Skip to content
inetGeek

Resend vs Mailgun

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Resend and Mailgun built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 17 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Resend if…

Projects that want a generous paid allowance for the money — 50,000 emails at $20 is several times what the same spend buys at Postmark or Mailgun.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Mailgun if…

Senders who want inbound routing included from the free plan up, and who treat the message log as a debugging tool rather than a record.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Resend: Log retention is 30 days and not extendable, and a dedicated IP needs the Scale plan plus 3,000 emails a day before it is offered at all.
  • Mailgun: One day of log retention on the entry plan is the shortest here by a wide margin, and the overage rate is quoted as "from", so the number you plan against is a floor.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Resend alternatives · Mailgun alternatives

10 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionResendMailgun
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
What the free plan includes3,000 emails a month capped at 100 a day, with 30 days of data retention.Limited to one user per account; Mailgun states the per-user cap on the free plan rather than a volume on this page.
Entry paid plan
$20/month for Pro, the cheapest paid plan.
$15/month for Basic, described as a starting price.
Pricing modelMonthly plan with an included allowance, then $0.90 per 1,000 beyond it. Domains, dedicated IPs and SSO are priced as separate add-ons at $20, $30 and $150 a month.Monthly plan by volume with per-1,000 overage, and email validations billed separately at around $1.20 per 100.
Email
Emails included
50,000 emails a month on Pro, the cheapest paid plan; 100,000 on Scale. The free plan allows 3,000 a month and caps the day at 100.
10,000 a month on Basic; 50,000 on Foundation at $35. The free plan is capped at 100 a day rather than a monthly figure.
Price per 1,000 over
$0.90 per 1,000 on Pro and Scale, charged automatically in buckets of 1,000. Paid plans only — the free plan stops at its limit.
From $1.80 per 1,000 on Basic and from $1.30 on Foundation. Mailgun writes "from", so these are floors rather than fixed rates.
Log retention
30 days.
1 day on Free and Basic; 5 days of logs and 1 day of message retention on Foundation.
Dedicated IPLimitedLimited
Support
Support on entry paid planFour support rows across Free, Pro, Scale and Enterprise: ticket support, Slack support, an urgent response SLA and deliverability expertise. Ticket support is the only one with no absence marks against it.Ticket support, named on the free plan. The Basic plan's feature list at $15/month does not restate a support level.
Compliance
SOC 2SOC 2 Type II compliant; audit completed by Vanta & Advantage Partners.In addition to our partnership with an industry-leading hosting provider, Sinch Mailgun is SOC 2 Type II and ISO/IEC 27001 Certified, as well as  GDPR compliant .
GDPR / data residency
States compliance with all articles of GDPR.
In addition to our partnership with an industry-leading hosting provider, Sinch Mailgun is SOC 2 Type II and ISO/IEC 27001 Certified, as well as  GDPR compliant .
Encryption at restAll datastores encrypted at rest with AES-256.AES-256 encryption-at-rest for all customer data

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Resend
3,000 emails a month capped at 100 a day, with 30 days of data retention.
Mailgun
Limited to one user per account; Mailgun states the per-user cap on the free plan rather than a volume on this page.
Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Resend
$20/month for Pro, the cheapest paid plan.
Mailgun
$15/month for Basic, described as a starting price.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Resend
Monthly plan with an included allowance, then $0.90 per 1,000 beyond it. Domains, dedicated IPs and SSO are priced as separate add-ons at $20, $30 and $150 a month.
Mailgun
Monthly plan by volume with per-1,000 overage, and email validations billed separately at around $1.20 per 100.
Sources (2) →

Emails included

Resend

50,000 emails a month on Pro, the cheapest paid plan; 100,000 on Scale. The free plan allows 3,000 a month and caps the day at 100.

Mailgun

10,000 a month on Basic; 50,000 on Foundation at $35. The free plan is capped at 100 a day rather than a monthly figure.

Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Resend ↗

    “Pro [...] $20 / mo 50,000 emails / mo [...] Scale [...] $90 / mo 100,000 emails / mo [...] Free [...] 3,000 emails / mo 100 emails a day”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Mailgun ↗

    “Basic Starting at $15/mo 10,000 emails/mo included [...] $35/mo 50,000 emails/mo included [...] Free [...] 100 emails/day included”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Price per 1,000 over

Resend
$0.90 per 1,000 on Pro and Scale, charged automatically in buckets of 1,000. Paid plans only — the free plan stops at its limit.
Mailgun
From $1.80 per 1,000 on Basic and from $1.30 on Foundation. Mailgun writes "from", so these are floors rather than fixed rates.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Resend ↗

    “Extra emails: $0.90 / 1,000 [...] Resend automatically charges your plan's overage rate for each additional bucket of 1,000 emails. Available to paid subscriptions.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Mailgun ↗

    “Extra emails & validations from $1.80 / 1,000 emails [...] from $1.30 / 1,000 emails”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Log retention

Resend

30 days.

Mailgun

1 day on Free and Basic; 5 days of logs and 1 day of message retention on Foundation.

Sources (2) →

Support on entry paid plan

Resend
Four support rows across Free, Pro, Scale and Enterprise: ticket support, Slack support, an urgent response SLA and deliverability expertise. Ticket support is the only one with no absence marks against it.
Mailgun
Ticket support, named on the free plan. The Basic plan's feature list at $15/month does not restate a support level.
Sources (2) →
  • Resend Pricing ↗

    “Customer support Free Pro Scale Enterprise Ticket support Slack support - - Urgent response SLA - - Deliverability expertise -”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Mailgun Pricing ↗

    “100 emails per day ticket support restful email apis and smtp relay 1 custom sending domain tracking, analytics, and webhooks”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

SOC 2

Resend
SOC 2 Type II compliant; audit completed by Vanta & Advantage Partners.
Mailgun
In addition to our partnership with an industry-leading hosting provider, Sinch Mailgun is SOC 2 Type II and ISO/IEC 27001 Certified, as well as  GDPR compliant .
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Resend
States compliance with all articles of GDPR.
Mailgun
In addition to our partnership with an industry-leading hosting provider, Sinch Mailgun is SOC 2 Type II and ISO/IEC 27001 Certified, as well as  GDPR compliant .
Sources (2) →

Encryption at rest

Resend
All datastores encrypted at rest with AES-256.
Mailgun
AES-256 encryption-at-rest for all customer data
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Inbound emailMailgun: Supported
Response time commitmentResend: An urgent response SLA is sold as a higher support tier rather than included, and no time is stated for it anywhere on the pricing page.
ISO 27001Resend: Not ISO 27001 certified — holds SOC 2 Type II instead.Mailgun: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Mailgun.
HIPAAResend: Not HIPAA compliant; cannot sign a Business Associate Agreement.Mailgun: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Mailgun.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Resend or Mailgun?

Resend: $20/month for Pro, the cheapest paid plan.

Mailgun: $15/month for Basic, described as a starting price.

Should I choose Resend or Mailgun?

Pick Resend if Projects that want a generous paid allowance for the money — 50,000 emails at $20 is several times what the same spend buys at Postmark or Mailgun.

Pick Mailgun if Senders who want inbound routing included from the free plan up, and who treat the message log as a debugging tool rather than a record.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.