Skip to content
inetGeek

Azure Blob Storage vs Wasabi

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Azure Blob Storage and Wasabi built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 20 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Azure Blob Storage if…

Workloads already on Azure, where keeping storage in the same region as the compute avoids the bandwidth charge that dominates an object storage bill.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Wasabi if…

Anyone who wants one number. Capacity is the only charge — no egress fees, no API request fees — which makes the bill predictable in a way nothing else in this category manages.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Azure Blob Storage: Egress is charged beyond the first 100 GB a month, where R2, Wasabi and Tigris charge nothing — and Azure's rates vary by region and redundancy, so a quoted figure only holds for the combination it was read for.
  • Wasabi: The flat rate is $7.99 per terabyte whether you store a gigabyte or a terabyte of it, so small buckets pay for capacity they are not using. Check Wasabi's own terms for minimum storage duration before storing anything short-lived.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Azure Blob Storage alternatives · Wasabi alternatives

8 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionAzure Blob StorageWasabi
Pricing
Free tierNoNo
Kind of free offerFree creditFree trial
When the free offer ends30 days.30 days.
Egress over allowance
First 100 GB a month free, then $0.087 per GB over Microsoft's global egress meter, falling to $0.083 above 10 TB.
None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.
Limits
Storage (entry plan)None. Azure Blob has no plans and no free storage band: the Hot LRS meter is charged from the first GB.None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.
Infrastructure
Uptime SLANot published as a web page. Microsoft consolidated its per-service SLAs into one downloadable document covering Azure, Dynamics 365, Office 365 and Intune; the former azure.microsoft.com SLA URLs now redirect to its licensing viewer.Credits begin below 99.9% monthly uptime: 10% between 99.0% and 99.9%, 25% below 99.0%. Uptime is computed from five-minute error rates rather than downtime minutes.
Storage
Storage price$0.0208 per GB-month for Hot LRS in East US, falling to $0.019968 above 50 TB and $0.019136 above 500 TB.$7.99 per TB per month, flat, with no separate charge for egress or API requests
Operations price$0.05 per 10,000 write operations and $0.004 per 10,000 reads on Hot LRS in East US.None. API requests are not charged separately.
Minimum storage duration
None on Hot. Cool carries a 30-day minimum, Cold 90 days and Archive 180 days — the longest early-deletion window of any provider here, and three times S3's 90-day Glacier figure.
90 days on pay-as-you-go. Deleting an object sooner incurs a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days. Objects under 4 KB are billed as 4 KB.
Compliance
ISO 27001Listed among Azure's compliance offerings (ISO 27001) on Microsoft's own compliance documentation — a platform-wide list, not scoped to this specific service.Wasabi's products and physical data center locations are ISO 27001 compliant.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Kind of free offer

Azure Blob Storage
Free credit
Wasabi
Free trial
Sources (2) →

Egress over allowance

Azure Blob Storage
First 100 GB a month free, then $0.087 per GB over Microsoft's global egress meter, falling to $0.083 above 10 TB.
Wasabi
None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.
Sources (2) →
  • Azure Retail Prices API — Bandwidth, East US ↗

    “{"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.0,"unitPrice":0.0,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2022-05-01T00:00:00Z","meterId":"9995d93a-7d35-4d3f-9c69-7a7fea447ef4","meterName":"Standard Data Transfer Out"," [...] {"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.0,"unitPrice":0.0,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2022-05-01T00:00:00Z","meterId":"9995d93a-7d35-4d3f-9c69-7a7fea447ef4","meterName":"Standard Data Transfer Out","”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Wasabi ↗

    “No charge for egress or API requests [...] With Wasabi, you pay just one low rate for capacity only. No hidden fees means you can plan your budget to the penny and never go over it, no matter how much you access your data.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Storage (entry plan)

Azure Blob Storage
None. Azure Blob has no plans and no free storage band: the Hot LRS meter is charged from the first GB.
Wasabi
None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.
Sources (2) →
  • Azure Retail Prices API — Blob Storage Hot LRS, East US ↗

    “{"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.0208,"unitPrice":0.0208,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2017-02-03T00:00:00Z","meterId":"272492b3-1c92-4a5f-bee9-52a8e10ca514","meterName":"Hot LRS Data Stored"," [...] {"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.0208,"unitPrice":0.0208,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2017-02-03T00:00:00Z","meterId":"272492b3-1c92-4a5f-bee9-52a8e10ca514","meterName":"Hot LRS Data Stored","”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pay-as-you-go FAQs — Wasabi ↗

    “For customers using the Wasabi Pay as You Go pricing model, Wasabi has a minimum monthly charge associated with 1 TB of active storage”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

Azure Blob Storage
Not published as a web page. Microsoft consolidated its per-service SLAs into one downloadable document covering Azure, Dynamics 365, Office 365 and Intune; the former azure.microsoft.com SLA URLs now redirect to its licensing viewer.
Wasabi
Credits begin below 99.9% monthly uptime: 10% between 99.0% and 99.9%, 25% below 99.0%. Uptime is computed from five-minute error rates rather than downtime minutes.
Sources (2) →

