Skip to content
inetGeek

Vultr vs Linode (Akamai Cloud)

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Vultr and Linode (Akamai Cloud) built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 27 criteria comparedSources last checked

Adoption share

BuiltWith counts — how much more of the web runs Linode (Akamai Cloud) than Vultr, among the sites BuiltWith actually detects. Measured . Source: BuiltWith.

The short answer

Choose Vultr if…

Teams that want cheap virtual machines with generous included transfer — 2 TB a month per account — and overage at a cent per gigabyte. Block storage and managed databases sit alongside.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Linode (Akamai Cloud) if…

Akamai Cloud virtual machines from $5 a month in North America, with 1 TB of transfer included and egress at half a cent per gigabyte in core data centres.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Vultr: The $2.50 entry plan is IPv6-only; the equivalent machine with IPv4 starts at $3.50, and stopped instances are still billed.
  • Linode (Akamai Cloud): Pricing varies by region, so the North American rate is not what you will pay everywhere, and stopped instances continue to bill.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Vultr alternatives · Linode alternatives

15 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionVultrLinode (Akamai Cloud)
Pricing
Entry paid plan
$2.50/month for vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6: 1 vCPU, 512 MB memory, 10 GB SSD, 512 GB bandwidth, IPv6 only — and available in two of Vultr's 33 regions, Newark and Atlanta. The first plan offered nearly everywhere is vc2-1c-1gb at $5.00, in 31 of them.
$5.00/month for g6-nanode-1, the Nanode 1GB shared-CPU plan. Two regions are priced above it: $6.00 in Jakarta and $7.00 in São Paulo.
Pricing modelHourly billing; Cloud Compute is billed up to 672 hours per month, with a one-hour minimum billing unitHybrid hourly billing, invoiced monthly, with hourly usage capped at each service's monthly rate
Egress over allowance$0.01 per GB0.005 for Network Transfer, with regional overrides of 0.015 in Jakarta and 0.007 in São Paulo, and 0.01 for Distributed Network Transfer. Published in Linode's API rather than in documentation: the techdocs page carried these as per-GB rates until it was edited on 14 September 2026 to remove them and point at a pricing page that refuses this checker. The API's price field is named "hourly", which transfer is not billed by, so no unit is asserted here.
When you exceed a capBilled automatically — bandwidth above the plan quota is charged at an overage rate of $0.01 per GB.Billed automatically and by region: transfer over the monthly allotment is charged at the service region's rate, all transfer is billed where no allowance is included, and the charge lands at the end of the billing period. The rates themselves left this page on 14 September 2026 — see egress_overage_price for where they are now.
Limits
Storage (entry plan)
10 GB SSD on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, 1 vCPU, 512 MB, IPv6 only).
25 GB on the Nanode 1GB plan, the cheapest Linode at $5.00/month. The types API reports it as "disk": 25600.
Memory (entry plan)
0.5 GB on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, IPv6 only). The plans API reports it as "ram":512 without naming a unit.
1 GB on the Nanode 1GB plan, the cheapest Linode at $5.00/month. The types API reports it as "memory": 1024.
Included bandwidth2 TB of free bandwidth per account per month, plus each running instance's own monthly cap allocated hourly1 TB per month on the Nanode 1GB plan, the cheapest Linode; larger shared-CPU plans include more.
File, inode or volume limit
Up to 16 Vultr Block Storage volumes can be attached to the same Cloud Compute instance
250 Block Storage volumes per account across all regions (default global quota; increases can be requested)
Execution
Managed connection poolingSupportedSupported
Deployment
ContainersSupportedSupported
Infrastructure
Persistent storageSupportedSupported
Managed databasesSupportedSupported
Scales to zeroNot supportedNot supported
AutoscalingLimitedLimited
Regions
33 regions across six continents: 11 in North America, 9 in Europe, 8 in Asia, 2 in Australia, 2 in South America and 1 in Africa.
33 regions listed by the Linode API v4 /regions endpoint on 2026-09-13 (every entry returned has site_type core)
Compliance
SOC 2To maintain a strong security posture, Vultr conducts quarterly penetration testing by certified ethical hackers (CEH/OSCP), real-time vulnerability scanning aligned with the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and annual SOC 2+ Type II audits.Akamai cites its information security compliance with standards such as SOC 2 in the Akamai Cloud disk encryption documentation. Stated in passing in product docs; Akamai's Trust Center requires requesting access to see reports.
Encryption at restVultr Block Storage and File Storage provide encryption for data in transit and at rest; OS-level encryption such as LUKS is advised in addition.Local disk encryption is enabled by default on all Linodes, with the platform managing encryption and decryption. Same page notes backups are not encrypted even when taken from an encrypted disk.
Customer-managed keysObject Storage supports SSE-C server-side encryption with a customer-provided key; the customer alone manages and safeguards those keys. Object Storage only; no platform key-management service found on the site.Platform-managed only; docs state the platform manages disk and Block Storage volume encryption and decryption, and document no customer-supplied key option. No mention of BYOK, KMS, SSE-C or customer-managed keys in any of the 394 Akamai Cloud guides.
Role-based access controlIAM roles bundle policies for users or groups: assignable roles for permanent access, assumable roles for time-bound elevated sessions.Identity and Access uses an RBAC model: fine-grained per-endpoint permissions combined into predefined roles assigned to users. Natively enabled for Linodes, Cloud Firewall, NodeBalancer, Volume, Image and VPC.
Private networking / VPCVPC networks give instances a secure, isolated private IPv4 network, with auto-assigned or custom subnet ranges and optional custom static routes.VPC traffic is walled off from the public internet and from other services in the same data center; VPCs cost nothing extra.
Dedicated infrastructureBare Metal instances offer direct, unvirtualized access to dedicated physical servers; Cloud Compute by contrast runs in a virtualized environment.Dedicated CPU plans reserve each assigned vCPU core exclusively for your instance, with no contention from neighboring users.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Entry paid plan

