Skip to content
inetGeek

Supabase vs PlanetScale

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Supabase and PlanetScale built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 29 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Supabase if…

Teams who want Postgres plus auth, storage and generated APIs from one vendor on a fixed monthly bill, and who would otherwise assemble those pieces themselves.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose PlanetScale if…

Production workloads that want replicas across availability zones as the default shape rather than an upgrade, and teams who need MySQL-compatible sharding that the Postgres-only services do not offer.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Supabase: You want only a database. Much of the $25 covers a platform you may not use, and free projects are paused after a week of inactivity, which is not the same as scaling to zero.
  • PlanetScale: You are prototyping. Pricing starts at a node rather than at zero, and there is no free tier documented on the pricing page.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Supabase alternatives · PlanetScale alternatives

14 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionSupabasePlanetScale
Pricing
Free tier
Yes
No — $5/month is the cheapest SKU on PlanetScale's whole price list; the document prices no free plan.
Entry paid plan
$25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo.
$5/month for a single-node Postgres database on network-attached storage; PlanetScale Metal with local NVMe starts at $50/month
Pricing modelFixed monthly plan per organisation plus per-project compute, billed hourly by instance sizePriced by cluster shape rather than per query, and on two different bases: Vitess by cluster size, VTGate configuration and storage; Neki by shard size and count, router configuration, replicas, storage, backup storage and network usage.
Egress over allowance
$0.09 per GB for uncached egress and $0.03 per GB for cached, charged only above the plan's quota. Egress restrictions clear at the next billing cycle, or immediately on upgrading or disabling the spend cap.
100 GB of egress included, then $0.06/GB
Limits
Storage (entry plan)8 GB disk per project on the Pro plan; 500 MB on FreeFirst 10 GB free on network-attached storage, then per-GB pricing; storage is included for Metal databases
Execution
Managed connection poolingSupported — Shared pooler on every plan, IPv4-only; the dedicated pooler is paid plans only.Supported
Infrastructure
Regions
17 specific AWS regions across the Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific and South America, plus broader 'general region' groupings that place the project on an available AWS region within an area. General regions do not support read replicas or API management.
19 regions — 12 on AWS (Tokyo, Mumbai, Singapore, Sydney, Montreal, Frankfurt, Dublin, London, São Paulo, N. Virginia, Ohio, Oregon) and 7 on GCP. A branch's region is fixed at creation and changing it means migrating.
Data
EnginePostgreSQLPostgreSQL, and MySQL-compatible Vitess clusters with horizontal sharding
Database branchingSupportedSupported
Point-in-time recoveryPoint-in-time recovery is a paid add-on on Pro, Team and Enterprise, and needs at least a Small compute add-on alongside it. Worst-case recovery point is 2 minutes. Without it, restores go back only to a daily backup.Point-in-time recovery through write-ahead log archiving. WAL is kept for as long as the oldest backup, so the default schedule gives a 2-day window and a longer retention extends it.
Read replicasSupportedSupported — Two replicas come with the High Availability shape, across three availability zones.
Backup retention
Daily backups: 7 days on Pro, 14 days on Team, up to 30 days on Enterprise. Free projects get no automatic backups at all — Supabase tells free users to export their own data with the CLI.
Automatic backups every 12 hours on production and development branches, retained 2 days by default. Custom schedules and manual backups can set a longer period, and are charged for it.
Support
Support on entry paid planCommunity support on Free; email support on Pro, the entry paid plan; priority email support and SLAs from Team; a designated support manager and 24/7/365 premium support on Enterprise.Enterprise lists Slack-based support with a private shared channel, and business support with enhanced response times from support engineers. The self-serve plans have no support level named on the page.
Compliance
SOC 2SOC 2 Type 2 compliant; report available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard.SOC 1 Type 2 and SOC 2 Type 2 + HIPAA reports, available on all plans on request via PlanetScale's Trust Center.
HIPAAHIPAA compliant; customers may store PHI after signing a BAA and meeting shared-responsibility obligations.HIPAA-eligible via a Business Associate Agreement for qualifying customers; PlanetScale notes HHS does not recognize a formal HIPAA certification, so compliance is a shared responsibility rather than a badge.
GDPR / data residencyProjects hosted in EU regions keep primary database data in-region; a DPA is available.Complies with GDPR; data locality follows the AWS/GCP region a database is created in, and EU-region databases keep data in-region unless a read-only replica is added elsewhere.
Encryption at restAES-256 at rest and TLS in transit; sensitive tokens/keys get application-level encryption before storage.AES encryption at rest on the storage media serving database branches and backups.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Supabase
Yes
PlanetScale
No — $5/month is the cheapest SKU on PlanetScale's whole price list; the document prices no free plan.
Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Supabase
$25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo.
PlanetScale
$5/month for a single-node Postgres database on network-attached storage; PlanetScale Metal with local NVMe starts at $50/month
Sources (2) →
  • Supabase Pricing ↗

