Skip to content
inetGeek

Cloudflare R2 vs Wasabi

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Cloudflare R2 and Wasabi built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 16 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Cloudflare R2 if…

Serving files to the public, where egress is the bill everyone underestimates. Nothing to pay for bandwidth out, on any storage class, so a busy bucket costs what it costs to store rather than what it costs to read.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Wasabi if…

Anyone who wants one number. Capacity is the only charge — no egress fees, no API request fees — which makes the bill predictable in a way nothing else in this category manages.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Cloudflare R2: Operations are charged and rounded up to the whole million, so a workload of many tiny reads and writes pays here instead. The saving is on bandwidth, not on request volume.
  • Wasabi: The flat rate is $7.99 per terabyte whether you store a gigabyte or a terabyte of it, so small buckets pay for capacity they are not using. Check Wasabi's own terms for minimum storage duration before storing anything short-lived.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Cloudflare R2 alternatives · Wasabi alternatives

9 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionCloudflare R2Wasabi
Pricing
Free tier
Yes
No
Kind of free offerFree tierFree trial
Egress over allowanceFree. Cloudflare charges nothing for egress to the internet on any storage class; Infrequent Access adds a $0.01/GB retrieval fee instead.None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.
Limits
Storage (entry plan)10 GB-month free each month, plus 1 million Class A and 10 million Class B operationsNone. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.
Infrastructure
Uptime SLA
99.9% monthly uptime, in a dedicated R2 SLA that applies to use of R2 only and names no plan tier. The SLA settles its own precedence — "in the event of a conflict between the terms of this R2 SLA and ... other agreement governing Customer’s use of the Services, the terms of this R2 SLA apply" — so Cloudflare’s application-services plan table, which covers the website plans rather than the Developer Platform, does not qualify it. The remedy is a credit set as a percentage of the fees paid for that product in the preceding 30 days, so the commitment stands on a free account while the compensation for breaching it is worth nothing there.
Credits begin below 99.9% monthly uptime: 10% between 99.0% and 99.9%, 25% below 99.0%. Uptime is computed from five-minute error rates rather than downtime minutes.
Storage
Storage price$0.015 per GB-month for Standard, $0.01 for Infrequent Access. Billed rounded up to the whole GB-month.$7.99 per TB per month, flat, with no separate charge for egress or API requests
Operations price$4.50 per million Class A operations (writes and listings) and $0.36 per million Class B (reads) on Standard; $9.00 and $0.90 on Infrequent Access. Rounded up to the whole million.None. API requests are not charged separately.
Minimum storage duration
None on Standard storage — billing averages peak storage per day, so an object deleted after five days is charged for five days. Infrequent Access carries a 30-day minimum, billed even if the object is deleted, moved or replaced sooner.
90 days on pay-as-you-go. Deleting an object sooner incurs a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days. Objects under 4 KB are billed as 4 KB.
S3-compatible APISupportedSupported
Compliance
Encryption at restAll objects and metadata encrypted at rest with AES-256-GCM automatically, no configuration required.Your data is encrypted in transit and at rest on the Wasabi cloud storage platform.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Cloudflare R2
Yes
Wasabi
No
Sources (2) →

Kind of free offer

Cloudflare R2
Free tier
Wasabi
Free trial
Sources (2) →

Egress over allowance

Cloudflare R2
Free. Cloudflare charges nothing for egress to the internet on any storage class; Infrequent Access adds a $0.01/GB retrieval fee instead.
Wasabi
None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.
Sources (2) →
  • R2 pricing — Cloudflare Docs ↗

    “For the Infrequent Access storage class, data retrieval fees apply. There are no charges for egress bandwidth for any storage class. [...] Egress (data transfer to Internet) Free Free”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Wasabi ↗

    “No charge for egress or API requests [...] With Wasabi, you pay just one low rate for capacity only. No hidden fees means you can plan your budget to the penny and never go over it, no matter how much you access your data.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Storage (entry plan)

Cloudflare R2
10 GB-month free each month, plus 1 million Class A and 10 million Class B operations
Wasabi
None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.
Sources (2) →
  • R2 pricing — Cloudflare Docs ↗

    “You can use the following amount of storage and operations each month for free. [...] Storage 10 GB-month / month Class A Operations 1 million requests / month Class B Operations 10 million requests / month”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pay-as-you-go FAQs — Wasabi ↗

    “For customers using the Wasabi Pay as You Go pricing model, Wasabi has a minimum monthly charge associated with 1 TB of active storage”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

Cloudflare R2

99.9% monthly uptime, in a dedicated R2 SLA that applies to use of R2 only and names no plan tier. The SLA settles its own precedence — "in the event of a conflict between the terms of this R2 SLA and ... other agreement governing Customer’s use of the Services, the terms of this R2 SLA apply" — so Cloudflare’s application-services plan table, which covers the website plans rather than the Developer Platform, does not qualify it. The remedy is a credit set as a percentage of the fees paid for that product in the preceding 30 days, so the commitment stands on a free account while the compensation for breaching it is worth nothing there.

