Mintlify vs GitBook
OCT 2026 auditA comparison of Mintlify and GitBook built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.
The short answer
Choose Mintlify if…
A team that wants docs and an API reference built from Markdown, MDX and OpenAPI files in a git repository, with an AI assistant, llms.txt and an MCP server, at a flat price per account rather than per seat. Pro is $540 a month billed monthly with unlimited editors; the free Starter plan allows five.
Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved
Choose GitBook if…
A team that wants a collaborative editor with two-way Git sync and an OpenAPI reference, priced per published site: Essential is $65 per site per month billed annually plus $12 per additional user, and the free plan covers one user.
Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved
Consider something else if…
- Mintlify: You want SDKs generated from the same spec. Mintlify shows SDK code samples and points to Speakeasy for the SDKs themselves, where Fern generates them. The AI assistant is a Pro feature and is not on the free plan.
- GitBook: You publish several docs sites or have many editors, since the bill grows with both. AI answers start at Essential, SAML SSO is Enterprise-only, and SDK generation is limited to code examples.
Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Mintlify alternatives · GitBook alternatives
6 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.
Pick the criteria you care about. The chart counts how many of them lean toward each provider — the same read as scanning the bars below, just totalled for the ones you chose.
Mintlify 0
GitBook 0
At a glance.
| Criterion | Mintlify | GitBook |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | ||
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Kind of free offer | Free tier | Free tier |
| What the free plan includes | The Starter plan, free forever: hosting at a mintlify.site address, a custom domain, the web editor, authentication, an MCP server, the API playground and up to 5 editor seats. AI features are not on Starter; new accounts also get a separate 14-day Pro trial. | The Free plan for individuals: one user, unlimited page views, Git Sync with GitHub or GitLab, OpenAPI-based API docs with a playground, a docs MCP server and llms.txt. A custom domain and the AI Assistant Ask feature are not included. |
| Entry paid plan | $540/month billed monthly for Pro ($450/month when billed annually): unlimited editor seats, the AI assistant and automations, preview deployments and admin APIs. Starter is free and Enterprise is custom. | Essential is $65 per site per month when billed annually, plus $12 per user per month for additional team members; Ultimate is $249 per site per month. The page shows annual-billing figures in its default view. |
| Pricing model | Flat monthly price per account rather than per seat: Starter is free with 5 editor seats, Pro and Enterprise have unlimited editor seats. AI features are metered in credits: Pro includes 10,000 credits a month, overage is $0.01 per credit, an assistant answer costs 25 credits and an automation update 250. Enterprise is custom. | Priced per published site (Free, Essential, Ultimate, Enterprise) plus $12 per user per month on the paid plans; Enterprise is custom. Page views are never metered. AI features draw on monthly AI credits (Essential includes $20, Ultimate $100), extra credit bundles are sold separately and usage auto-pauses when credits run out. |
| Limits | ||
| Sites or apps included | Unlimited editor seats on Pro, the entry paid plan (Starter has up to 5). The pricing page does not state a cap on the number of documentation sites. | Priced per site: Essential is $65 per site per month when billed annually, so the entry paid plan covers each site you buy; the page states no cap on the number of sites. Additional users are $12 per user per month. |
| Observability | ||
| Self-hostable | Limited — Enterprise plan only; each deployment is a scoped engagement with the account team | Limited — Published docs site only, and unsupported by GitBook |
| Auth | ||
| SAML single sign-on | Limited — Enterprise plans only; covers sign-in to the Mintlify dashboard | Limited — Enterprise plan only; for team members signing in to the app |
| Documentation | ||
| Docs as code in a git repository | Supported | Supported — Two-way Git Sync with GitHub or GitLab |
| API reference from an OpenAPI spec | Supported | Supported |
| Interactive API playground | Supported | Supported |
| Client SDK generation | Limited — Displays SDK code samples; the page points to Speakeasy for generating the SDKs themselves | Limited — Generic code examples per operation; custom SDK samples via x-codeSamples |
| llms.txt and markdown for AI tools | Supported | Supported |
| MCP server for the docs or API | Supported | Supported |
| Built-in AI assistant over the docs | Supported — Pro and Enterprise plans only, billed in credits; not on the free Starter plan | Supported — Ask from Essential, Chat from Ultimate; not on Free |
| Multiple documentation versions | Supported | Supported |
| Compliance | ||
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type 2 report listed among the documents in Mintlify's Trust Center; ISO 27001 appears only as a letter of intent. | GitBook Inc. states it completed the AICPA SOC 2 Type II audit, performed by Prescient Assurance. |
| GDPR / data residency | The Trust Center lists Amazon Web Services as the cloud infrastructure subprocessor with data location Northern Virginia, and a GDPR Article 27 Verification document. | Customer data is stored in U.S. data centers on Google Cloud; some HTML pages and assets may be cached in other geographies by the CDN. The page names no EU storage region. |
Where they differ.