Storage price

Azure Blob Storage
$0.0208 per GB-month for Hot LRS in East US, falling to $0.019968 above 50 TB and $0.019136 above 500 TB.
Wasabi
$7.99 per TB per month, flat, with no separate charge for egress or API requests
Sources (2) →
  • Azure Retail Prices API — Blob Storage Hot LRS, East US ↗

    “{"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.0208,"unitPrice":0.0208,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2017-02-03T00:00:00Z","meterId":"272492b3-1c92-4a5f-bee9-52a8e10ca514","meterName":"Hot LRS Data Stored"," [...] {"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.0208,"unitPrice":0.0208,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2017-02-03T00:00:00Z","meterId":"272492b3-1c92-4a5f-bee9-52a8e10ca514","meterName":"Hot LRS Data Stored"," [...] {"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.0208,"unitPrice":0.0208,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2017-02-03T00:00:00Z","meterId":"272492b3-1c92-4a5f-bee9-52a8e10ca514","meterName":"Hot LRS Data Stored","”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Wasabi ↗

    “Pay monthly [...] No fees for egress or API requests [...] $7.99 TB/month”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Operations price

Azure Blob Storage
$0.05 per 10,000 write operations and $0.004 per 10,000 reads on Hot LRS in East US.
Wasabi
None. API requests are not charged separately.
Sources (2) →
  • Azure Retail Prices API — Blob Storage Hot LRS, East US ↗

    “{"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.05,"unitPrice":0.05,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2016-11-01T00:00:00Z","meterId":"14854f12-8d37-4299-842a-b0f2df82a305","meterName":"Hot LRS Write Operations"," [...] {"currencyCode":"USD","tierMinimumUnits":0.0,"retailPrice":0.004,"unitPrice":0.004,"armRegionName":"eastus","location":"US East","effectiveStartDate":"2016-11-01T00:00:00Z","meterId":"c5248cf8-ecba-4807-9304-6a8f14b5805a","meterName":"Hot Read Operations","”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Wasabi ↗

    “No fees for egress or API requests”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Minimum storage duration

Azure Blob Storage

None on Hot. Cool carries a 30-day minimum, Cold 90 days and Archive 180 days — the longest early-deletion window of any provider here, and three times S3's 90-day Glacier figure.

Wasabi

90 days on pay-as-you-go. Deleting an object sooner incurs a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days. Objects under 4 KB are billed as 4 KB.

Sources (2) →
  • Access tiers for blob data — Microsoft Learn ↗

    “Data in the cool tier should be stored for a minimum of 30 days. [...] Data in the cold tier should be stored for a minimum of 90 days. [...] Data in the archive tier should be stored for a minimum of 180 days.”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pay-as-you-go FAQs — Wasabi ↗

    “Wasabi has a minimum storage duration policy that means if stored objects are deleted before they have been stored with Wasabi for a certain number of days (90 days when using the Wasabi Pay as You Go pricing model), a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days will apply.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

ISO 27001

Azure Blob Storage
Listed among Azure's compliance offerings (ISO 27001) on Microsoft's own compliance documentation — a platform-wide list, not scoped to this specific service.
Wasabi
Wasabi's products and physical data center locations are ISO 27001 compliant.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

What the free plan includesAzure Blob Storage: $200 of Azure credit for 30 days on a new account. Azure separately lists services that are always free and services free for 12 months to new customers, which is an account-wide programme rather than a Blob Storage allowance.
Credit card to startWasabi: No
Pricing modelAzure Blob Storage: Per region, per redundancy and per access tier, with storage, operations and egress metered separately; no plans and no bundles.
RegionsWasabi: 16 storage regions: six in the Americas, six in EMEA and four in Asia-Pacific. Several also answer to an alias URL, which is a second name for a region rather than a second region.
S3-compatible APIWasabi: Supported
SOC 2Azure Blob Storage: Listed among Azure's compliance offerings (SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3) on Microsoft's own compliance documentation — a platform-wide list, not scoped to this specific service.Wasabi: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Wasabi.
HIPAAAzure Blob Storage: Listed among Azure's compliance offerings (HIPAA) on Microsoft's own compliance documentation — a platform-wide list, not scoped to this specific service.Wasabi: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Wasabi.
PCI DSSAzure Blob Storage: Listed among Azure's compliance offerings (PCI DSS) on Microsoft's own compliance documentation — a platform-wide list, not scoped to this specific service.
Encryption at restWasabi: Your data is encrypted in transit and at rest on the Wasabi cloud storage platform.
Customer-managed keysWasabi: Customers can also supply their own encryption key during the API upload request.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Egress over allowance: Azure Blob Storage or Wasabi?

Azure Blob Storage: First 100 GB a month free, then $0.087 per GB over Microsoft's global egress meter, falling to $0.083 above 10 TB.

Wasabi: None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.

Storage (entry plan): Azure Blob Storage or Wasabi?

Azure Blob Storage: None. Azure Blob has no plans and no free storage band: the Hot LRS meter is charged from the first GB.

Wasabi: None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.

Should I choose Azure Blob Storage or Wasabi?

Pick Azure Blob Storage if Workloads already on Azure, where keeping storage in the same region as the compute avoids the bandwidth charge that dominates an object storage bill.

Pick Wasabi if Anyone who wants one number. Capacity is the only charge — no egress fees, no API request fees — which makes the bill predictable in a way nothing else in this category manages.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.