Skip to content
inetGeek

Cloudflare Queues vs Trigger.dev

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Cloudflare Queues and Trigger.dev built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 21 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Cloudflare Queues if…

Workers applications that want a queue with no egress or throughput charges and a retention window measured in days rather than hours.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Trigger.dev if…

Teams that want background jobs written as normal code with the bill expressed as compute credits rather than a per-message meter.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Cloudflare Queues: Billing is per 64 KB operation rather than per message, so a large payload or a chatty retry loop costs several times what the message count suggests.
  • Trigger.dev: Concurrency is the axis that forces an upgrade — 20 simultaneous runs on free, 50 on Hobby, then $10 a month per additional 50.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Cloudflare Queues alternatives · Trigger.dev alternatives

6 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionCloudflare QueuesTrigger.dev
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
What the free plan includesThe first 1,000,000 standard operations a month are not billed; beyond that the rate is $0.40 per million, and each message costs three operations.$5 of credit each month with 20 concurrent runs and one day of log retention.
Pricing modelBilled per operation, not per message: one operation per 64 KB written, read or deleted, and a message larger than 64 KB counts as several. Cloudflare states a normal delivery takes three operations — one write, one read, one delete — so a million messages is nearer three million operations. Workers Paid includes 1,000,000 operations a month, then $0.40 per million; the free plan allows 10,000 a day.A monthly plan fee that is also a credit balance — the fee buys compute rather than sitting on top of it — with concurrency, preview branches, dashboards and schedules each priced as separate add-ons beyond the plan's allowance.
Queues
Included per month1,000,000 operations a month on Workers Paid, then $0.40 per million. An operation is each 64 KB written, read or deleted, so a typical message costs three — Cloudflare's own formula is ((messages × 3) − 1,000,000) / 1,000,000 × $0.40. Workers Free allows 10,000 operations a day.Credits rather than a message or execution count: $5 a month free, $10 included on Hobby and $50 on Pro, spent against compute.
Maximum message size
128 KB per message, with roughly 100 bytes of that taken by internal metadata.
3 MB per trigger payload (each batch item up to 3 MB on SDK 4.3.1+); task outputs up to 10 MB; payloads over 512 KB offloaded to object storage.
Message retention4 days by default on Workers Paid, configurable up to 14 days. Workers Free is fixed at 24 hours.Log retention of 1 day on the free plan, 7 days on Hobby and 30 days on Pro, with the query period matching.
Concurrency
250 concurrent consumer invocations, push-based only, with per-queue throughput capped at 5,000 messages a second.
20 concurrent runs on the free plan, 50 on Hobby, and more on Pro at $10 a month per additional 50.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Cloudflare Queues
The first 1,000,000 standard operations a month are not billed; beyond that the rate is $0.40 per million, and each message costs three operations.
Trigger.dev
$5 of credit each month with 20 concurrent runs and one day of log retention.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Cloudflare Queues
Billed per operation, not per message: one operation per 64 KB written, read or deleted, and a message larger than 64 KB counts as several. Cloudflare states a normal delivery takes three operations — one write, one read, one delete — so a million messages is nearer three million operations. Workers Paid includes 1,000,000 operations a month, then $0.40 per million; the free plan allows 10,000 a day.
Trigger.dev
A monthly plan fee that is also a credit balance — the fee buys compute rather than sitting on top of it — with concurrency, preview branches, dashboards and schedules each priced as separate add-ons beyond the plan's allowance.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Cloudflare Queues docs ↗

    “An operation is counted for each 64 KB of data that is written, read, or deleted. [...] Standard operations 10,000 operations/day included 1,000,000 operations/month included + $0.40/million operations [...] In most cases, it takes 3 operations to deliver a message: 1 write, 1 read, and 1 delete.”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Trigger.dev ↗

    “$10 / month credits included [...] Then $10/month per 50 [...] Then $20/month per seat [...] Then $10/month per branch [...] Then $10/month per 1,000”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Included per month

Cloudflare Queues
1,000,000 operations a month on Workers Paid, then $0.40 per million. An operation is each 64 KB written, read or deleted, so a typical message costs three — Cloudflare's own formula is ((messages × 3) − 1,000,000) / 1,000,000 × $0.40. Workers Free allows 10,000 operations a day.
Trigger.dev
Credits rather than a message or execution count: $5 a month free, $10 included on Hobby and $50 on Pro, spent against compute.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Cloudflare Queues docs ↗

