Skip to content
inetGeek

Vultr vs Hostinger VPS

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Vultr and Hostinger VPS built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 32 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Vultr if…

Teams that want cheap virtual machines with generous included transfer — 2 TB a month per account — and overage at a cent per gigabyte. Block storage and managed databases sit alongside.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Hostinger VPS if…

Running Docker applications on a cheap KVM server with root access, where 4 GB of RAM at the entry plan matters more than a managed control plane. The one-click catalog covers the usual self-hosted stack.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Vultr: The $2.50 entry plan is IPv6-only; the equivalent machine with IPv4 starts at $3.50, and stopped instances are still billed.
  • Hostinger VPS: The advertised price is introductory. Compare the two-year renewal rate, and note that Hostinger publishes continents rather than data centre locations, so you cannot pick a specific region before buying.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Vultr alternatives · Hostinger VPS alternatives

12 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionVultrHostinger VPS
Pricing
Entry paid plan
$2.50/month for vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6: 1 vCPU, 512 MB memory, 10 GB SSD, 512 GB bandwidth, IPv6 only — and available in two of Vultr's 33 regions, Newark and Atlanta. The first plan offered nearly everywhere is vc2-1c-1gb at $5.00, in 31 of them.
$11.99/month on renewal for KVM 1, on a two-year term. The advertised $6.49 is an introductory rate for the first term only.
Pricing modelHourly billing; Cloud Compute is billed up to 672 hours per month, with a one-hour minimum billing unitPrepaid multi-year terms at a discounted first term, renewing at roughly 1.85x. KVM 1 is $6.49/month on a two-year prepay and $11.99/month on renewal. Milder than the shared-hosting line, where the same structure renews at 3.7x.
Egress over allowance$0.01 per GBNo per-GB overage price; at the plan monthly bandwidth limit the VPS connection is throttled to 10 Mbps for the rest of the month, resetting at the start of the next month.
Limits
Storage (entry plan)
10 GB SSD on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, 1 vCPU, 512 MB, IPv6 only).
50 GB NVMe on KVM 1, the cheapest plan
Memory (entry plan)
0.5 GB on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, IPv6 only). The plans API reports it as "ram":512 without naming a unit.
4 GB RAM on KVM 1, the cheapest plan
Included bandwidth2 TB of free bandwidth per account per month, plus each running instance's own monthly cap allocated hourly4 TB on KVM 1, rising to 8 TB on KVM 2, 16 TB on KVM 4 and 32 TB on KVM 8
Deployment
ContainersSupportedSupported
Infrastructure
Persistent storageSupportedSupported
Regions33 regions across six continents: 11 in North America, 9 in Europe, 8 in Asia, 2 in Australia, 2 in South America and 1 in Africa.Data centers in North America, Europe, Asia and South America. Hostinger names the continents on the VPS page rather than listing the locations.
Compliance
SOC 2
To maintain a strong security posture, Vultr conducts quarterly penetration testing by certified ethical hackers (CEH/OSCP), real-time vulnerability scanning aligned with the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and annual SOC 2+ Type II audits.
Not SOC 2 certified; the Trust Center states Hostinger holds ISO/IEC 27001:2022 instead.
Encryption at rest
Vultr Block Storage and File Storage provide encryption for data in transit and at rest; OS-level encryption such as LUKS is advised in addition.
DPA security standards include encrypting Personal Data and sensitive data at rest in databases and shared directories. Hostinger-side processing measure; not a statement about customer-managed VPS disks.
Customer-managed keys
Object Storage supports SSE-C server-side encryption with a customer-provided key; the customer alone manages and safeguards those keys. Object Storage only; no platform key-management service found on the site.
Not supported: Hostinger states it does not currently support customer-managed KMS or BYOK and manages key management internally.
Role-based access controlIAM roles bundle policies for users or groups: assignable roles for permanent access, assumable roles for time-bound elevated sessions.Account Sharing grants a Collaborator or Admin role, scoped to selected services; each role has a different set of permissions.
Dedicated infrastructureBare Metal instances offer direct, unvirtualized access to dedicated physical servers; Cloud Compute by contrast runs in a virtualized environment.Each KVM VPS is a dedicated, isolated environment on a physical server, with CPU and RAM not shared with other users.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Entry paid plan

Vultr
$2.50/month for vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6: 1 vCPU, 512 MB memory, 10 GB SSD, 512 GB bandwidth, IPv6 only — and available in two of Vultr's 33 regions, Newark and Atlanta. The first plan offered nearly everywhere is vc2-1c-1gb at $5.00, in 31 of them.
Hostinger VPS
$11.99/month on renewal for KVM 1, on a two-year term. The advertised $6.49 is an introductory rate for the first term only.
Sources (2) →
  • List Plans — Vultr API v2 ↗

    “{"id":"vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6","vcpu_count":1,"ram":512,"disk":10,"disk_type":"SSD","disk_count":1,"bandwidth":512,"monthly_cost":2.5,"hourly_cost":0.003,"monthly_cost_preemptible":2.5,"hourly_cost_preemptible":0.003,"invoice_type":"monthly","type":"vc2","locations":["ewr","atl"]”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • VPS Hosting — Hostinger ↗

