Skip to content
inetGeek

Neo4j vs Neon

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Neo4j and Neon built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 28 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Neo4j if…

Teams whose data is naturally relationships-first — recommendation engines, fraud detection, knowledge graphs — where the query itself is a graph traversal Cypher expresses directly and a relational join chain would not.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Neon if…

Workloads that are idle most of the time, and teams who want a real database per pull request. Compute suspends after five minutes and storage is billed separately, so a staging branch costs almost nothing while nobody is using it.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Neo4j: The data model is tabular and the graph shape is incidental — most CRUD apps fit a relational or document database better, and Neo4j's per-GB memory pricing is a worse fit for large flat datasets than a row-store.
  • Neon: You need predictable monthly billing. Usage pricing with no minimum fee cuts both ways, and a runaway query on an autoscaling compute is billed at the rate it ran.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Neo4j alternatives · Neon alternatives

9 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionNeo4jNeon
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
Credit card to startNoNo
Entry paid plan$65/GB/month (minimum 1GB cluster) on AuraDB Professional, or $0.09/hour ($65.70/month for 1GB) metered hourly. 14-day free trial available.No fixed monthly fee. Launch is usage-based — Neon's own worked example puts typical spend at $15/month for intermittent load on 1 GB — so there is no entry price to compare, only a rate card. Recorded without a magnitude because a vendor's spend estimate is not a price.
Pricing modelUsage-based, metered per GB-hour of memory on the Professional tier. A paused database cuts cost by roughly 80%.Usage-based with no minimum monthly fee on paid plans: $0.106/CU-hour compute and $0.35/GB-month storage on Launch, $0.222/CU-hour on Scale
Startup credit programNeo4j for Startups: up to $16K in Aura credits. Requires Series B or earlier funding, a single product sold to many customers (not custom per-customer work), a functioning website, and a company LinkedIn profile.Via the Databricks Startup Program: up to $1,000 in Neon credits for self-funded startups (<$1M raised), or up to $200K in Neon and Databricks credits for VC-backed startups (≥$1M raised) or accelerator participants. Credits valid 12 months from acceptance.
Infrastructure
RegionsAWS, Azure and Google Cloud, across more than 60 global cloud regions; also available through the AWS, Azure and Google Cloud marketplaces.8 AWS regions: N. Virginia, Ohio, Oregon, Frankfurt, London, Singapore, Sydney, São Paulo. A project's region is fixed at creation and cannot be changed.
Data
EngineNeo4j, a native property graph database.PostgreSQL
Point-in-time recoveryNot included on the entry-paid (Professional) tier — point-in-time restore is a Business Critical feature, with hourly granularity and 30-day retention.History window of 6 hours up to 1 GB-month on Free, up to 7 days on Launch, up to 30 days on Scale
Read replicas
Limited — Secondaries are a Business Critical and Virtual Dedicated Cloud feature; not on Free or Professional.
Supported
Backup retentionDaily backups, 7-day retention on the entry-paid (Professional) tier. Business Critical adds 30-day retention with hourly point-in-time restore; Virtual Dedicated Cloud gets hourly backups with 60-day retention.1 day of history on paid plans by default and 6 hours on Free, configurable up to 7 days on Launch or 30 days on Scale. Neon notes that widening the window raises storage cost, so the ceiling is a paid choice rather than an included allowance.
Support
Support on entry paid planFour tiered packages — Essential, Regional, Global and Signature — with service level targets set by issue severity.Support plans are mapped to pricing plans: community support on Free, billing support on Launch, standard support on Scale.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Entry paid plan

Neo4j
$65/GB/month (minimum 1GB cluster) on AuraDB Professional, or $0.09/hour ($65.70/month for 1GB) metered hourly. 14-day free trial available.
Neon
No fixed monthly fee. Launch is usage-based — Neon's own worked example puts typical spend at $15/month for intermittent load on 1 GB — so there is no entry price to compare, only a rate card. Recorded without a magnitude because a vendor's spend estimate is not a price.
Sources (2) →
  • Neo4j Pricing ↗

    “AuraDB Professional $65 /GB/month* (minimum 1GB cluster) [...] AuraDB Professional pricing 14-day free trial available. Try it now. Memory CPU Storage Hourly Monthly 1GB 1CPU 2GB $0.09/hour $65.70/month”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Neon ↗

