Skip to content
inetGeek

Neon vs Supabase

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Neon and Supabase built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 29 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Neon if…

Workloads that are idle most of the time, and teams who want a real database per pull request. Compute suspends after five minutes and storage is billed separately, so a staging branch costs almost nothing while nobody is using it.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Supabase if…

Teams who want Postgres plus auth, storage and generated APIs from one vendor on a fixed monthly bill, and who would otherwise assemble those pieces themselves.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Neon: You need predictable monthly billing. Usage pricing with no minimum fee cuts both ways, and a runaway query on an autoscaling compute is billed at the rate it ran.
  • Supabase: You want only a database. Much of the $25 covers a platform you may not use, and free projects are paused after a week of inactivity, which is not the same as scaling to zero.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Neon alternatives · Supabase alternatives

17 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionNeonSupabase
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
What the free plan includes100 projects with 10 branches each, plus allowances for compute and storage, at no monthly cost.500 MB database, 5 GB egress, 1 GB file storage, 50,000 monthly active users and unlimited API requests on shared CPU. Free projects pause after a week without activity.
Entry paid planNo fixed monthly fee. Launch is usage-based — Neon's own worked example puts typical spend at $15/month for intermittent load on 1 GB — so there is no entry price to compare, only a rate card. Recorded without a magnitude because a vendor's spend estimate is not a price.$25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo.
Pricing modelUsage-based with no minimum monthly fee on paid plans: $0.106/CU-hour compute and $0.35/GB-month storage on Launch, $0.222/CU-hour on ScaleFixed monthly plan per organisation plus per-project compute, billed hourly by instance size
Egress over allowance
5 GB per project included on Free; 500 GB per project included on Launch and Scale, then $0.10/GB
$0.09 per GB for uncached egress and $0.03 per GB for cached, charged only above the plan's quota. Egress restrictions clear at the next billing cycle, or immediately on upgrading or disabling the spend cap.
Limits
Storage (entry plan)No included allowance on the Launch plan; storage is metered at $0.35/GB-month. The Free plan includes 0.5 GB per project.8 GB disk per project on the Pro plan; 500 MB on Free
Execution
Managed connection poolingSupportedSupported — Shared pooler on every plan, IPv4-only; the dedicated pooler is paid plans only.
Infrastructure
Regions
8 AWS regions: N. Virginia, Ohio, Oregon, Frankfurt, London, Singapore, Sydney, São Paulo. A project's region is fixed at creation and cannot be changed.
17 specific AWS regions across the Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific and South America, plus broader 'general region' groupings that place the project on an available AWS region within an area. General regions do not support read replicas or API management.
Data
EnginePostgreSQLPostgreSQL
Connection limit
Scales with compute size: 104 direct connections at 0.25 CU (1 GB RAM), 419 at 1 CU, 2517 at 6 CU; up to 10,000 through the pooler
60 direct and 200 pooled connections on the Micro instance included with Pro; both scale with instance size
When idleCompute suspends after 5 minutes idle on Free and Launch, and can be disabled on Launch; configurable from 1 minute to always-on on Scale. The database is not deleted or paused — the next query restarts the compute.Free projects are paused after one week of inactivity and must be restored manually; paid projects are not paused
Database branchingSupportedSupported
Point-in-time recoveryHistory window of 6 hours up to 1 GB-month on Free, up to 7 days on Launch, up to 30 days on ScalePoint-in-time recovery is a paid add-on on Pro, Team and Enterprise, and needs at least a Small compute add-on alongside it. Worst-case recovery point is 2 minutes. Without it, restores go back only to a daily backup.
Read replicasSupportedSupported
Backup retention1 day of history on paid plans by default and 6 hours on Free, configurable up to 7 days on Launch or 30 days on Scale. Neon notes that widening the window raises storage cost, so the ceiling is a paid choice rather than an included allowance.Daily backups: 7 days on Pro, 14 days on Team, up to 30 days on Enterprise. Free projects get no automatic backups at all — Supabase tells free users to export their own data with the CLI.
Support
Support on entry paid plan
Support plans are mapped to pricing plans: community support on Free, billing support on Launch, standard support on Scale.
Community support on Free; email support on Pro, the entry paid plan; priority email support and SLAs from Team; a designated support manager and 24/7/365 premium support on Enterprise.
Compliance
SOC 2Annual SOC 2 Type II audits by an accredited independent third party.SOC 2 Type 2 compliant; report available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard.
ISO 27001Annual ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019 audits.ISO 27001 certified; certificate available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard.
HIPAAHIPAA compliance achieved, to support customers handling protected health information (PHI).HIPAA compliant; customers may store PHI after signing a BAA and meeting shared-responsibility obligations.
GDPR / data residency
Follows the GDPR framework; Data Processing Agreements (DPA) offered.
Projects hosted in EU regions keep primary database data in-region; a DPA is available.
Encryption at restAES-256, with key rotation policies.AES-256 at rest and TLS in transit; sensitive tokens/keys get application-level encryption before storage.
Role-based access control
Access to production systems is role-based, requiring SSO and continuous monitoring.
Organization members can be granted access to specific resources, including read-only and billing-only roles.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Neon
100 projects with 10 branches each, plus allowances for compute and storage, at no monthly cost.
Supabase
500 MB database, 5 GB egress, 1 GB file storage, 50,000 monthly active users and unlimited API requests on shared CPU. Free projects pause after a week without activity.
Sources (2) →
  • Neon Plans ↗

