey, Kafka, Flink and Grafana. Aiven runs the upstream projects rather than a compatible reimplementation, which is why its own docs point at postgresql.org for per-release detail.
TigerData
PostgreSQL with TimescaleDB, aimed at time-series, real-time analytics and events. A self-managed edition exists for on-prem and private cloud.
Sources (2) →
  • Aiven for PostgreSQL® — Aiven docs ↗

    “Aiven for PostgreSQL is the perfect fit for your relational data. A scalable SQL database solution that can be up and running within a few minutes. [...] Find a comprehensive per-release documentation on the PostgreSQL project website.”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing — TigerData ↗

    “TimescaleDB Enterprise Self-managed TimescaleDB for on-prem, edge and private cloud Open source TimescaleDB Time-series, real-time analytics and events”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official site · Report a correction

Connection limit

Aiven
Set per plan, not by a formula: 100 on the entry paid plan (Startup-4), rising to 200, 400, 800 and 1000 as the plan grows, with 25 on Hobbyist, 20 on Free and 15 on Developer. Aiven states plainly that it does not apply a per-GiB formula, and that some of the allowance is used by Aiven itself to manage the service.
TigerData
max_connections settable 25-500 on services from 0.5 CPU / 2 GiB to 4 CPU / 16 GiB, and 25-2000 from 8 CPU / 32 GiB up; fixed at 25 on shared CPU
Sources (2) →
  • Connection limits per plan for Aiven for PostgreSQL® — Aiven docs ↗

    “Default values of the max_connections setting vary according to the service plan: Plan Max connections Developer 15 Free 20 Hobbyist 25 Startup/Business/Premium-4 100 Startup/Business/Premium-8 200 Startup/Business/Premium-16 400 Startup/Business/Premium-32 800 Startup/Business/Premium-64 and above 1000 note Aiven can utilize any number of the connections for managing the service. Aiven for PostgreSQL doesn't apply a fixed per-GiB connection formula”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Connection pooling | Tiger Data Docs ↗

    “You can set max_connections within the following ranges, based on your service memory and CPU configuration: Configuration Minimum Maximum Shared memory and CPU 25 25 From 0.5 CPU / 2 GiB to 4 CPU / 16 GiB 25 500 8 CPU / 32 GiB and more 25 2000”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Database branching

Aiven
Limited — a full copy from the latest backup, not copy-on-write
TigerData
Supported — Service forks, created at current state, last snapshot, or a timestamp in the plan recovery window.
Sources (2) →
  • Fork a service — Aiven for PostgreSQL® — Aiven docs ↗

    “Fork your Aiven for PostgreSQL® service to create an independent copy for testing, debugging, or development without affecting the original service. Fork an Aiven service to create a complete copy of it from its latest backup. Forked services are independent and don't share resources with or increase the load on the original service. Common use cases for forking include: Creating a snapshot to analyze an issue. Creating a development copy of your production environment.”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Fork services | Tiger Data Docs ↗

    “Fork a service to create isolated database branches for testing and development [...] A fork is an exact copy of a service at a specific point in time, with its own independent data and configuration”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Point-in-time recovery

Aiven
Bounded by the plan's backup history, so 2 days on the entry paid plan and 30 at the top. Granularity is fine within that: full backups daily with write-ahead logs copied every 5 minutes or per new file, whichever comes first.
TigerData
3 days on Performance, with cross-region backups available for disaster recovery on higher tiers.
Sources (2) →

Backup retention

Aiven
By plan: none on Hobbyist, 2 days on Startup, 14 on Business, 30 on Premium. The magnitude is Startup's 2 days, the entry paid plan. Aiven's high-availability page states 2 days for Hobbyist where the backups page states none — the backups page is the more specific of the two and is what is recorded here.
TigerData
One full backup weekly plus daily incrementals, kept for the plan recovery period; Enterprise can set 14-180 days; cross-region copies always kept 14 days
Sources (2) →
  • Aiven for PostgreSQL® backups — Aiven docs ↗

    “Backup retention time by plan The number of stored backups and the backup retention time depends on the service plan that you have selected. Plan Type Backup Retention Time Hobbyist None Startup 2 days Business 14 days Premium 30 days”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Back up and recover services | Tiger Data Docs ↗

