Skip to content
inetGeek

Auth0 vs SuperTokens

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Auth0 and SuperTokens built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 25 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Auth0 if…

Projects that fit inside the free 25,000 monthly active users, which includes an enterprise connection, self-service SSO and SCIM at no cost.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose SuperTokens if…

Teams that want to run auth themselves and keep the user table in their own database, with a managed option priced per user rather than per plan.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Auth0: Leaving the free plan is a cliff rather than a step: paid tiers begin at 500 MAU, and a footnote says enterprise connections, SSO and SCIM need a B2B upgrade to keep.
  • SuperTokens: The $100 monthly minimum makes it expensive below about 5,000 users, and MFA is a separate per-user charge rather than an included feature.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Auth0 alternatives · SuperTokens alternatives

12 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionAuth0SuperTokens
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierAlways free
What the free plan includes25,000 monthly active users at no cost and no credit card to sign up.The open-source features are free at any scale when self-hosted, with no user cap; only the paid add-ons and the managed service are billed. The managed dashboard is free for the first three users.
Entry paid plan
$35/month for Essentials at 500 monthly active users; Professional is $240/month at the same volume. Both scale with the MAU slider.
$100 per month minimum billing on the managed Cloud service; anything from 1 to 4,999 MAU bills at that $100 floor.
Pricing modelPer monthly active user, chosen on a slider, with a discontinuity that is easy to miss: the free plan covers 25,000 MAU and includes an enterprise connection, SSO and SCIM, while the paid tiers start at 500 MAU and a footnote says keeping those three features requires upgrading to B2B.Per monthly active user with add-ons metered on top rather than bundled: $0.02 per MAU base, plus $0.01 per MAU for multi-factor auth, plus $0.005 per MAU for account linking, plus $20 per dashboard user per month beyond the 3 free ones — all against a $100/month minimum on the managed Cloud plan. Self-hosting the open source features is free with no MAU limit.
Observability
Self-hostable
Not supported — Documented options are the multi-tenant Public Cloud and Auth0-managed Private Cloud on AWS or Azure.
Supported
Auth
Users included
25,000 monthly active users on the free plan — the largest free allowance here apart from WorkOS. Essentials and Professional start at 500 and are priced upward from there.
No fixed allowance — billing is $0.02 per monthly active user against a $100 monthly minimum, so the first 4,999 users are covered by the floor.
SCIM provisioning
Supported
Not supported — Not shipped; the post shows how to build SCIM endpoints on top of SuperTokens yourself.
Multi-factor authenticationSupportedSupported
Compliance
SOC 2SOC 1, SOC 2 and SOC 3 reports listed in Okta's trust centre (Auth0's parent), available on access request.Advertised as SOC2 compliant with 100+ controls and tests; the site does not state the audit type (Type I or II) or report availability.
GDPR / data residency
GDPR listed among the certifications in Okta's trust centre, alongside EU-US DPF and its UK extension; no residency choice is documented there.
Listed as compliant on "Compliance (SOC2, GDPR)" in the pricing page's own comparison table (SuperTokens column: Yes). A self-comparison table; no data-residency or EU-hosting option is given there.
Encryption at restEnvelope encryption at the application layer: data encryption keys are AES-256-GCM and stored next to the data, wrapped by tenant and environment root keys.Trust centre control "Data encryption utilized": datastores housing sensitive customer data are encrypted at rest.
Role-based access controlCore Authorization provides role-based access control of your APIs: roles and permissions assigned to users, enabled per API from the Dashboard or Management API.Built-in User Roles feature: create roles and permissions, assign them to users and limit access based on application logic.
Private networking / VPCPrivate Cloud on AWS only, and outbound only: AWS PrivateLink reaches your own services from the deployment without exposing data to the internet. Set up by Auth0 after you file a request; Private Cloud on Azure uses Azure Private Link.Self-hosted only: docs say to run the Core and PostgreSQL on private networks, or a subnet reachable only by your own backend. Self-host deployment guidance, not a managed-service private-link or VPC-peering offering.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Kind of free offer