    “KVM 1 [...] Renews at $11.99/mo for 2 years. Cancel anytime.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

Pricing model

Vultr
Hourly billing; Cloud Compute is billed up to 672 hours per month, with a one-hour minimum billing unit
Hostinger VPS
Prepaid multi-year terms at a discounted first term, renewing at roughly 1.85x. KVM 1 is $6.49/month on a two-year prepay and $11.99/month on renewal. Milder than the shared-hosting line, where the same structure renews at 3.7x.
Sources (2) →
  • How Am I Billed for My Servers? | Vultr Docs ↗

    “Vultr bills all servers on an hourly basis. The billing model varies slightly based on the product type: GPU Instances: Billed up to 730 hours per month, aligned with the industry-standard monthly cap. All Other Server Types (including Cloud Compute, Optimized Cloud Compute, Bare Metal): Billed up to 672 hours per month.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

  • VPS Hosting — Hostinger ↗

    “KVM 1 $19.49 $6.49/mo Choose plan Renews at $11.99/mo for 2 years. Cancel anytime. [...] KVM 2 $24.49 $8.99/mo Choose plan Renews at $14.99/mo for 2 years.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Egress over allowance

Vultr
$0.01 per GB
Hostinger VPS
No per-GB overage price; at the plan monthly bandwidth limit the VPS connection is throttled to 10 Mbps for the rest of the month, resetting at the start of the next month.
Sources (2) →

Storage (entry plan)

Vultr

10 GB SSD on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, 1 vCPU, 512 MB, IPv6 only).

Hostinger VPS

50 GB NVMe on KVM 1, the cheapest plan

Sources (2) →

Memory (entry plan)

Vultr

0.5 GB on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, IPv6 only). The plans API reports it as "ram":512 without naming a unit.

Hostinger VPS

4 GB RAM on KVM 1, the cheapest plan

Sources (2) →

Included bandwidth

Vultr
2 TB of free bandwidth per account per month, plus each running instance's own monthly cap allocated hourly
Hostinger VPS
4 TB on KVM 1, rising to 8 TB on KVM 2, 16 TB on KVM 4 and 32 TB on KVM 8
Sources (2) →

Regions

Vultr
33 regions across six continents: 11 in North America, 9 in Europe, 8 in Asia, 2 in Australia, 2 in South America and 1 in Africa.
Hostinger VPS
Data centers in North America, Europe, Asia and South America. Hostinger names the continents on the VPS page rather than listing the locations.
Sources (2) →
  • List Regions — Vultr API v2 ↗

    “{"regions":[{"id":"ams","city":"Amsterdam","country":"NL","continent":"Europe" [...] {"id":"yto","city":"Toronto","country":"CA","continent":"North America","options":["ddos_protection","block_storage_storage_opt","load_balancers","kubernetes"],"connectivity":["public_ip","nat_gateway"]}],"meta":{"total":33”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • VPS Hosting — Hostinger ↗

    “Choose a server location close to your audience to boost loading speeds. We have data centers across North America, Europe, Asia, and South America.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official site · Report a correction

SOC 2

Vultr
To maintain a strong security posture, Vultr conducts quarterly penetration testing by certified ethical hackers (CEH/OSCP), real-time vulnerability scanning aligned with the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and annual SOC 2+ Type II audits.
Hostinger VPS
Not SOC 2 certified; the Trust Center states Hostinger holds ISO/IEC 27001:2022 instead.
Sources (2) →
  • Vultr Trust Center - Vultr.com ↗

    “To maintain a strong security posture, Vultr conducts quarterly penetration testing by certified ethical hackers (CEH/OSCP), real-time vulnerability scanning aligned with the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and annual SOC 2+ Type II audits.”

    Read 2026-09-22 · official site · Report a correction

  • Hostinger Trust Center - Knowledge Base (FAQ) ↗

    “Is your organization compliant with SOC 2? [...] Hostinger is not SOC 2 certified. However, we are certified under ISO/IEC 27001:2022, an internationally recognized information security management standard.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction

Encryption at rest

Vultr
Vultr Block Storage and File Storage provide encryption for data in transit and at rest; OS-level encryption such as LUKS is advised in addition.
Hostinger VPS
DPA security standards include encrypting Personal Data and sensitive data at rest in databases and shared directories. Hostinger-side processing measure; not a statement about customer-managed VPS disks.
Sources (2) →

Customer-managed keys

Vultr
Object Storage supports SSE-C server-side encryption with a customer-provided key; the customer alone manages and safeguards those keys. Object Storage only; no platform key-management service found on the site.
Hostinger VPS
Not supported: Hostinger states it does not currently support customer-managed KMS or BYOK and manages key management internally.
Sources (2) →
  • How to Use Server Side Encryption (SSE-C) with S3 Object Storage on Vultr ↗

