Skip to content
inetGeek

Backblaze B2 vs Wasabi

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Backblaze B2 and Wasabi built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 22 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Backblaze B2 if…

Bulk capacity where egress is predictable — free up to three times what you store each month, which covers most backup and archive patterns comfortably at $6.95 per terabyte.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Wasabi if…

Anyone who wants one number. Capacity is the only charge — no egress fees, no API request fees — which makes the bill predictable in a way nothing else in this category manages.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Backblaze B2: Egress is only free to that 3x ceiling. A bucket read far more often than its size, like a public media library, is the shape this pricing is not built for.
  • Wasabi: The flat rate is $7.99 per terabyte whether you store a gigabyte or a terabyte of it, so small buckets pay for capacity they are not using. Check Wasabi's own terms for minimum storage duration before storing anything short-lived.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Backblaze B2 alternatives · Wasabi alternatives

9 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionBackblaze B2Wasabi
Pricing
Free tier
Yes
No
Kind of free offerFree tierFree trial
Egress over allowanceFree up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable.None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.
Limits
Storage (entry plan)10 GB free, permanently — 'First 10GB storage is always free.' The statement is a row-level note on Backblaze's pricing-model table, so it applies to B2 storage rather than to one plan, and it is an ongoing allowance rather than the 'Start Free' trial the page advertises separately.None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.
Infrastructure
Uptime SLA
Credits begin below 99.9% monthly user uptime. The SLA is per user account and covers B2 Cloud Storage and Computer Backup.
Credits begin below 99.9% monthly uptime: 10% between 99.0% and 99.9%, 25% below 99.0%. Uptime is computed from five-minute error rates rather than downtime minutes.
Storage
Storage price$6.95 per TB per month on B2 Overdrive; $15 per TB per month on the unlimited-egress tier$7.99 per TB per month, flat, with no separate charge for egress or API requests
Operations priceTransactions are not charged on the $6.95/TB tier. Backblaze notes that its published chart uses U.S. West rates and that competitor rates vary by region and volume.None. API requests are not charged separately.
Minimum storage duration
None. Backblaze states no minimum file size or storage duration fee on B2 Cloud Storage, so an object deleted an hour after upload is billed only for that hour.
90 days on pay-as-you-go. Deleting an object sooner incurs a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days. Objects under 4 KB are billed as 4 KB.
S3-compatible APISupportedSupported
Compliance
ISO 27001
Not a Backblaze organizational certification — Backblaze states it primarily operates in data centers that hold ISO 27001 certificates, a facility-level attestation rather than one covering Backblaze itself.
Wasabi's products and physical data center locations are ISO 27001 compliant.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Backblaze B2
Yes
Wasabi
No
Sources (2) →

Kind of free offer

Backblaze B2
Free tier
Wasabi
Free trial
Sources (2) →

Egress over allowance

Backblaze B2
Free up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable.
Wasabi
None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.
Sources (2) →
  • Cloud Storage Pricing — Backblaze ↗

    “Free egress up to 3x storage [...] Free transactions [...] Unlimited free egress [...] B2 includes 750 TB of monthly egress in this scenario.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Wasabi ↗

    “No charge for egress or API requests [...] With Wasabi, you pay just one low rate for capacity only. No hidden fees means you can plan your budget to the penny and never go over it, no matter how much you access your data.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Storage (entry plan)

Backblaze B2
10 GB free, permanently — 'First 10GB storage is always free.' The statement is a row-level note on Backblaze's pricing-model table, so it applies to B2 storage rather than to one plan, and it is an ongoing allowance rather than the 'Start Free' trial the page advertises separately.
Wasabi
None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.
Sources (2) →

Uptime SLA

Backblaze B2

Credits begin below 99.9% monthly user uptime. The SLA is per user account and covers B2 Cloud Storage and Computer Backup.

Wasabi

Credits begin below 99.9% monthly uptime: 10% between 99.0% and 99.9%, 25% below 99.0%. Uptime is computed from five-minute error rates rather than downtime minutes.