Auth0
Free tier
SuperTokens
Always free
Sources (2) →

What the free plan includes

Auth0
25,000 monthly active users at no cost and no credit card to sign up.
SuperTokens
The open-source features are free at any scale when self-hosted, with no user cap; only the paid add-ons and the managed service are billed. The managed dashboard is free for the first three users.
Sources (2) →
  • Auth0 Pricing ↗

    “If I surpass the 25,000 users free plan do I need to select a paid plan with a higher MAU quota?”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • SuperTokens Pricing ↗

    “In self hosted, you can use the open source features of SuperTokens for free at any scale and pay only for the paid features mentioned in "Scale". [...] free for first 3 users”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Entry paid plan

Auth0
$35/month for Essentials at 500 monthly active users; Professional is $240/month at the same volume. Both scale with the MAU slider.
SuperTokens
$100 per month minimum billing on the managed Cloud service; anything from 1 to 4,999 MAU bills at that $100 floor.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Auth0
Per monthly active user, chosen on a slider, with a discontinuity that is easy to miss: the free plan covers 25,000 MAU and includes an enterprise connection, SSO and SCIM, while the paid tiers start at 500 MAU and a footnote says keeping those three features requires upgrading to B2B.
SuperTokens
Per monthly active user with add-ons metered on top rather than bundled: $0.02 per MAU base, plus $0.01 per MAU for multi-factor auth, plus $0.005 per MAU for account linking, plus $20 per dashboard user per month beyond the 3 free ones — all against a $100/month minimum on the managed Cloud plan. Self-hosting the open source features is free with no MAU limit.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Auth0 ↗

    “Free $ 0 / month No credit card needed to sign up. Start building for free Up to 25,000 monthly active users [...] Essentials $ 35 / month For projects with higher production demands. Sign up Up to 500 monthly active users [...] Upgrade to B2B to continue using EC, Self-Service SSO, and SCIM.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing & Features for SuperTokens ↗

    “Cloud Self-hosted $0.02 per MAU [...] Multi-factor Authentication $0.01 / MAU [...] Account Linking $0.005 / MAU [...] Number of Dashboard users (3 free users) $20 / user / month”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Self-hostable

Auth0
Not supported — Documented options are the multi-tenant Public Cloud and Auth0-managed Private Cloud on AWS or Azure.
SuperTokens
Supported
Sources (2) →
  • Deployment Options - Auth0 Docs ↗

    “The Auth0 identity platform can be deployed in the following ways: [...] Public Cloud A multi-tenant cloud service running on Auth0’s cloud with standard authentication, personalization, user management, and security features [...] The Private Cloud packages are managed services that you can use if you:”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing — SuperTokens ↗

    “Cloud Self-hosted $0.02 per MAU [...] Self hosted (You Host)”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Users included

Auth0

25,000 monthly active users on the free plan — the largest free allowance here apart from WorkOS. Essentials and Professional start at 500 and are priced upward from there.

SuperTokens

No fixed allowance — billing is $0.02 per monthly active user against a $100 monthly minimum, so the first 4,999 users are covered by the floor.

Sources (2) →

SCIM provisioning

Auth0
Supported
SuperTokens
Not supported — Not shipped; the post shows how to build SCIM endpoints on top of SuperTokens yourself.
Sources (2) →

SOC 2

Auth0
SOC 1, SOC 2 and SOC 3 reports listed in Okta's trust centre (Auth0's parent), available on access request.
SuperTokens
Advertised as SOC2 compliant with 100+ controls and tests; the site does not state the audit type (Type I or II) or report availability.
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Auth0
GDPR listed among the certifications in Okta's trust centre, alongside EU-US DPF and its UK extension; no residency choice is documented there.
SuperTokens
Listed as compliant on "Compliance (SOC2, GDPR)" in the pricing page's own comparison table (SuperTokens column: Yes). A self-comparison table; no data-residency or EU-hosting option is given there.
Sources (2) →

