Skip to content
inetGeek

Wasabi vs Tigris

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Wasabi and Tigris built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 16 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Wasabi if…

Anyone who wants one number. Capacity is the only charge — no egress fees, no API request fees — which makes the bill predictable in a way nothing else in this category manages.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Tigris if…

Globally distributed buckets with no egress fees and tiered storage, where cold data drops to $0.004 per GB-month without a separate archive product to manage.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Wasabi: The flat rate is $7.99 per terabyte whether you store a gigabyte or a terabyte of it, so small buckets pay for capacity they are not using. Check Wasabi's own terms for minimum storage duration before storing anything short-lived.
  • Tigris: Retrieval is charged on the Infrequent Access and Glacier tiers, so the tiering that lowers the storage bill can raise the access one. The cheapest tier is not the cheapest for data you actually read.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Wasabi alternatives · Tigris alternatives

8 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionWasabiTigris
Pricing
Free tier
No
Yes
Kind of free offerFree trialFree tier
Egress over allowanceNone. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.None, on every storage class. Tigris states it does not charge "for regional data transfer, region-to-region data transfer, or data transfer out to the internet (egress)". The $0.01–$0.03 per GB that appears beside it on the pricing table is Data Retrieval — a separate line from Data Storage and request charges, billed for reading out of the Infrequent Access and Archive Instant Retrieval classes, and not a transfer charge.
Limits
Storage (entry plan)None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.5 GB free, shown against a modelled $1.90 Tigris cost versus $8.75 on AWS and $11.00 on GCS for the same scenario
Infrastructure
Uptime SLA
Credits begin below 99.9% monthly uptime: 10% between 99.0% and 99.9%, 25% below 99.0%. Uptime is computed from five-minute error rates rather than downtime minutes.
99.9% for the Standard and Archive tiers, 99.0% for Infrequent Access. The SLA also states the service is designed for 99.99% and that the design target is descriptive, not the commitment.
Storage
Storage price$7.99 per TB per month, flat, with no separate charge for egress or API requests$0.02 per GB-month for Standard, $0.01 for Infrequent Access, $0.004 for Archive and Glacier tiers
Operations price
None. API requests are not charged separately.
$0.005 per 1,000 Class A requests and $0.0005 per 1,000 Class B, on every tier. DELETE and CANCEL are free. Object notifications cost $0.01 per 1,000 events.
Minimum storage duration
90 days on pay-as-you-go. Deleting an object sooner incurs a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days. Objects under 4 KB are billed as 4 KB.
None on Standard. Infrequent Access carries a 30-day minimum; Tigris names Archive and Archive Instant Retrieval as also subject to a minimum, listed in its pricing table as 90 days. Deleting or updating an object sooner is still billed for the full window.
S3-compatible APISupportedSupported

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Wasabi
No
Tigris
Yes
Sources (2) →

Kind of free offer

Wasabi
Free trial
Tigris
Free tier
Sources (2) →

Egress over allowance

Wasabi
None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.
Tigris
None, on every storage class. Tigris states it does not charge "for regional data transfer, region-to-region data transfer, or data transfer out to the internet (egress)". The $0.01–$0.03 per GB that appears beside it on the pricing table is Data Retrieval — a separate line from Data Storage and request charges, billed for reading out of the Infrequent Access and Archive Instant Retrieval classes, and not a transfer charge.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Wasabi ↗

    “No charge for egress or API requests [...] With Wasabi, you pay just one low rate for capacity only. No hidden fees means you can plan your budget to the penny and never go over it, no matter how much you access your data.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Tigris ↗

    “Zero egress fees. While other cloud providers tax you for each GB of data transferred, we don't. At Tigris, we don't charge for regional data transfer, region-to-region data transfer, or data transfer out to the internet (egress).”

    Read 2026-09-21 · official pricing · Report a correction

Storage (entry plan)

Wasabi
None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.
Tigris
5 GB free, shown against a modelled $1.90 Tigris cost versus $8.75 on AWS and $11.00 on GCS for the same scenario
Sources (2) →

Uptime SLA

Wasabi

Credits begin below 99.9% monthly uptime: 10% between 99.0% and 99.9%, 25% below 99.0%. Uptime is computed from five-minute error rates rather than downtime minutes.

