Skip to content
inetGeek

Cloudflare Queues vs Azure Queue Storage

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Cloudflare Queues and Azure Queue Storage built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 16 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Cloudflare Queues if…

Workers applications that want a queue with no egress or throughput charges and a retention window measured in days rather than hours.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Azure Queue Storage if…

Azure-resident systems that want a queue billed like storage — operations plus depth, no plan to choose and no capacity to provision.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Cloudflare Queues: Billing is per 64 KB operation rather than per message, so a large payload or a chatty retry loop costs several times what the message count suggests.
  • Azure Queue Storage: Queued messages are billed as stored data, so a backlog costs money by the gigabyte-month, and there is no free allowance at all where SQS gives a million requests a month.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Cloudflare Queues alternatives · Azure Queue Storage alternatives

9 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionCloudflare QueuesAzure Queue Storage
Pricing
Free tier
Yes
No
Kind of free offerFree tierFree credit
What the free plan includesThe first 1,000,000 standard operations a month are not billed; beyond that the rate is $0.40 per million, and each message costs three operations.$200 of Azure credit for 30 days on a new account; no standing Queue Storage allowance is published.
Pricing modelBilled per operation, not per message: one operation per 64 KB written, read or deleted, and a message larger than 64 KB counts as several. Cloudflare states a normal delivery takes three operations — one write, one read, one delete — so a million messages is nearer three million operations. Workers Paid includes 1,000,000 operations a month, then $0.40 per million; the free plan allows 10,000 a day.Per region and per redundancy, metered on operations and on stored data; LRS, ZRS, GRS and GZRS are each priced separately.
Infrastructure
Uptime SLA99.9% monthly uptime, in a dedicated Queues SLA that applies to use of Queues only and names no plan tier, with the same precedence clause as the R2 and Workers SLAs. The remedy is a credit set as a percentage of the fees paid for that product in the preceding 30 days, so the commitment stands on a free account while the compensation for breaching it is worth nothing there.Not published as a web page. Microsoft consolidated its per-service SLAs into one downloadable document covering Azure, Dynamics 365, Office 365 and Intune; the former azure.microsoft.com SLA URLs now redirect to its licensing viewer.
Queues
Included per month1,000,000 operations a month on Workers Paid, then $0.40 per million. An operation is each 64 KB written, read or deleted, so a typical message costs three — Cloudflare's own formula is ((messages × 3) − 1,000,000) / 1,000,000 × $0.40. Workers Free allows 10,000 operations a day.None included. Queue operations are metered from the first one at $0.004 per 10,000 Class 1 operations on LRS in East US.
Maximum message size
128 KB per message, with roughly 100 bytes of that taken by internal metadata.
64 KB per message. A queue may hold millions of messages, bounded only by the storage account's capacity rather than a queue-level ceiling.
Message retention
4 days by default on Workers Paid, configurable up to 14 days. Workers Free is fixed at 24 hours.
7 days by default, set per message with messagettl; since version 2017-07-29 it can be any positive number, or -1 for a message that never expires.
Maximum delay24 hours, set with delaySeconds when sending or retrying.Time-to-live defaults to seven days and can be set to any positive number, or to -1 for a message that never expires — the only queue here with an unbounded option.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Cloudflare Queues
Yes
Azure Queue Storage
No
Sources (2) →

Kind of free offer

Cloudflare Queues
Free tier
Azure Queue Storage
Free credit
Sources (2) →

What the free plan includes

Cloudflare Queues
The first 1,000,000 standard operations a month are not billed; beyond that the rate is $0.40 per million, and each message costs three operations.
Azure Queue Storage
$200 of Azure credit for 30 days on a new account; no standing Queue Storage allowance is published.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Cloudflare Queues
Billed per operation, not per message: one operation per 64 KB written, read or deleted, and a message larger than 64 KB counts as several. Cloudflare states a normal delivery takes three operations — one write, one read, one delete — so a million messages is nearer three million operations. Workers Paid includes 1,000,000 operations a month, then $0.40 per million; the free plan allows 10,000 a day.
Azure Queue Storage
Per region and per redundancy, metered on operations and on stored data; LRS, ZRS, GRS and GZRS are each priced separately.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Cloudflare Queues docs ↗

    “An operation is counted for each 64 KB of data that is written, read, or deleted. [...] Standard operations 10,000 operations/day included 1,000,000 operations/month included + $0.40/million operations [...] In most cases, it takes 3 operations to deliver a message: 1 write, 1 read, and 1 delete.”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Azure Retail Prices API — Queues v2, East US ↗

