Skip to content
inetGeek

Cloudflare Queues vs Inngest

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Cloudflare Queues and Inngest built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 22 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Cloudflare Queues if…

Workers applications that want a queue with no egress or throughput charges and a retention window measured in days rather than hours.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Inngest if…

Multi-step workflows that need durable execution and retries between steps, rather than a bare queue you write a consumer for.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Cloudflare Queues: Billing is per 64 KB operation rather than per message, so a large payload or a chatty retry loop costs several times what the message count suggests.
  • Inngest: Every step is a billable execution, so a three-step workflow costs three times what the run count implies, and the free plan allows five concurrent steps.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Cloudflare Queues alternatives · Inngest alternatives

8 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionCloudflare QueuesInngest
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
What the free plan includesThe first 1,000,000 standard operations a month are not billed; beyond that the rate is $0.40 per million, and each message costs three operations.50,000 executions and 500,000 events ingested a month with 5 concurrent steps, no credit card required.
Pricing modelBilled per operation, not per message: one operation per 64 KB written, read or deleted, and a message larger than 64 KB counts as several. Cloudflare states a normal delivery takes three operations — one write, one read, one delete — so a million messages is nearer three million operations. Workers Paid includes 1,000,000 operations a month, then $0.40 per million; the free plan allows 10,000 a day.Per execution, where a step counts the same as a run, plus separate meters for events ingested, span data, scores and realtime connections. The pricing page ships a calculator because the execution count is not the run count.
Queues
Included per month1,000,000 operations a month on Workers Paid, then $0.40 per million. An operation is each 64 KB written, read or deleted, so a typical message costs three — Cloudflare's own formula is ((messages × 3) − 1,000,000) / 1,000,000 × $0.40. Workers Free allows 10,000 operations a day.50,000 executions a month on the free Hobby plan and 1,000,000 on Pro, pay-as-you-go to 20M. An execution is one function run or one step, so a run with two steps counts as three.
Maximum message size
128 KB per message, with roughly 100 bytes of that taken by internal metadata.
4 MiB per step-returned payload; 32 MiB total function run state; 10 MiB hard cap per event batch.
Message retention4 days by default on Workers Paid, configurable up to 14 days. Workers Free is fixed at 24 hours.Queue depth rather than a time window: 100,000 queued items on the free plan and 1,000,000 or more on Pro. Trace retention is 7 days on Pro and 90 on Enterprise.
Maximum delay
24 hours, set with delaySeconds when sending or retrying.
Step sleeps up to 1 year on paid plans; the free plan supports sleeps up to 7 days.
Concurrency
250 concurrent consumer invocations, push-based only, with per-queue throughput capped at 5,000 messages a second.
5 concurrent steps on the free plan, 100 or more on Pro, custom on Enterprise.
Dead letter queue
Supported
Not supported — No dead-letter queue; failed runs stay in the dashboard and are re-run in bulk with Replay.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Cloudflare Queues
The first 1,000,000 standard operations a month are not billed; beyond that the rate is $0.40 per million, and each message costs three operations.
Inngest
50,000 executions and 500,000 events ingested a month with 5 concurrent steps, no credit card required.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Cloudflare Queues
Billed per operation, not per message: one operation per 64 KB written, read or deleted, and a message larger than 64 KB counts as several. Cloudflare states a normal delivery takes three operations — one write, one read, one delete — so a million messages is nearer three million operations. Workers Paid includes 1,000,000 operations a month, then $0.40 per million; the free plan allows 10,000 a day.
Inngest
Per execution, where a step counts the same as a run, plus separate meters for events ingested, span data, scores and realtime connections. The pricing page ships a calculator because the execution count is not the run count.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Cloudflare Queues docs ↗

    “An operation is counted for each 64 KB of data that is written, read, or deleted. [...] Standard operations 10,000 operations/day included 1,000,000 operations/month included + $0.40/million operations [...] In most cases, it takes 3 operations to deliver a message: 1 write, 1 read, and 1 delete.”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Inngest ↗

    “TOTAL EXECUTIONS PER MONTH (30,000 runs × 2 steps per run) + 30,000 runs = 90,000 executions [...] 500 MB span data ingested [...] 10K scores [...] 500k events ingested [...] 50 realtime connections”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Included per month

