Skip to content
inetGeek

Render vs Railway

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Render and Railway built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 38 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Render if…

Workloads that need real background workers and persistent processes alongside web services, deployed from a repository or a Dockerfile. Managed Postgres and static sites run on the same platform.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Railway if…

Teams that want a plan fee which doubles as usage credit, and deploy services straight from a Dockerfile without managing servers. The $5 Hobby fee comes back as $5 of resource usage.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Render: Free web services spin down after 15 minutes without traffic, which makes the free tier unsuitable for anything that must answer immediately.
  • Railway: You need to run in a region outside California, Virginia, Amsterdam or Singapore.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Render alternatives · Railway alternatives

15 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionRenderRailway
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
What the free plan includesFree instances of web services, Render Postgres and Key Value, plus static sites at no charge. Free instances carry documented limitations.A $0 plan alongside Hobby at $5 and Pro at $20. Deployment images on the free and trial tier are retained 24 hours, against 72 on Hobby.
Pricing modelThe Hobby plan does not have a monthly fee, so you only pay for usage.A base subscription fee that goes towards usage, with the plan's own credit included; anything beyond the credit is billed as resource usage.
When you exceed a capPipeline minutes: overage is auto-purchased, but with no payment method or once the monthly spend limit is reached Render stops running pipeline tasks, builds included.Billed automatically: on the Hobby plan ($5/month, includes $5 of resource usage) usage above the included amount is charged as a delta on top of the subscription — no throttling or suspension is documented
Limits
Storage (entry plan)No persistent disk is included on any instance type, including the entry `0.5c-512mb` plan; services run on an ephemeral filesystem unless a persistent disk is attached separately0.5 GB of volume storage on Free and up to 5 GB on Hobby ($5/month) — a ceiling, not an allocation, and volume storage is billed on usage rather than included. Recorded without a magnitude for the same reason as this record's memory figure: a cap you pay for is not comparable with an allowance you are given.
Memory (entry plan)512 MB RAM (with 0.5 CPU) on the 0.5c-512mb instance type, the cheapest paid web service compute plan.48 GB on Hobby ($5/month) — but that is a ceiling, not an allocation. Railway's table states the figure is a maximum including replica multiplication, so it is 8 GB across each of up to 6 replicas, and memory is billed at $10 per GB per month on top of the $5 fee. Recorded without a magnitude because a cap you pay for is not comparable with an allowance you are given.
Sites or apps included
25 total services on the Hobby workspace plan (Render's entry workspace tier, compute billed separately); also limited to a single team member
50 projects and 50 services per project on Hobby; Pro raises both to 100 and Enterprise is unlimited.
Monthly visits capNo request-count cap is published; traffic is capped by outbound bandwidth, 5 GB/month included on Hobby and 25 GB on Pro.No monthly visit or bandwidth cap is published. Rate limits are platform-wide: about 11,000 HTTP requests per second to a domain, and 10,000 concurrent connections.
Execution
Managed connection poolingSupportedSupported
Deployment
Git deploymentSupportedSupported
Docker deploymentSupportedSupported
Scheduled jobsSupportedSupported
Infrastructure
Persistent processesSupportedSupported
Persistent storageSupportedSupported
Managed databases
Supported
Limited
Edge networkSupportedSupported
Scales to zero
Supported
Limited — Serverless sleeps an idle service, but a slept service still holds a slot and is de-prioritised.
AutoscalingLimited — Requires a Pro workspace plan or higher; scales on CPU or memory utilisation targets.Limited
RegionsOregon, USA; Ohio, USA; Virginia, USA; Frankfurt, Germany; Singapore4 regions: California, Virginia, Amsterdam, Singapore
Uptime SLAEnterprise only, and custom-priced. Hobby, Professional and Organization publish no uptime SLA, and no percentage is given for the Enterprise one.Published as availability targets rather than a contractual SLA: 99.9% on Hobby, 99.99% on Pro, 99.999% on Enterprise, which also adds support SLOs.
Auth
Audit logsBuilt-in audit logging and monitoring for platform events.Audit Logging is listed under Product Security, and Data Access Logging under Access Control. Neither is described further and no retention period is given.
Support
Support on entry paid plan
Chat support, from the free Hobby plan upward. Professional ($25/month plus compute) adds seats, bandwidth and features but no separate support tier.
Community support on Trial and on Hobby, the entry paid plan. Pro gets "Railway support"; Enterprise adds support SLOs.
Compliance
HIPAAMeet SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001, and GDPR requirements without overhead.HIPAA is listed under Compliance and a HIPAA report is among the documents, behind the same access request as the rest. The Trust Center does not mention a business associate agreement.
GDPR / data residencyMeet SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001, and GDPR requirements without overhead.GDPR is listed under Compliance, alongside the EU-US and Swiss-US Data Privacy Frameworks. No region is named and no residency commitment is made anywhere on the page — the listing is about the regime, not about where data sits.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Render
Free instances of web services, Render Postgres and Key Value, plus static sites at no charge. Free instances carry documented limitations.
Railway
A $0 plan alongside Hobby at $5 and Pro at $20. Deployment images on the free and trial tier are retained 24 hours, against 72 on Hobby.
Sources (2) →
  • Free Instances — Render Docs ↗

