Skip to content
inetGeek

Hatchet vs Trigger.dev

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Hatchet and Trigger.dev built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 22 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Hatchet if…

Task workloads that want a countable unit and no plan fee: 1M task runs and 1M events free each month with a card on file, then $30 per million runs, with 10,000 concurrent worker slots before any contract.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Trigger.dev if…

Teams that want background jobs written as normal code with the bill expressed as compute credits rather than a per-message meter.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Hatchet: You want a published uptime percentage or long run history: SLAs come only on the quoted Custom plan, and history is kept 7 days with a card on file (1 day without) unless you move to Custom.
  • Trigger.dev: Concurrency is the axis that forces an upgrade — 20 simultaneous runs on free, 50 on Hobby, then $10 a month per additional 50.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Hatchet alternatives · Trigger.dev alternatives

14 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionHatchetTrigger.dev
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
What the free plan includesTwo levels on the free Pay-as-you-go plan. No card: 2,000 task runs and 2,000 events a day. Card on file: 1M task runs and 1M events a month included, then $30 and $5 per million.$5 of credit each month with 20 concurrent runs and one day of log retention.
Entry paid planNo plan fee: Pay-as-you-go is $0 a month and bills only usage past the free million runs and events ($30 per million runs). Custom, for 100M+ runs a month or enterprise features, is priced by conversation.$10/month for Hobby, which includes $10 of credits; Pro is $50/month including $50 of credits.
Pricing modelUsage-based with no plan fees: 1M task runs and 1M events free every month, then $30 per million runs and $5 per million events, with volume pricing at 100M+ runs a month on Custom. Users past 50 are $10 each.A monthly plan fee that is also a credit balance — the fee buys compute rather than sitting on top of it — with concurrency, preview branches, dashboards and schedules each priced as separate add-ons beyond the plan's allowance.
Infrastructure
Regions
3 live AWS regions (Oregon, N. Virginia, Ireland) plus Sydney in private beta; control plane in aws-us-west-2.
Three AWS regions for running tasks: us-east-1 (US East, Virginia), us-west-2 (US West, Oregon) and eu-central-1 (Europe, Frankfurt). Changelog dated July 13, 2026; region set per project or per run on the dashboard Regions page.
Queues
Included per month1M task runs and 1M events a month on Pay-as-you-go with a card on file, then $30 per million runs and $5 per million events. Without a card: 2,000 task runs and 2,000 events a day.Credits rather than a message or execution count: $5 a month free, $10 included on Hobby and $50 on Pro, spent against compute.
Maximum message size
4 MB default maximum payload size for a task's input or output between worker and Hatchet engine.
3 MB per trigger payload (each batch item up to 3 MB on SDK 4.3.1+); task outputs up to 10 MB; payloads over 512 KB offloaded to object storage.
Message retentionRun history, logs and traces stay queryable for 1 day on Pay-as-you-go without a card, 7 days with a card on file, and 90+ days on Custom. This is dashboard and API history, not how long an undelivered task waits in the queue, so no magnitude is recorded.Log retention of 1 day on the free plan, 7 days on Hobby and 30 days on Pro, with the query period matching.
Concurrency2,000 worker slots (tasks running at once, totalled across all workers) on Pay-as-you-go without a card, 10,000 with a card on file; Custom gets dedicated capacity. No requests-per-second ceiling is published.20 concurrent runs on the free plan, 50 on Hobby, and more on Pro at $10 a month per additional 50.
Compliance
SOC 2SOC 2 Type II compliant; reports available through the Hatchet Trust Center.SOC 2 Type II compliant; latest report available on request for Enterprise customers.
HIPAAHIPAA compliant per the security docs; the Scale plan ($1,000/mo) lists audit logs and HIPAA.Meets HIPAA Business Associate requirements; a signed BAA is a paid add-on for running PHI workloads on Trigger.dev Cloud.
GDPR / data residencyGDPR compliant per the security docs; EU data plane available in aws-eu-west-1 (Ireland).Stated GDPR compliant; DPA forms part of the Terms of Service automatically on sign-up.
Encryption at restData stored in Hatchet Cloud is encrypted at rest; API and worker traffic encrypted with TLS in transit.Data encrypted at rest with AES-256 and in transit with HTTPS/TLS.
Role-based access controlHierarchical tenant roles OWNER, ADMIN, MEMBER, VIEWER plus organization roles; payload visibility can be restricted per member.Role-based access control (RBAC) and SSO listed as Enterprise plan features.
Dedicated infrastructure
Dedicated capacity, multi-region, and self-hosted or bring-your-own-cloud (BYOC) deployment on the Custom plan (talk to an engineer).
Cloud is fully managed; the docs route teams with data residency, compliance or infrastructure-control requirements to self-hosting instead.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Hatchet
Two levels on the free Pay-as-you-go plan. No card: 2,000 task runs and 2,000 events a day. Card on file: 1M task runs and 1M events a month included, then $30 and $5 per million.
Trigger.dev
$5 of credit each month with 20 concurrent runs and one day of log retention.
Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Hatchet
No plan fee: Pay-as-you-go is $0 a month and bills only usage past the free million runs and events ($30 per million runs). Custom, for 100M+ runs a month or enterprise features, is priced by conversation.
Trigger.dev
$10/month for Hobby, which includes $10 of credits; Pro is $50/month including $50 of credits.
Sources (2) →
  • Hatchet Pricing ↗