What the free plan includes
- Mintlify
- The Starter plan, free forever: hosting at a mintlify.site address, a custom domain, the web editor, authentication, an MCP server, the API playground and up to 5 editor seats. AI features are not on Starter; new accounts also get a separate 14-day Pro trial.
- GitBook
- The Free plan for individuals: one user, unlimited page views, Git Sync with GitHub or GitLab, OpenAPI-based API docs with a playground, a docs MCP server and llms.txt. A custom domain and the AI Assistant Ask feature are not included.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Pricing - Mintlify ↗
“The Starter plan is free forever and includes hosting, a custom domain, the web editor, authentication, an MCP server, the API playground, and up to 5 editor seats. [...] Can I use the AI features on the Starter plan? Not on Starter. [...] Every new account gets Mintlify Pro free for 14 days, with no credit card required.”
Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction
- GitBook pricing & plans | GitBook ↗
“Free Includes 1 free user. Upgrade to collaborate with additional users. [...] Page views: Free, Essential, Ultimate, and Enterprise plans: Unlimited. [...] Custom domain: not included in the Free plan; included in the Essential, Ultimate, and Enterprise plans.”
Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction
Entry paid plan
- Mintlify
- $540/month billed monthly for Pro ($450/month when billed annually): unlimited editor seats, the AI assistant and automations, preview deployments and admin APIs. Starter is free and Enterprise is custom.
- GitBook
- Essential is $65 per site per month when billed annually, plus $12 per user per month for additional team members; Ultimate is $249 per site per month. The page shows annual-billing figures in its default view.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Pricing - Mintlify ↗
“Pro is $450/month billed annually or $540/month billed monthly. For startups and growing teams Unlimited editor seats Everything in Starter Agent Assistant Automations Preview deployments Admin APIs”
Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction
- GitBook pricing & plans | GitBook ↗
“Essential starts at $65 per site/month and Ultimate at $249 per site/month when billed annually, with additional team members at $12 per user/month. [...] All amounts shown are monthly costs under annual billing.”
Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction
Pricing model
- Mintlify
- Flat monthly price per account rather than per seat: Starter is free with 5 editor seats, Pro and Enterprise have unlimited editor seats. AI features are metered in credits: Pro includes 10,000 credits a month, overage is $0.01 per credit, an assistant answer costs 25 credits and an automation update 250. Enterprise is custom.
- GitBook
- Priced per published site (Free, Essential, Ultimate, Enterprise) plus $12 per user per month on the paid plans; Enterprise is custom. Page views are never metered. AI features draw on monthly AI credits (Essential includes $20, Ultimate $100), extra credit bundles are sold separately and usage auto-pauses when credits run out.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Pricing - Mintlify ↗
“Pro and Enterprise include unlimited editor seats, so you can add everyone who writes or reviews docs without paying per person. [...] AI features are billed in credits, and every action has a flat price. An Assistant answer is 25 credits and an automation run that updates your docs is 250 credits. [...] 10,000 / month $0.01 per credit for overages”
Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction
- GitBook pricing & plans | GitBook ↗
“Your total combines a per-site plan (Essential at $65 per month or Ultimate at $249 per month, when billed annually) with per-user pricing at $12 per user, per month. [...] We never limit the amount of traffic to your published documentation. [...] Essential includes $20 of AI credits (2,000 credits) per month and Ultimate includes $100 of AI credits (10,000 credits) per month. Additional credits can be bought in monthly bundles, and usage auto-pauses when credits run out.”
Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction
Sites or apps included
- Mintlify
- Unlimited editor seats on Pro, the entry paid plan (Starter has up to 5). The pricing page does not state a cap on the number of documentation sites.
- GitBook
- Priced per site: Essential is $65 per site per month when billed annually, so the entry paid plan covers each site you buy; the page states no cap on the number of sites. Additional users are $12 per user per month.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Pricing - Mintlify ↗
“How many editor seats are included? The Starter plan includes up to 5 editor seats. Pro and Enterprise include unlimited editor seats”
Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction
- GitBook pricing & plans | GitBook ↗
“Essential $ 65 per site/month Ultimate $ 249 per site/month”
Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction
SOC 2
- Mintlify
- SOC 2 Type 2 report listed among the documents in Mintlify's Trust Center; ISO 27001 appears only as a letter of intent.
- GitBook
- GitBook Inc. states it completed the AICPA SOC 2 Type II audit, performed by Prescient Assurance.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Mintlify Trust Center ↗
“SOC 2 Type 2 Report [...] ISO 27001 Letter of Intent”
Read 2026-10-25 · official site · Report a correction
- Security as a company value | Policies | GitBook Documentation ↗
“GitBook Inc. successfully completed the AICPA Service Organization Control (SOC) 2 Type II audit. The audit confirms that GitBook Inc.’s information security practices, policies, procedures, and operations meet the SOC 2 standards for security. GitBook Inc. was audited by Prescient Assurance”
Read 2026-10-25 · official docs · Report a correction
GDPR / data residency
- Mintlify
- The Trust Center lists Amazon Web Services as the cloud infrastructure subprocessor with data location Northern Virginia, and a GDPR Article 27 Verification document.
- GitBook
- Customer data is stored in U.S. data centers on Google Cloud; some HTML pages and assets may be cached in other geographies by the CDN. The page names no EU storage region.
Sources (2) →Sources ↓
- Mintlify Trust Center ↗
“Amazon Web Services Cloud Infrastucture Data location: Northern Virginia [...] GDPR Article 27 Verification”
Read 2026-10-25 · official site · Report a correction
- Security FAQ | Policies | GitBook Documentation ↗
“Customer data is stored in U.S. data centers. Some data (HTML pages & assets) may be cached in other geographies by our CDN.”
Read 2026-10-25 · official docs · Report a correction
When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.
Questions this comparison answers.
Entry paid plan: Mintlify or GitBook?
Mintlify: $540/month billed monthly for Pro ($450/month when billed annually): unlimited editor seats, the AI assistant and automations, preview deployments and admin APIs. Starter is free and Enterprise is custom.
GitBook: Essential is $65 per site per month when billed annually, plus $12 per user per month for additional team members; Ultimate is $249 per site per month. The page shows annual-billing figures in its default view.
Should I choose Mintlify or GitBook?
Pick Mintlify if A team that wants docs and an API reference built from Markdown, MDX and OpenAPI files in a git repository, with an AI assistant, llms.txt and an MCP server, at a flat price per account rather than per seat. Pro is $540 a month billed monthly with unlimited editors; the free Starter plan allows five.
Pick GitBook if A team that wants a collaborative editor with two-way Git sync and an OpenAPI reference, priced per published site: Essential is $65 per site per month billed annually plus $12 per additional user, and the free plan covers one user.

Comments are hosted by EchoThread, which sets cookies and offers social sign-in. Like the analytics on this site, it does not load until you accept — see the privacy page.