    “You get usage allowances for projects, branches, compute, storage, and more, for $0/month. [...] Included per plan: Free: 100 projects”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Supabase Pricing ↗

    “unlimited api requests 50,000 monthly active users 500 mb database size shared cpu • 500 mb ram 5 gb egress 5 gb cached egress 1 gb file storage community support Free projects are paused after 1 week of inactivity.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Entry paid plan

Neon
No fixed monthly fee. Launch is usage-based — Neon's own worked example puts typical spend at $15/month for intermittent load on 1 GB — so there is no entry price to compare, only a rate card. Recorded without a magnitude because a vendor's spend estimate is not a price.
Supabase
$25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Neon ↗

    “Launch Usage-based Typical spend: $ 15 /mo Based on: Intermittent load , 1 GB Get started”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Supabase Pricing ↗

    “$25/month [...] First project included. Additional projects from $10/mo. [...] Paid plans include $10/mo in compute credits, enough to cover one Micro instance.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

Pricing model

Neon
Usage-based with no minimum monthly fee on paid plans: $0.106/CU-hour compute and $0.35/GB-month storage on Launch, $0.222/CU-hour on Scale
Supabase
Fixed monthly plan per organisation plus per-project compute, billed hourly by instance size
Sources (2) →
  • Neon plans — Neon Docs ↗

    “On Launch and Scale plans, you pay only for what you use; there's no minimum monthly fee. Usage for compute, storage, extra branches, and other features is billed at the published rates”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing & Fees — Supabase ↗

    “First project included. Additional projects from $10/mo. [...] Paid plans include $10/mo in compute credits, enough to cover one Micro instance.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

Egress over allowance

Neon
5 GB per project included on Free; 500 GB per project included on Launch and Scale, then $0.10/GB
Supabase
$0.09 per GB for uncached egress and $0.03 per GB for cached, charged only above the plan's quota. Egress restrictions clear at the next billing cycle, or immediately on upgrading or disabling the spend cap.
Sources (2) →
  • Neon plans — Neon Docs ↗

    “Public network transfer 5 GB per project included 500 GB per project included, then $0.10/GB 500 GB per project included, then $0.10/GB”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Manage Egress usage — Supabase Docs ↗

    “$0.09 per GB per month for uncached egress, $0.03 per GB per month for cached egress. You are only charged for usage exceeding your subscription plan's quota. [...] If your organization is restricted for egress, the restriction clears at the start of the next billing cycle, or immediately if you upgrade your plan or disable your Spend Cap.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

Storage (entry plan)

Neon
No included allowance on the Launch plan; storage is metered at $0.35/GB-month. The Free plan includes 0.5 GB per project.
Supabase
8 GB disk per project on the Pro plan; 500 MB on Free
Sources (2) →

Regions

Neon

8 AWS regions: N. Virginia, Ohio, Oregon, Frankfurt, London, Singapore, Sydney, São Paulo. A project's region is fixed at creation and cannot be changed.

