Skip to content
inetGeek

Resend vs Postmark

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Resend and Postmark built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 19 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Resend if…

Projects that want a generous paid allowance for the money — 50,000 emails at $20 is several times what the same spend buys at Postmark or Mailgun.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Postmark if…

Teams that need to answer "what happened to this message" weeks later — 45 days of retention as standard, extendable to a year, is the longest window in this set.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Resend: Log retention is 30 days and not extendable, and a dedicated IP needs the Scale plan plus 3,000 emails a day before it is offered at all.
  • Postmark: The included volume is small for the price and overage is the most expensive here at $1.80 per 1,000 on the entry plan.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Resend alternatives · Postmark alternatives

7 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionResendPostmark
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierFree tier
What the free plan includes
3,000 emails a month capped at 100 a day, with 30 days of data retention.
100 emails a month on the Developer tier, intended for testing an integration rather than production sending.
Entry paid plan
$20/month for Pro, the cheapest paid plan.
$15.00/month for Basic at the 10,000-email tier. Postmark prices by volume, so the figure rises with the slider.
Pricing modelMonthly plan with an included allowance, then $0.90 per 1,000 beyond it. Domains, dedicated IPs and SSO are priced as separate add-ons at $20, $30 and $150 a month.One monthly price per volume tier, chosen on a slider, covering both sent and received email. Overage rates improve as the plan gets larger.
Email
Emails included
50,000 emails a month on Pro, the cheapest paid plan; 100,000 on Scale. The free plan allows 3,000 a month and caps the day at 100.
10,000 a month at the $15 Basic tier. The plan price scales with volume — 50,000, 125,000, 300,000, 700,000 and 1.5M are the published steps. The free tier is 100 a month.
Price per 1,000 over
$0.90 per 1,000 on Pro and Scale, charged automatically in buckets of 1,000. Paid plans only — the free plan stops at its limit.
$1.80 per 1,000 on Basic, $1.30 on Pro and $1.20 on Platform. The free tier allows no overage at all.
Log retention
30 days.
45 days on Basic. Pro and Platform default to 45 days and can be raised to 365.
Dedicated IPLimitedLimited
Compliance
GDPR / data residency
States compliance with all articles of GDPR.
States its compliance, data protection and information security teams prepared its services for GDPR.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Resend

3,000 emails a month capped at 100 a day, with 30 days of data retention.

Postmark

100 emails a month on the Developer tier, intended for testing an integration rather than production sending.

Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Resend
$20/month for Pro, the cheapest paid plan.
Postmark
$15.00/month for Basic at the 10,000-email tier. Postmark prices by volume, so the figure rises with the slider.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Resend
Monthly plan with an included allowance, then $0.90 per 1,000 beyond it. Domains, dedicated IPs and SSO are priced as separate add-ons at $20, $30 and $150 a month.
Postmark
One monthly price per volume tier, chosen on a slider, covering both sent and received email. Overage rates improve as the plan gets larger.
Sources (2) →

Emails included

Resend

50,000 emails a month on Pro, the cheapest paid plan; 100,000 on Scale. The free plan allows 3,000 a month and caps the day at 100.

Postmark

10,000 a month at the $15 Basic tier. The plan price scales with volume — 50,000, 125,000, 300,000, 700,000 and 1.5M are the published steps. The free tier is 100 a month.

Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Resend ↗

    “Pro [...] $20 / mo 50,000 emails / mo [...] Scale [...] $90 / mo 100,000 emails / mo [...] Free [...] 3,000 emails / mo 100 emails a day”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Postmark ↗

    “10,000 50,000 125,000 300,000 700,000 1,500,000 More [...] Basic $15.00/mo [...] Test your integration with 100 emails/month”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Price per 1,000 over

Resend
$0.90 per 1,000 on Pro and Scale, charged automatically in buckets of 1,000. Paid plans only — the free plan stops at its limit.
Postmark
$1.80 per 1,000 on Basic, $1.30 on Pro and $1.20 on Platform. The free tier allows no overage at all.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing — Resend ↗

    “Extra emails: $0.90 / 1,000 [...] Resend automatically charges your plan's overage rate for each additional bucket of 1,000 emails. Available to paid subscriptions.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Pricing — Postmark ↗

    “Extra emails @ $1.80 / 1,000 [...] Extra emails @ $1.30 / 1,000 [...] Extra emails @ $1.20 / 1,000 [...] No overages allowed in this plan.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

Log retention

Resend

30 days.

Postmark

45 days on Basic. Pro and Platform default to 45 days and can be raised to 365.

Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Resend
States compliance with all articles of GDPR.
Postmark
States its compliance, data protection and information security teams prepared its services for GDPR.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Credit card to startPostmark: No
When the free offer endsPostmark: Never — the free Developer plan does not expire.
Inbound emailPostmark: Limited
Support on entry paid planResend: Four support rows across Free, Pro, Scale and Enterprise: ticket support, Slack support, an urgent response SLA and deliverability expertise. Ticket support is the only one with no absence marks against it.
Response time commitmentResend: An urgent response SLA is sold as a higher support tier rather than included, and no time is stated for it anywhere on the pricing page.
SOC 2Resend: SOC 2 Type II compliant; audit completed by Vanta & Advantage Partners.Postmark: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Postmark.
ISO 27001Resend: Not ISO 27001 certified — holds SOC 2 Type II instead.Postmark: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Postmark.
HIPAAResend: Not HIPAA compliant; cannot sign a Business Associate Agreement.Postmark: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Postmark.
Encryption at restResend: All datastores encrypted at rest with AES-256.Postmark: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Postmark.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Resend or Postmark?

Resend: $20/month for Pro, the cheapest paid plan.

Postmark: $15.00/month for Basic at the 10,000-email tier. Postmark prices by volume, so the figure rises with the slider.

Should I choose Resend or Postmark?

Pick Resend if Projects that want a generous paid allowance for the money — 50,000 emails at $20 is several times what the same spend buys at Postmark or Mailgun.

Pick Postmark if Teams that need to answer "what happened to this message" weeks later — 45 days of retention as standard, extendable to a year, is the longest window in this set.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.