Skip to content
inetGeek

Amazon SQS vs Cloudflare Queues

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Amazon SQS and Cloudflare Queues built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 22 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Amazon SQS if…

AWS-resident systems that want a queue with a permanent free million requests a month and no capacity to plan — SQS scales without a throughput setting to choose.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Cloudflare Queues if…

Workers applications that want a queue with no egress or throughput charges and a retention window measured in days rather than hours.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Amazon SQS: Billing is per request rather than per message, and a 1 MiB payload counts as sixteen, so chatty polling or large messages cost far more than the message count suggests.
  • Cloudflare Queues: Billing is per 64 KB operation rather than per message, so a large payload or a chatty retry loop costs several times what the message count suggests.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Amazon SQS alternatives · Cloudflare Queues alternatives

7 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionAmazon SQSCloudflare Queues
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
Pricing modelPer request, not per message: every API action counts, and a 1 MiB payload is billed as 16 requests. FIFO queues cost $0.50 per million against standard's $0.40 in us-east-1, and fair queue requests add $0.10 per million on top of the standard rate.Billed per operation, not per message: one operation per 64 KB written, read or deleted, and a message larger than 64 KB counts as several. Cloudflare states a normal delivery takes three operations — one write, one read, one delete — so a million messages is nearer three million operations. Workers Paid includes 1,000,000 operations a month, then $0.40 per million; the free plan allows 10,000 a day.
Infrastructure
Uptime SLA
99.9% monthly uptime per AWS Region, one figure with no configuration split.
99.9% monthly uptime, in a dedicated Queues SLA that applies to use of Queues only and names no plan tier, with the same precedence clause as the R2 and Workers SLAs. The remedy is a credit set as a percentage of the fees paid for that product in the preceding 30 days, so the commitment stands on a free account while the compensation for breaching it is worth nothing there.
Queues
Included per month1,000,000 requests a month free, permanently and across all regions. Beyond that, standard queues are $0.40 per million in us-east-1, falling to $0.30 above 100 billion and $0.24 above 200 billion.1,000,000 operations a month on Workers Paid, then $0.40 per million. An operation is each 64 KB written, read or deleted, so a typical message costs three — Cloudflare's own formula is ((messages × 3) − 1,000,000) / 1,000,000 × $0.40. Workers Free allows 10,000 operations a day.
Maximum message size
256 KB per message. A single request carries 1 to 10 messages up to 1 MiB total, and each 64 KB chunk of payload is billed as one request.
128 KB per message, with roughly 100 bytes of that taken by internal metadata.
Message retention
4 days by default; configurable from 60 seconds up to 14 days per queue.
4 days by default on Workers Paid, configurable up to 14 days. Workers Free is fixed at 24 hours.
Maximum delay
15 minutes maximum per-message delay (message timer) or per-queue delay; default is 0 seconds.
24 hours, set with delaySeconds when sending or retrying.
ConcurrencyApproximately 120,000 in-flight messages per standard queue (received but not yet deleted); API call rate on standard queues is nearly unlimited.250 concurrent consumer invocations, push-based only, with per-queue throughput capped at 5,000 messages a second.
Dead letter queueSupportedSupported

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Pricing model

Amazon SQS
Per request, not per message: every API action counts, and a 1 MiB payload is billed as 16 requests. FIFO queues cost $0.50 per million against standard's $0.40 in us-east-1, and fair queue requests add $0.10 per million on top of the standard rate.
Cloudflare Queues
Billed per operation, not per message: one operation per 64 KB written, read or deleted, and a message larger than 64 KB counts as several. Cloudflare states a normal delivery takes three operations — one write, one read, one delete — so a million messages is nearer three million operations. Workers Paid includes 1,000,000 operations a month, then $0.40 per million; the free plan allows 10,000 a day.
Sources (2) →
  • AWS Price List API — AWSQueueService, us-east-1 ↗

    “"$0.50 per million Amazon SQS FIFO requests in Tier1 in US East" [...] "$0.40 per million Amazon SQS standard requests in Tier1" [...] "$0.10 per million Amazon SQS fair queue requests in US East"”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Cloudflare Queues docs ↗

    “An operation is counted for each 64 KB of data that is written, read, or deleted. [...] Standard operations 10,000 operations/day included 1,000,000 operations/month included + $0.40/million operations [...] In most cases, it takes 3 operations to deliver a message: 1 write, 1 read, and 1 delete.”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official docs · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

Amazon SQS

99.9% monthly uptime per AWS Region, one figure with no configuration split.

Cloudflare Queues

99.9% monthly uptime, in a dedicated Queues SLA that applies to use of Queues only and names no plan tier, with the same precedence clause as the R2 and Workers SLAs. The remedy is a credit set as a percentage of the fees paid for that product in the preceding 30 days, so the commitment stands on a free account while the compensation for breaching it is worth nothing there.