    “SSE-C (Server-Side Encryption with Customer-Provided Key) allows users to provide their own encryption key, which the cloud service provider uses to encrypt data on the server side before storing it. [...] When using server-side encryption with customer-provided keys (SSE-C), the customer is solely responsible for managing and safeguarding their encryption keys.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Hostinger Trust Center - Knowledge Base (FAQ) ↗

    “Is a customer-managed KMS or BYOK supported? [...] Hostinger does not currently support customer-managed key management systems (KMS) or BYOK. [...] Hostinger manages its own encryption and key management internally; specific third-party KMS providers are not disclosed.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction

Role-based access control

Vultr
IAM roles bundle policies for users or groups: assignable roles for permanent access, assumable roles for time-bound elevated sessions.
Hostinger VPS
Account Sharing grants a Collaborator or Admin role, scoped to selected services; each role has a different set of permissions.
Sources (2) →
  • How to Create a Role - Vultr Docs ↗

    “Roles contain policies that specify what actions are allowed or denied on which resources. [...] Assignable roles provide permanent access and are attached directly to users or groups. [...] Assumable roles provide temporary, elevated access through time-bound sessions. Assumable roles support IP restrictions and trust-based assumption (by user, group, organization, or OIDC issuer).”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • How to share access to your account at Hostinger ↗

    “When you grant access, you choose a role for the shared user: Collaborator or Admin. Each role has a different set of permissions. [...] Here, you can determine an access level, select the services you wish to share, and determine if the user can set up pending orders by filling out the form.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Dedicated infrastructure

Vultr
Bare Metal instances offer direct, unvirtualized access to dedicated physical servers; Cloud Compute by contrast runs in a virtualized environment.
Hostinger VPS
Each KVM VPS is a dedicated, isolated environment on a physical server, with CPU and RAM not shared with other users.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Free tierHostinger VPS: No — KVM VPS plans appear only under the 30-day money-back guarantee, not among the free-trial offerings.
Kind of free offerHostinger VPS: No free offer
When you exceed a capVultr: Billed automatically — bandwidth above the plan quota is charged at an overage rate of $0.01 per GB.
Sites or apps includedVultr: An account-wide maximum-instances limit applies; the number is shown only in the Vultr Console under Billing > Limits and is not published (increases can be requested)
File, inode or volume limitVultr: Up to 16 Vultr Block Storage volumes can be attached to the same Cloud Compute instance
Managed connection poolingVultr: Supported
Docker deploymentHostinger VPS: Supported
Persistent processesHostinger VPS: Supported
Managed databasesVultr: Supported
Edge networkVultr: Supported
Scales to zeroVultr: Not supported
AutoscalingVultr: Limited
Backup retentionHostinger VPS: Automatic weekly backups included, plus manual snapshots. Hostinger does not state how many weekly backups are kept.
ISO 27001Hostinger VPS: ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified; certificate viewable in the Hostinger Trust Center.Vultr: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Vultr.
HIPAAHostinger VPS: Hostinger states its hosting services are not intended to provide a HIPAA-compliant environment.Vultr: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Vultr.
GDPR / data residencyHostinger VPS: GDPR Data Processing Addendum published; EU Standard Contractual Clauses apply to Customer Data transferred outside the EEA.Vultr: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Vultr.
PCI DSSHostinger VPS: Hostinger hosting plans are not designed to meet PCI (Payment Card Industry) compliance standards.Vultr: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Vultr.
Private networking / VPCVultr: VPC networks give instances a secure, isolated private IPv4 network, with auto-assigned or custom subnet ranges and optional custom static routes.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Vultr or Hostinger VPS?

Vultr: $2.50/month for vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6: 1 vCPU, 512 MB memory, 10 GB SSD, 512 GB bandwidth, IPv6 only — and available in two of Vultr's 33 regions, Newark and Atlanta. The first plan offered nearly everywhere is vc2-1c-1gb at $5.00, in 31 of them.

Hostinger VPS: $11.99/month on renewal for KVM 1, on a two-year term. The advertised $6.49 is an introductory rate for the first term only.

Egress over allowance: Vultr or Hostinger VPS?

Vultr: $0.01 per GB

Hostinger VPS: No per-GB overage price; at the plan monthly bandwidth limit the VPS connection is throttled to 10 Mbps for the rest of the month, resetting at the start of the next month.

Included bandwidth: Vultr or Hostinger VPS?

Vultr: 2 TB of free bandwidth per account per month, plus each running instance's own monthly cap allocated hourly

Hostinger VPS: 4 TB on KVM 1, rising to 8 TB on KVM 2, 16 TB on KVM 4 and 32 TB on KVM 8

Should I choose Vultr or Hostinger VPS?

Pick Vultr if Teams that want cheap virtual machines with generous included transfer — 2 TB a month per account — and overage at a cent per gigabyte. Block storage and managed databases sit alongside.

Pick Hostinger VPS if Running Docker applications on a cheap KVM server with root access, where 4 GB of RAM at the entry plan matters more than a managed control plane. The one-click catalog covers the usual self-hosted stack.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.