Skip to content
inetGeek

Fivetran vs Hevo Data

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Fivetran and Hevo Data built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 22 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Fivetran if…

Sources whose rows keep changing. A monthly active row is counted once however many times it changed that month, unchanged rows on a re-sync cost nothing, and the initial bulk load is excluded entirely — so a churny table is billed on how many rows moved, not how often. 500,000 MAR free, standing.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Hevo Data if…

A capped bill at low volume with real support attached to it. $299 a month covers 5 million events, and 24x7 email and live chat come with the cheapest paid plan rather than an upgrade. SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA and per-region residency — EU, US or APAC, never crossed — are stated platform-wide.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Fivetran: Many DISTINCT rows change each month. A growing fact table bills every new row, and the meter that forgives churn does not forgive breadth. Freshness is also gated: 15-minute syncs are the Standard ceiling and 1-minute syncs are two plans up on Enterprise.
  • Hevo Data: Rows are rewritten often. An event is every insert, update and delete landing in the destination, so a row touched thirty times in a month is thirty events where a monthly-active-row meter reads one. Governance arrives late too: RBAC and SSO are Business Critical, which is quote-only.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Fivetran alternatives · Hevo Data alternatives

11 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionFivetranHevo Data
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
What the free plan includes500,000 monthly active rows for connections, 3,500 MAR for activations and 5,000 model runs for transformations, on Standard plan features. The allowance renews monthly rather than expiring.1 million events a month on a limited connector set, with 1-hour scheduling and up to 5 users.
When the free offer endsEach new connection carries its own 14-day free trial, which runs alongside the standing free plan rather than replacing it.A 14-day free trial with 24x7 support and no credit card, offered beside the standing free plan rather than instead of it.
Entry paid plan$5 base charge per standard connection using between 1 and 1 million MAR in a month, charged on top of per-MAR usage. There is no plan fee to clear first, so a single light connection is the floor.$299 a month for Starter at 5 million events, or $265 a month billed annually.
Pricing modelConsumption on monthly active rows. Inserts and updates count, deletes included; rows that come back unchanged on a scheduled re-sync do not, and neither does the initial bulk load when a connector is set up. Metered per million MAR.Tiered subscription by monthly event volume, where an event is each record inserted, updated or deleted in the destination. A row that changes repeatedly is billed each time it changes.
Pipelines
Connectors published
700+ fully managed connectors, plus 200+ fully managed activation destinations for the reverse direction.
150+ connectors from Starter. The Free plan is limited to a subset of them.
Sync frequency15-minute syncs on Standard. One-minute syncs arrive on Enterprise, two plans up.1-hour scheduling on the Free plan. Streaming pipelines arrive on Business Critical, which is quote-only.
Compliance
SOC 2SOC 1 and SOC 2 auditing procedures cover the security and management of data.SOC 2 Type II, certified by AICPA independent auditors across all five trust services criteria.
HIPAAHIPAA requirements are met under a business associate agreement signed by Fivetran.HIPAA security, privacy and breach notification requirements are met by safeguarding ePHI through documented controls.
GDPR / data residencyYou can ensure Fivetran data processing always occurs in the EU, for example, to help meet your GDPR requirements.Pipeline data stays in the selected cloud region — EU, US or APAC — and is not transferred across regions.
Encryption at restData, keys, and credentials are encrypted in transit and at rest.AES at rest, TLS 1.2+ in transit and SSL during Kafka processing.
Role-based access control
Role-based access control is included on Standard. Custom roles are an Enterprise feature.
Role-based access control arrives on Business Critical, the quote-only top plan — three tiers above the entry paid plan.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Fivetran
500,000 monthly active rows for connections, 3,500 MAR for activations and 5,000 model runs for transformations, on Standard plan features. The allowance renews monthly rather than expiring.
Hevo Data
1 million events a month on a limited connector set, with 1-hour scheduling and up to 5 users.
Sources (2) →
  • Fivetran Pricing ↗

    “free up to the following: 500,000 monthly active rows (MAR) for connections 3,500 monthly active rows (MAR) for activations 5,000 monthly model runs (MMR) for transformations”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Hevo Pricing ↗

    “Free forever for limited connectors Upto 1M events/month [...] Free plan features: 1-hour scheduling Up to 5 users”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing · Report a correction

When the free offer ends

Fivetran
Each new connection carries its own 14-day free trial, which runs alongside the standing free plan rather than replacing it.
Hevo Data
A 14-day free trial with 24x7 support and no credit card, offered beside the standing free plan rather than instead of it.
Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Fivetran
$5 base charge per standard connection using between 1 and 1 million MAR in a month, charged on top of per-MAR usage. There is no plan fee to clear first, so a single light connection is the floor.
Hevo Data
$299 a month for Starter at 5 million events, or $265 a month billed annually.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Fivetran
Consumption on monthly active rows. Inserts and updates count, deletes included; rows that come back unchanged on a scheduled re-sync do not, and neither does the initial bulk load when a connector is set up. Metered per million MAR.
Hevo Data
Tiered subscription by monthly event volume, where an event is each record inserted, updated or deleted in the destination. A row that changes repeatedly is billed each time it changes.
Sources (2) →
  • Fivetran Pricing ↗

    “monthly usage refers to the number of monthly active rows (MAR) processed by Fivetran in a calendar month. This usage is measured based on per million MAR. Usage includes: Inserts: New rows added to your destination. Updates: Modifications made to existing rows in your destination, including deletes. Usage excludes: Unchanged rows: Rows retrieved during scheduled re-syncs that haven't changed since the previous sync. Initial syncs: The initial bulk data load performed when setting up a connector.”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Hevo Pricing ↗

    “Each record that is inserted, updated or deleted in the destination (data warehouse, database, etc.) is counted as one event.”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing · Report a correction

Connectors published

Fivetran

700+ fully managed connectors, plus 200+ fully managed activation destinations for the reverse direction.

