Skip to content
inetGeek

IDrive e2 vs Amazon S3

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of IDrive e2 and Amazon S3 built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 18 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose IDrive e2 if…

Bulk storage where the per-GB rate dominates — $6 per TB is roughly a quarter of S3's and well under Wasabi's, with no API fees and no minimum retention period.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Amazon S3 if…

Workloads already inside AWS, where keeping data in the same region as the compute avoids the transfer charges that dominate an object storage bill.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • IDrive e2: The minimum charge is billed per whole terabyte, so a 100 GB workload pays for 1 TB, and egress is only free up to three times what you store.
  • Amazon S3: Egress is the cost that decides this category and S3 charges for it, where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not. Prices also vary by region, so a figure quoted anywhere is only true for the region it was read in.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: IDrive e2 alternatives · Amazon S3 alternatives

8 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionIDrive e2Amazon S3
Pricing
What the free plan includesNo free storage allowance is published. Egress is free up to three times stored volume and API calls carry no charge, but storage itself bills from the first gigabyte.100 GB a month of data transfer out to the internet, counted globally rather than per region. Storage itself is billed from the first byte.
Egress over allowanceFree up to three times your active storage volume each month — the same shape as Backblaze B2's allowance rather than the unconditional free egress R2 and Wasabi advertise.$0.09 per GB for the first 10 TB a month out to the internet, after a free 100 GB aggregated globally. It falls to $0.085 above 10 TB, $0.07 above 50 TB and $0.05 above 150 TB. This is AWS's outbound data transfer rate rather than an S3-specific one — the charge that R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not levy at all.
Limits
Storage (entry plan)None on a paid account. IDrive e2 bills a minimum of $6 per TB charged per whole terabyte, so storing under 1 TB still costs a full terabyte — a floor on the bill rather than storage you are given. A 10 GB free trial is offered separately.None. S3 has no plans and no included storage — AWS states there is no minimum charge and you pay only for what you use, billed per GB-month from the first byte. New accounts get AWS Free Tier credits ($100 immediately, up to $200 over six months) which are spendable credit rather than a standing storage allowance.
Infrastructure
Uptime SLA
Aims to maintain at least 99.9% monthly uptime across all covered services. The SLA says aims to maintain, not commits to.
99.9% for S3 Standard, Express One Zone and the Glacier retrieval classes; 99.0% for Intelligent-Tiering, Standard-Infrequent Access, One Zone-IA and Glacier Instant Retrieval.
Storage
Storage price
$0.006 per GB per month, or $6 per TB, tierless — the cheapest published rate here. SSD storage is $0.01 per GB per month.
$0.023 per GB-month for S3 Standard, first 50 TB, in us-east-1. S3 prices vary by region; this and every other S3 figure on the site is that region.
Operations price
None. IDrive e2 states no additional charges for API transactions across class A, B and C.
$0.005 per 1,000 PUT, COPY, POST and LIST requests, and $0.004 per 10,000 GET and all other requests, in us-east-1. DELETE and CANCEL are free.
Minimum storage durationNone. IDrive e2 states no minimum data retention restriction, unlike Wasabi's 90 days and the S3 infrequent-access classes' 30 to 180.None on S3 Standard. 30 days on Standard-IA and One Zone-IA, 90 days on Glacier Instant and Flexible Retrieval, 180 days on Glacier Deep Archive, each with a pro-rated charge for early deletion.
S3-compatible APISupportedSupported
Compliance
SOC 2IDrive has proudly achieved SOC 2 Type 2 certification through a rigorous evaluation conducted by an independent third-party auditing firm.Listed as SOC-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

IDrive e2
No free storage allowance is published. Egress is free up to three times stored volume and API calls carry no charge, but storage itself bills from the first gigabyte.
Amazon S3
100 GB a month of data transfer out to the internet, counted globally rather than per region. Storage itself is billed from the first byte.
Sources (2) →
  • IDrive e2 Pricing ↗

