Skip to content
inetGeek

Supabase vs Prisma Postgres

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Supabase and Prisma Postgres built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 28 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Supabase if…

Teams who want Postgres plus auth, storage and generated APIs from one vendor on a fixed monthly bill, and who would otherwise assemble those pieces themselves.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Prisma Postgres if…

Prisma ORM users who want the database and the client from one vendor, with a pooled connection limit stated per plan rather than left to be discovered.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Supabase: You want only a database. Much of the $25 covers a platform you may not use, and free projects are paused after a week of inactivity, which is not the same as scaling to zero.
  • Prisma Postgres: Four separate meters — requests, memory, vCPU and bandwidth — sit on top of the plan fee, so the monthly number is a floor rather than a bill.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Supabase alternatives · Prisma Postgres alternatives

10 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionSupabasePrisma Postgres
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierAlways free
What the free plan includes500 MB database, 5 GB egress, 1 GB file storage, 50,000 monthly active users and unlimited API requests on shared CPU. Free projects pause after a week without activity.1 million requests, 360 GB-hours of memory and 4 active vCPU-hours a month, with 500 MB of storage, free forever and no credit card.
Entry paid plan
$25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo.
$10/month for Starter. Pro is $49 and Business $129, each including a larger request allowance.
Pricing modelFixed monthly plan per organisation plus per-project compute, billed hourly by instance sizeA plan fee plus usage: requests, memory GB-hours, active vCPU-hours and outbound bandwidth are each metered — $1 per million requests beyond the allowance, $0.006 per GB-hour, $0.064 per vCPU-hour, $0.025 per GB out.
Limits
Storage (entry plan)8 GB disk per project on the Pro plan; 500 MB on Free500 MB on the free plan across 50 databases. Paid plans raise the database count to 1,000 and beyond.
Execution
Managed connection poolingSupported — Shared pooler on every plan, IPv4-only; the dedicated pooler is paid plans only.Supported
Data
EnginePostgreSQLPostgreSQL.
Connection limit
60 direct and 200 pooled connections on the Micro instance included with Pro; both scale with instance size
100 pooled connections on Starter and 10 direct; 10 pooled on Free, 500 on Pro and 1,000 on Business.
When idleFree projects are paused after one week of inactivity and must be restored manually; paid projects are not pausedScales to zero when idle, and Prisma states an idle app costs nothing.
Backup retention
Daily backups: 7 days on Pro, 14 days on Team, up to 30 days on Enterprise. Free projects get no automatic backups at all — Supabase tells free users to export their own data with the CLI.
Daily backups with 7-day retention on Starter and Pro, 30 days on Business. The free plan has none.
Support
Support on entry paid planCommunity support on Free; email support on Pro, the entry paid plan; priority email support and SLAs from Team; a designated support manager and 24/7/365 premium support on Enterprise.Community support on Free and Starter; standard support on Pro; premium on Business.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Kind of free offer

Supabase
Free tier
Prisma Postgres
Always free
Sources (2) →

What the free plan includes

Supabase
500 MB database, 5 GB egress, 1 GB file storage, 50,000 monthly active users and unlimited API requests on shared CPU. Free projects pause after a week without activity.
Prisma Postgres
1 million requests, 360 GB-hours of memory and 4 active vCPU-hours a month, with 500 MB of storage, free forever and no credit card.
Sources (2) →
  • Supabase Pricing ↗

    “unlimited api requests 50,000 monthly active users 500 mb database size shared cpu • 500 mb ram 5 gb egress 5 gb cached egress 1 gb file storage community support Free projects are paused after 1 week of inactivity.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Prisma ↗

    “Free $0 / month Free forever. No credit card required. Prisma Compute 1M requests / month 360 GB-hours memory / month 4 active vCPU-hours / month [...] 500 MB storage 50 databases”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Entry paid plan

Supabase
$25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo.
Prisma Postgres
$10/month for Starter. Pro is $49 and Business $129, each including a larger request allowance.
Sources (2) →
  • Supabase Pricing ↗

    “$25/month [...] First project included. Additional projects from $10/mo. [...] Paid plans include $10/mo in compute credits, enough to cover one Micro instance.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Prisma ↗

    “Starter $10 / month Prisma Compute 5M requests / month, then $1 per million [...] Pro $49 / month [...] Business $129 / month”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Pricing model

Supabase
Fixed monthly plan per organisation plus per-project compute, billed hourly by instance size
Prisma Postgres
A plan fee plus usage: requests, memory GB-hours, active vCPU-hours and outbound bandwidth are each metered — $1 per million requests beyond the allowance, $0.006 per GB-hour, $0.064 per vCPU-hour, $0.025 per GB out.
Sources (2) →

Storage (entry plan)

Supabase
8 GB disk per project on the Pro plan; 500 MB on Free
Prisma Postgres
500 MB on the free plan across 50 databases. Paid plans raise the database count to 1,000 and beyond.
Sources (2) →

Engine

Supabase
PostgreSQL
Prisma Postgres
PostgreSQL.
Sources (2) →

Connection limit

Supabase

60 direct and 200 pooled connections on the Micro instance included with Pro; both scale with instance size

Prisma Postgres

100 pooled connections on Starter and 10 direct; 10 pooled on Free, 500 on Pro and 1,000 on Business.

