Skip to content
inetGeek

Resend vs Amazon SES

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Resend and Amazon SES built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 18 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Resend if…

Projects that want a generous paid allowance for the money — 50,000 emails at $20 is several times what the same spend buys at Postmark or Mailgun.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Amazon SES if…

High volume where the per-1,000 rate dominates everything else — at $0.10 per 1,000 it is roughly a twentieth of what the managed services charge in overage.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Resend: Log retention is 30 days and not extendable, and a dedicated IP needs the Scale plan plus 3,000 emails a day before it is offered at all.
  • Amazon SES: There is no included allowance, no log retention on the pricing page, and deliverability tooling that the others bundle is metered separately here.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Resend alternatives · Amazon SES alternatives

12 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionResendAmazon SES
Pricing
Free tier
Yes
No
Kind of free offerFree tierIntroductory free tier
Entry paid plan$20/month for Pro, the cheapest paid plan.No monthly plan — SES bills per email. Ten thousand emails, the tier Postmark and Mailgun both price at, costs $1.00 at the published $0.10 per 1,000. Our arithmetic on Amazon's rate, not a price Amazon quotes, and attachments add $0.12 per GB.
Pricing modelMonthly plan with an included allowance, then $0.90 per 1,000 beyond it. Domains, dedicated IPs and SSO are priced as separate add-ons at $20, $30 and $150 a month.Pure usage billing with no monthly minimum: $0.10 per 1,000 outbound emails plus $0.12 per GB of attachments, with dedicated IPs, deliverability tooling and address validation each metered separately on top.
Email
Emails included
50,000 emails a month on Pro, the cheapest paid plan; 100,000 on Scale. The free plan allows 3,000 a month and caps the day at 100.
None. There is no included allowance on the pay-as-you-go rate; every email is billed from the first one.
Price per 1,000 over
$0.90 per 1,000 on Pro and Scale, charged automatically in buckets of 1,000. Paid plans only — the free plan stops at its limit.
$0.10 per 1,000 outbound emails, charged per recipient. Mail Manager tiers run $0.16 to $0.23 per 1,000 depending on feature set, and a multi-region endpoint adds $0.03 per 1,000.
Dedicated IP
Limited
Supported
Support
Support on entry paid plan
Four support rows across Free, Pro, Scale and Enterprise: ticket support, Slack support, an urgent response SLA and deliverability expertise. Ticket support is the only one with no absence marks against it.
No support level comes with the service. AWS Support is bought separately as an account-wide plan, and its response times are graded by case severity rather than by product.
Compliance
SOC 2SOC 2 Type II compliant; audit completed by Vanta & Advantage Partners.Listed as SOC-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.
ISO 27001
Not ISO 27001 certified — holds SOC 2 Type II instead.
Covered under AWS's account-wide ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification — not scoped per-service the way SOC, HIPAA and PCI DSS are on AWS's own site.
HIPAA
Not HIPAA compliant; cannot sign a Business Associate Agreement.
Listed as a HIPAA-eligible service on AWS's own reference page.
GDPR / data residencyStates compliance with all articles of GDPR.AWS customers can process personal data on all AWS services in compliance with GDPR, and choose the storage type and geographic region for their data.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Resend
Yes
Amazon SES
No
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Resend ↗

    “Free [...] $0 / mo [...] 3,000 emails / mo [...] 100 emails a day [...] 30-day data retention”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon SES Pricing — AWS ↗

    “AWS Free Tier [...] New AWS customers will receive up to $200 in AWS Free Tier credits, which can be applied towards eligible AWS services, including Amazon Simple Email Service. [...] The free plan will be available for 6 months after account creation.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Kind of free offer

Resend
Free tier
Amazon SES
Introductory free tier
Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Resend
$20/month for Pro, the cheapest paid plan.
Amazon SES
No monthly plan — SES bills per email. Ten thousand emails, the tier Postmark and Mailgun both price at, costs $1.00 at the published $0.10 per 1,000. Our arithmetic on Amazon's rate, not a price Amazon quotes, and attachments add $0.12 per GB.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Resend
Monthly plan with an included allowance, then $0.90 per 1,000 beyond it. Domains, dedicated IPs and SSO are priced as separate add-ons at $20, $30 and $150 a month.
Amazon SES
Pure usage billing with no monthly minimum: $0.10 per 1,000 outbound emails plus $0.12 per GB of attachments, with dedicated IPs, deliverability tooling and address validation each metered separately on top.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Resend ↗

    “Domains - $20 / mo [...] Dedicated IPs - $30 / mo [...] Single Sign-On - $150 / mo [...] Extra emails: $0.90 / 1,000”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon SES Pricing — AWS ↗

    “Outbound email $0.10 / 1,000 emails $0.12 per GB of attachment data sent [...] Email Validation $0.01 per validation [...] Virtual Deliverability Manager – SES deliverability Per-email fee + query fee”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Emails included

Resend

50,000 emails a month on Pro, the cheapest paid plan; 100,000 on Scale. The free plan allows 3,000 a month and caps the day at 100.

