Skip to content
inetGeek

Axiom vs Sentry

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Axiom and Sentry built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 25 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Axiom if…

Small projects that want a real telemetry platform for nothing — 500 GB a month loaded with 30-day retention, permanently, is the most generous free allowance in this category.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Sentry if…

Teams that want tracing, logs, replays and uptime in one place and will pay per meter for it. The tooling is the deepest in the category and the SDK coverage is the widest.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Axiom: Query compute is billed as its own meter in GB-hours, so an expensive dashboard costs money even when ingest is inside the allowance.
  • Sentry: Five meters bill independently, so 50,000 errors is not 50,000 units of observability. A team watching cost needs to watch spans and logs too, not just the error count.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Axiom alternatives · Sentry alternatives

15 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionAxiomSentry
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerAlways freeFree tier
What the free plan includes500 GB of data loading a month, 10 GB-hours of query compute, 25 GB of storage and 30-day retention, with no credit card.5,000 errors, 5 GB of logs, 5 million spans, 50 session replays and 1 uptime monitor a month.
Entry paid plan
$25/month platform fee for Cloud, plus usage, with no minimum commitment. The plan carries an always-free allowance of 1 TB loaded, 100 GB-hours of query compute and 100 GB stored.
$26/month for Team, the cheapest paid plan
Pricing modelA platform fee plus three separate meters — data loaded, query compute in GB-hours, and stored GB — each with an always-free allowance included on every plan and automatic volume discounts above it.A plan fee plus five independent meters — errors, logs, application metrics, tracing spans and session replays — each with its own included amount and its own overage. Logs and metrics overflow at $0.50/GB; extra uptime alerts at $1.00 each.
When you exceed a capBilled, then paused per meter. Charges accrue past the Always Free allowance until they reach the spending limit you set, at which point Axiom stops the actions that cost money — and it stops them meter by meter: exhausting query compute halts queries and the monitors that depend on them while ingestion keeps running on an unspent data-loading allowance. Axiom says plainly that this can interrupt service.Billed, not throttled: each meter charges for additional usage beyond the included amount, at a published per-unit rate.
Observability
Events includedNot counted in events: 500 GB/month data loading, 10 GB-hours query compute and 25 GB storage on free Personal; 1 TB, 100 GB-hours and 100 GB included in the Cloud platform fee.50,000 errors a month on Team and Business; 5,000 on Free. Errors are one meter of several — logs, spans, replays and uptime monitors are counted and billed separately.
Retention window30 days on the free Personal plan; configurable on Cloud rather than fixed.30-day lookback on Developer, the free plan. Up to 90 days on Team, and up to 90 days plus additional sampled retention on Business. Enterprise is custom. "Up to" is Sentry's own wording — the 90 days is a ceiling, not a guarantee.
Session replay
Not supported — Axiom's own product-analytics page sends session replay to dedicated tools.
Supported
Self-hostableLimited — Docs FAQ names a Bring Your Own Cloud plan; the deployment answer on the same page describes only managed Axiom Cloud.Limited
Auth
Audit logsEvery access and configuration change is recorded to an immutable audit trail you can query in APL like any other dataset.In the audit log, all of the actions by user and event within the Sentry UI (e.g., member.invite, project.create) are listed chronologically by time and IP address so you’ll always have a view into your organization’s most recent history.
Support
Support on entry paid planCommunity support on the free Personal plan; email support on the paid plan, with a paid SLA and dedicated support offered as add-ons.Four levels listed: community support via GitHub and Discord, email support, a dedicated technical account manager, and premium customer success. Enterprise is the tier the page names for the account manager and dedicated support.
Compliance
SOC 2SOC 2 Type II audited; report available under NDA in the Trust Center.SOC 2 Type I and Type II certifications; report available via account or on request.
ISO 27001ISO 27001 certified information security management.ISO 27001 certified; certificate available via account or on request.
HIPAABAA available on the Axiom Cloud plan once the RBAC, SAML SSO and audit-log add-ons are enabled; sessions then time out after 24 hours.HIPAA attestation obtained. — Listed as an attestation among compliance certifications, not as a BAA offer.
Encryption at restAES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2+ in transit; keys are managed and rotated by Axiom.All data encrypted at rest; keys managed via a redundant, globally distributed Key Management Service.
Role-based access controlAvailable as a $50/month self-serve add-on on Axiom Cloud, scoped to datasets and actions.Role-based access: Billing, Member, Admin, Manager, Organization Owner.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Kind of free offer

