Grafana Cloud vs OpenObserve
SEPT 2026 auditA comparison of Grafana Cloud and OpenObserve built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.
The short answer
Choose Grafana Cloud if…
Metrics-heavy monitoring where 13 months of retention matters — that window is an order of magnitude beyond what the error trackers and most telemetry platforms keep.
Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved
Choose OpenObserve if…
Teams that want one bill they can predict — ingest, query, and retention included — with session replay and RUM in the same product rather than as separate purchases.
Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved
Consider something else if…
- Grafana Cloud: Logs and traces get 30 days rather than 13 months, so the headline retention figure does not describe most of what you send it.
- OpenObserve: Ingest is $0.50 per GB against Grafana Cloud's $0.050, so the simplicity costs an order of magnitude at volume.
Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Grafana Cloud alternatives · OpenObserve alternatives
18 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.
Pick the criteria you care about. The chart counts how many of them lean toward each provider — the same read as scanning the bars below, just totalled for the ones you chose.
Grafana Cloud 0
OpenObserve 0
At a glance.
| Criterion | Grafana Cloud | OpenObserve |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | ||
| Free tier | Yes | No — Cloud offers a 14-day trial only; the self-hosted Enterprise build is free up to 50 GB/day |
| Kind of free offer | Free tier | Free trial |
| Credit card to start | No | No |
| Entry paid plan | $19/month platform fee for Pro, which includes 10,000 active series before usage billing starts. | No minimum: Cloud Professional is pay-as-you-go from $0.50 per GB ingested plus $0.01 per GB queried, billed monthly with no upfront commitment. |
| Pricing model | A $19 platform fee plus metered usage, with volume discounts applied automatically rather than negotiated. The enterprise tier starts at a $25,000 annual spend commitment. | Two meters and nothing else: $0.50 per GB ingested and $0.01 per GB queried, with retention included rather than sold as a tier. OpenObserve frames it as no hidden tiers and no surprise bills. |
| Infrastructure | ||
| Regions | 28 region/provider combinations across AWS, GCP and Azure, from US East and EU Germany to UK, India, Singapore, Japan, Brazil and Australia; a stack cannot change region after creation. | Four OpenObserve Cloud regions: US West 2 (California, Azure), US East 2 (Ohio, AWS), EU Central 1 (Frankfurt, AWS) and Asia Pacific South 1 (Mumbai, AWS). |
| Observability | ||
| Retention window | 13 months for metrics and 30 days for logs, traces, profiles and k6 tests on Pro. The free tier is 14 days for everything. | Included rather than priced: 15 months for metrics and 30 days for logs, traces, RUM and everything else, at no extra cost on pay-as-you-go. |
| Session replay | Limited — Public preview add-on to Frontend Observability, disabled by default and enabled per stack on request. | Supported |
| Self-hostable | Supported | Supported |
| Ingest price per GB | From $0.050 per GB processed, falling to $0.046 above 10,000 GB and $0.044 above 25,000 with automatic volume discounts. | $0.50 per GB ingested, quoted with a 30% annual-commitment discount already applied. |
| Support | ||
| Support on entry paid plan | Community support on Free; 8x5 email support on Pro, from $19/month plus usage. Enterprise starts at $25,000/year. | Premium support is listed among the enterprise features. The pay-as-you-go cloud plan's support level is not stated; the page directs anyone wanting enterprise support to sales. |
| Compliance | ||
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 report listed in the Grafana Labs Trust Center, available on request. | SOC 2 Type II certified; the report is requested through security@openobserve.ai or the trust portal. |
| ISO 27001 | ISO/IEC 27001 certificate and Statement of Applicability listed in the Trust Center. | ISO 27001 certification announced November 2025, with the certificate held in the trust portal; the security page itself makes no ISO representation. |