Sources (2) →

Storage price

Backblaze B2
$6.95 per TB per month on B2 Overdrive; $15 per TB per month on the unlimited-egress tier
Wasabi
$7.99 per TB per month, flat, with no separate charge for egress or API requests
Sources (2) →

Operations price

Backblaze B2
Transactions are not charged on the $6.95/TB tier. Backblaze notes that its published chart uses U.S. West rates and that competitor rates vary by region and volume.
Wasabi
None. API requests are not charged separately.
Sources (2) →

Minimum storage duration

Backblaze B2

None. Backblaze states no minimum file size or storage duration fee on B2 Cloud Storage, so an object deleted an hour after upload is billed only for that hour.

Wasabi

90 days on pay-as-you-go. Deleting an object sooner incurs a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days. Objects under 4 KB are billed as 4 KB.

Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Backblaze B2 Cloud Storage ↗

    “$6.95 / TB / mo [...] No minimum file size or storage duration fees Free egress up to 3x storage Free transactions”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pay-as-you-go FAQs — Wasabi ↗

    “Wasabi has a minimum storage duration policy that means if stored objects are deleted before they have been stored with Wasabi for a certain number of days (90 days when using the Wasabi Pay as You Go pricing model), a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days will apply.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

ISO 27001

Backblaze B2
Not a Backblaze organizational certification — Backblaze states it primarily operates in data centers that hold ISO 27001 certificates, a facility-level attestation rather than one covering Backblaze itself.
Wasabi
Wasabi's products and physical data center locations are ISO 27001 compliant.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

What the free plan includesBackblaze B2: The first 10 GB of storage is always free, egress is free up to three times average monthly storage, and the first 2,500 Class D transactions each day are free.
Credit card to startWasabi: No
When the free offer endsWasabi: 30 days.
RegionsWasabi: 16 storage regions: six in the Americas, six in EMEA and four in Asia-Pacific. Several also answer to an alias URL, which is a second name for a region rather than a second region.
Support on entry paid planBackblaze B2: Giga support with every subscription. Tera and Peta are paid add-ons bought per service.
Response time commitmentBackblaze B2: Target response for email support: one business day on Giga, the included plan; 4 business hours on Tera; 2 business hours on Peta. Email support runs 9am to 5pm Pacific.
SOC 2Backblaze B2: SOC 2 Type 2 compliant, audited by an independent third-party firm; the data centers Backblaze operates in are also SOC 2 compliant.Wasabi: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Wasabi.
HIPAABackblaze B2: A Business Associate Agreement is available on request for business customers who are Covered Entities under HIPAA.Wasabi: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Wasabi.
GDPR / data residencyBackblaze B2: Adheres to GDPR and UK GDPR privacy policies; Data Processing Agreement addendums are available for EEA/EU and UK residents.Wasabi: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Wasabi.
PCI DSSBackblaze B2: Card processing is handled through Stripe, which combined with Backblaze's internal security controls contributes to PCI-DSS adherence — not a direct PCI-DSS certification of Backblaze's own storage platform.
Encryption at restWasabi: Your data is encrypted in transit and at rest on the Wasabi cloud storage platform.
Customer-managed keysWasabi: Customers can also supply their own encryption key during the API upload request.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Free tier: Backblaze B2 or Wasabi?

Backblaze B2: Yes

Wasabi: No

Egress over allowance: Backblaze B2 or Wasabi?

Backblaze B2: Free up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable.

Wasabi: None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.

Storage (entry plan): Backblaze B2 or Wasabi?

Backblaze B2: 10 GB free, permanently — 'First 10GB storage is always free.' The statement is a row-level note on Backblaze's pricing-model table, so it applies to B2 storage rather than to one plan, and it is an ongoing allowance rather than the 'Start Free' trial the page advertises separately.

Wasabi: None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.

Should I choose Backblaze B2 or Wasabi?

Pick Backblaze B2 if Bulk capacity where egress is predictable — free up to three times what you store each month, which covers most backup and archive patterns comfortably at $6.95 per terabyte.

Pick Wasabi if Anyone who wants one number. Capacity is the only charge — no egress fees, no API request fees — which makes the bill predictable in a way nothing else in this category manages.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.