Skip to content
inetGeek

DigitalOcean App Platform vs Render

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of DigitalOcean App Platform and Render built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 35 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose DigitalOcean App Platform if…

Apps deployed from a Git repository or a container image where a flat per-container price is easier to reason about than usage metering — $5 a month buys 1 shared vCPU, 512 MiB and 50 GiB of bandwidth.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Render if…

Workloads that need real background workers and persistent processes alongside web services, deployed from a repository or a Dockerfile. Managed Postgres and static sites run on the same platform.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • DigitalOcean App Platform: The free tier covers static sites only, three apps with no running service, and autoscaling is listed only against the dedicated container sizes — a small service scales by hand or not at all.
  • Render: Free web services spin down after 15 minutes without traffic, which makes the free tier unsuitable for anything that must answer immediately.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: DigitalOcean App Platform alternatives · Render alternatives

7 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionDigitalOcean App PlatformRender
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
What the free plan includesUp to three apps that use only static site components. Anything with a running service falls outside the free tier.Free instances of web services, Render Postgres and Key Value, plus static sites at no charge. Free instances carry documented limitations.
Limits
Memory (entry plan)
512 MiB on the $5.00 container, the cheapest paid size; 1 GiB from $10.00.
512 MB RAM (with 0.5 CPU) on the 0.5c-512mb instance type, the cheapest paid web service compute plan.
Included bandwidth
50 GiB a month on the $5.00 container, rising with size to 900 GiB on the largest dedicated one.
Hobby: 5 GB; Pro: 25 GB; Scale: 1 TB; Enterprise: Custom
Infrastructure
AutoscalingLimitedLimited — Requires a Pro workspace plan or higher; scales on CPU or memory utilisation targets.
RegionsThirteen regions: NYC, AMS, SFO, SGP, LON, FRA, TOR, BLR, SYD, ATL, RIC, MKC and MEM. The availability table marks dynamic and static-site components separately, but those marks are images, so which app type is offered where is not readable as text.Oregon, USA; Ohio, USA; Virginia, USA; Frankfurt, Germany; Singapore
Uptime SLA99.95% monthly uptime, promised separately for each App Platform App Component Instance rather than for the account. Below it, service credits run 10%, 30% and upward as the month gets worse.Enterprise only, and custom-priced. Hobby, Professional and Organization publish no uptime SLA, and no percentage is given for the Enterprise one.
Support
Support on entry paid planThe DigitalOcean account-level support plans, not an App Platform product: free ticket-based support 24/7 for everyone, then Developer $24/month, Standard $99/month with live chat, Premium $999/month with a dedicated Slack channel.Chat support, from the free Hobby plan upward. Professional ($25/month plus compute) adds seats, bandwidth and features but no separate support tier.
Compliance
GDPR / data residencyDigitalOcean is GDPR compliant and we show it through our actions.Meet SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001, and GDPR requirements without overhead.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

DigitalOcean App Platform
Up to three apps that use only static site components. Anything with a running service falls outside the free tier.
Render
Free instances of web services, Render Postgres and Key Value, plus static sites at no charge. Free instances carry documented limitations.
Sources (2) →

Memory (entry plan)

DigitalOcean App Platform

512 MiB on the $5.00 container, the cheapest paid size; 1 GiB from $10.00.

Render

512 MB RAM (with 0.5 CPU) on the 0.5c-512mb instance type, the cheapest paid web service compute plan.

Sources (2) →

Included bandwidth

DigitalOcean App Platform

50 GiB a month on the $5.00 container, rising with size to 900 GiB on the largest dedicated one.

Render

Hobby: 5 GB; Pro: 25 GB; Scale: 1 TB; Enterprise: Custom

Sources (2) →

Regions

DigitalOcean App Platform
Thirteen regions: NYC, AMS, SFO, SGP, LON, FRA, TOR, BLR, SYD, ATL, RIC, MKC and MEM. The availability table marks dynamic and static-site components separately, but those marks are images, so which app type is offered where is not readable as text.
Render
Oregon, USA; Ohio, USA; Virginia, USA; Frankfurt, Germany; Singapore
Sources (2) →

Uptime SLA

DigitalOcean App Platform
99.95% monthly uptime, promised separately for each App Platform App Component Instance rather than for the account. Below it, service credits run 10%, 30% and upward as the month gets worse.
Render
Enterprise only, and custom-priced. Hobby, Professional and Organization publish no uptime SLA, and no percentage is given for the Enterprise one.
Sources (2) →
  • App Platform SLA — DigitalOcean ↗

    “applies separately to each App Platform App Component Instance associated with your Account (each an "App Platform ACI"). [...] DigitalOcean will use commercially reasonable efforts to provide a Monthly Uptime Percentage of 99.95% for each App Platform ACI.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

