Skip to content
inetGeek

IDrive e2 vs Backblaze B2

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of IDrive e2 and Backblaze B2 built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 18 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose IDrive e2 if…

Bulk storage where the per-GB rate dominates — $6 per TB is roughly a quarter of S3's and well under Wasabi's, with no API fees and no minimum retention period.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Backblaze B2 if…

Bulk capacity where egress is predictable — free up to three times what you store each month, which covers most backup and archive patterns comfortably at $6.95 per terabyte.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • IDrive e2: The minimum charge is billed per whole terabyte, so a 100 GB workload pays for 1 TB, and egress is only free up to three times what you store.
  • Backblaze B2: Egress is only free to that 3x ceiling. A bucket read far more often than its size, like a public media library, is the shape this pricing is not built for.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: IDrive e2 alternatives · Backblaze B2 alternatives

8 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionIDrive e2Backblaze B2
Pricing
What the free plan includesNo free storage allowance is published. Egress is free up to three times stored volume and API calls carry no charge, but storage itself bills from the first gigabyte.The first 10 GB of storage is always free, egress is free up to three times average monthly storage, and the first 2,500 Class D transactions each day are free.
Egress over allowanceFree up to three times your active storage volume each month — the same shape as Backblaze B2's allowance rather than the unconditional free egress R2 and Wasabi advertise.Free up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable.
Limits
Storage (entry plan)None on a paid account. IDrive e2 bills a minimum of $6 per TB charged per whole terabyte, so storing under 1 TB still costs a full terabyte — a floor on the bill rather than storage you are given. A 10 GB free trial is offered separately.10 GB free, permanently — 'First 10GB storage is always free.' The statement is a row-level note on Backblaze's pricing-model table, so it applies to B2 storage rather than to one plan, and it is an ongoing allowance rather than the 'Start Free' trial the page advertises separately.
Infrastructure
Uptime SLA
Aims to maintain at least 99.9% monthly uptime across all covered services. The SLA says aims to maintain, not commits to.
Credits begin below 99.9% monthly user uptime. The SLA is per user account and covers B2 Cloud Storage and Computer Backup.
Storage
Storage price$0.006 per GB per month, or $6 per TB, tierless — the cheapest published rate here. SSD storage is $0.01 per GB per month.$6.95 per TB per month on B2 Overdrive; $15 per TB per month on the unlimited-egress tier
Operations priceNone. IDrive e2 states no additional charges for API transactions across class A, B and C.Transactions are not charged on the $6.95/TB tier. Backblaze notes that its published chart uses U.S. West rates and that competitor rates vary by region and volume.
Minimum storage durationNone. IDrive e2 states no minimum data retention restriction, unlike Wasabi's 90 days and the S3 infrequent-access classes' 30 to 180.None. Backblaze states no minimum file size or storage duration fee on B2 Cloud Storage, so an object deleted an hour after upload is billed only for that hour.
S3-compatible APISupportedSupported
Compliance
SOC 2IDrive has proudly achieved SOC 2 Type 2 certification through a rigorous evaluation conducted by an independent third-party auditing firm.SOC 2 Type 2 compliant, audited by an independent third-party firm; the data centers Backblaze operates in are also SOC 2 compliant.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

IDrive e2
No free storage allowance is published. Egress is free up to three times stored volume and API calls carry no charge, but storage itself bills from the first gigabyte.
Backblaze B2
The first 10 GB of storage is always free, egress is free up to three times average monthly storage, and the first 2,500 Class D transactions each day are free.
Sources (2) →
  • IDrive e2 Pricing ↗

    “Free egress policy Download less than or equal to 3x your active storage volume for free! [...] Free API calls IDrive ® e2 does not impose any additional charges for your API calls.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Backblaze B2 Cloud Storage Pricing ↗

    “First 10GB storage is always free. [...] Class D transactions cost $0.004 per 10,000 calls plus the first 2,500 calls per day are free.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Egress over allowance

IDrive e2
Free up to three times your active storage volume each month — the same shape as Backblaze B2's allowance rather than the unconditional free egress R2 and Wasabi advertise.
Backblaze B2
Free up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable.
Sources (2) →

Storage (entry plan)

IDrive e2
None on a paid account. IDrive e2 bills a minimum of $6 per TB charged per whole terabyte, so storing under 1 TB still costs a full terabyte — a floor on the bill rather than storage you are given. A 10 GB free trial is offered separately.
Backblaze B2
10 GB free, permanently — 'First 10GB storage is always free.' The statement is a row-level note on Backblaze's pricing-model table, so it applies to B2 storage rather than to one plan, and it is an ongoing allowance rather than the 'Start Free' trial the page advertises separately.
Sources (2) →

Uptime SLA

IDrive e2

Aims to maintain at least 99.9% monthly uptime across all covered services. The SLA says aims to maintain, not commits to.

