Amazon S3 vs Backblaze B2
SEPT 2026 auditA comparison of Amazon S3 and Backblaze B2 built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.
The short answer
Choose Amazon S3 if…
Workloads already inside AWS, where keeping data in the same region as the compute avoids the transfer charges that dominate an object storage bill.
Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved
Choose Backblaze B2 if…
Bulk capacity where egress is predictable — free up to three times what you store each month, which covers most backup and archive patterns comfortably at $6.95 per terabyte.
Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved
Consider something else if…
- Amazon S3: Egress is the cost that decides this category and S3 charges for it, where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not. Prices also vary by region, so a figure quoted anywhere is only true for the region it was read in.
- Backblaze B2: Egress is only free to that 3x ceiling. A bucket read far more often than its size, like a public media library, is the shape this pricing is not built for.
Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Amazon S3 alternatives · Backblaze B2 alternatives
13 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.
Pick the criteria you care about. The chart counts how many of them lean toward each provider — the same read as scanning the bars below, just totalled for the ones you chose.
Amazon S3 0
Backblaze B2 0
At a glance.
| Criterion | Amazon S3 | Backblaze B2 |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | ||
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Kind of free offer | Introductory free tier | Free tier |
| What the free plan includes | 100 GB a month of data transfer out to the internet, counted globally rather than per region. Storage itself is billed from the first byte. | The first 10 GB of storage is always free, egress is free up to three times average monthly storage, and the first 2,500 Class D transactions each day are free. |
| Egress over allowance | $0.09 per GB for the first 10 TB a month out to the internet, after a free 100 GB aggregated globally. It falls to $0.085 above 10 TB, $0.07 above 50 TB and $0.05 above 150 TB. This is AWS's outbound data transfer rate rather than an S3-specific one — the charge that R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not levy at all. | Free up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable. |
| Limits | ||
| Storage (entry plan) | None. S3 has no plans and no included storage — AWS states there is no minimum charge and you pay only for what you use, billed per GB-month from the first byte. New accounts get AWS Free Tier credits ($100 immediately, up to $200 over six months) which are spendable credit rather than a standing storage allowance. | 10 GB free, permanently — 'First 10GB storage is always free.' The statement is a row-level note on Backblaze's pricing-model table, so it applies to B2 storage rather than to one plan, and it is an ongoing allowance rather than the 'Start Free' trial the page advertises separately. |
| Infrastructure | ||
| Uptime SLA | 99.9% for S3 Standard, Express One Zone and the Glacier retrieval classes; 99.0% for Intelligent-Tiering, Standard-Infrequent Access, One Zone-IA and Glacier Instant Retrieval. | Credits begin below 99.9% monthly user uptime. The SLA is per user account and covers B2 Cloud Storage and Computer Backup. |
| Storage | ||
| Storage price | $0.023 per GB-month for S3 Standard, first 50 TB, in us-east-1. S3 prices vary by region; this and every other S3 figure on the site is that region. | $6.95 per TB per month on B2 Overdrive; $15 per TB per month on the unlimited-egress tier |
| Operations price | $0.005 per 1,000 PUT, COPY, POST and LIST requests, and $0.004 per 10,000 GET and all other requests, in us-east-1. DELETE and CANCEL are free. | Transactions are not charged on the $6.95/TB tier. Backblaze notes that its published chart uses U.S. West rates and that competitor rates vary by region and volume. |
| Minimum storage duration | None on S3 Standard. 30 days on Standard-IA and One Zone-IA, 90 days on Glacier Instant and Flexible Retrieval, 180 days on Glacier Deep Archive, each with a pro-rated charge for early deletion. | None. Backblaze states no minimum file size or storage duration fee on B2 Cloud Storage, so an object deleted an hour after upload is billed only for that hour. |
| S3-compatible API | Supported | Supported |
| Compliance | ||
| SOC 2 | Listed as SOC-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page. | SOC 2 Type 2 compliant, audited by an independent third-party firm; the data centers Backblaze operates in are also SOC 2 compliant. |
| ISO 27001 | Covered under AWS's account-wide ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification — not scoped per-service the way SOC, HIPAA and PCI DSS are on AWS's own site. | Not a Backblaze organizational certification — Backblaze states it primarily operates in data centers that hold ISO 27001 certificates, a facility-level attestation rather than one covering Backblaze itself. |
| HIPAA | Listed as a HIPAA-eligible service on AWS's own reference page. | A Business Associate Agreement is available on request for business customers who are Covered Entities under HIPAA. |
| GDPR / data residency | AWS customers can process personal data on all AWS services in compliance with GDPR, and choose the storage type and geographic region for their data. | Adheres to GDPR and UK GDPR privacy policies; Data Processing Agreement addendums are available for EEA/EU and UK residents. |
| PCI DSS | Listed as PCI DSS-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page. | Card processing is handled through Stripe, which combined with Backblaze's internal security controls contributes to PCI-DSS adherence — not a direct PCI-DSS certification of Backblaze's own storage platform. |
Where they differ.