    “You can deploy certain Render service types free of charge: Web services (web apps in Node.js, Python, Rails, etc.) Render Postgres databases Render Key Value instances [...] You can also deploy static sites on Render for free.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Railway Plans ↗

    “Plan Price Free $0 / month Hobby $5 / month Pro $20 / month Enterprise Custom [...] Plan Policy Free / Trial 24 hours Hobby 72 hours”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Pricing model

Render
The Hobby plan does not have a monthly fee, so you only pay for usage.
Railway
A base subscription fee that goes towards usage, with the plan's own credit included; anything beyond the credit is billed as resource usage.
Sources (2) →

When you exceed a cap

Render
Pipeline minutes: overage is auto-purchased, but with no payment method or once the monthly spend limit is reached Render stops running pipeline tasks, builds included.
Railway
Billed automatically: on the Hobby plan ($5/month, includes $5 of resource usage) usage above the included amount is charged as a delta on top of the subscription — no throttling or suspension is documented
Sources (2) →
  • Build pipeline — Render Docs ↗

    “Running out of minutes If you run out of pipeline minutes during a given month, you automatically purchase a supplementary amount of minutes for your current tier, unless: You've reached your monthly spend limit, or You haven't added a payment method.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing Plans | Railway Docs ↗

    “If your total resource usage exceeds $5 in any given billing period, you will be charged the delta”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Storage (entry plan)

Render
No persistent disk is included on any instance type, including the entry `0.5c-512mb` plan; services run on an ephemeral filesystem unless a persistent disk is attached separately
Railway
0.5 GB of volume storage on Free and up to 5 GB on Hobby ($5/month) — a ceiling, not an allocation, and volume storage is billed on usage rather than included. Recorded without a magnitude for the same reason as this record's memory figure: a cap you pay for is not comparable with an allowance you are given.
Sources (2) →

Memory (entry plan)

Render
512 MB RAM (with 0.5 CPU) on the 0.5c-512mb instance type, the cheapest paid web service compute plan.
Railway
48 GB on Hobby ($5/month) — but that is a ceiling, not an allocation. Railway's table states the figure is a maximum including replica multiplication, so it is 8 GB across each of up to 6 replicas, and memory is billed at $10 per GB per month on top of the $5 fee. Recorded without a magnitude because a cap you pay for is not comparable with an allowance you are given.
Sources (2) →
  • Compute plans — Render Docs ↗

    “Web service plans CPU RAM Plan ID Legacy Plan Name 0.1 CPU 512 MB free 0.5 CPU 512 MB 0.5c-512mb starter 1 CPU 2 GB 1c-2g standard”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Plans — Railway Docs ↗