    “Pay-as-you-go $0 to start [...] No surprise bills. No plan fees. You pay $30 per million runs, only after your free million, with volume pricing at 100M+ runs a month.”

    Read 2026-09-27 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Trigger.dev ↗

    “Hobby $10/month [...] $10 / month credits included [...] Pro $50/month [...] $50 / month credits included”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Pricing model

Hatchet
Usage-based with no plan fees: 1M task runs and 1M events free every month, then $30 per million runs and $5 per million events, with volume pricing at 100M+ runs a month on Custom. Users past 50 are $10 each.
Trigger.dev
A monthly plan fee that is also a credit balance — the fee buys compute rather than sitting on top of it — with concurrency, preview branches, dashboards and schedules each priced as separate add-ons beyond the plan's allowance.
Sources (2) →
  • Hatchet Pricing ↗

    “1M runs and 1M events free, every month Then $30 per million runs, $5 per million events [...] No surprise bills. No plan fees. You pay $30 per million runs, only after your free million, with volume pricing at 100M+ runs a month. [...] Users 50 included, then $10/user”

    Read 2026-09-27 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Trigger.dev ↗

    “$10 / month credits included [...] Then $10/month per 50 [...] Then $20/month per seat [...] Then $10/month per branch [...] Then $10/month per 1,000”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Regions

Hatchet

3 live AWS regions (Oregon, N. Virginia, Ireland) plus Sydney in private beta; control plane in aws-us-west-2.

Trigger.dev

Three AWS regions for running tasks: us-east-1 (US East, Virginia), us-west-2 (US West, Oregon) and eu-central-1 (Europe, Frankfurt). Changelog dated July 13, 2026; region set per project or per run on the dashboard Regions page.

Sources (2) →

Included per month

Hatchet
1M task runs and 1M events a month on Pay-as-you-go with a card on file, then $30 per million runs and $5 per million events. Without a card: 2,000 task runs and 2,000 events a day.
Trigger.dev
Credits rather than a message or execution count: $5 a month free, $10 included on Hobby and $50 on Pro, spent against compute.
Sources (2) →
  • Hatchet Pricing ↗

    “1M runs and 1M events free, every month Then $30 per million runs, $5 per million events [...] 2,000/day 1M/mo included then $30/M [...] 2,000/day 1M/mo included then $5/M”

    Read 2026-09-27 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Trigger.dev ↗

    “$5 / month free credits [...] $10 / month credits included [...] $50 / month credits included”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Maximum message size

Hatchet

4 MB default maximum payload size for a task's input or output between worker and Hatchet engine.

Trigger.dev

3 MB per trigger payload (each batch item up to 3 MB on SDK 4.3.1+); task outputs up to 10 MB; payloads over 512 KB offloaded to object storage.

Sources (2) →

Message retention

Hatchet
Run history, logs and traces stay queryable for 1 day on Pay-as-you-go without a card, 7 days with a card on file, and 90+ days on Custom. This is dashboard and API history, not how long an undelivered task waits in the queue, so no magnitude is recorded.
Trigger.dev
Log retention of 1 day on the free plan, 7 days on Hobby and 30 days on Pro, with the query period matching.
Sources (2) →

Concurrency

Hatchet
2,000 worker slots (tasks running at once, totalled across all workers) on Pay-as-you-go without a card, 10,000 with a card on file; Custom gets dedicated capacity. No requests-per-second ceiling is published.
Trigger.dev
20 concurrent runs on the free plan, 50 on Hobby, and more on Pro at $10 a month per additional 50.
Sources (2) →
  • Hatchet Pricing ↗

    “Worker slots Each slot runs one task at a time. A worker with 100 slots can run 100 tasks concurrently. The limit is the total across all workers. 2,000 10,000 Dedicated capacity”