Hevo Data

150+ connectors from Starter. The Free plan is limited to a subset of them.

Sources (2) →

Sync frequency

Fivetran
15-minute syncs on Standard. One-minute syncs arrive on Enterprise, two plans up.
Hevo Data
1-hour scheduling on the Free plan. Streaming pipelines arrive on Business Critical, which is quote-only.
Sources (2) →
  • Fivetran Pricing ↗

    “Unlimited users 15-minute syncs 700+ fully managed connectors [...] All Standard features, plus: 1-minute syncs”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Hevo Pricing ↗

    “Free plan features: 1-hour scheduling [...] Everything in Professional, plus: Streaming Pipelines”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing · Report a correction

SOC 2

Fivetran
SOC 1 and SOC 2 auditing procedures cover the security and management of data.
Hevo Data
SOC 2 Type II, certified by AICPA independent auditors across all five trust services criteria.
Sources (2) →

HIPAA

Fivetran
HIPAA requirements are met under a business associate agreement signed by Fivetran.
Hevo Data
HIPAA security, privacy and breach notification requirements are met by safeguarding ePHI through documented controls.
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Fivetran
You can ensure Fivetran data processing always occurs in the EU, for example, to help meet your GDPR requirements.
Hevo Data
Pipeline data stays in the selected cloud region — EU, US or APAC — and is not transferred across regions.
Sources (2) →
  • Security | Fivetran ↗

    “You can ensure Fivetran data processing always occurs in the EU, for example, to help meet your GDPR requirements.”

    Read 2026-09-21 · official site · Report a correction

  • Hevo Security ↗

    “Your data stays in the selected cloud region (EU, US, or APAC). Hevo does not transfer pipeline data across regions, supporting GDPR, HIPAA, CPRA, and DORA.”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official site · Report a correction

Encryption at rest

Fivetran
Data, keys, and credentials are encrypted in transit and at rest.
Hevo Data
AES at rest, TLS 1.2+ in transit and SSL during Kafka processing.
Sources (2) →

Role-based access control

Fivetran
Role-based access control is included on Standard. Custom roles are an Enterprise feature.
Hevo Data
Role-based access control arrives on Business Critical, the quote-only top plan — three tiers above the entry paid plan.
Sources (2) →
  • Fivetran Pricing ↗

    “Role-based access control Access to Fivetran REST API [...] All Standard features, plus: 1-minute syncs Fivetran Activations' Audience Hub Enterprise database connectors Custom roles”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Hevo Pricing ↗

    “Everything in Professional, plus: Streaming Pipelines Role Based Access Control Single sign-on Multiple Workspaces”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official pricing · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

When you exceed a capHevo Data: Events above the plan quota are treated as On-Demand and charged on top of the plan rather than blocking the pipeline.
Startup credit programFivetran: $50,000 of free Fivetran for Y Combinator companies joining the startup program.
RegionsFivetran: Seven processing locations: United States, Canada, European Union, United Kingdom, Australia, India and Singapore. The location is chosen per destination, and every connection in that destination runs there.
SAML single sign-onHevo Data: Limited
Support on entry paid planHevo Data: 24x7 email and live chat support from Starter, the cheapest paid plan.
ISO 27001Fivetran: ISO 27001. Fivetran states it meets the requirements of the standard.Hevo Data: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Hevo Data.
PCI DSSFivetran: PCI DSS Level 1, assessed annually by qualified security assessors against the current requirements.Hevo Data: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Hevo Data.
Customer-managed keysFivetran: Customer-managed keys for encryption arrive on Business Critical, above Enterprise.Hevo Data: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Hevo Data.
Private networking / VPCFivetran: Avoid exposure to the public internet by connecting via AWS PrivateLink, Azure Private Link, or Google Private Service Connect.Hevo Data: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Hevo Data.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Fivetran or Hevo Data?

Fivetran: $5 base charge per standard connection using between 1 and 1 million MAR in a month, charged on top of per-MAR usage. There is no plan fee to clear first, so a single light connection is the floor.

Hevo Data: $299 a month for Starter at 5 million events, or $265 a month billed annually.

Should I choose Fivetran or Hevo Data?

Pick Fivetran if Sources whose rows keep changing. A monthly active row is counted once however many times it changed that month, unchanged rows on a re-sync cost nothing, and the initial bulk load is excluded entirely — so a churny table is billed on how many rows moved, not how often. 500,000 MAR free, standing.

Pick Hevo Data if A capped bill at low volume with real support attached to it. $299 a month covers 5 million events, and 24x7 email and live chat come with the cheapest paid plan rather than an upgrade. SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA and per-region residency — EU, US or APAC, never crossed — are stated platform-wide.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.