    “Launch Usage-based Typical spend: $ 15 /mo Based on: Intermittent load , 1 GB Get started”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official pricing · Report a correction

Pricing model

Neo4j
Usage-based, metered per GB-hour of memory on the Professional tier. A paused database cuts cost by roughly 80%.
Neon
Usage-based with no minimum monthly fee on paid plans: $0.106/CU-hour compute and $0.35/GB-month storage on Launch, $0.222/CU-hour on Scale
Sources (2) →
  • Neo4j Pricing ↗

    “Pause database, save 80% costs Pause your database when not in use and save 80% of running costs. [...] Capacity-based consumption pricing Included in your price: Storage, IO, Backup, and Data Transfer.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Neon plans — Neon Docs ↗

    “On Launch and Scale plans, you pay only for what you use; there's no minimum monthly fee. Usage for compute, storage, extra branches, and other features is billed at the published rates”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

Startup credit program

Neo4j
Neo4j for Startups: up to $16K in Aura credits. Requires Series B or earlier funding, a single product sold to many customers (not custom per-customer work), a functioning website, and a company LinkedIn profile.
Neon
Via the Databricks Startup Program: up to $1,000 in Neon credits for self-funded startups (<$1M raised), or up to $200K in Neon and Databricks credits for VC-backed startups (≥$1M raised) or accelerator participants. Credits valid 12 months from acceptance.
Sources (2) →
  • Neo4j for Startups ↗

    “up to $16K in Aura credits. Series B or earlier. Startups building a single product for many customers, not a custom product for individual customers.”

    Read 2026-09-11 · official site · Report a correction

  • Neon Startup Program ↗

    “Self-Funded: Early-stage, self-funded startups. Less than $1M in funding [...] Up to $1,000 in Neon credits. Venture-Backed: VC-backed startups with at least $1M in funding [...] Up to $200K in Neon and Databricks credits. Credits are valid for 12 months from the date of acceptance.”

    Read 2026-09-11 · official site · Report a correction

Regions

Neo4j
AWS, Azure and Google Cloud, across more than 60 global cloud regions; also available through the AWS, Azure and Google Cloud marketplaces.
Neon
8 AWS regions: N. Virginia, Ohio, Oregon, Frankfurt, London, Singapore, Sydney, São Paulo. A project's region is fixed at creation and cannot be changed.
Sources (2) →
  • Neo4j Pricing ↗

    “AuraDB is available on AWS, Microsoft Azure, and Google Cloud. You can deploy AuraDB in over 60 global cloud regions. [...] AuraDB on AWS Marketplace AuraDB on Azure Marketplace AuraDB on Google Cloud Marketplace”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Regions — Neon Docs ↗

    “Each Neon project exists in exactly one region. Your database runs in that region. You cannot change the region for an existing project. If you need your data in a different region, you create a new Neon project in that region and migrate your database there.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Engine

Neo4j
Neo4j, a native property graph database.
Neon
PostgreSQL
Sources (2) →

Point-in-time recovery

Neo4j
Not included on the entry-paid (Professional) tier — point-in-time restore is a Business Critical feature, with hourly granularity and 30-day retention.
Neon
History window of 6 hours up to 1 GB-month on Free, up to 7 days on Launch, up to 30 days on Scale
Sources (2) →
  • Neo4j Pricing ↗

    “Daily backups, 7-day retention Available on Azure, AWS, and Google Cloud [...] Daily backups with 30-day retention and hourly point-in-time restore Role-based access control with granular security”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Neon plans — Neon Docs ↗

    “History window 6 hours, up to 1 GB-month Up to 7 days Up to 30 days”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

Read replicas

Neo4j
Limited — Secondaries are a Business Critical and Virtual Dedicated Cloud feature; not on Free or Professional.
Neon
Supported
Sources (2) →
  • Neo4j Pricing ↗

    “Secondaries Not Included Not Included Included Included Vector Optimization Not Included Included Included Included”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Neon Read Replicas — Neon Docs ↗

    “Neon read replicas are independent computes designed to perform read operations on the same data as your primary read-write compute. Neon's read replicas do not replicate or duplicate data. Instead, read requests are served from the same storage”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Backup retention

