Skip to content
inetGeek

Backblaze B2 vs Bunny Storage

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Backblaze B2 and Bunny Storage built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 20 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Backblaze B2 if…

Bulk capacity where egress is predictable — free up to three times what you store each month, which covers most backup and archive patterns comfortably at $6.95 per terabyte.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Bunny Storage if…

Assets served from a CDN, where paying per replicated region buys latency you would otherwise build yourself — and traffic to Bunny's CDN costs nothing.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Backblaze B2: Egress is only free to that 3x ceiling. A bucket read far more often than its size, like a public media library, is the shape this pricing is not built for.
  • Bunny Storage: Replication is the price axis, so multi-region storage costs a multiple of single-region rather than a premium, and it is a CDN origin rather than a general-purpose S3 endpoint.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Backblaze B2 alternatives · Bunny Storage alternatives

6 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionBackblaze B2Bunny Storage
Pricing
Kind of free offerFree tierFree trial
What the free plan includesThe first 10 GB of storage is always free, egress is free up to three times average monthly storage, and the first 2,500 Class D transactions each day are free.A 14-day trial with no credit card. There is no ongoing free allowance; storage is pay-as-you-go with a $1 monthly minimum.
Egress over allowanceFree up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable.Free to Bunny's own CDN, and no API fees or API egress charges. Bunny prices storage by replication rather than by transfer.
Infrastructure
Uptime SLA
Credits begin below 99.9% monthly user uptime. The SLA is per user account and covers B2 Cloud Storage and Computer Backup.
99.99% uptime guarantee, with SLA credits on a sliding scale from 99.98% down. One SLA covers the whole bunny.net platform.
Storage
Storage price$6.95 per TB per month on B2 Overdrive; $15 per TB per month on the unlimited-egress tier$0.01 per GB per month on Standard HDD for up to two regions, then $0.005 per additional region up to nine. Edge SSD is $0.02 per GB per region across up to fifteen. Three regions on Standard is $0.025 per GB.
Operations priceTransactions are not charged on the $6.95/TB tier. Backblaze notes that its published chart uses U.S. West rates and that competitor rates vary by region and volume.None. Bunny states no API fees.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Kind of free offer

Backblaze B2
Free tier
Bunny Storage
Free trial
Sources (2) →

What the free plan includes

Backblaze B2
The first 10 GB of storage is always free, egress is free up to three times average monthly storage, and the first 2,500 Class D transactions each day are free.
Bunny Storage
A 14-day trial with no credit card. There is no ongoing free allowance; storage is pay-as-you-go with a $1 monthly minimum.
Sources (2) →

Egress over allowance

Backblaze B2
Free up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable.
Bunny Storage
Free to Bunny's own CDN, and no API fees or API egress charges. Bunny prices storage by replication rather than by transfer.
Sources (2) →

Uptime SLA

Backblaze B2

Credits begin below 99.9% monthly user uptime. The SLA is per user account and covers B2 Cloud Storage and Computer Backup.

Bunny Storage

99.99% uptime guarantee, with SLA credits on a sliding scale from 99.98% down. One SLA covers the whole bunny.net platform.

Sources (2) →
  • Backblaze Service Level Agreement ↗

    “monthly user uptime percentage user credit percentage >= 99.9% 0%”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

  • bunny.net SLA ↗

    “99.99% uptime guarantee the bunny.net platform was designed with performance and stability in mind. [...] in the event of monthly availability falling below our guarantees, your account will be eligible for sla credits based on your monthly usage.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

Storage price

Backblaze B2
$6.95 per TB per month on B2 Overdrive; $15 per TB per month on the unlimited-egress tier
Bunny Storage
$0.01 per GB per month on Standard HDD for up to two regions, then $0.005 per additional region up to nine. Edge SSD is $0.02 per GB per region across up to fifteen. Three regions on Standard is $0.025 per GB.
Sources (2) →
  • Cloud Storage Pricing — Backblaze ↗

    “$6.95 / TB / mo [...] Free egress up to 3x storage [...] $15 / TB / mo [...] Unlimited free egress”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Storage — Bunny.net ↗

    “Standard tier HDD $0.01/GB per storage region for up to two regions. $0.005/GB per additional region. Up to 9 regions. Single region $0.01/GB Three regions $0.025/GB Two regions $0.02/GB [...] Edge tier SSD $0.02/GB per storage region. Up to 15 regions.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Operations price

Backblaze B2
Transactions are not charged on the $6.95/TB tier. Backblaze notes that its published chart uses U.S. West rates and that competitor rates vary by region and volume.
Bunny Storage
None. Bunny states no API fees.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Free tierBackblaze B2: Yes
Credit card to startBunny Storage: No
When the free offer endsBunny Storage: 14 days.
Pricing modelBunny Storage: Per region rather than per gigabyte alone: replication is the price axis, so cost scales with how many of Bunny's regions hold a copy. True pay-as-you-go with a $1 monthly minimum and no commitments.
Storage (entry plan)Backblaze B2: 10 GB free, permanently — 'First 10GB storage is always free.' The statement is a row-level note on Backblaze's pricing-model table, so it applies to B2 storage rather than to one plan, and it is an ongoing allowance rather than the 'Start Free' trial the page advertises separately.
Minimum storage durationBackblaze B2: None. Backblaze states no minimum file size or storage duration fee on B2 Cloud Storage, so an object deleted an hour after upload is billed only for that hour.
S3-compatible APIBackblaze B2: Supported
Support on entry paid planBackblaze B2: Giga support with every subscription. Tera and Peta are paid add-ons bought per service.
Response time commitmentBackblaze B2: Target response for email support: one business day on Giga, the included plan; 4 business hours on Tera; 2 business hours on Peta. Email support runs 9am to 5pm Pacific.
SOC 2Backblaze B2: SOC 2 Type 2 compliant, audited by an independent third-party firm; the data centers Backblaze operates in are also SOC 2 compliant.Bunny Storage: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Bunny Storage.
ISO 27001Backblaze B2: Not a Backblaze organizational certification — Backblaze states it primarily operates in data centers that hold ISO 27001 certificates, a facility-level attestation rather than one covering Backblaze itself.Bunny Storage: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Bunny Storage.
HIPAABackblaze B2: A Business Associate Agreement is available on request for business customers who are Covered Entities under HIPAA.Bunny Storage: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Bunny Storage.
GDPR / data residencyBackblaze B2: Adheres to GDPR and UK GDPR privacy policies; Data Processing Agreement addendums are available for EEA/EU and UK residents.Bunny Storage: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Bunny Storage.
PCI DSSBackblaze B2: Card processing is handled through Stripe, which combined with Backblaze's internal security controls contributes to PCI-DSS adherence — not a direct PCI-DSS certification of Backblaze's own storage platform.Bunny Storage: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Bunny Storage.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Egress over allowance: Backblaze B2 or Bunny Storage?

Backblaze B2: Free up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable.

Bunny Storage: Free to Bunny's own CDN, and no API fees or API egress charges. Bunny prices storage by replication rather than by transfer.

Should I choose Backblaze B2 or Bunny Storage?

Pick Backblaze B2 if Bulk capacity where egress is predictable — free up to three times what you store each month, which covers most backup and archive patterns comfortably at $6.95 per terabyte.

Pick Bunny Storage if Assets served from a CDN, where paying per replicated region buys latency you would otherwise build yourself — and traffic to Bunny's CDN costs nothing.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.