Supabase

17 specific AWS regions across the Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific and South America, plus broader 'general region' groupings that place the project on an available AWS region within an area. General regions do not support read replicas or API management.

Sources (2) →
  • Regions — Neon Docs ↗

    “Each Neon project exists in exactly one region. Your database runs in that region. You cannot change the region for an existing project. If you need your data in a different region, you create a new Neon project in that region and migrate your database there.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Available regions — Supabase Docs ↗

    “Each Supabase project is deployed to one primary region. [...] General regions deploy to an available AWS region within that broader area, which may not match a specific jurisdiction. For example, the "Europe" general region includes London and Zurich, which are not EU member states. Region selection is a data-location control, not proof of regulatory compliance. [...] General regions aren't yet supported for read replicas or management via the API.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Connection limit

Neon

Scales with compute size: 104 direct connections at 0.25 CU (1 GB RAM), 419 at 1 CU, 2517 at 6 CU; up to 10,000 through the pooler

Supabase

60 direct and 200 pooled connections on the Micro instance included with Pro; both scale with instance size

Sources (2) →

When idle

Neon
Compute suspends after 5 minutes idle on Free and Launch, and can be disabled on Launch; configurable from 1 minute to always-on on Scale. The database is not deleted or paused — the next query restarts the compute.
Supabase
Free projects are paused after one week of inactivity and must be restored manually; paid projects are not paused
Sources (2) →

Point-in-time recovery

Neon
History window of 6 hours up to 1 GB-month on Free, up to 7 days on Launch, up to 30 days on Scale
Supabase
Point-in-time recovery is a paid add-on on Pro, Team and Enterprise, and needs at least a Small compute add-on alongside it. Worst-case recovery point is 2 minutes. Without it, restores go back only to a daily backup.
Sources (2) →
  • Neon plans — Neon Docs ↗

    “History window 6 hours, up to 1 GB-month Up to 7 days Up to 30 days”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Database Backups — Supabase Docs ↗

    “Point-in-Time Recovery (PITR) allows you to back up a project at shorter intervals, giving you the option to restore to any chosen point with up to seconds of granularity. [...] Pro, Team and Enterprise Plan projects can enable PITR as an add-on. Projects that want to use PITR must also use at least a Small compute add-on to ensure smooth functioning. [...] in the worst case scenario, PITR achieves a Recovery Point Objective (RPO) of two minutes.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Backup retention

Neon
1 day of history on paid plans by default and 6 hours on Free, configurable up to 7 days on Launch or 30 days on Scale. Neon notes that widening the window raises storage cost, so the ceiling is a paid choice rather than an included allowance.
Supabase
Daily backups: 7 days on Pro, 14 days on Team, up to 30 days on Enterprise. Free projects get no automatic backups at all — Supabase tells free users to export their own data with the CLI.
Sources (2) →
  • Point-in-time restore — Neon Docs ↗

    “Neon retains a history of changes for your branches, with defaults of 6 hours on Free plan and 1 day on paid plans. [...] You can configure it up to 7 days on Launch or 30 days on Scale plans.”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Database Backups — Supabase Docs ↗

    “We automatically back up all Pro, Team, and Enterprise Plan projects on a daily basis. [...] Pro Plan projects can access the last 7 days of daily backups. Team Plan projects can access the last 14 days of daily backups, while Enterprise Plan projects can access up to 30 days of daily backups. [...] We recommend that free tier plan projects regularly export their data using the Supabase CLI db dump command and maintain off-site backups.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Support on entry paid plan

Neon
Support plans are mapped to pricing plans: community support on Free, billing support on Launch, standard support on Scale.
Supabase
Community support on Free; email support on Pro, the entry paid plan; priority email support and SLAs from Team; a designated support manager and 24/7/365 premium support on Enterprise.
Sources (2) →
  • Support — Neon Docs ↗

