Skip to content
inetGeek

Storj vs Amazon S3

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Storj and Amazon S3 built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 21 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Storj if…

Workloads that want data spread across many independent locations rather than one provider's region, at a storage rate close to the cheapest here.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Amazon S3 if…

Workloads already inside AWS, where keeping data in the same region as the compute avoids the transfer charges that dominate an object storage bill.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Storj: Egress is charged at the same $7 per TB as storage, so a read-heavy workload costs roughly double what the storage line suggests — the three free-egress providers here charge nothing for it.
  • Amazon S3: Egress is the cost that decides this category and S3 charges for it, where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not. Prices also vary by region, so a figure quoted anywhere is only true for the region it was read in.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Storj alternatives · Amazon S3 alternatives

9 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionStorjAmazon S3
Pricing
Kind of free offerFree trialIntroductory free tier
What the free plan includes30 days free with no credit card, including two Object Mount licences. The monthly minimum fee is waived for the duration of the trial.100 GB a month of data transfer out to the internet, counted globally rather than per region. Storage itself is billed from the first byte.
When the free offer ends
30 days.
6 months after account creation; Free Tier credits expire 12 months after that date.
Egress over allowance$7 per TB, the same rate as storage — reduced from $20 per TB on the Standard tier. Storj charges for egress where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not, but at a tenth of what S3 charges.$0.09 per GB for the first 10 TB a month out to the internet, after a free 100 GB aggregated globally. It falls to $0.085 above 10 TB, $0.07 above 50 TB and $0.05 above 150 TB. This is AWS's outbound data transfer rate rather than an S3-specific one — the charge that R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not levy at all.
Storage
Storage price
$7 per TB per month, which is $0.007 per GB. A $5 monthly minimum applies to Standard and Advanced accounts.
$0.023 per GB-month for S3 Standard, first 50 TB, in us-east-1. S3 prices vary by region; this and every other S3 figure on the site is that region.
Operations priceSegment fees have been eliminated across all new tiers. They still apply to accounts on legacy plans.$0.005 per 1,000 PUT, COPY, POST and LIST requests, and $0.004 per 10,000 GET and all other requests, in us-east-1. DELETE and CANCEL are free.
S3-compatible APISupportedSupported
Compliance
SOC 2Beyond SOC2, Storj also meets the critical requirements of GDPR, HIPAA, CJIS and MPA regulations for object storage compliance.Listed as SOC-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.
HIPAAHIPAA compliant cloud storage.Listed as a HIPAA-eligible service on AWS's own reference page.
GDPR / data residency
Beyond SOC2, Storj also meets the critical requirements of GDPR, HIPAA, CJIS and MPA regulations for object storage compliance.
AWS customers can process personal data on all AWS services in compliance with GDPR, and choose the storage type and geographic region for their data.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Kind of free offer

Storj
Free trial
Amazon S3
Introductory free tier
Sources (2) →

What the free plan includes

Storj
30 days free with no credit card, including two Object Mount licences. The monthly minimum fee is waived for the duration of the trial.
Amazon S3
100 GB a month of data transfer out to the internet, counted globally rather than per region. Storage itself is billed from the first byte.
Sources (2) →
  • Storj Pricing ↗

    “Free for 30 days Works with S3-compatible apps No credit card required 2 free Object Mount licenses [...] The minimum fee does not apply during the free trial period.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon S3 pricing ↗

    “The 100 GB free tier for data transfer out to the internet is global and does not apply separately or individually to AWS Regions.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

When the free offer ends

Storj

30 days.

Amazon S3

6 months after account creation; Free Tier credits expire 12 months after that date.

Sources (2) →
  • Storj Pricing ↗

    “Start free trial Free for 30 days Works with S3-compatible apps No credit card required”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon S3 Pricing ↗

    “The free plan will be available for 6 months after account creation. [...] All Free Tier credits must be used within 12 months of your account creation date.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Egress over allowance

Storj
$7 per TB, the same rate as storage — reduced from $20 per TB on the Standard tier. Storj charges for egress where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not, but at a tenth of what S3 charges.
Amazon S3
$0.09 per GB for the first 10 TB a month out to the internet, after a free 100 GB aggregated globally. It falls to $0.085 above 10 TB, $0.07 above 50 TB and $0.05 above 150 TB. This is AWS's outbound data transfer rate rather than an S3-specific one — the charge that R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not levy at all.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Storj ↗

    “Egress $7/TB [...] to reduce egress on the Standard tier from $20/TB to $7/TB”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • AWS Price List API — AWSDataTransfer, us-east-1 ↗

    “"$0 for 100GB of data transfer out to the internet, aggregated globally" [...] "$0.090 per GB - first 10 TB / month data transfer out beyond the global free tier" [...] "$0.085 per GB - next 40 TB / month" [...] "$0.070 per GB - next 100 TB / month" [...] "$0.050 per GB - greater than 150 TB / month"”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Storage price