Axiom
Always free
Sentry
Free tier
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Axiom ↗

    “Personal For individual developers and small projects. $0 / month Permanent. No credit card required. → 500 GB/mo data loading → 10 GB-hours query compute → 25 GB storage → 30-day retention → Full APL access”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Free [...] Error Monitoring 5k errors [...] Logs 5GB [...] Tracing 5M spans [...] Session Replay 50 replays [...] Uptime Monitoring 1 uptime monitor”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

What the free plan includes

Axiom
500 GB of data loading a month, 10 GB-hours of query compute, 25 GB of storage and 30-day retention, with no credit card.
Sentry
5,000 errors, 5 GB of logs, 5 million spans, 50 session replays and 1 uptime monitor a month.
Sources (2) →
  • Axiom Pricing ↗

    “→ 500 gb/mo data loading → 10 gb-hours query compute → 25 gb storage → 30-day retention → full apl access → all integrations → community support”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Free [...] Error Monitoring 5k errors [...] Logs 5GB [...] Tracing 5M spans [...] Session Replay 50 replays [...] Uptime Monitoring 1 uptime monitor”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Entry paid plan

Axiom
$25/month platform fee for Cloud, plus usage, with no minimum commitment. The plan carries an always-free allowance of 1 TB loaded, 100 GB-hours of query compute and 100 GB stored.
Sentry
$26/month for Team, the cheapest paid plan
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Axiom ↗

    “Cloud For teams scaling from first deployment to hyperscale. $25 / month Platform fee + usage. No minimum commitment. → Always Free allowance (1 TB / 100 GB-hrs / 100 GB) included”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “$26/mo [...] Additional events (See pricing) [...] $80/mo”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Pricing model

Axiom
A platform fee plus three separate meters — data loaded, query compute in GB-hours, and stored GB — each with an always-free allowance included on every plan and automatic volume discounts above it.
Sentry
A plan fee plus five independent meters — errors, logs, application metrics, tracing spans and session replays — each with its own included amount and its own overage. Logs and metrics overflow at $0.50/GB; extra uptime alerts at $1.00 each.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Axiom ↗

    “Platform fee + usage. No minimum commitment. → Always Free allowance (1 TB / 100 GB-hrs / 100 GB) included → Automatic volume discounts on usage beyond the allowance → Configurable retention”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Error Monitoring 5k errors 50k errors [...] Logs 5GB 5GB +$0.50/GB additional [...] Application Metrics 5GB 5GB +$0.50/GB additional [...] Tracing 5M spans [...] Session Replay 50 replays [...] Uptime Monitoring 1 uptime monitor +$1.00/uptime alert additional”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

When you exceed a cap

Axiom
Billed, then paused per meter. Charges accrue past the Always Free allowance until they reach the spending limit you set, at which point Axiom stops the actions that cost money — and it stops them meter by meter: exhausting query compute halts queries and the monitors that depend on them while ingestion keeps running on an unspent data-loading allowance. Axiom says plainly that this can interrupt service.
Sentry
Billed, not throttled: each meter charges for additional usage beyond the included amount, at a published per-unit rate.
Sources (2) →
  • Usage and billing — Axiom Docs ↗

    “When your accumulated charges reach your spending limit, Axiom automatically pauses actions that generate further costs. This can cause interruptions to your service. [...] if you have used up the query compute allowance included in your pricing plan, you can't run queries and your monitors can't query your data. At the same time, if you haven't yet used up the data loading allowance, you can still ingest data.”

    Read 2026-09-08 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Additional events (See pricing) [...] +$0.50/GB additional [...] +$1.00/uptime alert additional”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Events included

Axiom
Not counted in events: 500 GB/month data loading, 10 GB-hours query compute and 25 GB storage on free Personal; 1 TB, 100 GB-hours and 100 GB included in the Cloud platform fee.
Sentry
50,000 errors a month on Team and Business; 5,000 on Free. Errors are one meter of several — logs, spans, replays and uptime monitors are counted and billed separately.
Sources (2) →

Retention window

Axiom
30 days on the free Personal plan; configurable on Cloud rather than fixed.
Sentry
30-day lookback on Developer, the free plan. Up to 90 days on Team, and up to 90 days plus additional sampled retention on Business. Enterprise is custom. "Up to" is Sentry's own wording — the 90 days is a ceiling, not a guarantee.
Sources (2) →

Session replay

Axiom
Not supported — Axiom's own product-analytics page sends session replay to dedicated tools.
Sentry
Supported
Sources (2) →