    “$25/month [...] First project included. Additional projects from $10/mo. [...] Paid plans include $10/mo in compute credits, enough to cover one Micro instance.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — PlanetScale ↗

    “PlanetScale Postgres [...] Single node — Starting at $5/month for development and low-traffic workloads Metal — Starting at $50/month with local NVMe storage for high-performance needs High Availability — 1 primary + 2 replicas across 3 availability zones”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

Pricing model

Supabase
Fixed monthly plan per organisation plus per-project compute, billed hourly by instance size
PlanetScale
Priced by cluster shape rather than per query, and on two different bases: Vitess by cluster size, VTGate configuration and storage; Neki by shard size and count, router configuration, replicas, storage, backup storage and network usage.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing & Fees — Supabase ↗

    “First project included. Additional projects from $10/mo. [...] Paid plans include $10/mo in compute credits, enough to cover one Micro instance.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — PlanetScale ↗

    “Vitess MySQL-compatible databases with horizontal sharding. Pricing based on cluster size, VTGate configuration, and storage. Metal also available. Neki Postgres databases with horizontal sharding. Pricing is based on shard size and count, router configuration, replicas, storage, backup storage, and network usage.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

Egress over allowance

Supabase
$0.09 per GB for uncached egress and $0.03 per GB for cached, charged only above the plan's quota. Egress restrictions clear at the next billing cycle, or immediately on upgrading or disabling the spend cap.
PlanetScale
100 GB of egress included, then $0.06/GB
Sources (2) →
  • Manage Egress usage — Supabase Docs ↗

    “$0.09 per GB per month for uncached egress, $0.03 per GB per month for cached egress. You are only charged for usage exceeding your subscription plan's quota. [...] If your organization is restricted for egress, the restriction clears at the start of the next billing cycle, or immediately if you upgrade your plan or disable your Spend Cap.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — PlanetScale ↗

    “100 GB of egress bandwidth is included. Additional usage: $0.06 / GB.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official pricing · Report a correction

Storage (entry plan)

Supabase
8 GB disk per project on the Pro plan; 500 MB on Free
PlanetScale
First 10 GB free on network-attached storage, then per-GB pricing; storage is included for Metal databases
Sources (2) →

Regions

Supabase

17 specific AWS regions across the Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific and South America, plus broader 'general region' groupings that place the project on an available AWS region within an area. General regions do not support read replicas or API management.

PlanetScale

19 regions — 12 on AWS (Tokyo, Mumbai, Singapore, Sydney, Montreal, Frankfurt, Dublin, London, São Paulo, N. Virginia, Ohio, Oregon) and 7 on GCP. A branch's region is fixed at creation and changing it means migrating.

Sources (2) →
  • Available regions — Supabase Docs ↗

    “Each Supabase project is deployed to one primary region. [...] General regions deploy to an available AWS region within that broader area, which may not match a specific jurisdiction. For example, the "Europe" general region includes London and Zurich, which are not EU member states. Region selection is a data-location control, not proof of regulatory compliance. [...] General regions aren't yet supported for read replicas or management via the API.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Selecting a region — PlanetScale Docs ↗

    “Currently, the following regions are supported, with their respective PlanetScale slugs: AWS ap-northeast-1 (Tokyo) [...] AWS us-west-2 (Oregon) [...] GCP us-central1 (Council Bluffs, Iowa) [...] GCP europe-west4 (Eemshaven, Netherlands) [...] Once you select a region for your default branch, it cannot be changed directly, but you can migrate to a new region if needed.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Engine

