Skip to content
inetGeek

Sentry vs SigNoz

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Sentry and SigNoz built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 23 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Sentry if…

Teams that want tracing, logs, replays and uptime in one place and will pay per meter for it. The tooling is the deepest in the category and the SDK coverage is the widest.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose SigNoz if…

Teams that want per-GB billing without per-host or per-seat charges, and the option to run the same product themselves rather than being locked to the cloud version.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Sentry: Five meters bill independently, so 50,000 errors is not 50,000 units of observability. A team watching cost needs to watch spans and logs too, not just the error count.
  • SigNoz: $0.30 per GB is six times OpenObserve's rate, so a high-volume log pipeline pays a large premium for the packaging.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Sentry alternatives · SigNoz alternatives

13 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionSentrySigNoz
Pricing
Free tier
Yes
No
Kind of free offerFree tierFree trial
Entry paid plan$26/month for Team, the cheapest paid plan$49/month for Teams, and the $49 is usage credit rather than a fee on top — SigNoz bills against it before charging more.
Pricing modelA plan fee plus five independent meters — errors, logs, application metrics, tracing spans and session replays — each with its own included amount and its own overage. Logs and metrics overflow at $0.50/GB; extra uptime alerts at $1.00 each.Per GB ingested, with no per-user, per-host or custom-metric pricing — SigNoz states all three exclusions explicitly. Retention is a per-signal choice that changes the rate.
Observability
Events included50,000 errors a month on Team and Business; 5,000 on Free. Errors are one meter of several — logs, spans, replays and uptime monitors are counted and billed separately.No events meter: SigNoz Cloud bills traces and logs per GB and metrics per million samples. The $49/month Teams minimum includes $49 of usage — e.g. 163 GB of logs or traces, or 490 mn metric samples.
Retention window30-day lookback on Developer, the free plan. Up to 90 days on Team, and up to 90 days plus additional sampled retention on Business. Enterprise is custom. "Up to" is Sentry's own wording — the 90 days is a ceiling, not a guarantee.15 days by default for logs and traces, selectable up to 30, 90, 180 days or 1 year at higher rates.
Session replay
Supported
Not supported — SigNoz's own table of capabilities it does not offer today marks Session Replays No for SigNoz Cloud.
Self-hostable
Limited
Supported
Support
Support on entry paid planFour levels listed: community support via GitHub and Discord, email support, a dedicated technical account manager, and premium customer success. Enterprise is the tier the page names for the account manager and dedicated support.In-product chat, email and Slack on the usage-based cloud plan. Enterprise, from $4,000/month, adds data residency and compliance.
Compliance
SOC 2SOC 2 Type I and Type II certifications; report available via account or on request.SOC 2 Type 2 compliant on SigNoz Cloud.
HIPAAHIPAA attestation obtained. — Listed as an attestation among compliance certifications, not as a BAA offer.HIPAA compliant, with a BAA available as an add-on for eligible SigNoz Cloud contracts.
Encryption at restAll data encrypted at rest; keys managed via a redundant, globally distributed Key Management Service.Encrypted at rest and in transit on the Enterprise offering.
Role-based access controlRole-based access: Billing, Member, Admin, Manager, Organization Owner.Role-based access control included; fine-grained RBAC is listed as beta on the pricing comparison.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Sentry
Yes
SigNoz
No
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Free [...] Error Monitoring 5k errors [...] Logs 5GB [...] Tracing 5M spans [...] Session Replay 50 replays [...] Uptime Monitoring 1 uptime monitor”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — SigNoz ↗

    “Teams For fast-scaling teams that need observability to scale with them. starts from $199 $49 /month [...] After the included $49 of usage [...] Most teams start with Teams Cloud free trial”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official pricing · Report a correction

Kind of free offer

Sentry
Free tier
SigNoz
Free trial
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Free [...] Error Monitoring 5k errors [...] Logs 5GB [...] Tracing 5M spans [...] Session Replay 50 replays [...] Uptime Monitoring 1 uptime monitor”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • SigNoz Pricing ↗

