Skip to content
inetGeek

WP Engine vs Pressable

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of WP Engine and Pressable built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 26 criteria comparedSources last checked

Adoption share

BuiltWith counts — how much more of the web runs WP Engine than Pressable, among the sites BuiltWith actually detects. Measured . Source: BuiltWith.

The short answer

Choose WP Engine if…

WordPress teams that deploy with Git rather than SFTP — GitPush works over SSH — and want bandwidth overages handled by a conversation rather than an automatic charge on shared plans.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Pressable if…

A single WordPress site that needs Automattic's own infrastructure and Jetpack Security included rather than bolted on, with hourly backups and a visit allowance rather than a CPU quota.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • WP Engine: Scripts must finish inside 60 seconds; the execution limit can be lowered but not raised.
  • Pressable: You want more than one install cheaply — the entry plan is one site, and the next tier triples the price. Billing is annual, so there is no low-commitment month to try it.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: WP Engine alternatives · Pressable alternatives

16 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionWP EnginePressable
Pricing
Free tierNo — Plans page advertises only paid tiers; no free plan or free trial is listed on it.No — Cheapest plan is Signature 1 at $250/year; entry risk is a 30-day money-back guarantee, not a free plan.
Kind of free offerNo free offerNo free offer
Entry paid plan
Starting at $28.00/month for the Managed Hosting Platform, quoted in USD; $336.00 if billed annually. On 14 September 2026 the same URL also served a euro-priced variant at €25.60/month, to roughly one request in eight; thirty consecutive samples on 15 September returned only the dollar-priced body, so that behaviour is recorded as observed and not as current.
$20.83/month for Signature 1, billed $250 a year. Monthly billing is offered at a higher rate; the yearly plan advertises two months free.
Pricing modelTiered subscription plans (Essential, Core, Enterprise) configured by capacity - sites, visits and storage - billed monthly or annually, with 20% off annual Essential; additional sites are $20 (USD) per month each.Per-plan annual subscription metered by monthly visits and storage, sold by number of WordPress installs. No usage-based compute billing.
Limits
Storage (entry plan)
10 GB storage on the Essential plan at its cheapest capacity tier (1 site, 25,000 visits a month)
20 GB on Signature 1, the cheapest plan; 35 GB on Signature 3
Sites or apps included
1 site on the entry Essential tier (1–30 across Essential capacity tiers); additional sites $20/month each
1 WordPress install on Signature 1, the cheapest plan
Monthly visits cap
25,000 visits/mo on the Essential plan at its cheapest capacity tier
Up to 30,000 monthly visits on Signature 1; 75,000 on Signature 3, rising to 2 million on the largest Signature plan
Included bandwidth75 GB per month on Essential plans, 550 GB on Core and 550 GB+ on Enterprise, measured as gigabytes transferred per month.Unlimited bandwidth on all plans, with no overage charges during traffic surges.
Infrastructure
RegionsGoogle Cloud: Iowa (us-central1), South Carolina (us-east1), Montreal (northamerica-northeast1), Belgium (europe-west1), London (europe-west2), Frankfurt (europe-west3), Netherlands (europe-west4) and others; some regions carry upgraded pricing.Four data centers: AMS Amsterdam (Netherlands), DCA Washington DC, BUR Los Angeles CA and DFW Dallas TX; a default data center is selectable in account settings.
Uptime SLAA 99.99% uptime guarantee from Core upward. Essential, the entry plan, does not list one.100% network availability guaranteed in a given month, excluding scheduled maintenance. The SLA covers three components; this is the network one.
Compliance
SOC 2
SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 reports are available on request from an Account Manager or WP Engine Sales; they are not published on the site.
Datacenter-level: Pressable uses multiple datacenters worldwide, each with at least SOC 2 Type 2 compliance; per-datacenter reports listed for four sites.
ISO 27001
ISO 27001:2022 certified; the certification is available on request via an Account Manager or WP Engine Sales.
Datacenter-level: ISO/IEC 27001:2013 listed for the Los Angeles, Ashburn and Amsterdam datacenters; Dallas-Fort Worth lists SOC 2 + CSA Star Type 2 and SOC 3.
HIPAANo - the Acceptable Use Policy forbids using the Services to store or process Protected Health Information as defined under HIPAA.Not HIPAA compliant; standard form plugins should not be used with Pressable to collect or store patient health information.
GDPR / data residency
Hosting region is customer-selectable and includes EU locations (Belgium, London, Netherlands, Finland, Frankfurt); moves between regions by Support request.
Committed to operating in accordance with GDPR principles; will enter a Data Protection Agreement with customers on request via legal@pressable.com.
PCI DSSWP Engine does not store, process or transmit cardholder data, and its Acceptable Use Policy prohibits customers from doing so on the platform.Comparison landing page says Pressable hosting adheres to compliance regulations including PCI-DSS; no PCI attestation, level or scope published. Marketing claim only; the Datacenter Certifications KB lists SOC 1/2/3 and ISO, not PCI DSS.
Encryption at restAll data on WP Engine servers is encrypted at rest and in transit by default; backup media is encrypted as well.All data at rest, including site files, databases and backups, is encrypted by default; described as a control verified in Pressable's SOC 2 reports.
Role-based access controlUser Portal roles - Owner, Full (with/without billing) and Partial (with/without billing) - scope environment, billing and user-management actions.Per-site and account-level collaborators with individually selectable permissions; a collaborator can view/edit only the aspects they have permissions for.
Dedicated infrastructurePremium plans are fully self-contained environments not shared with other WP Engine customers; other customers get logically separate environments. The plans page separately marks Core and Enterprise environment type as "Isolated" and Essential as "Shared".Per-site dedicated PHP workers: 5 (5 vCPUs, 1:1, 512MB each, no shared memory pools) per site on Signature plans; Premium starts at 10 base vCPUs per site.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Entry paid plan