Kind of free offer
- Amazon S3
- Introductory free tier
- Backblaze B2
- Free tier
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Amazon S3 Pricing ↗
“At account sign-up, you can choose between a free plan and a paid plan. The free plan will be available for 6 months after account creation.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction
- Backblaze B2 Cloud Storage Pricing ↗
“First 10GB storage is always free.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction
What the free plan includes
- Amazon S3
- 100 GB a month of data transfer out to the internet, counted globally rather than per region. Storage itself is billed from the first byte.
- Backblaze B2
- The first 10 GB of storage is always free, egress is free up to three times average monthly storage, and the first 2,500 Class D transactions each day are free.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Amazon S3 pricing ↗
“The 100 GB free tier for data transfer out to the internet is global and does not apply separately or individually to AWS Regions.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction
- Backblaze B2 Cloud Storage Pricing ↗
“First 10GB storage is always free. [...] Class D transactions cost $0.004 per 10,000 calls plus the first 2,500 calls per day are free.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction
Egress over allowance
- Amazon S3
- $0.09 per GB for the first 10 TB a month out to the internet, after a free 100 GB aggregated globally. It falls to $0.085 above 10 TB, $0.07 above 50 TB and $0.05 above 150 TB. This is AWS's outbound data transfer rate rather than an S3-specific one — the charge that R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not levy at all.
- Backblaze B2
- Free up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- AWS Price List API — AWSDataTransfer, us-east-1 ↗
“"$0 for 100GB of data transfer out to the internet, aggregated globally" [...] "$0.090 per GB - first 10 TB / month data transfer out beyond the global free tier" [...] "$0.085 per GB - next 40 TB / month" [...] "$0.070 per GB - next 100 TB / month" [...] "$0.050 per GB - greater than 150 TB / month"”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
- Cloud Storage Pricing — Backblaze ↗
“Free egress up to 3x storage [...] Free transactions [...] Unlimited free egress [...] B2 includes 750 TB of monthly egress in this scenario.”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
Storage (entry plan)
- Amazon S3
- None. S3 has no plans and no included storage — AWS states there is no minimum charge and you pay only for what you use, billed per GB-month from the first byte. New accounts get AWS Free Tier credits ($100 immediately, up to $200 over six months) which are spendable credit rather than a standing storage allowance.
- Backblaze B2
- 10 GB free, permanently — 'First 10GB storage is always free.' The statement is a row-level note on Backblaze's pricing-model table, so it applies to B2 storage rather than to one plan, and it is an ongoing allowance rather than the 'Start Free' trial the page advertises separately.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Amazon S3 Pricing ↗
“Pay only for what you use. There is no minimum charge. Amazon S3 cost components are storage pricing, request and data retrieval pricing, data transfer and transfer acceleration pricing”
Read 2026-09-07 · official pricing · Report a correction
- B2 Cloud Storage Pricing | Backblaze ↗
“First 10GB storage is always free.”
Read 2026-09-07 · official pricing · Report a correction
Uptime SLA
99.9% for S3 Standard, Express One Zone and the Glacier retrieval classes; 99.0% for Intelligent-Tiering, Standard-Infrequent Access, One Zone-IA and Glacier Instant Retrieval.