Amazon SES

None. There is no included allowance on the pay-as-you-go rate; every email is billed from the first one.

Sources (2) →

Price per 1,000 over

Resend
$0.90 per 1,000 on Pro and Scale, charged automatically in buckets of 1,000. Paid plans only — the free plan stops at its limit.
Amazon SES
$0.10 per 1,000 outbound emails, charged per recipient. Mail Manager tiers run $0.16 to $0.23 per 1,000 depending on feature set, and a multi-region endpoint adds $0.03 per 1,000.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Resend ↗

    “Extra emails: $0.90 / 1,000 [...] Resend automatically charges your plan's overage rate for each additional bucket of 1,000 emails. Available to paid subscriptions.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon SES Pricing — AWS ↗

    “Outbound email $0.10 / 1,000 emails [...] Global Endpoints $0.03 / 1,000 emails [...] 0 – 10M emails / month $0.16 per 1,000 emails $0.22 per 1,000 emails $0.23 per 1,000 emails”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Dedicated IP

Resend
Limited
Amazon SES
Supported
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Resend ↗

    “Dedicated IPs - $30 / mo [...] Available to customers exceeding 3,000 emails sent per day on the Scale plan. [...] Dedicated IPs – – With add-on With add-on”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Amazon SES Pricing — AWS ↗

    “Dedicated IPs – Standard $24.95 / month / IP [...] Dedicated IPs - Managed $15 / month / account + per-email fee [...] Bring Your Own IP (BYOIP) $24.95 / month / IP”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Support on entry paid plan

Resend
Four support rows across Free, Pro, Scale and Enterprise: ticket support, Slack support, an urgent response SLA and deliverability expertise. Ticket support is the only one with no absence marks against it.
Amazon SES
No support level comes with the service. AWS Support is bought separately as an account-wide plan, and its response times are graded by case severity rather than by product.
Sources (2) →
  • Resend Pricing ↗

    “Customer support Free Pro Scale Enterprise Ticket support Slack support - - Urgent response SLA - - Deliverability expertise -”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • AWS Support Plans ↗

    “human response times business/mission-critical system down production system down production system impaired system impaired general guidance < 30 mins 2 < 1 hour < 4 hours < 12 hours < 24 hours”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

SOC 2

Resend
SOC 2 Type II compliant; audit completed by Vanta & Advantage Partners.
Amazon SES
Listed as SOC-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.
Sources (2) →

ISO 27001

Resend
Not ISO 27001 certified — holds SOC 2 Type II instead.
Amazon SES
Covered under AWS's account-wide ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification — not scoped per-service the way SOC, HIPAA and PCI DSS are on AWS's own site.
Sources (2) →

HIPAA

Resend
Not HIPAA compliant; cannot sign a Business Associate Agreement.
Amazon SES
Listed as a HIPAA-eligible service on AWS's own reference page.
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Resend
States compliance with all articles of GDPR.
Amazon SES
AWS customers can process personal data on all AWS services in compliance with GDPR, and choose the storage type and geographic region for their data.
Sources (2) →
  • Resend Security ↗

    “Resend complies with all articles of GDPR.”

    Read 2026-09-12 · official site · Report a correction

  • GDPR — Amazon Web Services ↗

    “AWS customers can use all AWS services to process personal data [...] in compliance with the GDPR. [...] Customers have control of their customer data. With AWS, customers can: Determine where their customer data will be stored, including the type of storage and geographic region of that storage.”

    Read 2026-09-12 · official site · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

What the free plan includesResend: 3,000 emails a month capped at 100 a day, with 30 days of data retention.
When the free offer endsAmazon SES: 6 months after account creation; Free Tier credits expire 12 months after that date.
Log retentionResend: 30 days.
Response time commitmentResend: An urgent response SLA is sold as a higher support tier rather than included, and no time is stated for it anywhere on the pricing page.
PCI DSSAmazon SES: Listed as PCI DSS-compliant on AWS's own compliance scope page.
Encryption at restResend: All datastores encrypted at rest with AES-256.Amazon SES: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Amazon SES.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Resend or Amazon SES?

Resend: $20/month for Pro, the cheapest paid plan.

Amazon SES: No monthly plan — SES bills per email. Ten thousand emails, the tier Postmark and Mailgun both price at, costs $1.00 at the published $0.10 per 1,000. Our arithmetic on Amazon's rate, not a price Amazon quotes, and attachments add $0.12 per GB.

Free tier: Resend or Amazon SES?

Resend: Yes

Amazon SES: No

Should I choose Resend or Amazon SES?

Pick Resend if Projects that want a generous paid allowance for the money — 50,000 emails at $20 is several times what the same spend buys at Postmark or Mailgun.

Pick Amazon SES if High volume where the per-1,000 rate dominates everything else — at $0.10 per 1,000 it is roughly a twentieth of what the managed services charge in overage.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.