Audit logs

Axiom
Every access and configuration change is recorded to an immutable audit trail you can query in APL like any other dataset.
Sentry
In the audit log, all of the actions by user and event within the Sentry UI (e.g., member.invite, project.create) are listed chronologically by time and IP address so you’ll always have a view into your organization’s most recent history.
Sources (2) →

Support on entry paid plan

Axiom
Community support on the free Personal plan; email support on the paid plan, with a paid SLA and dedicated support offered as add-ons.
Sentry
Four levels listed: community support via GitHub and Discord, email support, a dedicated technical account manager, and premium customer success. Enterprise is the tier the page names for the account manager and dedicated support.
Sources (2) →
  • Axiom Pricing ↗

    “all integrations → community support [...] email support (paid SLA + dedicated available)”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Sentry Pricing ↗

    “SUPPORT Community support via GitHub and Discord Email support Dedicated technical account manager Premium customer success [...] Enterprise For organizations with advanced needs Custom Business features + Technical account manager Dedicated customer support”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

SOC 2

Axiom
SOC 2 Type II audited; report available under NDA in the Trust Center.
Sentry
SOC 2 Type I and Type II certifications; report available via account or on request.
Sources (2) →

ISO 27001

Axiom
ISO 27001 certified information security management.
Sentry
ISO 27001 certified; certificate available via account or on request.
Sources (2) →

HIPAA

Axiom
BAA available on the Axiom Cloud plan once the RBAC, SAML SSO and audit-log add-ons are enabled; sessions then time out after 24 hours.
Sentry
HIPAA attestation obtained. — Listed as an attestation among compliance certifications, not as a BAA offer.
Sources (2) →

Encryption at rest

Axiom
AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2+ in transit; keys are managed and rotated by Axiom.
Sentry
All data encrypted at rest; keys managed via a redundant, globally distributed Key Management Service.
Sources (2) →

Role-based access control

Axiom
Available as a $50/month self-serve add-on on Axiom Cloud, scoped to datasets and actions.
Sentry
Role-based access: Billing, Member, Admin, Manager, Organization Owner.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Credit card to startAxiom: No
RegionsAxiom: Two, both on AWS: US East 1 and EU Central 1. Axiom calls them edge deployments — you pick one per organisation and event data is stored at rest there, while the console stays at app.axiom.co. Datasets in one organisation can sit in different deployments. New ones are added on request rather than published as a roadmap.
Uptime SLAAxiom: Sold rather than included: the paid plan lists a paid SLA alongside dedicated support. No percentage is published on the pricing page.
Ingest price per GBAxiom: No per-GB rate published: 1 TB/month of data loading is included in the $25/month Cloud platform fee, with further usage metered as compute credits under automatic volume discounts.
Query priceAxiom: Metered in GB-hours of query compute: 10 GB-hours/month free on Personal and 100 GB-hours/month included on Cloud; no per-GB-hour rate is published.
GDPR / data residencyAxiom: Built to support GDPR with a DPA available; regional residency lets you keep data in your chosen region via the multi-region edge architecture.Sentry: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Sentry.
Private networking / VPCAxiom: AWS PrivateLink supported, so AWS workloads can reach Axiom without an internet gateway or NAT.Sentry: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Sentry.
Dedicated infrastructureAxiom: Multi-tenant by design: workspaces are logically isolated on a managed multi-tenant event store; pricing lists dedicated only as a support add-on.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Axiom or Sentry?

Axiom: $25/month platform fee for Cloud, plus usage, with no minimum commitment. The plan carries an always-free allowance of 1 TB loaded, 100 GB-hours of query compute and 100 GB stored.

Sentry: $26/month for Team, the cheapest paid plan

When you exceed a cap: Axiom or Sentry?

Axiom: Billed, then paused per meter. Charges accrue past the Always Free allowance until they reach the spending limit you set, at which point Axiom stops the actions that cost money — and it stops them meter by meter: exhausting query compute halts queries and the monitors that depend on them while ingestion keeps running on an unspent data-loading allowance. Axiom says plainly that this can interrupt service.

Sentry: Billed, not throttled: each meter charges for additional usage beyond the included amount, at a published per-unit rate.

Should I choose Axiom or Sentry?

Pick Axiom if Small projects that want a real telemetry platform for nothing — 500 GB a month loaded with 30-day retention, permanently, is the most generous free allowance in this category.

Pick Sentry if Teams that want tracing, logs, replays and uptime in one place and will pay per meter for it. The tooling is the deepest in the category and the SDK coverage is the widest.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.