Backblaze B2

Credits begin below 99.9% monthly user uptime. The SLA is per user account and covers B2 Cloud Storage and Computer Backup.

Sources (2) →

Storage price

IDrive e2
$0.006 per GB per month, or $6 per TB, tierless — the cheapest published rate here. SSD storage is $0.01 per GB per month.
Backblaze B2
$6.95 per TB per month on B2 Overdrive; $15 per TB per month on the unlimited-egress tier
Sources (2) →

Operations price

IDrive e2
None. IDrive e2 states no additional charges for API transactions across class A, B and C.
Backblaze B2
Transactions are not charged on the $6.95/TB tier. Backblaze notes that its published chart uses U.S. West rates and that competitor rates vary by region and volume.
Sources (2) →

Minimum storage duration

IDrive e2

None. IDrive e2 states no minimum data retention restriction, unlike Wasabi's 90 days and the S3 infrequent-access classes' 30 to 180.

Backblaze B2

None. Backblaze states no minimum file size or storage duration fee on B2 Cloud Storage, so an object deleted an hour after upload is billed only for that hour.

Sources (2) →

SOC 2

IDrive e2
IDrive has proudly achieved SOC 2 Type 2 certification through a rigorous evaluation conducted by an independent third-party auditing firm.
Backblaze B2
SOC 2 Type 2 compliant, audited by an independent third-party firm; the data centers Backblaze operates in are also SOC 2 compliant.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Free tierBackblaze B2: Yes
Kind of free offerBackblaze B2: Free tier
Audit logsIDrive e2: IDrive provides controlled access, encryption, and audit logging for sensitive data.
Support on entry paid planBackblaze B2: Giga support with every subscription. Tera and Peta are paid add-ons bought per service.
Response time commitmentBackblaze B2: Target response for email support: one business day on Giga, the included plan; 4 business hours on Tera; 2 business hours on Peta. Email support runs 9am to 5pm Pacific.
ISO 27001Backblaze B2: Not a Backblaze organizational certification — Backblaze states it primarily operates in data centers that hold ISO 27001 certificates, a facility-level attestation rather than one covering Backblaze itself.IDrive e2: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about IDrive e2.
HIPAABackblaze B2: A Business Associate Agreement is available on request for business customers who are Covered Entities under HIPAA.IDrive e2: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about IDrive e2.
GDPR / data residencyBackblaze B2: Adheres to GDPR and UK GDPR privacy policies; Data Processing Agreement addendums are available for EEA/EU and UK residents.IDrive e2: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about IDrive e2.
PCI DSSBackblaze B2: Card processing is handled through Stripe, which combined with Backblaze's internal security controls contributes to PCI-DSS adherence — not a direct PCI-DSS certification of Backblaze's own storage platform.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Egress over allowance: IDrive e2 or Backblaze B2?

IDrive e2: Free up to three times your active storage volume each month — the same shape as Backblaze B2's allowance rather than the unconditional free egress R2 and Wasabi advertise.

Backblaze B2: Free up to three times your stored capacity each month on the $6.95/TB tier; unlimited free egress on the $15/TB tier. Egress beyond the 3x allowance is chargeable.

Storage (entry plan): IDrive e2 or Backblaze B2?

IDrive e2: None on a paid account. IDrive e2 bills a minimum of $6 per TB charged per whole terabyte, so storing under 1 TB still costs a full terabyte — a floor on the bill rather than storage you are given. A 10 GB free trial is offered separately.

Backblaze B2: 10 GB free, permanently — 'First 10GB storage is always free.' The statement is a row-level note on Backblaze's pricing-model table, so it applies to B2 storage rather than to one plan, and it is an ongoing allowance rather than the 'Start Free' trial the page advertises separately.

Should I choose IDrive e2 or Backblaze B2?

Pick IDrive e2 if Bulk storage where the per-GB rate dominates — $6 per TB is roughly a quarter of S3's and well under Wasabi's, with no API fees and no minimum retention period.

Pick Backblaze B2 if Bulk capacity where egress is predictable — free up to three times what you store each month, which covers most backup and archive patterns comfortably at $6.95 per terabyte.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.