WP Engine
Starting at $28.00/month for the Managed Hosting Platform, quoted in USD; $336.00 if billed annually. On 14 September 2026 the same URL also served a euro-priced variant at €25.60/month, to roughly one request in eight; thirty consecutive samples on 15 September returned only the dollar-priced body, so that behaviour is recorded as observed and not as current.
Pressable
$20.83/month for Signature 1, billed $250 a year. Monthly billing is offered at a higher rate; the yearly plan advertises two months free.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

WP Engine
Tiered subscription plans (Essential, Core, Enterprise) configured by capacity - sites, visits and storage - billed monthly or annually, with 20% off annual Essential; additional sites are $20 (USD) per month each.
Pressable
Per-plan annual subscription metered by monthly visits and storage, sold by number of WordPress installs. No usage-based compute billing.
Sources (2) →

Storage (entry plan)

WP Engine

10 GB storage on the Essential plan at its cheapest capacity tier (1 site, 25,000 visits a month)

Pressable

20 GB on Signature 1, the cheapest plan; 35 GB on Signature 3

Sources (2) →
  • WP Engine Plans ↗

    “Choose your capacity 1 site 25,000 visits /mo per month 10 GB storage Regular price Discounted price / per Best Value Up to 3 sites 75,000 visits /mo per month 15 GB storage”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pressable Plans and Pricing ↗

    “Signature 1 $ 20.83 /mo Billed $250 USD per year 1 WordPress Install Up to 30K Visits 20GB Storage Start Now Signature 3 $ 50.00 /mo”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

Sites or apps included

WP Engine

1 site on the entry Essential tier (1–30 across Essential capacity tiers); additional sites $20/month each

Pressable

1 WordPress install on Signature 1, the cheapest plan

Sources (2) →

Monthly visits cap

WP Engine

25,000 visits/mo on the Essential plan at its cheapest capacity tier

Pressable

Up to 30,000 monthly visits on Signature 1; 75,000 on Signature 3, rising to 2 million on the largest Signature plan

Sources (2) →

Included bandwidth

WP Engine
75 GB per month on Essential plans, 550 GB on Core and 550 GB+ on Enterprise, measured as gigabytes transferred per month.
Pressable
Unlimited bandwidth on all plans, with no overage charges during traffic surges.
Sources (2) →

Regions

WP Engine
Google Cloud: Iowa (us-central1), South Carolina (us-east1), Montreal (northamerica-northeast1), Belgium (europe-west1), London (europe-west2), Frankfurt (europe-west3), Netherlands (europe-west4) and others; some regions carry upgraded pricing.
Pressable
Four data centers: AMS Amsterdam (Netherlands), DCA Washington DC, BUR Los Angeles CA and DFW Dallas TX; a default data center is selectable in account settings.
Sources (2) →
  • Server locations — WP Engine Support ↗