Supabase
PostgreSQL
PlanetScale
PostgreSQL, and MySQL-compatible Vitess clusters with horizontal sharding
Sources (2) →

Point-in-time recovery

Supabase
Point-in-time recovery is a paid add-on on Pro, Team and Enterprise, and needs at least a Small compute add-on alongside it. Worst-case recovery point is 2 minutes. Without it, restores go back only to a daily backup.
PlanetScale
Point-in-time recovery through write-ahead log archiving. WAL is kept for as long as the oldest backup, so the default schedule gives a 2-day window and a longer retention extends it.
Sources (2) →
  • Database Backups — Supabase Docs ↗

    “Point-in-Time Recovery (PITR) allows you to back up a project at shorter intervals, giving you the option to restore to any chosen point with up to seconds of granularity. [...] Pro, Team and Enterprise Plan projects can enable PITR as an add-on. Projects that want to use PITR must also use at least a Small compute add-on to ensure smooth functioning. [...] in the worst case scenario, PITR achieves a Recovery Point Objective (RPO) of two minutes.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Back up and restore — PlanetScale Docs ↗

    “PlanetScale Postgres databases include comprehensive backup and restore capabilities to protect your data. The backup system provides both automated scheduled backups and manual on-demand backups, as well as point-in-time recovery (PITR) support through Write-Ahead Log (WAL) archiving. [...] WAL logs are retained for the same period as your oldest backup.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Backup retention

Supabase

Daily backups: 7 days on Pro, 14 days on Team, up to 30 days on Enterprise. Free projects get no automatic backups at all — Supabase tells free users to export their own data with the CLI.

PlanetScale

Automatic backups every 12 hours on production and development branches, retained 2 days by default. Custom schedules and manual backups can set a longer period, and are charged for it.

Sources (2) →
  • Database Backups — Supabase Docs ↗

    “We automatically back up all Pro, Team, and Enterprise Plan projects on a daily basis. [...] Pro Plan projects can access the last 7 days of daily backups. Team Plan projects can access the last 14 days of daily backups, while Enterprise Plan projects can access up to 30 days of daily backups. [...] We recommend that free tier plan projects regularly export their data using the Supabase CLI db dump command and maintain off-site backups.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Back up and restore — PlanetScale Docs ↗

    “All PlanetScale Postgres databases include automatic scheduled backups that run every 12 hours for production and development branches. Default backups are created automatically and don't require any setup. There are no additional charges for these backups. [...] The default, included backup schedule retains backups for 2 days. You can set a custom retention period for custom backup schedules and manual one-off backups.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Support on entry paid plan

Supabase
Community support on Free; email support on Pro, the entry paid plan; priority email support and SLAs from Team; a designated support manager and 24/7/365 premium support on Enterprise.
PlanetScale
Enterprise lists Slack-based support with a private shared channel, and business support with enhanced response times from support engineers. The self-serve plans have no support level named on the page.
Sources (2) →
  • Supabase Pricing ↗

    “1 GB file storage Community support [...] 100 GB file storage then $0.0213 per GB Email support Daily backups stored for 7 days [...] Priority email support & SLAs Daily backups stored for 14 days”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — PlanetScale ↗

    “slack-based support private shared slack channel for fast communication more deployment options multi-tenant, single-tenant, or in your own aws / gcp account business support included enhanced response times from support engineers”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

SOC 2

Supabase
SOC 2 Type 2 compliant; report available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard.
PlanetScale
SOC 1 Type 2 and SOC 2 Type 2 + HIPAA reports, available on all plans on request via PlanetScale's Trust Center.
Sources (2) →

HIPAA

Supabase
HIPAA compliant; customers may store PHI after signing a BAA and meeting shared-responsibility obligations.
PlanetScale
HIPAA-eligible via a Business Associate Agreement for qualifying customers; PlanetScale notes HHS does not recognize a formal HIPAA certification, so compliance is a shared responsibility rather than a badge.
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Supabase
Projects hosted in EU regions keep primary database data in-region; a DPA is available.
PlanetScale
Complies with GDPR; data locality follows the AWS/GCP region a database is created in, and EU-region databases keep data in-region unless a read-only replica is added elsewhere.
Sources (2) →
  • Supabase Security ↗