Encryption at rest

Auth0
Envelope encryption at the application layer: data encryption keys are AES-256-GCM and stored next to the data, wrapped by tenant and environment root keys.
SuperTokens
Trust centre control "Data encryption utilized": datastores housing sensitive customer data are encrypted at rest.
Sources (2) →

Role-based access control

Auth0
Core Authorization provides role-based access control of your APIs: roles and permissions assigned to users, enabled per API from the Dashboard or Management API.
SuperTokens
Built-in User Roles feature: create roles and permissions, assign them to users and limit access based on application logic.
Sources (2) →

Private networking / VPC

Auth0
Private Cloud on AWS only, and outbound only: AWS PrivateLink reaches your own services from the deployment without exposing data to the internet. Set up by Auth0 after you file a request; Private Cloud on Azure uses Azure Private Link.
SuperTokens
Self-hosted only: docs say to run the Core and PostgreSQL on private networks, or a subnet reachable only by your own backend. Self-host deployment guidance, not a managed-service private-link or VPC-peering offering.
Sources (2) →
  • Private Cloud on AWS - Auth0 Docs ↗

    “With Private Cloud on AWS, you can establish network connectivity between your Private Cloud deployment and your own services without exposing your data to the Internet. [...] Secure outbound networking uses AWS PrivateLink.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Self-host SuperTokens - SuperTokens Docs ↗

    “Core and PostgreSQL on private networks reachable only by trusted backend services; never expose either directly to a browser or any client you do not trust. [...] Run the Core on a private network or subnet that only your backend can reach. This is the primary protection and applies regardless of any other setting.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Credit card to startAuth0: No
Startup credit programAuth0: Auth0 for Startups: free access for venture-backed companies under $5M funding, under $1M ARR and under two years old.
RegionsSuperTokens: Attack Protection Suite calls go to one of three published regional endpoints: US (N. Virginia), EU (Ireland) and APAC (Singapore). Attack Protection Suite endpoints only; the managed core's own region list is not enumerated on the site.
SAML single sign-onAuth0: Supported
Audit logsAuth0: Audit log streaming to Datadog, Splunk, AWS and Azure, from the Essentials plan up. Auth0 publishes no retention window on the pricing page.
Support on entry paid planAuth0: Community support on Free; standard support on Essentials ($35/month), the entry paid plan.
ISO 27001Auth0: ISO/IEC 27001:2022, with 27017:2015 and 27018:2019 alongside it; one combined report on access request.
HIPAAAuth0: HIPAA listed among the certifications in Okta's trust centre; no scope detail is published there.
PCI DSSAuth0: Auth0 offers PCI compliant environment deployment models; the Attestation of Compliance and/or SAQ-D is available on request through the Support Center.
Customer-managed keysAuth0: Bring Your Own Key imports a Customer Provided Root Key into a FIPS 140-2 L3 HSM, replacing Auth0's Environment Root Key for the tenant. Only users holding the Key Management Editor tenant role can use it.
Dedicated infrastructureAuth0: Private Cloud on AWS is a dedicated, managed instance of the Auth0 platform with single tenancy, against the multi-tenant Public Cloud; Azure has the same option.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Auth0 or SuperTokens?

Auth0: $35/month for Essentials at 500 monthly active users; Professional is $240/month at the same volume. Both scale with the MAU slider.

SuperTokens: $100 per month minimum billing on the managed Cloud service; anything from 1 to 4,999 MAU bills at that $100 floor.

Should I choose Auth0 or SuperTokens?

Pick Auth0 if Projects that fit inside the free 25,000 monthly active users, which includes an enterprise connection, self-service SSO and SCIM at no cost.

Pick SuperTokens if Teams that want to run auth themselves and keep the user table in their own database, with a managed option priced per user rather than per plan.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.