| GDPR / data residency | GDPR, EU-US DPF and UK/Swiss extensions listed in the Trust Center with a DPA; residency comes from choosing one of the published regions at stack creation. | Customer selects the storage region and OpenObserve does not relocate stored data without instruction; a DPA covering EU and UK GDPR is published. |
| PCI DSS | PCI DSS v4.0.1 listed among Trust Center compliance documents. | Enterprise-tier Cipher Keys are documented as giving encryption and compliance support for PCI. A feature-level statement in the Enterprise Features docs, not a PCI DSS attestation or AOC. |
| Encryption at rest | AES-256 for storage and HTTPS/TLS in transit; Grafana Cloud manages the keys with industry-standard key management systems. | Not guaranteed by OpenObserve: storage-layer encryption and key management depend on the hosting provider and deployment architecture. |
| Customer-managed keys | Keys are managed by Grafana Cloud with industry-standard key management systems. — Read from the Grafana Assistant security page, which describes how Grafana Cloud stores customer data. | Cipher Keys (Enterprise Edition and Cloud): you supply the key and may hold it in your own Akeyless external key management system. Keys decrypt encrypted log fields at query time; not storage-layer key management. |
| Role-based access control | Grafana Cloud administrative controls and role-based access control (RBAC). | Yes on Cloud (preconfigured) and Enterprise (via OpenFGA); not available in the open-source edition, where all users have unrestricted access. |
| Private networking / VPC | AWS PrivateLink, Azure Private Link and GCP Private Service Connect are documented connectivity options for Grafana Cloud. | Named for BYOC, where the customer manages VPC peering, Transit Gateway or PrivateLink; for Cloud the SLA names only the customer's own internet egress. Read from the shared-responsibility tables: Cloud in section 4.2, BYOC in 4.3. |
| Dedicated infrastructure | Bring Your Own Cloud deploys the managed stack into a dedicated cloud account in your AWS or GCP (Azure case-by-case) rather than a Grafana Labs-owned account. | Single-Tenant Hosted and OpenObserve-managed BYOC deployments are offered alongside multi-tenant Cloud, all under the 99.8% SLA. |
Where they differ.
Free tier
- Grafana Cloud
- Yes
- OpenObserve
- No — Cloud offers a 14-day trial only; the self-hosted Enterprise build is free up to 50 GB/day
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Pricing — Grafana Cloud ↗
“Limited to 50 GB ingested per month 14 day retention Community support”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
- OpenObserve Pricing | Pay per GB, No Per-Host or Seat Fees ↗
“OpenObserve Cloud offers a 14-day free trial on the Pay As You Go plan - no credit card required to start.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction
Kind of free offer
- Grafana Cloud
- Free tier
- OpenObserve
- Free trial
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Pricing — Grafana Cloud ↗
“Limited to 50 GB ingested per month 14 day retention Community support”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
- OpenObserve Pricing | Pay per GB, No Per-Host or Seat Fees ↗
“OpenObserve Cloud offers a 14-day free trial on the Pay As You Go plan - no credit card required to start.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction
Entry paid plan
- Grafana Cloud
- $19/month platform fee for Pro, which includes 10,000 active series before usage billing starts.
- OpenObserve
- No minimum: Cloud Professional is pay-as-you-go from $0.50 per GB ingested plus $0.01 per GB queried, billed monthly with no upfront commitment.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Pricing — Grafana Cloud ↗
“Pro Self-serve From $19 / month + usage with volume discounts [...] Platform fee of $19 per month includes: 10k active series per month then pay as you go 13 months retention”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
- OpenObserve Pricing | Pay per GB, No Per-Host or Seat Fees ↗
“OpenObserve Cloud starts at $0.50/GB ingested with a 14-day free trial and no upfront commitment.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction
Pricing model
- Grafana Cloud
- A $19 platform fee plus metered usage, with volume discounts applied automatically rather than negotiated. The enterprise tier starts at a $25,000 annual spend commitment.