    “Free egress policy Download less than or equal to 3x your active storage volume for free! [...] Free API calls IDrive ® e2 does not impose any additional charges for your API calls.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon S3 pricing ↗

    “The 100 GB free tier for data transfer out to the internet is global and does not apply separately or individually to AWS Regions.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Egress over allowance

IDrive e2
Free up to three times your active storage volume each month — the same shape as Backblaze B2's allowance rather than the unconditional free egress R2 and Wasabi advertise.
Amazon S3
$0.09 per GB for the first 10 TB a month out to the internet, after a free 100 GB aggregated globally. It falls to $0.085 above 10 TB, $0.07 above 50 TB and $0.05 above 150 TB. This is AWS's outbound data transfer rate rather than an S3-specific one — the charge that R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not levy at all.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — IDrive e2 ↗

    “Free egress policy Download less than or equal to 3X your active storage volume for free!”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • AWS Price List API — AWSDataTransfer, us-east-1 ↗

    “"$0 for 100GB of data transfer out to the internet, aggregated globally" [...] "$0.090 per GB - first 10 TB / month data transfer out beyond the global free tier" [...] "$0.085 per GB - next 40 TB / month" [...] "$0.070 per GB - next 100 TB / month" [...] "$0.050 per GB - greater than 150 TB / month"”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Storage (entry plan)

IDrive e2
None on a paid account. IDrive e2 bills a minimum of $6 per TB charged per whole terabyte, so storing under 1 TB still costs a full terabyte — a floor on the bill rather than storage you are given. A 10 GB free trial is offered separately.
Amazon S3
None. S3 has no plans and no included storage — AWS states there is no minimum charge and you pay only for what you use, billed per GB-month from the first byte. New accounts get AWS Free Tier credits ($100 immediately, up to $200 over six months) which are spendable credit rather than a standing storage allowance.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — IDrive e2 ↗

    “IDrive e2 charges a minimum storage fee of $6/TB. The minimum charge is per TB; even if your total storage is less than 1 TB, you will be charged for a full TB”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon S3 Pricing ↗

    “Pay only for what you use. There is no minimum charge. Amazon S3 cost components are storage pricing, request and data retrieval pricing, data transfer and transfer acceleration pricing”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official pricing · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

IDrive e2

Aims to maintain at least 99.9% monthly uptime across all covered services. The SLA says aims to maintain, not commits to.

Amazon S3

99.9% for S3 Standard, Express One Zone and the Glacier retrieval classes; 99.0% for Intelligent-Tiering, Standard-Infrequent Access, One Zone-IA and Glacier Instant Retrieval.

Sources (2) →
  • IDrive Service Level Agreement ↗

    “we aim to maintain a monthly uptime percentage of at least 99.9% across all covered services, as measured at our data centers”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

  • Amazon S3 Service Level Agreement ↗

    “For requests to S3 Standard, S3 Express One Zone, S3 Glacier Flexible Retrieval, S3 Glacier Deep Archive, and all other requests not specified below: Monthly Uptime Percentage Service Credit Percentage Less than 99.9% but greater than or equal to 99.0% 10% [...] For requests to S3 Intelligent-Tiering, S3 Standard-Infrequent Access, S3 One Zone-Infrequent Access, and S3 Glacier Instant Retrieval: Monthly Uptime Percentage Service Credit Percentage Less than 99.0% but greater than or equal to 98.0% 10%”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

Storage price

IDrive e2
$0.006 per GB per month, or $6 per TB, tierless — the cheapest published rate here. SSD storage is $0.01 per GB per month.
Amazon S3
$0.023 per GB-month for S3 Standard, first 50 TB, in us-east-1. S3 prices vary by region; this and every other S3 figure on the site is that region.
Sources (2) →

Operations price

IDrive e2
None. IDrive e2 states no additional charges for API transactions across class A, B and C.
Amazon S3
$0.005 per 1,000 PUT, COPY, POST and LIST requests, and $0.004 per 10,000 GET and all other requests, in us-east-1. DELETE and CANCEL are free.
Sources (2) →

Minimum storage duration

IDrive e2

None. IDrive e2 states no minimum data retention restriction, unlike Wasabi's 90 days and the S3 infrequent-access classes' 30 to 180.