Storj
$7 per TB per month, which is $0.007 per GB. A $5 monthly minimum applies to Standard and Advanced accounts.
Amazon S3
$0.023 per GB-month for S3 Standard, first 50 TB, in us-east-1. S3 prices vary by region; this and every other S3 figure on the site is that region.
Sources (2) →

Operations price

Storj
Segment fees have been eliminated across all new tiers. They still apply to accounts on legacy plans.
Amazon S3
$0.005 per 1,000 PUT, COPY, POST and LIST requests, and $0.004 per 10,000 GET and all other requests, in us-east-1. DELETE and CANCEL are free.
Sources (2) →

SOC 2

Storj
Beyond SOC2, Storj also meets the critical requirements of GDPR, HIPAA, CJIS and MPA regulations for object storage compliance.
Amazon S3
Listed as SOC-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.
Sources (2) →

HIPAA

Storj
HIPAA compliant cloud storage.
Amazon S3
Listed as a HIPAA-eligible service on AWS's own reference page.
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Storj
Beyond SOC2, Storj also meets the critical requirements of GDPR, HIPAA, CJIS and MPA regulations for object storage compliance.
Amazon S3
AWS customers can process personal data on all AWS services in compliance with GDPR, and choose the storage type and geographic region for their data.
Sources (2) →
  • Object storage compliance | Storj ↗

    “Beyond SOC2, Storj also meets the critical requirements of GDPR, HIPAA, CJIS and MPA regulations for object storage compliance.”

    Read 2026-09-21 · official site · Report a correction

  • GDPR — Amazon Web Services ↗

    “AWS customers can use all AWS services to process personal data [...] in compliance with the GDPR. [...] Customers have control of their customer data. With AWS, customers can: Determine where their customer data will be stored, including the type of storage and geographic region of that storage.”

    Read 2026-09-12 · official site · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Free tierAmazon S3: Yes
Credit card to startStorj: No
Pricing modelAmazon S3: Per region and per storage class, with storage, requests, retrievals, data transfer and management features each metered separately. AWS states there is no minimum charge, and bills storage in binary gigabytes — 1 GB is 2^30 bytes, not 10^9.
Storage (entry plan)Amazon S3: None. S3 has no plans and no included storage — AWS states there is no minimum charge and you pay only for what you use, billed per GB-month from the first byte. New accounts get AWS Free Tier credits ($100 immediately, up to $200 over six months) which are spendable credit rather than a standing storage allowance.
RegionsStorj: Distributed across tens of thousands of storage locations globally rather than named regions; a US-only option runs on SOC 2 type 2 compliant data centres.
Uptime SLAAmazon S3: 99.9% for S3 Standard, Express One Zone and the Glacier retrieval classes; 99.0% for Intelligent-Tiering, Standard-Infrequent Access, One Zone-IA and Glacier Instant Retrieval.
Minimum storage durationAmazon S3: None on S3 Standard. 30 days on Standard-IA and One Zone-IA, 90 days on Glacier Instant and Flexible Retrieval, 180 days on Glacier Deep Archive, each with a pro-rated charge for early deletion.
Support on entry paid planStorj: Support hours are 9am to 8pm Eastern on business days for Severity Level 1 errors, and 9am to 5pm Eastern for everything else. Committed in the terms of service rather than sold as a tier.
Response time commitmentStorj: For a Severity Level 1 error: acknowledgement within one business day, updates every eight hours, and resolution no later than three days. No uptime percentage is published anywhere in the terms.
ISO 27001Amazon S3: Covered under AWS's account-wide ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification — not scoped per-service the way SOC, HIPAA and PCI DSS are on AWS's own site.Storj: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Storj.
PCI DSSAmazon S3: Listed as PCI DSS-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.Storj: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Storj.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Egress over allowance: Storj or Amazon S3?

Storj: $7 per TB, the same rate as storage — reduced from $20 per TB on the Standard tier. Storj charges for egress where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not, but at a tenth of what S3 charges.

Amazon S3: $0.09 per GB for the first 10 TB a month out to the internet, after a free 100 GB aggregated globally. It falls to $0.085 above 10 TB, $0.07 above 50 TB and $0.05 above 150 TB. This is AWS's outbound data transfer rate rather than an S3-specific one — the charge that R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not levy at all.

Should I choose Storj or Amazon S3?

Pick Storj if Workloads that want data spread across many independent locations rather than one provider's region, at a storage rate close to the cheapest here.

Pick Amazon S3 if Workloads already inside AWS, where keeping data in the same region as the compute avoids the transfer charges that dominate an object storage bill.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.