Skip to content
inetGeek

Meilisearch vs Amazon OpenSearch Service

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Meilisearch and Amazon OpenSearch Service built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 12 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Meilisearch if…

A managed search engine with a bill you can predict: $20/month to start, or $30 against a documented allowance of 100,000 documents and 50,000 searches. Vector and hybrid search are in the product rather than a tier up.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Amazon OpenSearch Service if…

An estate already on AWS. Two deployment models under one service — instances you size and reserve, or serverless compute units — with reserved pricing and savings plans available, and IAM, KMS and VPC integration that needs no extra wiring.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Meilisearch: You want to try before paying, or never pay at all. There is no free plan — the only free access is 14 days — and Typesense and OpenSearch are equally self-hostable if operations is the trade you would rather make.
  • Amazon OpenSearch Service: You want a price you can read off a page. The serverless rate renders as a template placeholder filled in by an API, and the only figure on the pricing page is inside a worked example; vector search is also billed as its own collection type that cannot share compute with keyword search.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Meilisearch alternatives · Amazon OpenSearch Service alternatives

3 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionMeilisearchAmazon OpenSearch Service
Pricing
Free tierNoNo
Entry paid plan$23/month for an XS instance on the resource-based plan — the cheapest configuration you can actually buy. The page headlines "Starting at $20/month", but nothing is purchasable at that figure: the usage-based plan begins at $30/month for 100,000 documents and 50,000 searches.$0.24 per OCU-hour for serverless, and that figure is quoted from a worked example on the page rather than from its price table — the table renders the rate as a template placeholder filled in by a pricing API. No monthly minimum is published for either model.
Pricing modelTwo shapes offered side by side: usage-based from $30/month against a document and search allowance, or resource-based from $23/month for a named instance size. Self-hosting is free.Two models, billed differently. Provisioned instances are on-demand, reserved or under a savings plan. Serverless bills compute and storage separately, with compute measured in OpenSearch Compute Units that cover CPU, memory and I/O for indexing or querying.
Observability
Self-hostableSupportedSupported
Vector
Hybrid search (vector + keyword)Vector and hybrid search are listed as product features, and the pricing page sells a document size specifically for embeddings — AI, 12KB, described as documents with embeddings.Supported, and billed as a separate workload: a vector search collection cannot share compute units with a search or time-series collection, even under the same KMS key.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Entry paid plan

Meilisearch
$23/month for an XS instance on the resource-based plan — the cheapest configuration you can actually buy. The page headlines "Starting at $20/month", but nothing is purchasable at that figure: the usage-based plan begins at $30/month for 100,000 documents and 50,000 searches.
Amazon OpenSearch Service
$0.24 per OCU-hour for serverless, and that figure is quoted from a worked example on the page rather than from its price table — the table renders the rate as a template placeholder filled in by a pricing API. No monthly minimum is published for either model.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Meilisearch
Two shapes offered side by side: usage-based from $30/month against a document and search allowance, or resource-based from $23/month for a named instance size. Self-hosting is free.
Amazon OpenSearch Service
Two models, billed differently. Provisioned instances are on-demand, reserved or under a savings plan. Serverless bills compute and storage separately, with compute measured in OpenSearch Compute Units that cover CPU, memory and I/O for indexing or querying.
Sources (2) →
  • Meilisearch Pricing ↗

    “Usage-based$30/monthBase plan (100K docs, 50K searches)$30/moResource-based$23/monthXS instan”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon OpenSearch Service Pricing ↗

    “For Serverless, you are charged for compute and storage separately. Compute capacity is measured in OpenSearch Compute Units (OCUs), which correspond to the CPU, memory, and I/O resources required to index data or run queries.”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Kind of free offerMeilisearch: Free trial
Credit card to startMeilisearch: No
When the free offer endsMeilisearch: 14-day free trial, no credit card required
Audit logsMeilisearch: API access and config audit trail, plus role-based access and tenant isolation.Amazon OpenSearch Service: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Amazon OpenSearch Service.
SOC 2Meilisearch: SOC 2 Type II certified, with SAML, OIDC single sign-on, auto-provisioning, and MFA.Amazon OpenSearch Service: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Amazon OpenSearch Service.
Encryption at restMeilisearch: AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.3 in transit.Amazon OpenSearch Service: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Amazon OpenSearch Service.
Dedicated infrastructureAmazon OpenSearch Service: Provisioned deployments run on instances you size and reserve; serverless does not expose an instance at all and scales compute units instead.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Meilisearch or Amazon OpenSearch Service?

Meilisearch: $23/month for an XS instance on the resource-based plan — the cheapest configuration you can actually buy. The page headlines "Starting at $20/month", but nothing is purchasable at that figure: the usage-based plan begins at $30/month for 100,000 documents and 50,000 searches.

Amazon OpenSearch Service: $0.24 per OCU-hour for serverless, and that figure is quoted from a worked example on the page rather than from its price table — the table renders the rate as a template placeholder filled in by a pricing API. No monthly minimum is published for either model.

Should I choose Meilisearch or Amazon OpenSearch Service?

Pick Meilisearch if A managed search engine with a bill you can predict: $20/month to start, or $30 against a documented allowance of 100,000 documents and 50,000 searches. Vector and hybrid search are in the product rather than a tier up.

Pick Amazon OpenSearch Service if An estate already on AWS. Two deployment models under one service — instances you size and reserve, or serverless compute units — with reserved pricing and savings plans available, and IAM, KMS and VPC integration that needs no extra wiring.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.