Amazon S3

None on S3 Standard. 30 days on Standard-IA and One Zone-IA, 90 days on Glacier Instant and Flexible Retrieval, 180 days on Glacier Deep Archive, each with a pro-rated charge for early deletion.

Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — IDrive e2 ↗

    “No restrictions of minimum data retention Free ingress and egress No additional charges”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • S3 Pricing — AWS ↗

    “S3 Standard-IA, and S3 One Zone-IA storage are charged for a minimum storage duration of 30 days [...] Objects that are archived to S3 Glacier Instant Retrieval and S3 Glacier Flexible Retrieval are charged for a minimum storage duration of 90 days, and S3 Glacier Deep Archive has a minimum storage duration of 180 days.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official docs · Report a correction

SOC 2

IDrive e2
IDrive has proudly achieved SOC 2 Type 2 certification through a rigorous evaluation conducted by an independent third-party auditing firm.
Amazon S3
Listed as SOC-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Free tierAmazon S3: Yes
Kind of free offerAmazon S3: Introductory free tier
When the free offer endsAmazon S3: 6 months after account creation; Free Tier credits expire 12 months after that date.
Pricing modelAmazon S3: Per region and per storage class, with storage, requests, retrievals, data transfer and management features each metered separately. AWS states there is no minimum charge, and bills storage in binary gigabytes — 1 GB is 2^30 bytes, not 10^9.
Audit logsIDrive e2: IDrive provides controlled access, encryption, and audit logging for sensitive data.Amazon S3: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Amazon S3.
ISO 27001Amazon S3: Covered under AWS's account-wide ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification — not scoped per-service the way SOC, HIPAA and PCI DSS are on AWS's own site.IDrive e2: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about IDrive e2.
HIPAAAmazon S3: Listed as a HIPAA-eligible service on AWS's own reference page.IDrive e2: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about IDrive e2.
GDPR / data residencyAmazon S3: AWS customers can process personal data on all AWS services in compliance with GDPR, and choose the storage type and geographic region for their data.IDrive e2: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about IDrive e2.
PCI DSSAmazon S3: Listed as PCI DSS-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Egress over allowance: IDrive e2 or Amazon S3?

IDrive e2: Free up to three times your active storage volume each month — the same shape as Backblaze B2's allowance rather than the unconditional free egress R2 and Wasabi advertise.

Amazon S3: $0.09 per GB for the first 10 TB a month out to the internet, after a free 100 GB aggregated globally. It falls to $0.085 above 10 TB, $0.07 above 50 TB and $0.05 above 150 TB. This is AWS's outbound data transfer rate rather than an S3-specific one — the charge that R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not levy at all.

Storage (entry plan): IDrive e2 or Amazon S3?

IDrive e2: None on a paid account. IDrive e2 bills a minimum of $6 per TB charged per whole terabyte, so storing under 1 TB still costs a full terabyte — a floor on the bill rather than storage you are given. A 10 GB free trial is offered separately.

Amazon S3: None. S3 has no plans and no included storage — AWS states there is no minimum charge and you pay only for what you use, billed per GB-month from the first byte. New accounts get AWS Free Tier credits ($100 immediately, up to $200 over six months) which are spendable credit rather than a standing storage allowance.

Should I choose IDrive e2 or Amazon S3?

Pick IDrive e2 if Bulk storage where the per-GB rate dominates — $6 per TB is roughly a quarter of S3's and well under Wasabi's, with no API fees and no minimum retention period.

Pick Amazon S3 if Workloads already inside AWS, where keeping data in the same region as the compute avoids the transfer charges that dominate an object storage bill.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.