Cloudflare Queues
1,000,000 operations a month on Workers Paid, then $0.40 per million. An operation is each 64 KB written, read or deleted, so a typical message costs three — Cloudflare's own formula is ((messages × 3) − 1,000,000) / 1,000,000 × $0.40. Workers Free allows 10,000 operations a day.
Inngest
50,000 executions a month on the free Hobby plan and 1,000,000 on Pro, pay-as-you-go to 20M. An execution is one function run or one step, so a run with two steps counts as three.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Cloudflare Queues docs ↗

    “1,000,000 operations/month included + $0.40/million operations [...] An operation is counted for each 64 KB of data that is written, read, or deleted. [...] In most cases, it takes 3 operations to deliver a message [...] 10,000 operations/day included”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Inngest ↗

    “50k executions [...] 1M executions included Pay as you go up to 20M [...] (30,000 runs × 2 steps per run) + 30,000 runs = 90,000 executions [...] A single durable function run or step execution”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Maximum message size

Cloudflare Queues

128 KB per message, with roughly 100 bytes of that taken by internal metadata.

Inngest

4 MiB per step-returned payload; 32 MiB total function run state; 10 MiB hard cap per event batch.

Sources (2) →

Message retention

Cloudflare Queues
4 days by default on Workers Paid, configurable up to 14 days. Workers Free is fixed at 24 hours.
Inngest
Queue depth rather than a time window: 100,000 queued items on the free plan and 1,000,000 or more on Pro. Trace retention is 7 days on Pro and 90 on Enterprise.
Sources (2) →

Maximum delay

Cloudflare Queues

24 hours, set with delaySeconds when sending or retrying.

Inngest

Step sleeps up to 1 year on paid plans; the free plan supports sleeps up to 7 days.

Sources (2) →

Concurrency

Cloudflare Queues

250 concurrent consumer invocations, push-based only, with per-queue throughput capped at 5,000 messages a second.

Inngest

5 concurrent steps on the free plan, 100 or more on Pro, custom on Enterprise.

Sources (2) →
  • Queues limits — Cloudflare Docs ↗

    “Per-queue message throughput 5,000 messages per second 2 Message retention period 3 Configurable up to 14 days. Per-queue backlog size 4 25GB Concurrent consumer invocations 250 push-based only Consumer duration (wall clock time) 15 minutes”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Inngest ↗

    “5 concurrent steps [...] 100+ concurrent steps [...] Custom concurrent steps”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Dead letter queue

Cloudflare Queues
Supported
Inngest
Not supported — No dead-letter queue; failed runs stay in the dashboard and are re-run in bulk with Replay.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Credit card to startInngest: No
Entry paid planInngest: $99/month for Pro, described as a starting price with usage above the included allowance billed on top.
RegionsInngest: All customer data hosted on AWS databases located in the United States; no other region offered on the security page.
Uptime SLACloudflare Queues: 99.9% monthly uptime, in a dedicated Queues SLA that applies to use of Queues only and names no plan tier, with the same precedence clause as the R2 and Workers SLAs. The remedy is a credit set as a percentage of the fees paid for that product in the preceding 30 days, so the commitment stands on a free account while the compensation for breaching it is worth nothing there.
SOC 2Inngest: SOC 2 Type II compliant; report available on request via the trust center.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
ISO 27001Inngest: Not held as of the June 2024 SOC 2 announcement, which says Inngest is exploring additional certifications, such as ISO 27001. Stated on the SOC 2 Type II announcement, dated Jun 20, 2024.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
HIPAAInngest: HIPAA BAAs offered as an add-on for healthcare compliance (Enterprise column of the pricing table).Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
GDPR / data residencyInngest: Data residency only: Inngest Cloud runs in two eastern-US footprints, AWS us-east-2 (Ohio) and Inngest bare metal in Ashburn, Virginia.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
Encryption at restInngest: All data in Inngest databases is encrypted at rest and in transit; optional encryption middleware lets you bring your own key.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
Customer-managed keysInngest: Bring-your-own-key via SDK encryption middleware that encrypts payloads client-side before they reach Inngest; not a server-side KMS option.Cloudflare Queues: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare Queues.
Role-based access controlInngest: SAML, RBAC and audit trails listed as Enterprise plan features.
Dedicated infrastructureInngest: Enterprise runs on dedicated function execution infrastructure with isolated queue and constraint shards; Dedicated Infrastructure is an enterprise add-on. The add-on's contents and price are not described on the page.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Should I choose Cloudflare Queues or Inngest?

Pick Cloudflare Queues if Workers applications that want a queue with no egress or throughput charges and a retention window measured in days rather than hours.

Pick Inngest if Multi-step workflows that need durable execution and retries between steps, rather than a bare queue you write a consumer for.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.