- OpenObserve
- Two meters and nothing else: $0.50 per GB ingested and $0.01 per GB queried, with retention included rather than sold as a tier. OpenObserve frames it as no hidden tiers and no surprise bills.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Pricing — Grafana Cloud ↗
“From $19 / month + usage with volume discounts [...] Automatic volume discounts [...] Enterprise Full service Starts at $25,000 / year spend commit”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
- Pricing — OpenObserve ↗
“Pay-as-you-go from $0.50/GB ingested and $0.01/GB queried, with retention included. No hidden tiers, no surprise bills”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
Regions
28 region/provider combinations across AWS, GCP and Azure, from US East and EU Germany to UK, India, Singapore, Japan, Brazil and Australia; a stack cannot change region after creation.
Four OpenObserve Cloud regions: US West 2 (California, Azure), US East 2 (Ohio, AWS), EU Central 1 (Frankfurt, AWS) and Asia Pacific South 1 (Mumbai, AWS).
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Grafana Cloud availability by region | Grafana Cloud documentation ↗
“The availability of Grafana Cloud services varies depending on your geographical location. [...] Grafana does not support changing the Grafana Cloud region of an existing stack.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction
- OpenObserve Pricing (machine-readable) ↗
“US West 2 (California, USA, Azure), US East 2 (Ohio, USA, AWS), EU Central 1 (Frankfurt, Germany, AWS), Asia Pacific South 1 (Mumbai, India, AWS).”
Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction
Retention window
13 months for metrics and 30 days for logs, traces, profiles and k6 tests on Pro. The free tier is 14 days for everything.
Included rather than priced: 15 months for metrics and 30 days for logs, traces, RUM and everything else, at no extra cost on pay-as-you-go.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Pricing — Grafana Cloud ↗
“13 months retention for metrics; 30 days retention for logs, traces, profiles, & k6 performance tests [...] Limited to 50 GB ingested per month 14 day retention”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
- Pricing — OpenObserve ↗
“Included Retention Metrics 15 Months Non metrics (Logs, Traces and etc.) 30-Days [...] The Pay-as-you-Go plan includes the following default retention at no extra cost”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
Session replay
- Grafana Cloud
- Limited — Public preview add-on to Frontend Observability, disabled by default and enabled per stack on request.
- OpenObserve
- Supported
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Session Replay | Grafana Cloud documentation ↗
“Grafana Labs offers limited support, and breaking changes might occur prior to the feature being made generally available. [...] Session Replay is disabled by default and must be enabled per Grafana Cloud stack. [...] Session Replay is an add-on feature for Grafana Cloud Frontend Observability”
Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction
- Pricing — OpenObserve ↗
“Start 14-Day Free Trial Logs, Metrics, Traces, RUM, Session Replay”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
Ingest price per GB
- Grafana Cloud
- From $0.050 per GB processed, falling to $0.046 above 10,000 GB and $0.044 above 25,000 with automatic volume discounts.
- OpenObserve
- $0.50 per GB ingested, quoted with a 30% annual-commitment discount already applied.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Pricing — Grafana Cloud ↗
“Pro Self-serve Starts at $0.050/GB Process Rate / GB GB $0.050 1 - 10,000 $0.046 10,001 - 25,000 $0.044 25,001+ Automatic volume discounts”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
- Pricing — OpenObserve ↗
“Ingestion $0.50 per GB* Query $0.01 per GB [...] *Includes 30% discount for annual commitment”
Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction
Support on entry paid plan
- Grafana Cloud
- Community support on Free; 8x5 email support on Pro, from $19/month plus usage. Enterprise starts at $25,000/year.