Credits begin below 99.9% monthly user uptime. The SLA is per user account and covers B2 Cloud Storage and Computer Backup.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Amazon S3 Service Level Agreement ↗
“For requests to S3 Standard, S3 Express One Zone, S3 Glacier Flexible Retrieval, S3 Glacier Deep Archive, and all other requests not specified below: Monthly Uptime Percentage Service Credit Percentage Less than 99.9% but greater than or equal to 99.0% 10% [...] For requests to S3 Intelligent-Tiering, S3 Standard-Infrequent Access, S3 One Zone-Infrequent Access, and S3 Glacier Instant Retrieval: Monthly Uptime Percentage Service Credit Percentage Less than 99.0% but greater than or equal to 98.0% 10%”
Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction
- Backblaze Service Level Agreement ↗
“monthly user uptime percentage user credit percentage >= 99.9% 0%”
Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction
Storage price
- Amazon S3
- $0.023 per GB-month for S3 Standard, first 50 TB, in us-east-1. S3 prices vary by region; this and every other S3 figure on the site is that region.
- Backblaze B2
- $6.95 per TB per month on B2 Overdrive; $15 per TB per month on the unlimited-egress tier
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- AWS Price List API — AmazonS3, us-east-1 ↗
“"description": "$0.023 per GB - first 50 TB / month of storage used", "pricePerUnit": {"USD": "0.0230000000"}, "unit": "GB-Mo", "beginRange": "0", "endRange": "51200"”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
- Cloud Storage Pricing — Backblaze ↗
“$6.95 / TB / mo [...] Free egress up to 3x storage [...] $15 / TB / mo [...] Unlimited free egress”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
Operations price
- Amazon S3
- $0.005 per 1,000 PUT, COPY, POST and LIST requests, and $0.004 per 10,000 GET and all other requests, in us-east-1. DELETE and CANCEL are free.
- Backblaze B2
- Transactions are not charged on the $6.95/TB tier. Backblaze notes that its published chart uses U.S. West rates and that competitor rates vary by region and volume.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- AWS Price List API — AmazonS3, us-east-1 ↗
“"description": "$0.005 per 1,000 PUT, COPY, POST, or LIST requests" [...] "description": "$0.004 per 10,000 GET and all other requests" [...] DELETE and CANCEL requests are free.”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
- Cloud Storage Pricing — Backblaze ↗
“Free transactions [...] This chart features published rates for the U.S. West region. Backblaze competitors' rates can vary by region, amount stored, and other factors.”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
Minimum storage duration
None on S3 Standard. 30 days on Standard-IA and One Zone-IA, 90 days on Glacier Instant and Flexible Retrieval, 180 days on Glacier Deep Archive, each with a pro-rated charge for early deletion.
None. Backblaze states no minimum file size or storage duration fee on B2 Cloud Storage, so an object deleted an hour after upload is billed only for that hour.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- S3 Pricing — AWS ↗
“S3 Standard-IA, and S3 One Zone-IA storage are charged for a minimum storage duration of 30 days [...] Objects that are archived to S3 Glacier Instant Retrieval and S3 Glacier Flexible Retrieval are charged for a minimum storage duration of 90 days, and S3 Glacier Deep Archive has a minimum storage duration of 180 days.”
Read 2026-09-06 · official docs · Report a correction
- Pricing — Backblaze B2 Cloud Storage ↗
“$6.95 / TB / mo [...] No minimum file size or storage duration fees Free egress up to 3x storage Free transactions”
Read 2026-09-07 · official pricing · Report a correction
SOC 2
- Amazon S3
- Listed as SOC-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.
- Backblaze B2
- SOC 2 Type 2 compliant, audited by an independent third-party firm; the data centers Backblaze operates in are also SOC 2 compliant.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- AWS Services in Scope — SOC ↗
“This webpage provides a list of AWS Services in Scope of AWS assurance programs. [...] Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) ✓ Amazon Simple Workflow Service (SWF) ✓ Amazon Textract ✓”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
- Cloud Regulatory Compliance — Backblaze B2 ↗
“Backblaze has achieved Service Organization Control (SOC) 2 Type 2 compliance by an independent third-party firm. Backblaze operates in data centers that are also SOC 2 compliant.”
Read 2026-09-12 · official site · Report a correction
ISO 27001
- Amazon S3
- Covered under AWS's account-wide ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification — not scoped per-service the way SOC, HIPAA and PCI DSS are on AWS's own site.
- Backblaze B2
- Not a Backblaze organizational certification — Backblaze states it primarily operates in data centers that hold ISO 27001 certificates, a facility-level attestation rather than one covering Backblaze itself.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- ISO/IEC 27001:2022 Compliance — AWS ↗
“AWS has certification for compliance with ISO/IEC 27001:2022, 27017:2015, and 27018:2019. These certifications are performed by independent third-party auditors.”