    “most teams start with teams cloud free trial to test with real data, then decide based on their specific needs.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Entry paid plan

Sentry
$26/month for Team, the cheapest paid plan
SigNoz
$49/month for Teams, and the $49 is usage credit rather than a fee on top — SigNoz bills against it before charging more.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Sentry
A plan fee plus five independent meters — errors, logs, application metrics, tracing spans and session replays — each with its own included amount and its own overage. Logs and metrics overflow at $0.50/GB; extra uptime alerts at $1.00 each.
SigNoz
Per GB ingested, with no per-user, per-host or custom-metric pricing — SigNoz states all three exclusions explicitly. Retention is a per-signal choice that changes the rate.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Error Monitoring 5k errors 50k errors [...] Logs 5GB 5GB +$0.50/GB additional [...] Application Metrics 5GB 5GB +$0.50/GB additional [...] Tracing 5M spans [...] Session Replay 50 replays [...] Uptime Monitoring 1 uptime monitor +$1.00/uptime alert additional”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — SigNoz ↗

    “Simple Usage-based Predictable Observability Costs No user-based pricing No host-based pricing No special pricing for custom metrics”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Events included

Sentry
50,000 errors a month on Team and Business; 5,000 on Free. Errors are one meter of several — logs, spans, replays and uptime monitors are counted and billed separately.
SigNoz
No events meter: SigNoz Cloud bills traces and logs per GB and metrics per million samples. The $49/month Teams minimum includes $49 of usage — e.g. 163 GB of logs or traces, or 490 mn metric samples.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Error Monitoring 5k errors 50k errors 50k errors Custom [...] Logs 5GB 5GB +$0.50/GB additional [...] Tracing 5M spans 5M spans 5M spans [...] Session Replay 50 replays 50 replays 50 replays”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • SigNoz | Pricing ↗

    “After the included $49 of usage, SigNoz Cloud bills: Traces $0.30 /GB Logs $0.30 /GB Metrics $0.10 /mn samples [...] $49 of usage (for example, 163 GB of logs or traces, or 490 mn metric samples)”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Retention window

Sentry
30-day lookback on Developer, the free plan. Up to 90 days on Team, and up to 90 days plus additional sampled retention on Business. Enterprise is custom. "Up to" is Sentry's own wording — the 90 days is a ceiling, not a guarantee.
SigNoz
15 days by default for logs and traces, selectable up to 30, 90, 180 days or 1 year at higher rates.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Data retention [...] 30-day lookback [...] Up to 90-day lookback [...] Up to 90-day lookback & additional sampled retention [...] Custom”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — SigNoz ↗

    “Logs $ 0.3 /GB ingested 15 days retention 15 days retention 30 days retention 90 days retention 180 days retention 1 year retention”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Session replay

Sentry
Supported
SigNoz
Not supported — SigNoz's own table of capabilities it does not offer today marks Session Replays No for SigNoz Cloud.
Sources (2) →

Self-hostable

Sentry
Limited
SigNoz
Supported
Sources (2) →
  • Self-Hosted Sentry — Sentry Developer Documentation ↗

    “In addition to making its source code available publicly, Sentry offers and maintains a minimal setup that works out-of-the-box for simple use cases. This version comes with no guarantees or dedicated support. Sentry engineers will do their best to answer questions and are dedicated to making sure self-hosted is running, but that's where our involvement ends.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing — SigNoz ↗

    “SigNoz Cloud: BYOC, managed by SigNoz in your cloud account Self-Hosted SigNoz: enterprise support. Your team operates infrastructure, storage, scaling, upgrades, and backups.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Support on entry paid plan

Sentry
Four levels listed: community support via GitHub and Discord, email support, a dedicated technical account manager, and premium customer success. Enterprise is the tier the page names for the account manager and dedicated support.
SigNoz
In-product chat, email and Slack on the usage-based cloud plan. Enterprise, from $4,000/month, adds data residency and compliance.
Sources (2) →
  • Sentry Pricing ↗