    “1,000,000 operations/month included + $0.40/million operations [...] An operation is counted for each 64 KB of data that is written, read, or deleted. [...] In most cases, it takes 3 operations to deliver a message [...] 10,000 operations/day included”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Trigger.dev ↗

    “$5 / month free credits [...] $10 / month credits included [...] $50 / month credits included”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Maximum message size

Cloudflare Queues

128 KB per message, with roughly 100 bytes of that taken by internal metadata.

Trigger.dev

3 MB per trigger payload (each batch item up to 3 MB on SDK 4.3.1+); task outputs up to 10 MB; payloads over 512 KB offloaded to object storage.

Sources (2) →
  • Queues limits — Cloudflare Docs ↗

    “Feature Limit Queues 10,000 per account Message size 128 KB 1 Message retries 100 Maximum consumer batch size 100 messages [...] Messages can include up to ~100 bytes of internal metadata that counts towards total message limits.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Limits - Trigger.dev ↗

    “Single trigger payload Must not exceed 3MB Batch trigger payload Each item can be up to 3MB (SDK 4.3.1+). Prior: 1MB total combined Task outputs Must not exceed 10MB”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Message retention

Cloudflare Queues
4 days by default on Workers Paid, configurable up to 14 days. Workers Free is fixed at 24 hours.
Trigger.dev
Log retention of 1 day on the free plan, 7 days on Hobby and 30 days on Pro, with the query period matching.
Sources (2) →

Concurrency

Cloudflare Queues

250 concurrent consumer invocations, push-based only, with per-queue throughput capped at 5,000 messages a second.

Trigger.dev

20 concurrent runs on the free plan, 50 on Hobby, and more on Pro at $10 a month per additional 50.

Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Entry paid planTrigger.dev: $10/month for Hobby, which includes $10 of credits; Pro is $50/month including $50 of credits.
RegionsTrigger.dev: Three AWS regions for running tasks: us-east-1 (US East, Virginia), us-west-2 (US West, Oregon) and eu-central-1 (Europe, Frankfurt). Changelog dated July 13, 2026; region set per project or per run on the dashboard Regions page.
Uptime SLACloudflare Queues: 99.9% monthly uptime, in a dedicated Queues SLA that applies to use of Queues only and names no plan tier, with the same precedence clause as the R2 and Workers SLAs. The remedy is a credit set as a percentage of the fees paid for that product in the preceding 30 days, so the commitment stands on a free account while the compensation for breaching it is worth nothing there.
Maximum delayCloudflare Queues: 24 hours, set with delaySeconds when sending or retrying.
Dead letter queueCloudflare Queues: Supported
Support on entry paid planTrigger.dev: Community support on the $5 and $10 plans; dedicated Slack support on Pro ($50/month); priority support on Enterprise.
SOC 2Trigger.dev: SOC 2 Type II compliant; latest report available on request for Enterprise customers.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
HIPAATrigger.dev: Meets HIPAA Business Associate requirements; a signed BAA is a paid add-on for running PHI workloads on Trigger.dev Cloud.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
GDPR / data residencyTrigger.dev: Stated GDPR compliant; DPA forms part of the Terms of Service automatically on sign-up.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
Encryption at restTrigger.dev: Data encrypted at rest with AES-256 and in transit with HTTPS/TLS.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
Role-based access controlTrigger.dev: Role-based access control (RBAC) and SSO listed as Enterprise plan features.
Private networking / VPCTrigger.dev: AWS PrivateLink to resources in your own AWS VPC; a Pro and Enterprise feature enabled on request.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
Dedicated infrastructureTrigger.dev: Cloud is fully managed; the docs route teams with data residency, compliance or infrastructure-control requirements to self-hosting instead.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Should I choose Cloudflare Queues or Trigger.dev?

Pick Cloudflare Queues if Workers applications that want a queue with no egress or throughput charges and a retention window measured in days rather than hours.

Pick Trigger.dev if Teams that want background jobs written as normal code with the bill expressed as compute credits rather than a per-message meter.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.