    “Tiger Cloud automatically creates one full backup every week, and incremental backups every day in the same region as your service. [...] on Enterprise you can set a retention period of up to 180 days for each service. [...] Cross-region backups are always kept for 14 days.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Support on entry paid plan

Aiven
Documentation on the free tier; email with best-effort same or next business day responses on paid plans. Faster responses and phone support are three further tiers, charged separately.
TigerData
Basic support, 9-5 ET, on the entry plan. Enterprise adds production support at 24x7.
Sources (2) →
  • Aiven Pricing ↗

    “Support Offers three additional support tiers with separate charge that include faster response times and phone support Support via documentation Support through email with best-effort responses during the same or next business day”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Tiger Data Pricing ↗

    “point-in-time-recovery to 3 days performance insights basic support (9-5 ET) [...] production support (24x7, 1 hour response time for sev 1 issues)”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

SOC 2

Aiven
We also provide ISAE 3000/SOC2 Type II reports.
TigerData
SOC 2 Type 2 compliant; the annual report is available to customers on the Scale or Enterprise pricing plans by support ticket.
Sources (2) →

HIPAA

Aiven
Our services are ISO 27000-series, GDPR, CCPA, HIPAA and PCI-DSS compliant.
TigerData
The Tiger Cloud Enterprise plan is Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) compliant. Enterprise plan only.
Sources (2) →

Encryption at rest

Aiven
All data is fully encrypted end-to-end at rest and in transit.
TigerData
Both active databases and backups are encrypted at rest (and in transit) with the industry-standard AES-256 algorithm.
Sources (2) →

Private networking / VPC

Aiven
Deploy services directly into your own cloud account for data residency and VPC peering.
TigerData
VPC peering leaves no public internet access to the service; AWS PrivateLink private endpoints route traffic over the AWS network.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

When the free offer endsAiven: Never — free services have no time limitations.
Startup credit programAiven: Aiven for Startups: $12,000–$100,000 in Aiven credits over 12 months. Requires founded ≤7 years ago and external funding from pre-seed to Series B.
Storage (entry plan)TigerData: Up to 16 TB per service on the Performance (entry) plan, billed on actual usage; 64 TB on Scale and Enterprise
Memory (entry plan)TigerData: Up to 32 GB per service on the Performance (entry) plan; 128 GB on Scale and 256 GB on Enterprise
When idleTigerData: Billed while running: all active standard services are charged even when not in use, and unused ones must be paused or deleted manually
Rewind in placeTigerData: Not supported — Recovery is to a PITR fork you point the app at; the original service stays untouched.
Storage priceTigerData: $0.177 per GB-month on Performance and $0.212 on Scale. TigerData notes the effective price assumes 5x compression, which is an average rather than a guarantee.
Response time commitmentTigerData: 1 hour for Sev 1, on Enterprise only. The entry plan publishes opening hours, 9-5 ET, which is not a response commitment.
GDPR / data residencyTigerData: Complies with EU GDPR; all customer data is processed under Tiger Data's GDPR-compliant Data Processor Addendum, which applies to all customers.Aiven: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Aiven.
Role-based access controlTigerData: Project-level role-based access with Owner, Admin, Developer and Viewer roles; database-level roles are managed separately per service.
Dedicated infrastructureTigerData: Managed Service for TimescaleDB (TimescaleDB hosted with Aiven): each service virtual machine is dedicated to a single customer, never multi-tenanted. Read on the MST security docs; scope is MST, not the Tiger Cloud platform.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Aiven or TigerData?

Aiven: $5 a month for Developer — one VM, 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, 8 GB storage, with no choice of cloud or region and no connection pooling. The first plan that behaves like a production service is Startup at $75 a month or $0.10 an hour, which is where the uptime SLA and multi-CPU sizing begin; Hobbyist sits between them at $12.

TigerData: Compute starts at $30/month on Performance, billed hourly, with storage charged separately. Scale starts at $36/month.

Should I choose Aiven or TigerData?

Pick Aiven if Teams who want more than one open-source data service from one vendor and one bill — Postgres beside Kafka, ClickHouse or OpenSearch — with the availability tier chosen per service rather than fixed.

Pick TigerData if Time-series and analytics workloads that want to stay in Postgres — TimescaleDB's compression is the reason the storage line is affordable at volume.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.