    “Below are all of the Google datacenter locations that a WP Engine website can be located in. [...] Region Location Region ID North America Iowa us-central1 North America South Carolina us-east1 North America Montreal northamerica-northeast1 Europe Belgium europe-west1 Europe London europe-west2”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Where Are Pressable Data Centers Located? | Pressable ↗

    “Data Center Locations Our data centers are in the following locations: AMS: Amsterdam , Netherlands DCA: Washington, DC BUR: Los Angeles, CA DFW: Dallas, TX [...] Yes. To select a default datacenter you can go to”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

WP Engine
A 99.99% uptime guarantee from Core upward. Essential, the entry plan, does not list one.
Pressable
100% network availability guaranteed in a given month, excluding scheduled maintenance. The SLA covers three components; this is the network one.
Sources (2) →
  • WP Engine Plans & Pricing ↗

    “Core Power higher-demand sites with dedicated infrastructure and priority support. [...] Isolated resources Managed migration services 99.99% uptime guarantee AI powered plugin updates”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pressable SLA ↗

    “we guarantee that our data center network will be available 100% of the time in a given month, excluding scheduled maintenance.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

SOC 2

WP Engine
SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 reports are available on request from an Account Manager or WP Engine Sales; they are not published on the site.
Pressable
Datacenter-level: Pressable uses multiple datacenters worldwide, each with at least SOC 2 Type 2 compliance; per-datacenter reports listed for four sites.
Sources (2) →

ISO 27001

WP Engine
ISO 27001:2022 certified; the certification is available on request via an Account Manager or WP Engine Sales.
Pressable
Datacenter-level: ISO/IEC 27001:2013 listed for the Los Angeles, Ashburn and Amsterdam datacenters; Dallas-Fort Worth lists SOC 2 + CSA Star Type 2 and SOC 3.
Sources (2) →

HIPAA

WP Engine
No - the Acceptable Use Policy forbids using the Services to store or process Protected Health Information as defined under HIPAA.
Pressable
Not HIPAA compliant; standard form plugins should not be used with Pressable to collect or store patient health information.
Sources (2) →
  • Acceptable Use Policy - WP Engine ↗

    “You are not permitted to use or cause the Services to store or process sensitive or otherwise regulated health or financial information, including Protected Health Information (as that term is defined under HIPAA), cardholder data protected under PCI DSS regulations (such as credit or debit card data), or other financial data (including any financial account details).”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction

  • Is Pressable HIPAA Compliant? | Pressable ↗

    “Pressable is not HIPAA compliant and standard form solutions (e.g. GravityForms, WPForms, NinjaForms) should not be used in conjunction with”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

GDPR / data residency

WP Engine
Hosting region is customer-selectable and includes EU locations (Belgium, London, Netherlands, Finland, Frankfurt); moves between regions by Support request.
Pressable
Committed to operating in accordance with GDPR principles; will enter a Data Protection Agreement with customers on request via legal@pressable.com.
Sources (2) →
  • Change a Website Data Center Location | WP Engine Support ↗

    “However, sometimes data privacy laws require sites to be located on servers in specific regions. [...] All shared plans are created by default on Google Cloud Services in the region closest to your location at signup. Your website can be migrated to another region by Support request.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) | Pressable ↗

    “Pressable is committed to operating in accordance with the principles of the GDPR. We are making a number of upgrades to our systems and policies, in line with the requirements of the new law. [...] We are happy to enter into a Data Protection Agreement with you, which should address your GDPR related legal and compliance requirements.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction

PCI DSS

WP Engine
WP Engine does not store, process or transmit cardholder data, and its Acceptable Use Policy prohibits customers from doing so on the platform.
Pressable
Comparison landing page says Pressable hosting adheres to compliance regulations including PCI-DSS; no PCI attestation, level or scope published. Marketing claim only; the Datacenter Certifications KB lists SOC 1/2/3 and ISO, not PCI DSS.
Sources (2) →
  • Configure PCI Compliance Settings | WP Engine Support ↗

    “WP Engine does not store, process, or transmit cardholder data on our platform, and our Acceptable Use Policy prohibits you from doing the same. [...] WP Engine's Acceptable Use Policy prohibits you from using our Services to store, process, or transmit cardholder data.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pressable vs. Kinsta ↗