    Read 2026-09-27 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Trigger.dev ↗

    “20 concurrent runs [...] 50 concurrent runs [...] Then $10/month per 50”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

SOC 2

Hatchet
SOC 2 Type II compliant; reports available through the Hatchet Trust Center.
Trigger.dev
SOC 2 Type II compliant; latest report available on request for Enterprise customers.
Sources (2) →
  • Security - Hatchet Documentation ↗

    “Hatchet is SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, and GDPR compliant. Company-level security practices, compliance reports, and security documentation are available at the Hatchet Trust Center .”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Security | Trigger.dev ↗

    “Yes, Trigger.dev is SOC 2 Type II compliant. Visit our Security Portal for more information. Our latest report is available upon request for our Enterprise customers.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction

HIPAA

Hatchet
HIPAA compliant per the security docs; the Scale plan ($1,000/mo) lists audit logs and HIPAA.
Trigger.dev
Meets HIPAA Business Associate requirements; a signed BAA is a paid add-on for running PHI workloads on Trigger.dev Cloud.
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Hatchet
GDPR compliant per the security docs; EU data plane available in aws-eu-west-1 (Ireland).
Trigger.dev
Stated GDPR compliant; DPA forms part of the Terms of Service automatically on sign-up.
Sources (2) →

Encryption at rest

Hatchet
Data stored in Hatchet Cloud is encrypted at rest; API and worker traffic encrypted with TLS in transit.
Trigger.dev
Data encrypted at rest with AES-256 and in transit with HTTPS/TLS.
Sources (2) →

Role-based access control

Hatchet
Hierarchical tenant roles OWNER, ADMIN, MEMBER, VIEWER plus organization roles; payload visibility can be restricted per member.
Trigger.dev
Role-based access control (RBAC) and SSO listed as Enterprise plan features.
Sources (2) →
  • User Roles - Hatchet Documentation ↗

    “Every user in a tenant has a role that controls what they can do in the dashboard and REST API. Roles are hierarchical: each role can do everything the roles below it can.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing | Trigger.dev ↗

    “All Pro plan features + Custom log retention Priority support Role-based access control (RBAC) SOC 2 report Penetration test report Single sign-on (SSO)”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Dedicated infrastructure

Hatchet
Dedicated capacity, multi-region, and self-hosted or bring-your-own-cloud (BYOC) deployment on the Custom plan (talk to an engineer).
Trigger.dev
Cloud is fully managed; the docs route teams with data residency, compliance or infrastructure-control requirements to self-hosting instead.
Sources (2) →
  • Hatchet Pricing ↗

    “For 100M+ runs a month, dedicated capacity, or enterprise features. [...] Dedicated capacity and multi-region [...] Self-hosted and BYOC support”

    Read 2026-09-27 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Self-hosting overview - Trigger.dev ↗

    “Trigger.dev Cloud is fully managed, scalable, and comes with dedicated support. [...] if you have specific requirements around data residency, compliance, or infrastructure control, self-hosting may be the right choice for you.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Credit card to startHatchet: No
Uptime SLAHatchet: Latency guarantees and SLAs on the Custom plan, sold by contract (talk to an engineer). No percentage is published on the pricing page.
Dead letter queueHatchet: Not supported — No built-in DLQ; failed task instances persist in the dashboard for manual analysis and retry.
Support on entry paid planTrigger.dev: Community support on the $5 and $10 plans; dedicated Slack support on Pro ($50/month); priority support on Enterprise.
Customer-managed keysHatchet: Documented SDK middleware pattern encrypts task inputs and outputs before they reach the Hatchet server; the encryption key stays in the worker environment.Trigger.dev: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Trigger.dev.
Private networking / VPCTrigger.dev: AWS PrivateLink to resources in your own AWS VPC; a Pro and Enterprise feature enabled on request.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Hatchet or Trigger.dev?

Hatchet: No plan fee: Pay-as-you-go is $0 a month and bills only usage past the free million runs and events ($30 per million runs). Custom, for 100M+ runs a month or enterprise features, is priced by conversation.

Trigger.dev: $10/month for Hobby, which includes $10 of credits; Pro is $50/month including $50 of credits.

Should I choose Hatchet or Trigger.dev?

Pick Hatchet if Task workloads that want a countable unit and no plan fee: 1M task runs and 1M events free each month with a card on file, then $30 per million runs, with 10,000 concurrent worker slots before any contract.

Pick Trigger.dev if Teams that want background jobs written as normal code with the bill expressed as compute credits rather than a per-message meter.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.