- OpenObserve
- Premium support is listed among the enterprise features. The pay-as-you-go cloud plan's support level is not stated; the page directs anyone wanting enterprise support to sales.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Grafana Cloud Pricing ↗
“benefits: all Grafana Cloud services, with limited usage community support 14 days retention for metrics, logs, traces, profiles, & k6 performance tests [...] everything in free plus: pay as you go above the free tier 8x5 email support 13 months retention for metrics”
Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction
- OpenObserve Pricing ↗
“role-based access control (rbac) premium support deployment flexibility (public cloud, or bring your own cloud) architecture reviews volume discounts slas [...] for ingestion volumes above 50 gb per day or additional enterprise support, contact the openobserve sales team.”
Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction
SOC 2
- Grafana Cloud
- SOC 2 report listed in the Grafana Labs Trust Center, available on request.
- OpenObserve
- SOC 2 Type II certified; the report is requested through security@openobserve.ai or the trust portal.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Trust Center ↗
“Compliance SOC 2 ISO/IEC 27001 ISO/IEC 27001 SoA ISO 22301 PCI DSS v4.0.1 GDPR”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
- OpenObserve Pricing | Pay per GB, No Per-Host or Seat Fees ↗
“SOC2 Type II Certified”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
ISO 27001
- Grafana Cloud
- ISO/IEC 27001 certificate and Statement of Applicability listed in the Trust Center.
- OpenObserve
- ISO 27001 certification announced November 2025, with the certificate held in the trust portal; the security page itself makes no ISO representation.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Trust Center ↗
“Compliance SOC 2 ISO/IEC 27001 ISO/IEC 27001 SoA ISO 22301 PCI DSS v4.0.1 GDPR”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
- OpenObserve Trust Center ↗
“OpenObserve has Attained ISO 27001 Compliance”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
GDPR / data residency
- Grafana Cloud
- GDPR, EU-US DPF and UK/Swiss extensions listed in the Trust Center with a DPA; residency comes from choosing one of the published regions at stack creation.
- OpenObserve
- Customer selects the storage region and OpenObserve does not relocate stored data without instruction; a DPA covering EU and UK GDPR is published.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Trust Center ↗
“GDPR Microsoft SSPA EU-US DPF UK Extension to EU-US DPF Swiss-US DPF”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
- Security & Compliance | OpenObserve ↗
“Customers select among the storage regions available for their service, as reflected in their order or deployment configuration. OpenObserve does not relocate stored Customer Data to another region without customer instructions or agreement.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
PCI DSS
- Grafana Cloud
- PCI DSS v4.0.1 listed among Trust Center compliance documents.
- OpenObserve
- Enterprise-tier Cipher Keys are documented as giving encryption and compliance support for PCI. A feature-level statement in the Enterprise Features docs, not a PCI DSS attestation or AOC.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Trust Center ↗
“Compliance SOC 2 ISO/IEC 27001 ISO/IEC 27001 SoA ISO 22301 PCI DSS v4.0.1 GDPR”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
- Enterprise Features | OpenObserve Docs ↗
“Enterprise tier includes all standard features plus the following enterprise-specific capabilities. [...] encryption and compliance support for HIPAA and PCI.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction
Encryption at rest
- Grafana Cloud
- AES-256 for storage and HTTPS/TLS in transit; Grafana Cloud manages the keys with industry-standard key management systems.
- OpenObserve
- Not guaranteed by OpenObserve: storage-layer encryption and key management depend on the hosting provider and deployment architecture.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Your data and security | Grafana Cloud documentation ↗
“Grafana Cloud encrypts your data at rest and in transit. It uses strong encryption standards (AES-256 for storage, HTTPS/TLS for network traffic) and manages keys with industry-standard key management systems.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction
- Security & Compliance | OpenObserve ↗
“Storage-layer encryption, key management, network controls, backup options, and infrastructure isolation depend on the hosting provider and deployment architecture.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
Customer-managed keys
- Grafana Cloud
- Keys are managed by Grafana Cloud with industry-standard key management systems. — Read from the Grafana Assistant security page, which describes how Grafana Cloud stores customer data.