    “Supabase supports GDPR-compliant deployments. Projects hosted in EU regions keep your primary database data in-region, and a Data Processing Agreement (DPA) is available for customers who need a formal data processing contract under GDPR.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

  • Security and compliance — PlanetScale Docs ↗

    “PlanetScale complies with the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and other global privacy regulations, where applicable. [...] If you create a database in a Europe-based region, your data does not leave the region the database was created in, unless you create a read-only region in another region.”

    Read 2026-09-12 · official docs · Report a correction

Encryption at rest

Supabase
AES-256 at rest and TLS in transit; sensitive tokens/keys get application-level encryption before storage.
PlanetScale
AES encryption at rest on the storage media serving database branches and backups.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Kind of free offerSupabase: Free tier
What the free plan includesSupabase: 500 MB database, 5 GB egress, 1 GB file storage, 50,000 monthly active users and unlimited API requests on shared CPU. Free projects pause after a week without activity.
Included bandwidthSupabase: 250 GB uncached and 250 GB cached egress a month on Pro and Team, pooled across Database, Auth, Storage and every other service as one Unified Egress Quota
Uptime SLASupabase: Uptime SLAs are an Enterprise line item. No uptime percentage appears anywhere on the pricing page; Team lists "priority email support & SLAs" without a figure.
Connection limitSupabase: 60 direct and 200 pooled connections on the Micro instance included with Pro; both scale with instance size
When idleSupabase: Free projects are paused after one week of inactivity and must be restored manually; paid projects are not paused
Audit logsPlanetScale: In addition to the audit log feature available to all PlanetScale plans, Enterprise plans can use our EventBridge configuration to send logs to your AWS account.Supabase: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Supabase.
ISO 27001Supabase: ISO 27001 certified; certificate available to Enterprise and Team customers via the dashboard.PlanetScale: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about PlanetScale.
PCI DSSPlanetScale: PlanetScale Managed — the single-tenant product deployed into the customer's own AWS/GCP account — holds a PCI DSS 4.0 Attestation of Compliance as a Level 1 Service Provider. Not documented for the shared multi-tenant product.Supabase: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Supabase.
Role-based access controlSupabase: Organization members can be granted access to specific resources, including read-only and billing-only roles.
Private networking / VPCPlanetScale: AWS PrivateLink or GCP Private Service Connect on all plans; PlanetScale Managed on AWS additionally offers fully private network isolation.Supabase: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Supabase.
Dedicated infrastructurePlanetScale: Two single-tenant options: Enterprise single-tenant, deployed into an AWS/GCP account owned by PlanetScale, or PlanetScale Managed, deployed inside the customer's own AWS or GCP account.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Supabase or PlanetScale?

Supabase: $25/month for Pro, including the first project and $10/mo of compute credits — enough to cover one Micro instance, so this runs a small project rather than being a fee on top of it. Additional projects from $10/mo.

PlanetScale: $5/month for a single-node Postgres database on network-attached storage; PlanetScale Metal with local NVMe starts at $50/month

Free tier: Supabase or PlanetScale?

Supabase: Yes

PlanetScale: No — $5/month is the cheapest SKU on PlanetScale's whole price list; the document prices no free plan.

Egress over allowance: Supabase or PlanetScale?

Supabase: $0.09 per GB for uncached egress and $0.03 per GB for cached, charged only above the plan's quota. Egress restrictions clear at the next billing cycle, or immediately on upgrading or disabling the spend cap.

PlanetScale: 100 GB of egress included, then $0.06/GB

Should I choose Supabase or PlanetScale?

Pick Supabase if Teams who want Postgres plus auth, storage and generated APIs from one vendor on a fixed monthly bill, and who would otherwise assemble those pieces themselves.

Pick PlanetScale if Production workloads that want replicas across availability zones as the default shape rather than an upgrade, and teams who need MySQL-compatible sharding that the Postgres-only services do not offer.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.