Sources (2) →

Included per month

Amazon SQS
1,000,000 requests a month free, permanently and across all regions. Beyond that, standard queues are $0.40 per million in us-east-1, falling to $0.30 above 100 billion and $0.24 above 200 billion.
Cloudflare Queues
1,000,000 operations a month on Workers Paid, then $0.40 per million. An operation is each 64 KB written, read or deleted, so a typical message costs three — Cloudflare's own formula is ((messages × 3) − 1,000,000) / 1,000,000 × $0.40. Workers Free allows 10,000 operations a day.
Sources (2) →
  • AWS Price List API — AWSQueueService, us-east-1 ↗

    “"First 1,000,000 Amazon SQS Requests per month are free" [...] "$0.40 per million Amazon SQS standard requests in Tier1 in US East" [...] "$0.30 per million ... Tier2" [...] "$0.24 per million ... Tier3"”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Cloudflare Queues docs ↗

    “1,000,000 operations/month included + $0.40/million operations [...] An operation is counted for each 64 KB of data that is written, read, or deleted. [...] In most cases, it takes 3 operations to deliver a message [...] 10,000 operations/day included”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official docs · Report a correction

Maximum message size

Amazon SQS

256 KB per message. A single request carries 1 to 10 messages up to 1 MiB total, and each 64 KB chunk of payload is billed as one request.

Cloudflare Queues

128 KB per message, with roughly 100 bytes of that taken by internal metadata.

Sources (2) →
  • Amazon SQS Pricing — AWS ↗

    “A single request can have from 1 to 10 messages, up to a maximum total payload of 1 MiB. [...] Each 64 KB chunk of a payload is billed as 1 request (for example, an API action with a 1 MiB payload is billed as 16 requests).”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Queues limits — Cloudflare Docs ↗

    “Feature Limit Queues 10,000 per account Message size 128 KB 1 Message retries 100 Maximum consumer batch size 100 messages [...] Messages can include up to ~100 bytes of internal metadata that counts towards total message limits.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Message retention

Amazon SQS

4 days by default; configurable from 60 seconds up to 14 days per queue.

Cloudflare Queues

4 days by default on Workers Paid, configurable up to 14 days. Workers Free is fixed at 24 hours.

Sources (2) →

Maximum delay

Amazon SQS

15 minutes maximum per-message delay (message timer) or per-queue delay; default is 0 seconds.

Cloudflare Queues

24 hours, set with delaySeconds when sending or retrying.

Sources (2) →

Concurrency

Amazon SQS
Approximately 120,000 in-flight messages per standard queue (received but not yet deleted); API call rate on standard queues is nearly unlimited.
Cloudflare Queues
250 concurrent consumer invocations, push-based only, with per-queue throughput capped at 5,000 messages a second.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

What the free plan includesCloudflare Queues: The first 1,000,000 standard operations a month are not billed; beyond that the rate is $0.40 per million, and each message costs three operations.
Entry paid planAmazon SQS: No paid plan or minimum fee; billed per request after the free 1 million requests a month.
RegionsAmazon SQS: 34 commercial AWS Regions plus 2 AWS GovCloud (US) Regions listed in the SQS service endpoints table.
SOC 2Amazon SQS: Listed as SOC-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
ISO 27001Amazon SQS: Covered under AWS's account-wide ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification — not scoped per-service the way SOC, HIPAA and PCI DSS are on AWS's own site.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
HIPAAAmazon SQS: Listed as a HIPAA-eligible service on AWS's own reference page.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
GDPR / data residencyAmazon SQS: AWS customers can process personal data on all AWS services in compliance with GDPR, and choose the storage type and geographic region for their data.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
PCI DSSAmazon SQS: Listed as PCI DSS-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
Encryption at restAmazon SQS: Server-side encryption of queue contents with SQS-managed keys (SSE-SQS) or AWS KMS keys (SSE-KMS).Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
Customer-managed keysAmazon SQS: Supported via SSE-KMS: queues can use a customer managed KMS key created and policy-controlled in AWS KMS.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
Role-based access controlAmazon SQS: IAM identity-based policies on users, groups and roles plus resource-based queue policies control access to queues and actions.
Private networking / VPCAmazon SQS: Interface VPC endpoints (AWS PrivateLink) let a VPC reach SQS privately, including FIPS endpoints; HTTPS endpoints only.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Should I choose Amazon SQS or Cloudflare Queues?

Pick Amazon SQS if AWS-resident systems that want a queue with a permanent free million requests a month and no capacity to plan — SQS scales without a throughput setting to choose.

Pick Cloudflare Queues if Workers applications that want a queue with no egress or throughput charges and a retention window measured in days rather than hours.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.