- OpenObserve
- Cipher Keys (Enterprise Edition and Cloud): you supply the key and may hold it in your own Akeyless external key management system. Keys decrypt encrypted log fields at query time; not storage-layer key management.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Your data and security | Grafana Cloud documentation ↗
“It uses strong encryption standards (AES-256 for storage, HTTPS/TLS for network traffic) and manages keys with industry-standard key management systems.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction
- Cipher Keys | OpenObserve Docs ↗
“This feature is available in Enterprise Edition and Cloud. Not available in Open Source. [...] Allow using Akeyless as an external key management system to store keys.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction
Role-based access control
- Grafana Cloud
- Grafana Cloud administrative controls and role-based access control (RBAC).
- OpenObserve
- Yes on Cloud (preconfigured) and Enterprise (via OpenFGA); not available in the open-source edition, where all users have unrestricted access.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Trust Center ↗
“Customers can manage access using Grafana Cloud administrative controls and role-based access control (RBAC).”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
- Role-Based Access Control (RBAC) | OpenObserve ↗
“This feature is available in Enterprise Edition and Cloud. Not available in Open Source.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction
Private networking / VPC
- Grafana Cloud
- AWS PrivateLink, Azure Private Link and GCP Private Service Connect are documented connectivity options for Grafana Cloud.
- OpenObserve
- Named for BYOC, where the customer manages VPC peering, Transit Gateway or PrivateLink; for Cloud the SLA names only the customer's own internet egress. Read from the shared-responsibility tables: Cloud in section 4.2, BYOC in 4.3.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Security and account management | Grafana Cloud documentation ↗
“AWS PrivateLink Configure AWS PrivateLink Azure Private Link Configure Azure Private Link GCP Private Service Connect Configure GCP Private Service Connect”
Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction
- OpenObserve Service Level Agreement ↗
“Maintaining the Customer's own internet connectivity and egress required to reach the Service endpoints. [...] Managing VPC peering, Transit Gateways, or PrivateLink connections required for OpenObserve to access and manage the deployment in the Customer's cloud account.”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
Dedicated infrastructure
- Grafana Cloud
- Bring Your Own Cloud deploys the managed stack into a dedicated cloud account in your AWS or GCP (Azure case-by-case) rather than a Grafana Labs-owned account.
- OpenObserve
- Single-Tenant Hosted and OpenObserve-managed BYOC deployments are offered alongside multi-tenant Cloud, all under the 99.8% SLA.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Grafana BYOC | Fully managed observability in your AWS or GCP | Grafana Labs ↗
“Access Grafana Labs’ complete observability platform in your AWS or GCP account (Azure available case-by-case). [...] A dedicated cloud account (AWS, GCP, or Azure case-by-case)”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
- Security & Compliance | OpenObserve ↗
“for eligible OpenObserve Cloud, Single-Tenant Hosted, and OpenObserve-managed BYOC deployments”
Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction
When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.
Documented by only one.
These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.
Questions this comparison answers.
Entry paid plan: Grafana Cloud or OpenObserve?
Grafana Cloud: $19/month platform fee for Pro, which includes 10,000 active series before usage billing starts.
OpenObserve: No minimum: Cloud Professional is pay-as-you-go from $0.50 per GB ingested plus $0.01 per GB queried, billed monthly with no upfront commitment.
Free tier: Grafana Cloud or OpenObserve?
Grafana Cloud: Yes
OpenObserve: No — Cloud offers a 14-day trial only; the self-hosted Enterprise build is free up to 50 GB/day
Should I choose Grafana Cloud or OpenObserve?
Pick Grafana Cloud if Metrics-heavy monitoring where 13 months of retention matters — that window is an order of magnitude beyond what the error trackers and most telemetry platforms keep.
Pick OpenObserve if Teams that want one bill they can predict — ingest, query, and retention included — with session replay and RUM in the same product rather than as separate purchases.

Comments are hosted by EchoThread, which sets cookies and offers social sign-in. Like the analytics on this site, it does not load until you accept — see the privacy page.