Vultr
$2.50/month for vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6: 1 vCPU, 512 MB memory, 10 GB SSD, 512 GB bandwidth, IPv6 only — and available in two of Vultr's 33 regions, Newark and Atlanta. The first plan offered nearly everywhere is vc2-1c-1gb at $5.00, in 31 of them.
Linode (Akamai Cloud)
$5.00/month for g6-nanode-1, the Nanode 1GB shared-CPU plan. Two regions are priced above it: $6.00 in Jakarta and $7.00 in São Paulo.
Sources (2) →
  • List Plans — Vultr API v2 ↗

    “{"id":"vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6","vcpu_count":1,"ram":512,"disk":10,"disk_type":"SSD","disk_count":1,"bandwidth":512,"monthly_cost":2.5,"hourly_cost":0.003,"monthly_cost_preemptible":2.5,"hourly_cost_preemptible":0.003,"invoice_type":"monthly","type":"vc2","locations":["ewr","atl"]”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • List Types — Linode API v4 ↗

    “{"id": "g6-nanode-1", "label": "Nanode 1GB", "price": {"hourly": 0.0075, "monthly": 5.0}, "region_prices": [{"id": "id-cgk", "hourly": 0.009, "monthly": 6.0}, {"id": "br-gru", "hourly": 0.0105, "monthly": 7.0}]”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

Pricing model

Vultr
Hourly billing; Cloud Compute is billed up to 672 hours per month, with a one-hour minimum billing unit
Linode (Akamai Cloud)
Hybrid hourly billing, invoiced monthly, with hourly usage capped at each service's monthly rate
Sources (2) →
  • How Am I Billed for My Servers? | Vultr Docs ↗

    “Vultr bills all servers on an hourly basis. The billing model varies slightly based on the product type: GPU Instances: Billed up to 730 hours per month, aligned with the industry-standard monthly cap. All Other Server Types (including Cloud Compute, Optimized Cloud Compute, Bare Metal): Billed up to 672 hours per month.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Billing ↗

    “Akamai uses a hybrid hourly billing model that's simple and flexible. You can continuously add, modify, and remove services throughout the month. Once the month ends, you receive an invoice for the hourly usage of each service up to the monthly cap.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Egress over allowance

Vultr
$0.01 per GB
Linode (Akamai Cloud)
0.005 for Network Transfer, with regional overrides of 0.015 in Jakarta and 0.007 in São Paulo, and 0.01 for Distributed Network Transfer. Published in Linode's API rather than in documentation: the techdocs page carried these as per-GB rates until it was edited on 14 September 2026 to remove them and point at a pricing page that refuses this checker. The API's price field is named "hourly", which transfer is not billed by, so no unit is asserted here.
Sources (2) →

When you exceed a cap

Vultr
Billed automatically — bandwidth above the plan quota is charged at an overage rate of $0.01 per GB.
Linode (Akamai Cloud)
Billed automatically and by region: transfer over the monthly allotment is charged at the service region's rate, all transfer is billed where no allowance is included, and the charge lands at the end of the billing period. The rates themselves left this page on 14 September 2026 — see egress_overage_price for where they are now.
Sources (2) →

Storage (entry plan)

Vultr

10 GB SSD on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, 1 vCPU, 512 MB, IPv6 only).

Linode (Akamai Cloud)

25 GB on the Nanode 1GB plan, the cheapest Linode at $5.00/month. The types API reports it as "disk": 25600.

Sources (2) →

Memory (entry plan)

Vultr

0.5 GB on the cheapest paid Cloud Compute plan ($2.50/month, IPv6 only). The plans API reports it as "ram":512 without naming a unit.

