Skip to content
inetGeek

Google Cloud Run vs Render

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Google Cloud Run and Render built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 41 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Google Cloud Run if…

A container you already build, that should cost nothing when nobody is using it. Scales to zero by default and back up on request volume, with a 60-minute ceiling per request that most request-driven platforms do not offer.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Render if…

Workloads that need real background workers and persistent processes alongside web services, deployed from a repository or a Dockerfile. Managed Postgres and static sites run on the same platform.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Google Cloud Run: You need a process that stays running between requests, or a disk that survives a deploy.
  • Render: Free web services spin down after 15 minutes without traffic, which makes the free tier unsuitable for anything that must answer immediately.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Google Cloud Run alternatives · Render alternatives

8 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionGoogle Cloud RunRender
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
What the free plan includesPer month, for services on the default request-based billing, in us-central1: 180,000 vCPU-seconds, 360,000 GiB-seconds of memory and 2 million requests. Instance-based billing, jobs and worker pools each publish a different allowance on the same page.Free instances of web services, Render Postgres and Key Value, plus static sites at no charge. Free instances carry documented limitations.
Pricing modelMetered by resource, billed in 100 ms increments, with no monthly minimum. Two billing settings change what is counted: request-based charges CPU only while a request is being processed, instance-based charges for the whole instance lifecycle. Prices vary by region — the location list is split into Tier 1 and Tier 2 pricing — and the free tier is applied as a spending-based discount at Tier 1 rates.The Hobby plan does not have a monthly fee, so you only pay for usage.
Deployment
Git deploymentSupportedSupported
Docker deploymentSupportedSupported
ContainersSupportedSupported
Infrastructure
Persistent processes
Limited — instance-based billing keeps CPU allocated
Supported
Edge network
Limited — deploy per region, add a load balancer
Supported
Scales to zeroSupportedSupported
Autoscaling
Supported
Limited — Requires a Pro workspace plan or higher; scales on CPU or memory utilisation targets.
Regions43 regions, counted from Cloud Run's own locations list — Google publishes the list rather than a total. 20 are Tier 1 and 23 Tier 2, so the region chosen changes the bill as well as the latency.Oregon, USA; Ohio, USA; Virginia, USA; Frankfurt, Germany; Singapore
Uptime SLA99.95% for a non-GPU service and for GPU services with zonal redundancy; 99.5% for GPU services without it. Published as an SLO, outside Mexico and Stockholm.Enterprise only, and custom-priced. Hobby, Professional and Organization publish no uptime SLA, and no percentage is given for the Enterprise one.
Compliance
HIPAACloud Run is listed as a Covered Product under Google Cloud's HIPAA Business Associate Agreement.Meet SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001, and GDPR requirements without overhead.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Google Cloud Run
Per month, for services on the default request-based billing, in us-central1: 180,000 vCPU-seconds, 360,000 GiB-seconds of memory and 2 million requests. Instance-based billing, jobs and worker pools each publish a different allowance on the same page.
Render
Free instances of web services, Render Postgres and Key Value, plus static sites at no charge. Free instances carry documented limitations.
Sources (2) →
  • Cloud Run pricing | Google Cloud ↗

    “Services (Requests-based billing) Services with request-based billing during billed instance time Free tier (based on us-central1 active pricing): CPU - First 180,000 vCPU-seconds free per month RAM - First 360,000 GiB-seconds free per month Requests - 2 million requests free per month”

    Read 2026-09-16 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Free Instances — Render Docs ↗

    “You can deploy certain Render service types free of charge: Web services (web apps in Node.js, Python, Rails, etc.) Render Postgres databases Render Key Value instances [...] You can also deploy static sites on Render for free.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Pricing model

Google Cloud Run
Metered by resource, billed in 100 ms increments, with no monthly minimum. Two billing settings change what is counted: request-based charges CPU only while a request is being processed, instance-based charges for the whole instance lifecycle. Prices vary by region — the location list is split into Tier 1 and Tier 2 pricing — and the free tier is applied as a spending-based discount at Tier 1 rates.
Render
The Hobby plan does not have a monthly fee, so you only pay for usage.
Sources (2) →
  • Cloud Run pricing — Google Cloud ↗

    “Cloud Run charges you only for the resources you use, rounded up to the nearest 100 millisecond. Your total Cloud Run bill will be the sum of the resource usage in the pricing table after the free tier is applied. [...] Cloud Run pricing depends on the selected region. Pricing for Cloud Run services also depends on the billing configuration. [...] The free tier is applied as a spending based discount using Tier 1 pricing.”

    Read 2026-09-09 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Platform Features by Plan – Render Docs ↗

    “The Hobby plan does not have a monthly fee, so you only pay for usage.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Persistent processes

Google Cloud Run
Limited — instance-based billing keeps CPU allocated
Render
Supported
Sources (2) →

Edge network

Google Cloud Run
Limited — deploy per region, add a load balancer
Render
Supported
Sources (2) →

Autoscaling

Google Cloud Run
Supported
Render
Limited — Requires a Pro workspace plan or higher; scales on CPU or memory utilisation targets.
Sources (2) →

Regions

Google Cloud Run
43 regions, counted from Cloud Run's own locations list — Google publishes the list rather than a total. 20 are Tier 1 and 23 Tier 2, so the region chosen changes the bill as well as the latency.
Render
Oregon, USA; Ohio, USA; Virginia, USA; Frankfurt, Germany; Singapore
Sources (2) →
  • Cloud Run locations ↗

    “Each Cloud Run resource resides in a region. [...] Customer data associated with the Cloud Run resource is stored in the selected region. [...] Subject to Tier 1 pricing [...] Subject to Tier 2 pricing”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Regions — Render Docs ↗