    “Plan Replicas RAM CPU Ephemeral Storage Volume Storage Image Size [...] Hobby 6 48 GB 48 vCPU 100 GB 5 GB 100 GB [...] Note that these are maximum values and include replica multiplication. [...] RAM $10 / GB / month”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official pricing · Report a correction

Sites or apps included

Render

25 total services on the Hobby workspace plan (Render's entry workspace tier, compute billed separately); also limited to a single team member

Railway

50 projects and 50 services per project on Hobby; Pro raises both to 100 and Enterprise is unlimited.

Sources (2) →

Monthly visits cap

Render
No request-count cap is published; traffic is capped by outbound bandwidth, 5 GB/month included on Hobby and 25 GB on Pro.
Railway
No monthly visit or bandwidth cap is published. Rate limits are platform-wide: about 11,000 HTTP requests per second to a domain, and 10,000 concurrent connections.
Sources (2) →

Managed databases

Render
Supported
Railway
Limited
Sources (2) →
  • Render Postgres ↗

    “Deploy fully managed, enterprise-grade databases that scale to any workload.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Databases — Railway Docs ↗

    “Railway enables you to deploy and manage databases alongside your applications. [...] The fastest way to deploy a database is through Railway's database templates [...] These templates are maintained by Railway and come pre-configured with sensible defaults.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Scales to zero

Render
Supported
Railway
Limited — Serverless sleeps an idle service, but a slept service still holds a slot and is de-prioritised.
Sources (2) →
  • Free Instances – Render Docs ↗

    “Render spins down a Free web service that goes 15 minutes without receiving any inbound traffic.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

  • App Sleeping — Railway Docs ↗

    “The first request made to a slept service wakes it. [...] For Railway to put a service to sleep, a service must not send outbound traffic for at least 5 minutes. [...] Slept services still consume a slot on Railway's infrastructure, enabling Serverless de-prioritizes your workload”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Regions

Render
Oregon, USA; Ohio, USA; Virginia, USA; Frankfurt, Germany; Singapore
Railway
4 regions: California, Virginia, Amsterdam, Singapore
Sources (2) →
  • Regions — Render Docs ↗

    “You can deploy Render services to any of the following regions to minimize latency for your users: Oregon, USA Ohio, USA Virginia, USA Frankfurt, Germany Singapore”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Regions — Railway Docs ↗

    “Name Location Region Identifier US West Metal California, USA us-west2 US East Metal Virginia, USA us-east4-eqdc4a EU West Metal Amsterdam, Netherlands europe-west4-drams3a Southeast Asia Metal Singapore asia-southeast1-eqsg3a”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

Render
Enterprise only, and custom-priced. Hobby, Professional and Organization publish no uptime SLA, and no percentage is given for the Enterprise one.
Railway
Published as availability targets rather than a contractual SLA: 99.9% on Hobby, 99.99% on Pro, 99.999% on Enterprise, which also adds support SLOs.
Sources (2) →
  • Render Pricing ↗

    “for teams that need dedicated support and uptime SLAs. Custom pricing”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Railway Pricing ↗

    “single developer workspace community support 99.9% availability target 7-day log history [...] unlimited workspace seats included railway support 99.99% availability target 30-day log history”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

Audit logs

Render
Built-in audit logging and monitoring for platform events.
Railway
Audit Logging is listed under Product Security, and Data Access Logging under Access Control. Neither is described further and no retention period is given.
Sources (2) →

Support on entry paid plan

Render
Chat support, from the free Hobby plan upward. Professional ($25/month plus compute) adds seats, bandwidth and features but no separate support tier.
Railway
Community support on Trial and on Hobby, the entry paid plan. Pro gets "Railway support"; Enterprise adds support SLOs.
Sources (2) →
  • Render Pricing ↗