  • Render Pricing ↗

    “for teams that need dedicated support and uptime SLAs. Custom pricing”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

Support on entry paid plan

DigitalOcean App Platform
The DigitalOcean account-level support plans, not an App Platform product: free ticket-based support 24/7 for everyone, then Developer $24/month, Standard $99/month with live chat, Premium $999/month with a dedicated Slack channel.
Render
Chat support, from the free Hobby plan upward. Professional ($25/month plus compute) adds seats, bandwidth and features but no separate support tier.
Sources (2) →
  • Support Plans — DigitalOcean Documentation ↗

    “DigitalOcean provides free ticket-based support to all customers, accessible 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We also offer paid support plans with quicker response times, live chat, access to Solution Architects, and more. [...] Support Plan Starter Developer Standard Premium Price Free $24.00 per month $99.00 per month $999.00 per month”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Render Pricing ↗

    “firewall & DDoS mitigation database PITR Chat support All Hobby features, plus: unlimited seats & services 25 GB bandwidth included”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

GDPR / data residency

DigitalOcean App Platform
DigitalOcean is GDPR compliant and we show it through our actions.
Render
Meet SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001, and GDPR requirements without overhead.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Kind of free offerRender: Free tier
Credit card to startRender: No — Free services run without one until the workspace's included bandwidth or pipeline minutes run out.
When the free offer endsRender: Free Postgres databases expire 30 days after creation, with a 14-day grace period to upgrade to a paid plan.
Entry paid planDigitalOcean App Platform: $5.00 per month for the smallest container: 1 shared vCPU, 512 MiB of RAM and 50 GiB of bandwidth.
Pricing modelRender: The Hobby plan does not have a monthly fee, so you only pay for usage.
When you exceed a capRender: Pipeline minutes: overage is auto-purchased, but with no payment method or once the monthly spend limit is reached Render stops running pipeline tasks, builds included.
Storage (entry plan)Render: No persistent disk is included on any instance type, including the entry `0.5c-512mb` plan; services run on an ephemeral filesystem unless a persistent disk is attached separately
Sites or apps includedRender: 25 total services on the Hobby workspace plan (Render's entry workspace tier, compute billed separately); also limited to a single team member
Monthly visits capRender: No request-count cap is published; traffic is capped by outbound bandwidth, 5 GB/month included on Hobby and 25 GB on Pro.
Build allowanceRender: 500 build-pipeline minutes a month on Hobby, 1,000 on Pro, 5,000 on Scale. Minutes, not builds.
Concurrent buildsRender: One active build per service, platform-wide on all plans; a new build cancels the in-progress one for that service
Managed connection poolingRender: Supported
Git deploymentRender: Supported
Docker deploymentRender: Supported
ContainersRender: Supported
Scheduled jobsRender: Supported
Persistent processesRender: Supported
Persistent storageRender: Supported
Managed databasesRender: Supported
Edge networkRender: Supported
Scales to zeroRender: Supported
Audit logsRender: Built-in audit logging and monitoring for platform events.DigitalOcean App Platform: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about DigitalOcean App Platform.
Response time commitmentDigitalOcean App Platform: Under 8 hours on Developer ($24/month), the cheapest paid support plan; under 24 hours free, under 2 hours on Standard, under 30 minutes on Premium. Account-level and not severity-based.
SOC 2DigitalOcean App Platform: DigitalOcean is AICPA SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 Type II certified.Render: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Render.
HIPAARender: Meet SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001, and GDPR requirements without overhead.DigitalOcean App Platform: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about DigitalOcean App Platform.
Private networking / VPCRender: Intuitive hosting and private networking for web services , Postgres databases , cron jobs , workflows , static sites , background jobs , key value stores , private services , WebSockets , edge caches , isolated environments ,DigitalOcean App Platform: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about DigitalOcean App Platform.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Included bandwidth: DigitalOcean App Platform or Render?

DigitalOcean App Platform: 50 GiB a month on the $5.00 container, rising with size to 900 GiB on the largest dedicated one.

Render: Hobby: 5 GB; Pro: 25 GB; Scale: 1 TB; Enterprise: Custom

Should I choose DigitalOcean App Platform or Render?

Pick DigitalOcean App Platform if Apps deployed from a Git repository or a container image where a flat per-container price is easier to reason about than usage metering — $5 a month buys 1 shared vCPU, 512 MiB and 50 GiB of bandwidth.

Pick Render if Workloads that need real background workers and persistent processes alongside web services, deployed from a repository or a Dockerfile. Managed Postgres and static sites run on the same platform.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.