Linode (Akamai Cloud)

1 GB on the Nanode 1GB plan, the cheapest Linode at $5.00/month. The types API reports it as "memory": 1024.

Sources (2) →

Included bandwidth

Vultr
2 TB of free bandwidth per account per month, plus each running instance's own monthly cap allocated hourly
Linode (Akamai Cloud)
1 TB per month on the Nanode 1GB plan, the cheapest Linode; larger shared-CPU plans include more.
Sources (2) →

File, inode or volume limit

Vultr

Up to 16 Vultr Block Storage volumes can be attached to the same Cloud Compute instance

Linode (Akamai Cloud)

250 Block Storage volumes per account across all regions (default global quota; increases can be requested)

Sources (2) →

Regions

Vultr

33 regions across six continents: 11 in North America, 9 in Europe, 8 in Asia, 2 in Australia, 2 in South America and 1 in Africa.

Linode (Akamai Cloud)

33 regions listed by the Linode API v4 /regions endpoint on 2026-09-13 (every entry returned has site_type core)

Sources (2) →
  • List Regions — Vultr API v2 ↗

    “{"regions":[{"id":"ams","city":"Amsterdam","country":"NL","continent":"Europe" [...] {"id":"yto","city":"Toronto","country":"CA","continent":"North America","options":["ddos_protection","block_storage_storage_opt","load_balancers","kubernetes"],"connectivity":["public_ip","nat_gateway"]}],"meta":{"total":33”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Linode API v4 - List Regions ↗

    “"page": 1, "pages": 1, "results": 33”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

SOC 2

Vultr
To maintain a strong security posture, Vultr conducts quarterly penetration testing by certified ethical hackers (CEH/OSCP), real-time vulnerability scanning aligned with the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and annual SOC 2+ Type II audits.
Linode (Akamai Cloud)
Akamai cites its information security compliance with standards such as SOC 2 in the Akamai Cloud disk encryption documentation. Stated in passing in product docs; Akamai's Trust Center requires requesting access to see reports.
Sources (2) →
  • Vultr Trust Center - Vultr.com ↗

    “To maintain a strong security posture, Vultr conducts quarterly penetration testing by certified ethical hackers (CEH/OSCP), real-time vulnerability scanning aligned with the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and annual SOC 2+ Type II audits.”

    Read 2026-09-22 · official site · Report a correction

  • Disk encryption | Akamai Cloud TechDocs ↗

    “In addition to Akamai's information security compliance with standards such as SOC 2, disk encryption provides further protections by keeping data encrypted”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Encryption at rest

Vultr
Vultr Block Storage and File Storage provide encryption for data in transit and at rest; OS-level encryption such as LUKS is advised in addition.
Linode (Akamai Cloud)
Local disk encryption is enabled by default on all Linodes, with the platform managing encryption and decryption. Same page notes backups are not encrypted even when taken from an encrypted disk.
Sources (2) →

Customer-managed keys

Vultr
Object Storage supports SSE-C server-side encryption with a customer-provided key; the customer alone manages and safeguards those keys. Object Storage only; no platform key-management service found on the site.
Linode (Akamai Cloud)
Platform-managed only; docs state the platform manages disk and Block Storage volume encryption and decryption, and document no customer-supplied key option. No mention of BYOK, KMS, SSE-C or customer-managed keys in any of the 394 Akamai Cloud guides.
Sources (2) →

Role-based access control

Vultr
IAM roles bundle policies for users or groups: assignable roles for permanent access, assumable roles for time-bound elevated sessions.
Linode (Akamai Cloud)
Identity and Access uses an RBAC model: fine-grained per-endpoint permissions combined into predefined roles assigned to users. Natively enabled for Linodes, Cloud Firewall, NodeBalancer, Volume, Image and VPC.
Sources (2) →
  • How to Create a Role - Vultr Docs ↗

    “Roles contain policies that specify what actions are allowed or denied on which resources. [...] Assignable roles provide permanent access and are attached directly to users or groups. [...] Assumable roles provide temporary, elevated access through time-bound sessions. Assumable roles support IP restrictions and trust-based assumption (by user, group, organization, or OIDC issuer).”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Identity and Access in Akamai Cloud | Akamai Cloud TechDocs ↗