Sources (2) →

When idle

Supabase
Free projects are paused after one week of inactivity and must be restored manually; paid projects are not paused
Prisma Postgres
Scales to zero when idle, and Prisma states an idle app costs nothing.
Sources (2) →

Backup retention

Supabase

Daily backups: 7 days on Pro, 14 days on Team, up to 30 days on Enterprise. Free projects get no automatic backups at all — Supabase tells free users to export their own data with the CLI.

Prisma Postgres

Daily backups with 7-day retention on Starter and Pro, 30 days on Business. The free plan has none.

Sources (2) →
  • Database Backups — Supabase Docs ↗

    “We automatically back up all Pro, Team, and Enterprise Plan projects on a daily basis. [...] Pro Plan projects can access the last 7 days of daily backups. Team Plan projects can access the last 14 days of daily backups, while Enterprise Plan projects can access up to 30 days of daily backups. [...] We recommend that free tier plan projects regularly export their data using the Supabase CLI db dump command and maintain off-site backups.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Prisma ↗

    “Backups Free — Starter Daily, 7-day retention Pro Daily, 7-day retention Business Daily, 30-day retention”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Support on entry paid plan

Supabase
Community support on Free; email support on Pro, the entry paid plan; priority email support and SLAs from Team; a designated support manager and 24/7/365 premium support on Enterprise.
Prisma Postgres
Community support on Free and Starter; standard support on Pro; premium on Business.
Sources (2) →
  • Supabase Pricing ↗

    “1 GB file storage Community support [...] 100 GB file storage then $0.0213 per GB Email support Daily backups stored for 7 days [...] Priority email support & SLAs Daily backups stored for 14 days”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Prisma Pricing ↗

    “platform support free community starter community pro standard business premium”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Credit card to startPrisma Postgres: No
When the free offer endsPrisma Postgres: Never — the free tier has no time limit.
Egress over allowanceSupabase: $0.09 per GB for uncached egress and $0.03 per GB for cached, charged only above the plan's quota. Egress restrictions clear at the next billing cycle, or immediately on upgrading or disabling the spend cap.
Startup credit programPrisma Postgres: Prisma for Startups: database bill covered up to $10,000 for one year, plus 1:1 guidance. Venture-funded track requires pre-seed/seed/Series-A funding raised in the last 12 months and founded in the last 5 years; bootstrapped track requires ≥5k MRR for 6 months and 2 full-time team members.
Included bandwidthSupabase: 250 GB uncached and 250 GB cached egress a month on Pro and Team, pooled across Database, Auth, Storage and every other service as one Unified Egress Quota
RegionsSupabase: 17 specific AWS regions across the Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific and South America, plus broader 'general region' groupings that place the project on an available AWS region within an area. General regions do not support read replicas or API management.
Uptime SLASupabase: Uptime SLAs are an Enterprise line item. No uptime percentage appears anywhere on the pricing page; Team lists "priority email support & SLAs" without a figure.
Database branchingSupabase: Supported
Point-in-time recoverySupabase: Point-in-time recovery is a paid add-on on Pro, Team and Enterprise, and needs at least a Small compute add-on alongside it. Worst-case recovery point is 2 minutes. Without it, restores go back only to a daily backup.
Read replicasSupabase: Supported
SOC 2Supabase: SOC 2 Type 2 compliant; report available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard.Prisma Postgres: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Prisma Postgres.
ISO 27001Supabase: ISO 27001 certified; certificate available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard.Prisma Postgres: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Prisma Postgres.
HIPAASupabase: HIPAA compliant; customers may store PHI after signing a BAA and meeting shared-responsibility obligations.Prisma Postgres: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Prisma Postgres.
GDPR / data residencySupabase: Projects hosted in EU regions keep primary database data in-region; a DPA is available.Prisma Postgres: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Prisma Postgres.
Encryption at restSupabase: AES-256 at rest and TLS in transit; sensitive tokens/keys get application-level encryption before storage.Prisma Postgres: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Prisma Postgres.
Role-based access controlSupabase: Organization members can be granted access to specific resources, including read-only and billing-only roles.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Supabase or Prisma Postgres?

Supabase: $25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo.

Prisma Postgres: $10/month for Starter. Pro is $49 and Business $129, each including a larger request allowance.

Storage (entry plan): Supabase or Prisma Postgres?

Supabase: 8 GB disk per project on the Pro plan; 500 MB on Free

Prisma Postgres: 500 MB on the free plan across 50 databases. Paid plans raise the database count to 1,000 and beyond.

Should I choose Supabase or Prisma Postgres?

Pick Supabase if Teams who want Postgres plus auth, storage and generated APIs from one vendor on a fixed monthly bill, and who would otherwise assemble those pieces themselves.

Pick Prisma Postgres if Prisma ORM users who want the database and the client from one vendor, with a pooled connection limit stated per plan rather than left to be discovered.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.