    “firewall & DDoS mitigation database PITR Chat support All Hobby features, plus: unlimited seats & services 25 GB bandwidth included”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Railway Pricing ↗

    “up to 5 GB storage single developer workspace Community support 99.9% availability target [...] unlimited workspace seats included Railway support 99.99% availability target”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

HIPAA

Render
Meet SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001, and GDPR requirements without overhead.
Railway
HIPAA is listed under Compliance and a HIPAA report is among the documents, behind the same access request as the rest. The Trust Center does not mention a business associate agreement.
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Render
Meet SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001, and GDPR requirements without overhead.
Railway
GDPR is listed under Compliance, alongside the EU-US and Swiss-US Data Privacy Frameworks. No region is named and no residency commitment is made anywhere on the page — the listing is about the regime, not about where data sits.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Credit card to startRender: No — Free services run without one until the workspace's included bandwidth or pipeline minutes run out.
When the free offer endsRender: Free Postgres databases expire 30 days after creation, with a 14-day grace period to upgrade to a paid plan.
Entry paid planRailway: $5 / month (Hobby)
Egress over allowanceRailway: $0.05 / GB
Included bandwidthRender: Hobby: 5 GB; Pro: 25 GB; Scale: 1 TB; Enterprise: Custom
Build allowanceRender: 500 build-pipeline minutes a month on Hobby, 1,000 on Pro, 5,000 on Scale. Minutes, not builds.
Concurrent buildsRender: One active build per service, platform-wide on all plans; a new build cancels the in-progress one for that service
Max request durationRailway: 15 minutes while data keeps transferring; closed after 5 minutes with no data transferred. Websocket connections are exempt and can stay open indefinitely.
Streaming response limitRailway: Platform-wide: an HTTP request may run up to 15 minutes while data keeps transferring, and is closed after 5 minutes with none. Idle HTTP/1.1 connections close after 60 seconds between requests. WebSocket connections are exempt. Railway documents the connection's duration here, not how the response is delivered.
ContainersRender: Supported
SOC 2Railway: SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3, both listed under Compliance, with SOC 2 and SOC 3 reports among the documents. The reports are gated rather than public: the Trust Center asks visitors to request access and frames the whole page as starting a security review.Render: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Render.
Encryption at restRailway: Encryption-at-rest is listed under Data Security, beside Data Backups and Data Erasure. The Trust Center names the feature and gives no algorithm, scope or key-management detail; disk encryption appears separately under Endpoint Security, which is about staff devices rather than customer data.
Private networking / VPCRender: Intuitive hosting and private networking for web services , Postgres databases , cron jobs , workflows , static sites , background jobs , key value stores , private services , WebSockets , edge caches , isolated environments ,
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

When you exceed a cap: Render or Railway?

Render: Pipeline minutes: overage is auto-purchased, but with no payment method or once the monthly spend limit is reached Render stops running pipeline tasks, builds included.

Railway: Billed automatically: on the Hobby plan ($5/month, includes $5 of resource usage) usage above the included amount is charged as a delta on top of the subscription — no throttling or suspension is documented

Storage (entry plan): Render or Railway?

Render: No persistent disk is included on any instance type, including the entry `0.5c-512mb` plan; services run on an ephemeral filesystem unless a persistent disk is attached separately

Railway: 0.5 GB of volume storage on Free and up to 5 GB on Hobby ($5/month) — a ceiling, not an allocation, and volume storage is billed on usage rather than included. Recorded without a magnitude for the same reason as this record's memory figure: a cap you pay for is not comparable with an allowance you are given.

Should I choose Render or Railway?

Pick Render if Workloads that need real background workers and persistent processes alongside web services, deployed from a repository or a Dockerfile. Managed Postgres and static sites run on the same platform.

Pick Railway if Teams that want a plan fee which doubles as usage credit, and deploy services straight from a Dockerfile without managing servers. The $5 Hobby fee comes back as $5 of resource usage.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.