Skip to content
inetGeek

Kinde vs SuperTokens

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Kinde and SuperTokens built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 23 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Kinde if…

Products that want a predictable flat fee and a large free user allowance that does not change when you start paying — 10,500 MAU on every tier is the opposite of Auth0's paid-plan cliff.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose SuperTokens if…

Teams that want to run auth themselves and keep the user table in their own database, with a managed option priced per user rather than per plan.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Kinde: Enterprise SSO only becomes free at the $75 tier, and if you use Kinde's billing there is a 0.5% cut of your own transactions on top of the plan fee.
  • SuperTokens: The $100 monthly minimum makes it expensive below about 5,000 users, and MFA is a separate per-user charge rather than an included feature.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Kinde alternatives · SuperTokens alternatives

7 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionKindeSuperTokens
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerAlways freeAlways free
What the free plan includes10,500 monthly active users on every plan, with paid features billed on top; no credit card required.The open-source features are free at any scale when self-hosted, with no user cap; only the paid add-ons and the managed service are billed. The managed dashboard is free for the first three users.
Entry paid plan
$25/month for Pro. Plus is $75 and the top tier $250 — each including the same 10,500 MAU as the free plan.
$100 per month minimum billing on the managed Cloud service; anything from 1 to 4,999 MAU bills at that $100 floor.
Pricing modelA flat monthly fee with the same MAU allowance at every level, plus a transaction fee when you bill your own customers through Kinde — 0.5% per transaction, discounted 0.1% on Plus and 0.2% above.Per monthly active user with add-ons metered on top rather than bundled: $0.02 per MAU base, plus $0.01 per MAU for multi-factor auth, plus $0.005 per MAU for account linking, plus $20 per dashboard user per month beyond the 3 free ones — all against a $100/month minimum on the managed Cloud plan. Self-hosting the open source features is free with no MAU limit.
Auth
Users included
10,500 monthly active users on every tier including free. Paying more does not buy more users — Pro adds uncapped MAU billing, and the higher tiers add MAU discounts of 6% and 13%.
No fixed allowance — billing is $0.02 per monthly active user against a $100 monthly minimum, so the first 4,999 users are covered by the floor.
Multi-factor authenticationSupportedSupported
Compliance
SOC 2SOC 2 Type 2 completed with report and attestation from AssuranceLab; full report is on paid plans (Pro, Plus, Scale) under NDA, not Free.Advertised as SOC2 compliant with 100+ controls and tests; the site does not state the audit type (Type I or II) or report availability.
GDPR / data residencyGDPR compliant; data stays in the region chosen at sign-up (Sydney, Dublin, Oregon, London or Quebec), with only backend business metadata replicated. Region is picked at sign-up and cannot be changed later (docs: Supported data regions).Listed as compliant on "Compliance (SOC2, GDPR)" in the pricing page's own comparison table (SuperTokens column: Yes). A self-comparison table; no data-residency or EU-hosting option is given there.
Encryption at restAES256 for all customer data at rest in the production databases; keys via AWS KMS, with KMS administration limited to privileged admins.Trust centre control "Data encryption utilized": datastores housing sensitive customer data are encrypted at rest.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Kinde
10,500 monthly active users on every plan, with paid features billed on top; no credit card required.
SuperTokens
The open-source features are free at any scale when self-hosted, with no user cap; only the paid add-ons and the managed service are billed. The managed dashboard is free for the first three users.
Sources (2) →
  • Kinde Pricing ↗

    “Every plan includes a free tier of 10,500 monthly active users (MAU), with paid features and usage billed as you scale. [...] Yes, our free plan gives you 10,500 monthly active users at no cost, and does not require a credit card to get started.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • SuperTokens Pricing ↗

    “In self hosted, you can use the open source features of SuperTokens for free at any scale and pay only for the paid features mentioned in "Scale". [...] free for first 3 users”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Entry paid plan

Kinde
$25/month for Pro. Plus is $75 and the top tier $250 — each including the same 10,500 MAU as the free plan.
SuperTokens
$100 per month minimum billing on the managed Cloud service; anything from 1 to 4,999 MAU bills at that $100 floor.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Kinde
A flat monthly fee with the same MAU allowance at every level, plus a transaction fee when you bill your own customers through Kinde — 0.5% per transaction, discounted 0.1% on Plus and 0.2% above.
SuperTokens
Per monthly active user with add-ons metered on top rather than bundled: $0.02 per MAU base, plus $0.01 per MAU for multi-factor auth, plus $0.005 per MAU for account linking, plus $20 per dashboard user per month beyond the 3 free ones — all against a $100/month minimum on the managed Cloud plan. Self-hosting the open source features is free with no MAU limit.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Kinde ↗

    “When you bill your customers with Kinde: 0.5% per transaction MAU is free [...] 0.1% transaction fee discount [...] 0.2% transaction fee discount”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing & Features for SuperTokens ↗

    “Cloud Self-hosted $0.02 per MAU [...] Multi-factor Authentication $0.01 / MAU [...] Account Linking $0.005 / MAU [...] Number of Dashboard users (3 free users) $20 / user / month”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Users included

Kinde

10,500 monthly active users on every tier including free. Paying more does not buy more users — Pro adds uncapped MAU billing, and the higher tiers add MAU discounts of 6% and 13%.