    “{"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.004,"unitPrice":0.004,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2017-11-01T00:00:00Z","meterId":"994899e2-0f8f-4696-80a6-d9bae770c13b","meterName":"LRS Class 1 Operations"," [...] {"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.045,"unitPrice":0.045,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2017-11-01T00:00:00Z","meterId":"d6b6271c-3113-44a9-9d62-b2da937da902","meterName":"LRS Data Stored"," [...] {"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.0598,"unitPrice":0.0598,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2022-09-01T00:00:00Z","meterId":"2187dabd-0f89-4dae-b031-8ba726c1f598","meterName":"GRS Data Stored","”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

Cloudflare Queues
99.9% monthly uptime, in a dedicated Queues SLA that applies to use of Queues only and names no plan tier, with the same precedence clause as the R2 and Workers SLAs. The remedy is a credit set as a percentage of the fees paid for that product in the preceding 30 days, so the commitment stands on a free account while the compensation for breaching it is worth nothing there.
Azure Queue Storage
Not published as a web page. Microsoft consolidated its per-service SLAs into one downloadable document covering Azure, Dynamics 365, Office 365 and Intune; the former azure.microsoft.com SLA URLs now redirect to its licensing viewer.
Sources (2) →

Included per month

Cloudflare Queues
1,000,000 operations a month on Workers Paid, then $0.40 per million. An operation is each 64 KB written, read or deleted, so a typical message costs three — Cloudflare's own formula is ((messages × 3) − 1,000,000) / 1,000,000 × $0.40. Workers Free allows 10,000 operations a day.
Azure Queue Storage
None included. Queue operations are metered from the first one at $0.004 per 10,000 Class 1 operations on LRS in East US.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Cloudflare Queues docs ↗

    “1,000,000 operations/month included + $0.40/million operations [...] An operation is counted for each 64 KB of data that is written, read, or deleted. [...] In most cases, it takes 3 operations to deliver a message [...] 10,000 operations/day included”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Azure Retail Prices API — Queues v2, East US ↗

    “{"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.004,"unitPrice":0.004,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2017-11-01T00:00:00Z","meterId":"994899e2-0f8f-4696-80a6-d9bae770c13b","meterName":"LRS Class 1 Operations"," [...] {"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.004,"unitPrice":0.004,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2017-11-01T00:00:00Z","meterId":"fcf5a755-9fce-4c78-8931-af0ff4562395","meterName":"Class 2 Operations","”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Maximum message size

Cloudflare Queues

128 KB per message, with roughly 100 bytes of that taken by internal metadata.

Azure Queue Storage

64 KB per message. A queue may hold millions of messages, bounded only by the storage account's capacity rather than a queue-level ceiling.

Sources (2) →

Message retention

Cloudflare Queues

4 days by default on Workers Paid, configurable up to 14 days. Workers Free is fixed at 24 hours.

Azure Queue Storage

7 days by default, set per message with messagettl; since version 2017-07-29 it can be any positive number, or -1 for a message that never expires.

Sources (2) →

Maximum delay

Cloudflare Queues
24 hours, set with delaySeconds when sending or retrying.
Azure Queue Storage
Time-to-live defaults to seven days and can be set to any positive number, or to -1 for a message that never expires — the only queue here with an unbounded option.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

When the free offer endsAzure Queue Storage: 30 days.
ConcurrencyCloudflare Queues: 250 concurrent consumer invocations, push-based only, with per-queue throughput capped at 5,000 messages a second.
Dead letter queueCloudflare Queues: Supported
SOC 2Azure Queue Storage: Listed among Azure's compliance offerings (SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3) on Microsoft's own compliance documentation — a platform-wide list, not scoped to this specific service.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
ISO 27001Azure Queue Storage: Listed among Azure's compliance offerings (ISO 27001) on Microsoft's own compliance documentation — a platform-wide list, not scoped to this specific service.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
HIPAAAzure Queue Storage: Listed among Azure's compliance offerings (HIPAA) on Microsoft's own compliance documentation — a platform-wide list, not scoped to this specific service.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
PCI DSSAzure Queue Storage: Listed among Azure's compliance offerings (PCI DSS) on Microsoft's own compliance documentation — a platform-wide list, not scoped to this specific service.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Free tier: Cloudflare Queues or Azure Queue Storage?

Cloudflare Queues: Yes

Azure Queue Storage: No

Should I choose Cloudflare Queues or Azure Queue Storage?

Pick Cloudflare Queues if Workers applications that want a queue with no egress or throughput charges and a retention window measured in days rather than hours.

Pick Azure Queue Storage if Azure-resident systems that want a queue billed like storage — operations plus depth, no plan to choose and no capacity to provision.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.