Tigris

99.9% for the Standard and Archive tiers, 99.0% for Infrequent Access. The SLA also states the service is designed for 99.99% and that the design target is descriptive, not the commitment.

Sources (2) →
  • Wasabi Service Level Agreement ↗

    “Service Credits Monthly Uptime Percentage Service Credit Percentage Equal to or greater than 99.0% but less than 99.9% 10% Less than 99.0% 25%”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

  • Tigris Service Level Agreement ↗

    “the service is designed for 99.99% availability. the uptime commitment is 99.9% actual availability in each calendar month for standard tier and archive tier, and 99.0% actual availability in each calendar month for infrequent access tier. the design target is descriptive.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

Storage price

Wasabi
$7.99 per TB per month, flat, with no separate charge for egress or API requests
Tigris
$0.02 per GB-month for Standard, $0.01 for Infrequent Access, $0.004 for Archive and Glacier tiers
Sources (2) →

Operations price

Wasabi
None. API requests are not charged separately.
Tigris
$0.005 per 1,000 Class A requests and $0.0005 per 1,000 Class B, on every tier. DELETE and CANCEL are free. Object notifications cost $0.01 per 1,000 events.
Sources (2) →

Minimum storage duration

Wasabi

90 days on pay-as-you-go. Deleting an object sooner incurs a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days. Objects under 4 KB are billed as 4 KB.

Tigris

None on Standard. Infrequent Access carries a 30-day minimum; Tigris names Archive and Archive Instant Retrieval as also subject to a minimum, listed in its pricing table as 90 days. Deleting or updating an object sooner is still billed for the full window.

Sources (2) →
  • Pay-as-you-go FAQs — Wasabi ↗

    “Wasabi has a minimum storage duration policy that means if stored objects are deleted before they have been stored with Wasabi for a certain number of days (90 days when using the Wasabi Pay as You Go pricing model), a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days will apply.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Tigris ↗

    “A minimum storage retention charge applies to objects stored in the Infrequent Access, Archive, and Archive Instant Retrieval tiers. For example, objects in the Infrequent Access tier are subject to a minimum storage duration of 30 days. [...] 30 days 90 days 90 days”

    Read 2026-09-07 · official docs · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

What the free plan includesTigris: 5 GB of storage with no egress fees; egress is free on every tier rather than only the free one.
Credit card to startWasabi: No
When the free offer endsWasabi: 30 days.
RegionsWasabi: 16 storage regions: six in the Americas, six in EMEA and four in Asia-Pacific. Several also answer to an alias URL, which is a second name for a region rather than a second region.
ISO 27001Wasabi: Wasabi's products and physical data center locations are ISO 27001 compliant.Tigris: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Tigris.
Encryption at restWasabi: Your data is encrypted in transit and at rest on the Wasabi cloud storage platform.Tigris: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Tigris.
Customer-managed keysWasabi: Customers can also supply their own encryption key during the API upload request.Tigris: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Tigris.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Free tier: Wasabi or Tigris?

Wasabi: No

Tigris: Yes

Egress over allowance: Wasabi or Tigris?

Wasabi: None. Wasabi charges for capacity only, with no egress or API request fees.

Tigris: None, on every storage class. Tigris states it does not charge "for regional data transfer, region-to-region data transfer, or data transfer out to the internet (egress)". The $0.01–$0.03 per GB that appears beside it on the pricing table is Data Retrieval — a separate line from Data Storage and request charges, billed for reading out of the Infrequent Access and Archive Instant Retrieval classes, and not a transfer charge.

Storage (entry plan): Wasabi or Tigris?

Wasabi: None. Wasabi includes no free storage at any price. Pay-as-you-go carries a minimum monthly charge equal to 1 TB of active storage, so an account storing less than 1 TB is billed for 1 TB — a floor on the bill, not an allowance. Wasabi Cloud NAS has a 10 TB monthly minimum.

Tigris: 5 GB free, shown against a modelled $1.90 Tigris cost versus $8.75 on AWS and $11.00 on GCS for the same scenario

Should I choose Wasabi or Tigris?

Pick Wasabi if Anyone who wants one number. Capacity is the only charge — no egress fees, no API request fees — which makes the bill predictable in a way nothing else in this category manages.

Pick Tigris if Globally distributed buckets with no egress fees and tiered storage, where cold data drops to $0.004 per GB-month without a separate archive product to manage.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.