Neo4j
Daily backups, 7-day retention on the entry-paid (Professional) tier. Business Critical adds 30-day retention with hourly point-in-time restore; Virtual Dedicated Cloud gets hourly backups with 60-day retention.
Neon
1 day of history on paid plans by default and 6 hours on Free, configurable up to 7 days on Launch or 30 days on Scale. Neon notes that widening the window raises storage cost, so the ceiling is a paid choice rather than an included allowance.
Sources (2) →
  • Neo4j Pricing ↗

    “Daily backups, 7-day retention Available on Azure, AWS, and Google Cloud [...] Daily backups with 30-day retention and hourly point-in-time restore [...] Hourly backups with 60-day retention”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Point-in-time restore — Neon Docs ↗

    “Neon retains a history of changes for your branches, with defaults of 6 hours on Free plan and 1 day on paid plans. [...] You can configure it up to 7 days on Launch or 30 days on Scale plans.”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official docs · Report a correction

Support on entry paid plan

Neo4j
Four tiered packages — Essential, Regional, Global and Signature — with service level targets set by issue severity.
Neon
Support plans are mapped to pricing plans: community support on Free, billing support on Launch, standard support on Scale.
Sources (2) →
  • Neo4j Product & Support Terms ↗

    “support is delivered through four tiered packages-essential, regional, global, and signature-with defined service level targets (slt) based on severity.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

  • Support — Neon Docs ↗

    “neon's support plans are mapped to neon pricing plans, as outlined in the following table. neon pricing plan support plan options free plan community support launch plan billing support scale plan standard support”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

What the free plan includesNeon: 100 projects with 10 branches each, plus allowances for compute and storage, at no monthly cost.
Egress over allowanceNeon: 5 GB per project included on Free; 500 GB per project included on Launch and Scale, then $0.10/GB
Storage (entry plan)Neon: No included allowance on the Launch plan; storage is metered at $0.35/GB-month. The Free plan includes 0.5 GB per project.
Managed connection poolingNeon: Supported
Scales to zeroNeon: Supported
Connection limitNeon: Scales with compute size: 104 direct connections at 0.25 CU (1 GB RAM), 419 at 1 CU, 2517 at 6 CU; up to 10,000 through the pooler
When idleNeon: Compute suspends after 5 minutes idle on Free and Launch, and can be disabled on Launch; configurable from 1 minute to always-on on Scale. The database is not deleted or paused — the next query restarts the compute.
Database branchingNeon: Supported
Response time commitmentNeo4j: As fast as 30 minutes for a Severity 1 outage under Signature, the top of four packages. The lower tiers are not given a number on this page.
SOC 2Neon: Annual SOC 2 Type II audits by an accredited independent third party.Neo4j: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Neo4j.
ISO 27001Neon: Annual ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019 audits.Neo4j: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Neo4j.
HIPAANeon: HIPAA compliance achieved, to support customers handling protected health information (PHI).Neo4j: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Neo4j.
GDPR / data residencyNeon: Follows the GDPR framework; Data Processing Agreements (DPA) offered.Neo4j: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Neo4j.
PCI DSSNeon: The page attributes PCI-DSS to the AWS and Azure infrastructure Neon runs on. Neon's own compliance list on the same page names CCPA, GDPR, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2 and HIPAA, and not PCI DSS.Neo4j: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Neo4j.
Encryption at restNeon: AES-256, with key rotation policies.Neo4j: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Neo4j.
Role-based access controlNeon: Access to production systems is role-based, requiring SSO and continuous monitoring.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Neo4j or Neon?

Neo4j: $65/GB/month (minimum 1GB cluster) on AuraDB Professional, or $0.09/hour ($65.70/month for 1GB) metered hourly. 14-day free trial available.

Neon: No fixed monthly fee. Launch is usage-based — Neon's own worked example puts typical spend at $15/month for intermittent load on 1 GB — so there is no entry price to compare, only a rate card. Recorded without a magnitude because a vendor's spend estimate is not a price.

Should I choose Neo4j or Neon?

Pick Neo4j if Teams whose data is naturally relationships-first — recommendation engines, fraud detection, knowledge graphs — where the query itself is a graph traversal Cypher expresses directly and a relational join chain would not.

Pick Neon if Workloads that are idle most of the time, and teams who want a real database per pull request. Compute suspends after five minutes and storage is billed separately, so a staging branch costs almost nothing while nobody is using it.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.