Wasabi

Credits begin below 99.9% monthly uptime: 10% between 99.0% and 99.9%, 25% below 99.0%. Uptime is computed from five-minute error rates rather than downtime minutes.

Sources (2) →
  • R2 Service Level Agreement — Cloudflare ↗

    “This R2 Service Level Agreement ("R2 SLA") applies to use of R2 only. In the event of a conflict between the terms of this R2 SLA and the terms of the Enterprise Customer Support and Service Level Agreement, Enterprise Subscription Terms of Service, or other agreement governing Customer’s use of the Services (the "Agreement"), the terms of this R2 SLA apply, but only to the extent of such conflict. [...] Cloudflare will provide a Monthly Uptime Percentage of 99.9% for Customer’s use of R2 ("Service Level Objective"). [...] a credit against future payments for Customer’s R2 usage based on the percentage of the fees paid by Customer for R2 usage in the thirty (30) days preceding submission of a valid Claim”

    Read 2026-09-21 · official site · Report a correction

  • Wasabi Service Level Agreement ↗

    “Service Credits Monthly Uptime Percentage Service Credit Percentage Equal to or greater than 99.0% but less than 99.9% 10% Less than 99.0% 25%”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

Storage price

Cloudflare R2
$0.015 per GB-month for Standard, $0.01 for Infrequent Access. Billed rounded up to the whole GB-month.
Wasabi
$7.99 per TB per month, flat, with no separate charge for egress or API requests
Sources (2) →

Operations price

Cloudflare R2
$4.50 per million Class A operations (writes and listings) and $0.36 per million Class B (reads) on Standard; $9.00 and $0.90 on Infrequent Access. Rounded up to the whole million.
Wasabi
None. API requests are not charged separately.
Sources (2) →

Minimum storage duration

Cloudflare R2

None on Standard storage — billing averages peak storage per day, so an object deleted after five days is charged for five days. Infrequent Access carries a 30-day minimum, billed even if the object is deleted, moved or replaced sooner.

Wasabi

90 days on pay-as-you-go. Deleting an object sooner incurs a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days. Objects under 4 KB are billed as 4 KB.

Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Cloudflare R2 docs ↗

    “Storage class Minimum storage duration Standard storage None Infrequent Access storage 30 days [...] you will be charged for the object for the minimum storage duration even if the object was deleted or moved before the duration specified”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pay-as-you-go FAQs — Wasabi ↗

    “Wasabi has a minimum storage duration policy that means if stored objects are deleted before they have been stored with Wasabi for a certain number of days (90 days when using the Wasabi Pay as You Go pricing model), a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days will apply.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Encryption at rest

Cloudflare R2
All objects and metadata encrypted at rest with AES-256-GCM automatically, no configuration required.
Wasabi
Your data is encrypted in transit and at rest on the Wasabi cloud storage platform.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

What the free plan includesCloudflare R2: 10 GB-month of standard storage, 1 million Class A and 10 million Class B operations a month, and egress free with no cap. The allowance covers standard storage only, not infrequent access.
Credit card to startWasabi: No
When the free offer endsWasabi: 30 days.
RegionsWasabi: 16 storage regions: six in the Americas, six in EMEA and four in Asia-Pacific. Several also answer to an alias URL, which is a second name for a region rather than a second region.
ISO 27001Wasabi: Wasabi's products and physical data center locations are ISO 27001 compliant.Cloudflare R2: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare R2.
Customer-managed keysWasabi: Customers can also supply their own encryption key during the API upload request.Cloudflare R2: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare R2.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Free tier: Cloudflare R2 or Wasabi?

Cloudflare R2: Yes

Wasabi: No

Egress over allowance: Cloudflare R2 or Wasabi?

Cloudflare R2: Free. Cloudflare charges nothing for egress to the internet on any storage class; Infrequent Access adds a $0.01/GB retrieval fee instead.

Wasabi: None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.

Storage (entry plan): Cloudflare R2 or Wasabi?

Cloudflare R2: 10 GB-month free each month, plus 1 million Class A and 10 million Class B operations

Wasabi: None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.

Should I choose Cloudflare R2 or Wasabi?

Pick Cloudflare R2 if Serving files to the public, where egress is the bill everyone underestimates. Nothing to pay for bandwidth out, on any storage class, so a busy bucket costs what it costs to store rather than what it costs to read.

Pick Wasabi if Anyone who wants one number. Capacity is the only charge — no egress fees, no API request fees — which makes the bill predictable in a way nothing else in this category manages.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.