Skip to content
inetGeek

Storj vs Wasabi

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Storj and Wasabi built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 21 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Storj if…

Workloads that want data spread across many independent locations rather than one provider's region, at a storage rate close to the cheapest here.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Wasabi if…

Anyone who wants one number. Capacity is the only charge — no egress fees, no API request fees — which makes the bill predictable in a way nothing else in this category manages.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Storj: Egress is charged at the same $7 per TB as storage, so a read-heavy workload costs roughly double what the storage line suggests — the three free-egress providers here charge nothing for it.
  • Wasabi: The flat rate is $7.99 per terabyte whether you store a gigabyte or a terabyte of it, so small buckets pay for capacity they are not using. Check Wasabi's own terms for minimum storage duration before storing anything short-lived.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Storj alternatives · Wasabi alternatives

4 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionStorjWasabi
Pricing
Kind of free offerFree trialFree trial
Credit card to startNoNo
When the free offer ends30 days.30 days.
Egress over allowance$7 per TB, the same rate as storage — reduced from $20 per TB on the Standard tier. Storj charges for egress where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not, but at a tenth of what S3 charges.None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.
Infrastructure
RegionsDistributed across tens of thousands of storage locations globally rather than named regions; a US-only option runs on SOC 2 type 2 compliant data centres.16 storage regions: six in the Americas, six in EMEA and four in Asia-Pacific. Several also answer to an alias URL, which is a second name for a region rather than a second region.
Storage
Storage price$7 per TB per month, which is $0.007 per GB. A $5 monthly minimum applies to Standard and Advanced accounts.$7.99 per TB per month, flat, with no separate charge for egress or API requests
Operations priceSegment fees have been eliminated across all new tiers. They still apply to accounts on legacy plans.None. API requests are not charged separately.
S3-compatible APISupportedSupported

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Egress over allowance

Storj
$7 per TB, the same rate as storage — reduced from $20 per TB on the Standard tier. Storj charges for egress where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not, but at a tenth of what S3 charges.
Wasabi
None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Storj ↗

    “Egress $7/TB [...] to reduce egress on the Standard tier from $20/TB to $7/TB”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Wasabi ↗

    “No charge for egress or API requests [...] With Wasabi, you pay just one low rate for capacity only. No hidden fees means you can plan your budget to the penny and never go over it, no matter how much you access your data.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Regions

Storj
Distributed across tens of thousands of storage locations globally rather than named regions; a US-only option runs on SOC 2 type 2 compliant data centres.
Wasabi
16 storage regions: six in the Americas, six in EMEA and four in Asia-Pacific. Several also answer to an alias URL, which is a second name for a region rather than a second region.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Storj ↗

    “Storage Locations Distributed globally across tens of thousands of storage locations. [...] Distributed across U.S. SOC2 type 2 compliant data centers.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Service URLs for Wasabi's Storage Regions ↗

    “Americas Region Service URL Alias/Alternative URL Wasabi US East 1 (N. Virginia) s3.wasabisys.com s3.us-east-1.wasabisys.com Wasabi US East 2 (N. Virginia) s3.us-east-2.wasabisys.com Wasabi US Central 1 (Texas) s3.us-central-1.wasabisys.com Wasabi US West 1 (Oregon) s3.us-west-1.wasabisys.com Wasabi US West 2 (San Jose) s3.us-west-2.wasabisys.com Wasabi CA Central 1 (Toronto) s3.ca-central-1.wasabisys.com EMEA Wasabi EU Central 1 (Amsterdam) s3.eu-central-1.wasabisys.com s3.nl-1.wasabisys.com Wasabi EU Central 2 (Frankfurt) s3.eu-central-2.wasabisys.com s3.de-1.wasabisys.com Wasabi EU West 1 (United Kingdom) s3.eu-west-1.wasabisys.com s3.uk-1.wasabisys.com Wasabi EU West 2 (Paris) s3.eu-west-2.wasabisys.com s3.fr-1.wasabisys.com Wasabi EU West 3 (United Kingdom) s3.eu-west-3.wasabisys.com s3.uk-2.wasabisys.com Wasabi EU South 1 (Milan) s3.eu-south-1.wasabisys.com s3.it-1.wasabisys.com APAC Wasabi AP Northeast 1 (Tokyo) s3.ap-northeast-1.wasabisys.com Wasabi AP Northeast 2 (Osaka) s3.ap-northeast-2.wasabisys.com Wasabi AP Southeast 1 (Singapore) s3.ap-southeast-1.wasabisys.com Wasabi AP Southeast 2 (Sydney) s3.ap-southeast-2.wasabisys.com”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

Storage price

Storj
$7 per TB per month, which is $0.007 per GB. A $5 monthly minimum applies to Standard and Advanced accounts.
Wasabi
$7.99 per TB per month, flat, with no separate charge for egress or API requests
Sources (2) →

Operations price

Storj
Segment fees have been eliminated across all new tiers. They still apply to accounts on legacy plans.
Wasabi
None. API requests are not charged separately.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Free tierWasabi: No
What the free plan includesStorj: 30 days free with no credit card, including two Object Mount licences. The monthly minimum fee is waived for the duration of the trial.
Storage (entry plan)Wasabi: None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.
Uptime SLAWasabi: Credits begin below 99.9% monthly uptime: 10% between 99.0% and 99.9%, 25% below 99.0%. Uptime is computed from five-minute error rates rather than downtime minutes.
Minimum storage durationWasabi: 90 days on pay-as-you-go. Deleting an object sooner incurs a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days. Objects under 4 KB are billed as 4 KB.
Support on entry paid planStorj: Support hours are 9am to 8pm Eastern on business days for Severity Level 1 errors, and 9am to 5pm Eastern for everything else. Committed in the terms of service rather than sold as a tier.
Response time commitmentStorj: For a Severity Level 1 error: acknowledgement within one business day, updates every eight hours, and resolution no later than three days. No uptime percentage is published anywhere in the terms.
SOC 2Storj: Beyond SOC2, Storj also meets the critical requirements of GDPR, HIPAA, CJIS and MPA regulations for object storage compliance.Wasabi: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-22 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Wasabi.
ISO 27001Wasabi: Wasabi's products and physical data center locations are ISO 27001 compliant.Storj: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Storj.
HIPAAStorj: HIPAA compliant cloud storage.Wasabi: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Wasabi.
GDPR / data residencyStorj: Beyond SOC2, Storj also meets the critical requirements of GDPR, HIPAA, CJIS and MPA regulations for object storage compliance.Wasabi: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Wasabi.
Encryption at restWasabi: Your data is encrypted in transit and at rest on the Wasabi cloud storage platform.Storj: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Storj.
Customer-managed keysWasabi: Customers can also supply their own encryption key during the API upload request.Storj: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Storj.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Egress over allowance: Storj or Wasabi?

Storj: $7 per TB, the same rate as storage — reduced from $20 per TB on the Standard tier. Storj charges for egress where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not, but at a tenth of what S3 charges.

Wasabi: None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.

Should I choose Storj or Wasabi?

Pick Storj if Workloads that want data spread across many independent locations rather than one provider's region, at a storage rate close to the cheapest here.

Pick Wasabi if Anyone who wants one number. Capacity is the only charge — no egress fees, no API request fees — which makes the bill predictable in a way nothing else in this category manages.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.