Read 2026-09-12 · official site · Report a correction
- Cloud Regulatory Compliance — Backblaze B2 ↗
“Backblaze operates primarily in data centers that hold International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 27001 certificates, which can be accessed via Whistic.”
Read 2026-09-12 · official site · Report a correction
HIPAA
- Amazon S3
- Listed as a HIPAA-eligible service on AWS's own reference page.
- Backblaze B2
- A Business Associate Agreement is available on request for business customers who are Covered Entities under HIPAA.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- HIPAA Eligible Services Reference — AWS ↗
“The services listed below are eligible to create, receive, process, maintain, or transmit electronic protected health information (ePHI). [...] Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) Amazon Simple Workflow Service (SWF) AWS Snowball AWS”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
- Cloud Regulatory Compliance — Backblaze B2 ↗
“Backblaze can provide a Business Associate Agreement (BAA) upon request for business customers who are Covered Entities under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).”
Read 2026-09-12 · official site · Report a correction
GDPR / data residency
- Amazon S3
- AWS customers can process personal data on all AWS services in compliance with GDPR, and choose the storage type and geographic region for their data.
- Backblaze B2
- Adheres to GDPR and UK GDPR privacy policies; Data Processing Agreement addendums are available for EEA/EU and UK residents.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- GDPR — Amazon Web Services ↗
“AWS customers can use all AWS services to process personal data [...] in compliance with the GDPR. [...] Customers have control of their customer data. With AWS, customers can: Determine where their customer data will be stored, including the type of storage and geographic region of that storage.”
Read 2026-09-12 · official site · Report a correction
- Cloud Regulatory Compliance — Backblaze B2 ↗
“Backblaze adheres to General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) privacy policies. Data Processing Agreement Addendums (DPAs) for EEA/EU and UK residents are available for compliance standards.”
Read 2026-09-12 · official site · Report a correction
PCI DSS
- Amazon S3
- Listed as PCI DSS-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.
- Backblaze B2
- Card processing is handled through Stripe, which combined with Backblaze's internal security controls contributes to PCI-DSS adherence — not a direct PCI-DSS certification of Backblaze's own storage platform.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- AWS Services in Scope — PCI DSS ↗
“This webpage provides a list of AWS Services in Scope of AWS assurance programs. [...] Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) ✓ ✓ Amazon Simple Workflow Service (SWF) ✓ ✓ Amazon”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
- Cloud Regulatory Compliance — Backblaze B2 ↗
“Backblaze utilizes Stripe to store and process card information, which, combined with internal security controls, contributes to Backblaze's adherence to Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI-DSS) requirements.”
Read 2026-09-12 · official site · Report a correction
When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.
Documented by only one.
These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.
Questions this comparison answers.
Egress over allowance: Amazon S3 or Backblaze B2?
Amazon S3: $0.09 per GB for the first 10 TB a month out to the internet, after a free 100 GB aggregated globally. It falls to $0.085 above 10 TB, $0.07 above 50 TB and $0.05 above 150 TB. This is AWS's outbound data transfer rate rather than an S3-specific one — the charge that R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not levy at all.
Backblaze B2: Free up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable.
Storage (entry plan): Amazon S3 or Backblaze B2?
Amazon S3: None. S3 has no plans and no included storage — AWS states there is no minimum charge and you pay only for what you use, billed per GB-month from the first byte. New accounts get AWS Free Tier credits ($100 immediately, up to $200 over six months) which are spendable credit rather than a standing storage allowance.
Backblaze B2: 10 GB free, permanently — 'First 10GB storage is always free.' The statement is a row-level note on Backblaze's pricing-model table, so it applies to B2 storage rather than to one plan, and it is an ongoing allowance rather than the 'Start Free' trial the page advertises separately.
Should I choose Amazon S3 or Backblaze B2?
Pick Amazon S3 if Workloads already inside AWS, where keeping data in the same region as the compute avoids the transfer charges that dominate an object storage bill.
Pick Backblaze B2 if Bulk capacity where egress is predictable — free up to three times what you store each month, which covers most backup and archive patterns comfortably at $6.95 per terabyte.

Comments are hosted by EchoThread, which sets cookies and offers social sign-in. Like the analytics on this site, it does not load until you accept — see the privacy page.