    “Pressable’s hosting adheres to many necessary compliance regulations (PCI-DSS, GDPR) and enterprise accounts receive dedicated, expert account managers and support.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official site · Report a correction

Encryption at rest

WP Engine
All data on WP Engine servers is encrypted at rest and in transit by default; backup media is encrypted as well.
Pressable
All data at rest, including site files, databases and backups, is encrypted by default; described as a control verified in Pressable's SOC 2 reports.
Sources (2) →

Role-based access control

WP Engine
User Portal roles - Owner, Full (with/without billing) and Partial (with/without billing) - scope environment, billing and user-management actions.
Pressable
Per-site and account-level collaborators with individually selectable permissions; a collaborator can view/edit only the aspects they have permissions for.
Sources (2) →

Dedicated infrastructure

WP Engine
Premium plans are fully self-contained environments not shared with other WP Engine customers; other customers get logically separate environments. The plans page separately marks Core and Enterprise environment type as "Isolated" and Essential as "Shared".
Pressable
Per-site dedicated PHP workers: 5 (5 vCPUs, 1:1, 512MB each, no shared memory pools) per site on Signature plans; Premium starts at 10 base vCPUs per site.
Sources (2) →
  • Understand WP Engine's Security Environment | WP Engine Support ↗

    “Yes. We offer dedicated environments for customers of various profiles. Our Premium hosting solutions are fully self-contained environments, not shared with other WP Engine customers. [...] We offer fully segregated hosting environments for all of our customers, both shared and Premium.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • WordPress Hosting Plans From Pressable ↗

    “5 Dedicated PHP Workers (5 vCPUs) Per Site Additional PHP Worker Burst Capacity [...] Dedicated PHP Workers (1:1, 512MB Each) No shared memory pools Shared / pooled resources [...] Starting at 10 Base vCPUs Per Site”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Egress over allowanceWP Engine: No bandwidth overage charge on Shared plans
When you exceed a capWP Engine: Not throttled or cut off; billed $2 per 1,000 extra monthly visitors
Max request durationWP Engine: 60 seconds
Git deploymentWP Engine: Supported — Via GitPush, WP Engine's own tool, over SSH keys rather than a connected repository.
Scheduled jobsWP Engine: Supported — Alternate Cron is server-based and checks for due events every minute; default wp-cron fires on page visits.
Edge networkWP Engine: Limited — Global Edge Security is a paid add-on: Cloudflare CDN, WAF, DDoS mitigation and SSL, not included by default.
Backup retentionPressable: Hourly and daily backups. Pressable does not state a retention period on the pricing page.
Support on entry paid planWP Engine: 24/7 technical support on Essential, the entry plan; Core adds priority support alongside dedicated infrastructure.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: WP Engine or Pressable?

WP Engine: Starting at $28.00/month for the Managed Hosting Platform, quoted in USD; $336.00 if billed annually. On 14 September 2026 the same URL also served a euro-priced variant at €25.60/month, to roughly one request in eight; thirty consecutive samples on 15 September returned only the dollar-priced body, so that behaviour is recorded as observed and not as current.

Pressable: $20.83/month for Signature 1, billed $250 a year. Monthly billing is offered at a higher rate; the yearly plan advertises two months free.

Included bandwidth: WP Engine or Pressable?

WP Engine: 75 GB per month on Essential plans, 550 GB on Core and 550 GB+ on Enterprise, measured as gigabytes transferred per month.

Pressable: Unlimited bandwidth on all plans, with no overage charges during traffic surges.

Storage (entry plan): WP Engine or Pressable?

WP Engine: 10 GB storage on the Essential plan at its cheapest capacity tier (1 site, 25,000 visits a month)

Pressable: 20 GB on Signature 1, the cheapest plan; 35 GB on Signature 3

Should I choose WP Engine or Pressable?

Pick WP Engine if WordPress teams that deploy with Git rather than SFTP — GitPush works over SSH — and want bandwidth overages handled by a conversation rather than an automatic charge on shared plans.

Pick Pressable if A single WordPress site that needs Automattic's own infrastructure and Jetpack Security included rather than bolted on, with hourly backups and a visit allowance rather than a CPU quota.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.