    “Identity and Access uses the role-based access control (RBAC) model to authorize operations on entities. [...] each service has a set of fine-grained permissions that control access to a specific service API endpoint. These permissions are then combined into predefined, functional roles that can be assigned to users.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Private networking / VPC

Vultr
VPC networks give instances a secure, isolated private IPv4 network, with auto-assigned or custom subnet ranges and optional custom static routes.
Linode (Akamai Cloud)
VPC traffic is walled off from the public internet and from other services in the same data center; VPCs cost nothing extra.
Sources (2) →
  • How to Create a VPC Network - Vultr Docs ↗

    “A Vultr Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) network creates a secure and isolated private networking environment for instances to connect and share resources. A VPC network supports IPv4 network addresses to enable communication and data sharing between instances.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • VPC | Akamai Cloud TechDocs ↗

    “Networking packets sent over a VPC are walled off from the public internet as well as from other services within the same data center that don't belong to the same VPC. [...] VPCs are provided at no additional cost.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Dedicated infrastructure

Vultr
Bare Metal instances offer direct, unvirtualized access to dedicated physical servers; Cloud Compute by contrast runs in a virtualized environment.
Linode (Akamai Cloud)
Dedicated CPU plans reserve each assigned vCPU core exclusively for your instance, with no contention from neighboring users.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Free tierLinode (Akamai Cloud): No — Only free offer published is a US$100 credit for new customers, not an ongoing free plan.
Kind of free offerLinode (Akamai Cloud): Free credit
Sites or apps includedVultr: An account-wide maximum-instances limit applies; the number is shown only in the Vultr Console under Billing > Limits and is not published (increases can be requested)
Edge networkVultr: Supported
HIPAALinode (Akamai Cloud): Akamai lists Compute (Dedicated/Shared CPU, High Memory, GPU, LKE), Storage, NodeBalancers and Cloud Manager among the services in scope for HIPAA/HITECH. Read from a failover copy of the compliance-programs page on 13 September 2026. As of 15 September both that copy and www.akamai.com/legal/compliance answer 403 to this checker, so neither can be re-read.Vultr: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Vultr.
GDPR / data residencyLinode (Akamai Cloud): Workloads can be placed in specific geographies, across core and distributed sites, to meet data residency and regulatory requirements. Page describes region placement for residency; it does not mention GDPR.Vultr: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Vultr.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Vultr or Linode (Akamai Cloud)?

Vultr: $2.50/month for vc2-1c-0.5gb-v6: 1 vCPU, 512 MB memory, 10 GB SSD, 512 GB bandwidth, IPv6 only — and available in two of Vultr's 33 regions, Newark and Atlanta. The first plan offered nearly everywhere is vc2-1c-1gb at $5.00, in 31 of them.

Linode (Akamai Cloud): $5.00/month for g6-nanode-1, the Nanode 1GB shared-CPU plan. Two regions are priced above it: $6.00 in Jakarta and $7.00 in São Paulo.

Egress over allowance: Vultr or Linode (Akamai Cloud)?

Vultr: $0.01 per GB

Linode (Akamai Cloud): 0.005 for Network Transfer, with regional overrides of 0.015 in Jakarta and 0.007 in São Paulo, and 0.01 for Distributed Network Transfer. Published in Linode's API rather than in documentation: the techdocs page carried these as per-GB rates until it was edited on 14 September 2026 to remove them and point at a pricing page that refuses this checker. The API's price field is named "hourly", which transfer is not billed by, so no unit is asserted here.

When you exceed a cap: Vultr or Linode (Akamai Cloud)?

Vultr: Billed automatically — bandwidth above the plan quota is charged at an overage rate of $0.01 per GB.

Linode (Akamai Cloud): Billed automatically and by region: transfer over the monthly allotment is charged at the service region's rate, all transfer is billed where no allowance is included, and the charge lands at the end of the billing period. The rates themselves left this page on 14 September 2026 — see egress_overage_price for where they are now.

Should I choose Vultr or Linode (Akamai Cloud)?

Pick Vultr if Teams that want cheap virtual machines with generous included transfer — 2 TB a month per account — and overage at a cent per gigabyte. Block storage and managed databases sit alongside.

Pick Linode (Akamai Cloud) if Akamai Cloud virtual machines from $5 a month in North America, with 1 TB of transfer included and egress at half a cent per gigabyte in core data centres.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.