    “SUPPORT Community support via GitHub and Discord Email support Dedicated technical account manager Premium customer success [...] Enterprise For organizations with advanced needs Custom Business features + Technical account manager Dedicated customer support”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • SigNoz Pricing ↗

    “add unlimited teammates and monitor any number of hosts support via in-product chat, email, and slack soc2 type ii & hipaa compliant [...] for larger orgs that need data residency, compliance and support. custom starts at $4000/month”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

SOC 2

Sentry
SOC 2 Type I and Type II certifications; report available via account or on request.
SigNoz
SOC 2 Type 2 compliant on SigNoz Cloud.
Sources (2) →
  • Sentry Security ↗

    “Sentry has obtained the following compliance certifications: SOC2 Type I SOC2 Type II [...] Sentry's SOC 2 report and ISO 27001 certificate are available to customers via their Sentry account or upon request.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

  • SigNoz Cloud | SigNoz Docs ↗

    “Enterprise Ready: SOC2 Type 2 compliant, SSO support, and granular access control.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

HIPAA

Sentry
HIPAA attestation obtained. — Listed as an attestation among compliance certifications, not as a BAA offer.
SigNoz
HIPAA compliant, with a BAA available as an add-on for eligible SigNoz Cloud contracts.
Sources (2) →

Encryption at rest

Sentry
All data encrypted at rest; keys managed via a redundant, globally distributed Key Management Service.
SigNoz
Encrypted at rest and in transit on the Enterprise offering.
Sources (2) →

Role-based access control

Sentry
Role-based access: Billing, Member, Admin, Manager, Organization Owner.
SigNoz
Role-based access control included; fine-grained RBAC is listed as beta on the pricing comparison.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

What the free plan includesSentry: 5,000 errors, 5 GB of logs, 5 million spans, 50 session replays and 1 uptime monitor a month.
When you exceed a capSentry: Billed, not throttled: each meter charges for additional usage beyond the included amount, at a published per-unit rate.
RegionsSigNoz: US, EU and India data centres for SigNoz Cloud; Enterprise Cloud lets you pick the region.
Ingest price per GBSigNoz: $0.30 per GB ingested for logs, and the same for traces. Retention is chosen per signal and priced with it.
Query priceSigNoz: No charge for querying on SigNoz Cloud: query compute is included in the $0.30/GB ingestion price, with no dashboard or API charges.
Audit logsSentry: In the audit log, all of the actions by user and event within the Sentry UI (e.g., member.invite, project.create) are listed chronologically by time and IP address so you’ll always have a view into your organization’s most recent history.SigNoz: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about SigNoz.
ISO 27001Sentry: ISO 27001 certified; certificate available via account or on request.
GDPR / data residencySigNoz: Data residency via US, EU and India regions so data need not leave its region; Enterprise Cloud selects the region.Sentry: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Sentry.
Private networking / VPCSigNoz: BYOC / Enterprise Self-Hosted runs the SigNoz stack inside your own AWS/GCP/Azure account, so your data never leaves your VPC. From the deployment-options section: Enterprise Self-Hosted / BYOC, alongside a fully managed Enterprise Cloud.Sentry: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Sentry.
Dedicated infrastructureSigNoz: Enterprise offers SigNoz Cloud: Dedicated, Enterprise Self-Hosted, and a bring-your-own-cloud option run by SigNoz in your account.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Sentry or SigNoz?

Sentry: $26/month for Team, the cheapest paid plan

SigNoz: $49/month for Teams, and the $49 is usage credit rather than a fee on top — SigNoz bills against it before charging more.

Free tier: Sentry or SigNoz?

Sentry: Yes

SigNoz: No

Should I choose Sentry or SigNoz?

Pick Sentry if Teams that want tracing, logs, replays and uptime in one place and will pay per meter for it. The tooling is the deepest in the category and the SDK coverage is the widest.

Pick SigNoz if Teams that want per-GB billing without per-host or per-seat charges, and the option to run the same product themselves rather than being locked to the cloud version.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.