    “You can deploy Render services to any of the following regions to minimize latency for your users: Oregon, USA Ohio, USA Virginia, USA Frankfurt, Germany Singapore”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

Google Cloud Run
99.95% for a non-GPU service and for GPU services with zonal redundancy; 99.5% for GPU services without it. Published as an SLO, outside Mexico and Stockholm.
Render
Enterprise only, and custom-priced. Hobby, Professional and Organization publish no uptime SLA, and no percentage is given for the Enterprise one.
Sources (2) →
  • Cloud Run Service Level Agreement ↗

    “Cloud regions (excluding Mexico and Stockholm) Covered Service Monthly Uptime Percentage Cloud Run Service (non-GPU) 99.95% Cloud Run Service GPU (zonal redundancy) 99.95% Cloud Run Service GPU (no zonal redundancy) 99.5%”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

  • Render Pricing ↗

    “for teams that need dedicated support and uptime SLAs. Custom pricing”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

HIPAA

Google Cloud Run
Cloud Run is listed as a Covered Product under Google Cloud's HIPAA Business Associate Agreement.
Render
Meet SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001, and GDPR requirements without overhead.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Credit card to startRender: No — Free services run without one until the workspace's included bandwidth or pipeline minutes run out.
When the free offer endsRender: Free Postgres databases expire 30 days after creation, with a 14-day grace period to upgrade to a paid plan.
Entry paid planGoogle Cloud Run: No plan fee and no minimum commitment. Cloud Run bills per vCPU-second, GiB-second and request once the monthly free allowance is used, so there is no entry price to compare, only a rate card. Recorded without a magnitude for that reason.
Egress over allowanceGoogle Cloud Run: 1 GiB of data transfer within North America free per month, after which Google Cloud networking rates apply. Transfer into a VPC network is billed at Virtual Private Cloud rates instead.
When you exceed a capRender: Pipeline minutes: overage is auto-purchased, but with no payment method or once the monthly spend limit is reached Render stops running pipeline tasks, builds included.
Storage (entry plan)Render: No persistent disk is included on any instance type, including the entry `0.5c-512mb` plan; services run on an ephemeral filesystem unless a persistent disk is attached separately
Memory (entry plan)Render: 512 MB RAM (with 0.5 CPU) on the 0.5c-512mb instance type, the cheapest paid web service compute plan.
Sites or apps includedRender: 25 total services on the Hobby workspace plan (Render's entry workspace tier, compute billed separately); also limited to a single team member
Monthly visits capRender: No request-count cap is published; traffic is capped by outbound bandwidth, 5 GB/month included on Hobby and 25 GB on Pro.
Included bandwidthRender: Hobby: 5 GB; Pro: 25 GB; Scale: 1 TB; Enterprise: Custom
Build allowanceRender: 500 build-pipeline minutes a month on Hobby, 1,000 on Pro, 5,000 on Scale. Minutes, not builds.
Concurrent buildsRender: One active build per service, platform-wide on all plans; a new build cancels the in-progress one for that service
Max request durationGoogle Cloud Run: 5 minutes by default, extendable to 60 minutes per request.
Managed connection poolingRender: Supported
Scheduled jobsRender: Supported
Persistent storageRender: Supported
Managed databasesRender: Supported
Audit logsRender: Built-in audit logging and monitoring for platform events.Google Cloud Run: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Google Cloud Run.
CPU, per vCPU-secondGoogle Cloud Run: $0.000024 per vCPU-second of ACTIVE time under request-based billing, in the us-central1 pricing tier. Idle time on a warm minimum instance is $0.0000025. Instance-based billing is a separate table on the same page at $0.000018, and committed-use discounts take the active rate to $0.00001992.
Memory, per GiB-secondGoogle Cloud Run: $0.0000025 per GiB-second of active time under request-based billing, in the us-central1 pricing tier — the same rate Cloud Run charges for idle time on a warm instance. Committed-use discounts take it to $0.000002075.
Requests, per millionGoogle Cloud Run: $0.40 per million requests under request-based billing. Committed-use discounts take it to $0.332. Instance-based billing does not meter requests at all, which is the trade for paying by the instance-second instead.
Support on entry paid planRender: Chat support, from the free Hobby plan upward. Professional ($25/month plus compute) adds seats, bandwidth and features but no separate support tier.
SOC 2Google Cloud Run: Covered under Google Cloud's core SOC 2 Type II reports, issued quarterly for Google Cloud and Google Workspace products generally.Render: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Render.
ISO 27001Google Cloud Run: The Google Cloud Services ISMS holds an accredited ISO/IEC 27001 certification, audited by an independent third party.Render: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Render.
GDPR / data residencyRender: Meet SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001, and GDPR requirements without overhead.Google Cloud Run: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Google Cloud Run.
PCI DSSGoogle Cloud Run: Cloud Run is listed among the individual Google Cloud products certified against PCI DSS via annual third-party audit.
Private networking / VPCRender: Intuitive hosting and private networking for web services , Postgres databases , cron jobs , workflows , static sites , background jobs , key value stores , private services , WebSockets , edge caches , isolated environments ,Google Cloud Run: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Google Cloud Run.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Should I choose Google Cloud Run or Render?

Pick Google Cloud Run if A container you already build, that should cost nothing when nobody is using it. Scales to zero by default and back up on request volume, with a 60-minute ceiling per request that most request-driven platforms do not offer.

Pick Render if Workloads that need real background workers and persistent processes alongside web services, deployed from a repository or a Dockerfile. Managed Postgres and static sites run on the same platform.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.