SuperTokens

No fixed allowance — billing is $0.02 per monthly active user against a $100 monthly minimum, so the first 4,999 users are covered by the floor.

Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Kinde ↗

    “$0 forever 10,500 monthly active users (MAU) [...] $25 USD per month 10,500 MAU free [...] Uncapped MAU [...] 6% MAU discount [...] 13% MAU discount”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — SuperTokens ↗

    “$0.02 per MAU Number of unique logged in users that are on your prod [...] if you have 5,000 MAUs, that will be ( $0.02 + $0.005 ) * 5000 = $125”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

SOC 2

Kinde
SOC 2 Type 2 completed with report and attestation from AssuranceLab; full report is on paid plans (Pro, Plus, Scale) under NDA, not Free.
SuperTokens
Advertised as SOC2 compliant with 100+ controls and tests; the site does not state the audit type (Type I or II) or report availability.
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Kinde
GDPR compliant; data stays in the region chosen at sign-up (Sydney, Dublin, Oregon, London or Quebec), with only backend business metadata replicated. Region is picked at sign-up and cannot be changed later (docs: Supported data regions).
SuperTokens
Listed as compliant on "Compliance (SOC2, GDPR)" in the pricing page's own comparison table (SuperTokens column: Yes). A self-comparison table; no data-residency or EU-hosting option is given there.
Sources (2) →
  • Security at Kinde - Kinde docs ↗

    “has an attestation for SOC 2 Type 2 and HIPAA, and are GDPR compliant [...] Data is stored in the region you selected during sign up of our product. Currently the available regions are Sydney, Australia; Dublin, Ireland; Oregon, USA; London, UK; and Quebec, Canada. [...] The only data replicated between regions is backend business metadata”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing & Features for SuperTokens ↗

    “Supertokens Auth0 AWS Cognito Keycloak Firebase [...] Compliance (SOC2, GDPR) Yes Yes Yes Self hosted - so not required Yes”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Encryption at rest

Kinde
AES256 for all customer data at rest in the production databases; keys via AWS KMS, with KMS administration limited to privileged admins.
SuperTokens
Trust centre control "Data encryption utilized": datastores housing sensitive customer data are encrypted at rest.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Credit card to startKinde: No
RegionsSuperTokens: Attack Protection Suite calls go to one of three published regional endpoints: US (N. Virginia), EU (Ireland) and APAC (Singapore). Attack Protection Suite endpoints only; the managed core's own region list is not enumerated on the site.
Self-hostableSuperTokens: Supported
SAML single sign-onKinde: Supported
SCIM provisioningSuperTokens: Not supported — Not shipped; the post shows how to build SCIM endpoints on top of SuperTokens yourself.
Audit logsKinde: Kinde includes enterprise SSO, RBAC, advanced security, custom domains, audit logs, and compliance features on higher plans.
Support on entry paid planKinde: Email support plus Slack and Discord community access on every plan including Free. In-app chat support starts at Pro, which has a $25 base price.
ISO 27001Kinde: ISO 27001:2022 certified by Compass Assurance Services, with an ISMS and a dedicated internal security team; certificate downloadable from the docs.
HIPAAKinde: HIPAA compliant and acts as a Business Associate; a BAA is put in place on request before work begins. Kinde's FusionAuth comparison table lists HIPAA/BAA as Enterprise only.
PCI DSSKinde: No PCI-DSS Report on Compliance from a QSA; uses a third party provider's SAQ-A scope, with its own SAQ and AOC in preparation for the billing feature.
Role-based access controlSuperTokens: Built-in User Roles feature: create roles and permissions, assign them to users and limit access based on application logic.
Private networking / VPCSuperTokens: Self-hosted only: docs say to run the Core and PostgreSQL on private networks, or a subnet reachable only by your own backend. Self-host deployment guidance, not a managed-service private-link or VPC-peering offering.
Dedicated infrastructureKinde: Offered as an option on the custom-priced Enterprise plan (with Kinde Care for Enterprise+), alongside advanced deployment options.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Kinde or SuperTokens?

Kinde: $25/month for Pro. Plus is $75 and the top tier $250 — each including the same 10,500 MAU as the free plan.

SuperTokens: $100 per month minimum billing on the managed Cloud service; anything from 1 to 4,999 MAU bills at that $100 floor.

Should I choose Kinde or SuperTokens?

Pick Kinde if Products that want a predictable flat fee and a large free user allowance that does not change when you start paying — 10,500 MAU on every tier is the opposite of Auth0's paid-plan cliff.

Pick SuperTokens if Teams that want to run auth themselves and keep the user table in their own database, with a managed option priced per user rather than per plan.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.