    “neon's support plans are mapped to neon pricing plans, as outlined in the following table. neon pricing plan support plan options free plan community support launch plan billing support scale plan standard support”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Supabase Pricing ↗

    “1 GB file storage Community support [...] 100 GB file storage then $0.0213 per GB Email support Daily backups stored for 7 days [...] Priority email support & SLAs Daily backups stored for 14 days”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

SOC 2

Neon
Annual SOC 2 Type II audits by an accredited independent third party.
Supabase
SOC 2 Type 2 compliant; report available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard.
Sources (2) →

ISO 27001

Neon
Annual ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019 audits.
Supabase
ISO 27001 certified; certificate available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard.
Sources (2) →

HIPAA

Neon
HIPAA compliance achieved, to support customers handling protected health information (PHI).
Supabase
HIPAA compliant; customers may store PHI after signing a BAA and meeting shared-responsibility obligations.
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Neon
Follows the GDPR framework; Data Processing Agreements (DPA) offered.
Supabase
Projects hosted in EU regions keep primary database data in-region; a DPA is available.
Sources (2) →
  • Neon Security ↗

    “Neon follows the GDPR framework, ensuring user rights, data minimization, and lawful processing. We offer Data Processing Agreements (DPA) and support compliant cross-border data transfers.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

  • Supabase Security ↗

    “Supabase supports GDPR-compliant deployments. Projects hosted in EU regions keep your primary database data in-region, and a Data Processing Agreement (DPA) is available for customers who need a formal data processing contract under GDPR.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

Encryption at rest

Neon
AES-256, with key rotation policies.
Supabase
AES-256 at rest and TLS in transit; sensitive tokens/keys get application-level encryption before storage.
Sources (2) →

Role-based access control

Neon
Access to production systems is role-based, requiring SSO and continuous monitoring.
Supabase
Organization members can be granted access to specific resources, including read-only and billing-only roles.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Credit card to startNeon: No
Startup credit programNeon: Via the Databricks Startup Program: up to $1,000 in Neon credits for self-funded startups (<$1M raised), or up to $200K in Neon and Databricks credits for VC-backed startups (≥$1M raised) or accelerator participants. Credits valid 12 months from acceptance.
Included bandwidthSupabase: 250 GB uncached and 250 GB cached egress a month on Pro and Team, pooled across Database, Auth, Storage and every other service as one Unified Egress Quota
Scales to zeroNeon: Supported
Uptime SLASupabase: Uptime SLAs are an Enterprise line item. No uptime percentage appears anywhere on the pricing page; Team lists "priority email support & SLAs" without a figure.
PCI DSSNeon: The page attributes PCI-DSS to the AWS and Azure infrastructure Neon runs on. Neon's own compliance list on the same page names CCPA, GDPR, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2 and HIPAA, and not PCI DSS.Supabase: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Supabase.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Neon or Supabase?

Neon: No fixed monthly fee. Launch is usage-based — Neon's own worked example puts typical spend at $15/month for intermittent load on 1 GB — so there is no entry price to compare, only a rate card. Recorded without a magnitude because a vendor's spend estimate is not a price.

Supabase: $25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo.

Egress over allowance: Neon or Supabase?

Neon: 5 GB per project included on Free; 500 GB per project included on Launch and Scale, then $0.10/GB

Supabase: $0.09 per GB for uncached egress and $0.03 per GB for cached, charged only above the plan's quota. Egress restrictions clear at the next billing cycle, or immediately on upgrading or disabling the spend cap.

Storage (entry plan): Neon or Supabase?

Neon: No included allowance on the Launch plan; storage is metered at $0.35/GB-month. The Free plan includes 0.5 GB per project.

Supabase: 8 GB disk per project on the Pro plan; 500 MB on Free

Should I choose Neon or Supabase?

Pick Neon if Workloads that are idle most of the time, and teams who want a real database per pull request. Compute suspends after five minutes and storage is billed separately, so a staging branch costs almost nothing while nobody is using it.

Pick Supabase if Teams who want Postgres plus auth, storage and generated APIs from one vendor on a fixed monthly bill, and who would otherwise assemble those pieces themselves.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.