Skip to content
inetGeek

Sentry vs GlitchTip

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Sentry and GlitchTip built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 23 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Sentry if…

Teams that want tracing, logs, replays and uptime in one place and will pay per meter for it. The tooling is the deepest in the category and the SDK coverage is the widest.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose GlitchTip if…

Anyone who wants Sentry-shaped error tracking without Sentry's bill — the SDKs are compatible, so switching is a DSN change, and self-hosting is free and genuinely supported.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Sentry: Five meters bill independently, so 50,000 errors is not 50,000 units of observability. A team watching cost needs to watch spans and logs too, not just the error count.
  • GlitchTip: It tracks errors and nothing else. No tracing, no replays, no uptime monitoring, so a team wanting one pane of glass will be assembling it from parts.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Sentry alternatives · GlitchTip alternatives

12 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionSentryGlitchTip
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
What the free plan includes
5,000 errors, 5 GB of logs, 5 million spans, 50 session replays and 1 uptime monitor a month.
1,000 events a month, described by GlitchTip as free forever.
Entry paid plan
$26/month for Team, the cheapest paid plan
$15/month for the 100,000 event plan; $50 for 500,000 and $250 for 3 million
Pricing modelA plan fee plus five independent meters — errors, logs, application metrics, tracing spans and session replays — each with its own included amount and its own overage. Logs and metrics overflow at $0.50/GB; extra uptime alerts at $1.00 each.Flat monthly tiers bought by event ceiling, with a free self-hosted build as the alternative to the hosted plans.
Observability
Events included
50,000 errors a month on Team and Business; 5,000 on Free. Errors are one meter of several — logs, spans, replays and uptime monitors are counted and billed separately.
100,000 events a month on the cheapest paid plan; 1,000 on the free hosted plan. One meter, not several — GlitchTip counts events and nothing else.
Retention window30-day lookback on Developer, the free plan. Up to 90 days on Team, and up to 90 days plus additional sampled retention on Business. Enterprise is custom. "Up to" is Sentry's own wording — the 90 days is a ceiling, not a guarantee.90 days by default when self-hosted, set by GLITCHTIP_RETENTION_DAYS and configurable per data type — events, transactions, logs, uptime checks and files all inherit it, releases keep 365 days. Events move from Postgres to cold storage after 30 days but stay queryable. GlitchTip publishes no retention figure for its hosted plans.
Self-hostable
Limited
Supported
Support
Support on entry paid planFour levels listed: community support via GitHub and Discord, email support, a dedicated technical account manager, and premium customer success. Enterprise is the tier the page names for the account manager and dedicated support.Support access on Small ($15/month), the entry paid plan; priority email and live chat from Medium; development support and prioritization on Large.
Compliance
SOC 2
SOC 2 Type I and Type II certifications; report available via account or on request.
No SOC 2 report claimed; the hosted architecture is described as adhering to principles found in HIPAA, SOC II and ISO 27001 frameworks.
ISO 27001
ISO 27001 certified; certificate available via account or on request.
No certification claimed; the hosted architecture is described as adhering to principles found in the ISO 27001 framework.
HIPAA
HIPAA attestation obtained. — Listed as an attestation among compliance certifications, not as a BAA offer.
BAA available on the Large plan ($250/month) for the US instance only; the EU instance is not covered.
Encryption at restAll data encrypted at rest; keys managed via a redundant, globally distributed Key Management Service.DigitalOcean Volumes Block Storage encryption at rest; TLS 1.2+ in transit.
Role-based access controlRole-based access: Billing, Member, Admin, Manager, Organization Owner.Organization members hold one of four roles (member, admin, manager, owner) set via the members API, plus optional per-team roles. Linked as "API Documentation" from glitchtip.com/documentation.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Sentry

5,000 errors, 5 GB of logs, 5 million spans, 50 session replays and 1 uptime monitor a month.

GlitchTip

1,000 events a month, described by GlitchTip as free forever.

Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Sentry
$26/month for Team, the cheapest paid plan
GlitchTip
$15/month for the 100,000 event plan; $50 for 500,000 and $250 for 3 million
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Sentry
A plan fee plus five independent meters — errors, logs, application metrics, tracing spans and session replays — each with its own included amount and its own overage. Logs and metrics overflow at $0.50/GB; extra uptime alerts at $1.00 each.
GlitchTip
Flat monthly tiers bought by event ceiling, with a free self-hosted build as the alternative to the hosted plans.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Error Monitoring 5k errors 50k errors [...] Logs 5GB 5GB +$0.50/GB additional [...] Application Metrics 5GB 5GB +$0.50/GB additional [...] Tracing 5M spans [...] Session Replay 50 replays [...] Uptime Monitoring 1 uptime monitor +$1.00/uptime alert additional”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • GlitchTip Pricing ↗

    “Self-hosted version Run on your own server Free for personal projects [...] up to 100k events/mo [...] support access $15 / month [...] up to 500k events/mo [...] up to 3 million events/mo”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

Events included

Sentry

50,000 errors a month on Team and Business; 5,000 on Free. Errors are one meter of several — logs, spans, replays and uptime monitors are counted and billed separately.

GlitchTip

100,000 events a month on the cheapest paid plan; 1,000 on the free hosted plan. One meter, not several — GlitchTip counts events and nothing else.

Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Error Monitoring 5k errors 50k errors 50k errors Custom [...] Logs 5GB 5GB +$0.50/GB additional [...] Tracing 5M spans 5M spans 5M spans [...] Session Replay 50 replays 50 replays 50 replays”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — GlitchTip ↗

    “Up to 1,000 events/mo [...] Up to 100k events/mo [...] $15 / month”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Retention window

Sentry
30-day lookback on Developer, the free plan. Up to 90 days on Team, and up to 90 days plus additional sampled retention on Business. Enterprise is custom. "Up to" is Sentry's own wording — the 90 days is a ceiling, not a guarantee.
GlitchTip
90 days by default when self-hosted, set by GLITCHTIP_RETENTION_DAYS and configurable per data type — events, transactions, logs, uptime checks and files all inherit it, releases keep 365 days. Events move from Postgres to cold storage after 30 days but stay queryable. GlitchTip publishes no retention figure for its hosted plans.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Sentry ↗

    “Data retention [...] 30-day lookback [...] Up to 90-day lookback [...] Up to 90-day lookback & additional sampled retention [...] Custom”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Installation — GlitchTip documentation ↗

    “Data Retention [...] GlitchTip automatically cleans up old data based on configurable retention periods. [...] GLITCHTIP_RETENTION_DAYS 90 Master default for all retention periods [...] GLITCHTIP_EVENT_HOT_DAYS 30 Days to keep events in PostgreSQL before archival [...] GLITCHTIP_RELEASE_RETENTION_DAYS 365 Release retention”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official docs · Report a correction

Self-hostable

Sentry
Limited
GlitchTip
Supported
Sources (2) →
  • Self-Hosted Sentry — Sentry Developer Documentation ↗

    “In addition to making its source code available publicly, Sentry offers and maintains a minimal setup that works out-of-the-box for simple use cases. This version comes with no guarantees or dedicated support. Sentry engineers will do their best to answer questions and are dedicated to making sure self-hosted is running, but that's where our involvement ends.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Pricing — GlitchTip ↗

    “Self-hosted version [...] Free [...] Up to 1,000 events/mo”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Support on entry paid plan

Sentry
Four levels listed: community support via GitHub and Discord, email support, a dedicated technical account manager, and premium customer success. Enterprise is the tier the page names for the account manager and dedicated support.
GlitchTip
Support access on Small ($15/month), the entry paid plan; priority email and live chat from Medium; development support and prioritization on Large.
Sources (2) →
  • Sentry Pricing ↗

    “SUPPORT Community support via GitHub and Discord Email support Dedicated technical account manager Premium customer success [...] Enterprise For organizations with advanced needs Custom Business features + Technical account manager Dedicated customer support”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • GlitchTip Pricing ↗

    “support access $15 / month [...] priority email & live chat support $50 / month [...] development support & prioritization”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

SOC 2

Sentry
SOC 2 Type I and Type II certifications; report available via account or on request.
GlitchTip
No SOC 2 report claimed; the hosted architecture is described as adhering to principles found in HIPAA, SOC II and ISO 27001 frameworks.
Sources (2) →

ISO 27001

Sentry
ISO 27001 certified; certificate available via account or on request.
GlitchTip
No certification claimed; the hosted architecture is described as adhering to principles found in the ISO 27001 framework.
Sources (2) →

HIPAA

Sentry
HIPAA attestation obtained. — Listed as an attestation among compliance certifications, not as a BAA offer.
GlitchTip
BAA available on the Large plan ($250/month) for the US instance only; the EU instance is not covered.
Sources (2) →

Encryption at rest

Sentry
All data encrypted at rest; keys managed via a redundant, globally distributed Key Management Service.
GlitchTip
DigitalOcean Volumes Block Storage encryption at rest; TLS 1.2+ in transit.
Sources (2) →

Role-based access control

Sentry
Role-based access: Billing, Member, Admin, Manager, Organization Owner.
GlitchTip
Organization members hold one of four roles (member, admin, manager, owner) set via the members API, plus optional per-team roles. Linked as "API Documentation" from glitchtip.com/documentation.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

When the free offer endsGlitchTip: Never — free forever, up to 1,000 events a month.
When you exceed a capSentry: Billed, not throttled: each meter charges for additional usage beyond the included amount, at a published per-unit rate.
RegionsGlitchTip: Two fully separate hosted instances: US (DigitalOcean NYC1, New York, app.glitchtip.com) and EU (DigitalOcean FRA1, Frankfurt, eu.glitchtip.com); no replication between them.
Session replaySentry: Supported
Audit logsSentry: In the audit log, all of the actions by user and event within the Sentry UI (e.g., member.invite, project.create) are listed chronologically by time and IP address so you’ll always have a view into your organization’s most recent history.
GDPR / data residencyGlitchTip: Fully independent EU instance in Frankfurt keeps events, accounts and email inside the EU; a DPA with EU SCCs and the UK addendum is published.Sentry: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Sentry.
PCI DSSGlitchTip: Not certified itself; billing is handled by Stripe (PCI-DSS Service Provider Level 1), which never receives event data.Sentry: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Sentry.
Private networking / VPCGlitchTip: Hosted database cluster sits in a private VPC unreachable from the public internet; no customer-facing private connectivity is described.Sentry: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Sentry.
Dedicated infrastructureGlitchTip: All hosted plans run on the same security-controlled infrastructure; the difference between Free, Small, Medium and Large is contractual.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Sentry or GlitchTip?

Sentry: $26/month for Team, the cheapest paid plan

GlitchTip: $15/month for the 100,000 event plan; $50 for 500,000 and $250 for 3 million

Should I choose Sentry or GlitchTip?

Pick Sentry if Teams that want tracing, logs, replays and uptime in one place and will pay per meter for it. The tooling is the deepest in the category and the SDK coverage is the widest.

Pick GlitchTip if Anyone who wants Sentry-shaped error tracking without Sentry's bill — the SDKs are compatible, so switching is a DSN change, and self-hosting is free and genuinely supported.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.